Titanic Open Thread


100 years ago tonight at 11:40 pm, the RMS Titanic struck an iceberg on her maiden voyage from England to New York. Less than three hours later the “unsinkable” luxury line broke apart and sank to the bottom of the North Atlantic. 1514 people we killed.



Have you ever had a really bad trip?


Endless Love


About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

123 Responses to Titanic Open Thread

  1. threewickets says:

    Jezebel gives me a headache mostly like the rest of the Gawker progger network. But this was original.

    Here’s the thing about Titanic, and the reason 15-year-old girls love it so much: James Cameron is a 15-year-old girl.

  2. HELENK says:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/apr/14/aghans-march-womens-justice-kabul

    now this are some really brave women, do you think anyone in the world would help them

  3. DandyTiger says:

    I remember one really bad trip. Lasted about 10 hours.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    By virtue I took a Carnival cruise last year, I’m getting special deal offers from the Costa Concordia sister ships :) Yikes. :D

  5. HELENK says:

    http://news.yahoo.com/much-does-cost-field-afghan-cop-more-think-093751803.html

    high cost of this war, it does not stop when our military comes home

  6. DeniseVB says:

    I love Ellen :D

  7. elliesmom says:

    My son, who was a teenager at the time, and his girlfriend were leaving our house to go to the movies to see “Titanic”. As they were leaving the house, I yelled after them, “By the way, the boat sinks.” She turned to him and quietly whispered, “I hate it when people spoil movies like that.” When he got home, I asked him how the date had gone. He said he was looking for a smarter girlfriend. Turns out, I really had spoiled the movie plot for her.

  8. HELENK says:

    I do not like this. how many times have we been sucked in over there in the ME

    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2012/04/14/un-security-council-votes-to-send-troops-to-syria-to-enforce-ceasefire/

    • leslie says:

      I can’t even read the story; the link was torture enough.

      Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change and Hope and Change

  9. HELENK says:

    how many football fans have wanted to do this?????

    http://www.wimp.com/clevelandbrowns/

  10. WMCB says:

    LMAO! Good teacher! Good!

  11. WMCB says:

    One of my favorite sites on the intertoobs bring the funny yet again. If you are not a regular reader of The Bloggess, she has a thing for taxidermied animals, and a very longsuffering husband:

    http://thebloggess.com/2012/04/mice/

  12. HELENK says:

    this just angers me.
    knowing how bad the steps are in the police stations back there, I do hope he is very careful going down them. ALso that the cops get him before the fireman do

    http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/local/Caught-on-Tape-Man-Steals-Donations-for-Families-of-Fallen-Firefighters-Cops–147456095.html

  13. threewickets says:

    Here’s Hilary Rosen talking about Hillary Clinton on June 4, 2008.

    Instead she left her supporters empty, Obama’s angry, and party leaders trashing her. She said she was stepping back to think about her options. She is waiting to figure out how she would “use” her 18 million voters. But not my vote. I will enthusiastically support Barack Obama’s campaign. Because I am not a bargaining chip. I am a Democrat.

    Always a sellout. This was a few days after Hillary suspended her campaign, she could have been more supportive during the transition.

    • jeffhas says:

      My favorite part is how Barack over Hillary had been an ‘organic shift’ in the party.

      After Dean, Pelosi, Reid, Kennedy and 2×4 Schumer – I think she confused the word ‘Organic’ with the word ‘Orchestrated’.

      I also like how she was wanting Hillary to quit early too – just GTF outta the race already… where have I heard that before? – oh yeah, from the ‘orchestrators’.

      Welcome to under the bus. I hope it is especially hot and bothersome for you… your treachery is all too apparent now.

    • Lulu says:

      “I am a Democrat.” Bull$(!#. She is a shill. I wonder if she got whiplash spinning around that fast. Does she hang with Solis-Doyle?

  14. WMCB says:

    Dayum. Dana Loesch in Madison. Yeah, she uses some right wing buzzwords, but you know what struck me?

    The Left has nowhere near this kind of passion. This lady is PISSED OFF and determined. This is not your daddy’s cigar-smokin old man GOP. Get past the first 2 minutes and she gets rolling. The Dems are seriously underestimating these women. They ain’t playin’.

    • WMCB says:

      I’m getting me some popcorn over the next few months, because I don’t think the Obots really understand the train that’s bearing down on them with these women.
      :D

      • myiq2xu says:

        They keep telling themselves it’s manufactured outrage.

        I’m waiting for them to say “They’re just PMSing.”

        • WMCB says:

          The dig that the unions were paying protestors to be there was funny.

        • myiq2xu says:

          Obots don’t understand the margins.

          Women typically vote for Democrats by double digits. Men vote for the GOP the same way.

          If Obama wins the womens vote by 4-5 points he’ll lose the election by a landslide.

        • WMCB says:

          Yep. Every election where that gender gap has shifted, disappeared, or even narrowed significantly, Dems lost big.

    • “I’m here to tell y’all right now; conservative women hit back.” WOW. She went on a righteous feminist rant with a peppering of class and national security stuff. Awesome. I can tolerate our differences, because she clearly gets the most important part, for me anyway.

      • WMCB says:

        I loved it when she talked about her union family, and jobs, and crappy education, and standing in the way of progress, and then told the SEIU “Bite Me.” LOL!

    • HELENK says:

      she is my new hero.

    • DandyTiger says:

      Some people are awake. Oopsie.

  15. WMCB says:

    LMAO! So the NYT has a veddy veddy serious article pondering what positive thing Obama is going to run on in 2012. It’s a meandering bewildered stroll through the possibilities for dear leader to strike a cheery note. He was so positive in 2008! And he really needs to pivot to being positive again! It features statements like this:

    Judging by the difficulties he has had selling his policies and himself for the last three years, going positive in an effective way could prove to be more challenging for Mr. Obama than going negative.

    Because, I mean, there has to be a way, and I’m sure that Obama will find it, what with him being Teh Awesome and all – he just hasn’t quite pinned it down yet. Right?

    A commenter at HotAir responded much as I would:

    Does it ever occur to the geniuses at the New York Times that if your INCUMBENT candidate cannot think of a single positive thing to say about his own tenure, and if his surrogates and campaign staff cannot think of a single positive thing to say about their candidate, that maybe their guy is a COMPLETE FAILURE??!!

    I mean, really, what’s it gonna take for these idiots to see the writing on the wall? Does Barack himself have to gather them all around and tell them himself: “I’m a loser, guys. I got nothin’. Nada. Zip. Zilch. There isn’t one positive thing to say about me, my administration, my leadership. I suck. Big time. Ok? Everyone understand? Everyone got it? Good. Now who’s got a Newport menthol for the ex-president?”

    http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/04/13/for-obama-going-positive-may-be-more-difficult-this-time/?partner=rss&emc=rss

  16. WMCB says:

    I was completely unaware that Neil Cavuto has Multiple Sclerosis. He has some things to say about Ann Romney in a video here:

    http://www.foxnews.com/on-air/your-world-cavuto/2012/04/13/cavuto-ann-romney-hasnt-had-it-easy

  17. myiq2xu says:

    Some of these obots defending Hilary Rosen remind me of wingnuts defending Rush Limbaugh during the Sandra Fluke controversy.

    “But she IS a slut!”

    “But she IS a rich bitch!”

    Sometimes it’s better to to keep your mouth shut.

    • WMCB says:

      Michelle Malkin was one of the few who came out and said he was wrong. I really respected her for that, because she got some heat for it. Funny, but she could separate her general agreement with Rush over the “churches paying for birth control” thing from the sexist language he used to make his point.

      Gee, novel concept, that.

  18. myiq2xu says:

    Giants win a nailbiter. It was 3-3 at the bottom of the ninth. Giants load the bases with no outs before winning 4-3 on an error.

    • leslie says:

      Sounded exciting. My team is the White Sox. They are now in 1st place. I relish this as it could be the only time this season. (but I hope not)

  19. threewickets says:

  20. WMCB says:

    One of my favorite Twitter feeds is Jose Canseco (Yes, it’s really him.)

  21. WMCB says:

  22. WMCB says:

  23. jeffhas says:

    These Jose Canseco tweets are delicious. I mean I actually kinda like the guy – but he ain’t goin’ to the MENSA meetings anytime soon.

    Twits shouldn’t tweet.

    • myiq2xu says:

      My favorite Canseco moment was when the ball bounced off his head and over the fence for a home run.

      http://www.yourdailymedia.com/video/watch/5082/

      • jeffhas says:

        OK – two things about that link:

        1) Jose’s head was made for something…. obviously ‘holdin’ brains’ wasn’t it…. and we now have video proof. (thank you).

        2) the condom ad prior to the video (I hope that’s the ad everyone else gets – ’cause it was an attention getter)… I gotta get me some Billy Boy condoms now… (hehe, smart c*ck). Made in Germany, but they are penetrating the US market.

        Just in case you don’t get it in the link above – here’s the youtube:

        …. now I’m lookin’ at all their ads – what a way to spend a Saturday night – brought to you by Jose Canseco.

  24. myiq2xu says:

    Best obituary ever:

    Michael “Flathead” Blanchard
    1944 ~ 2012

    A Celebration of the life of Michael “Flathead” Blanchard will be held on April 14th, 3 pm 8160 Rosemary St, Commerce City. Weary of reading obituaries noting someone’s courageous battle with death, Mike wanted it known that he died as a result of being stubborn, refusing to follow doctors’ orders and raising hell for more than six decades. He enjoyed booze, guns, cars and younger women until the day he died.
    Mike was born July 1944 in Colorado to Clyde and Ethel Blanchard. A community activist, he is noted for saving the Dr. Justina Ford house from demolition and defending those who could not defend themselves. He was a Republican delegate, life member of the NRA, founder and President of the Dead Cats MC. He loved music.
    Mike was preceded in death by Clyde and Ethel Blanchard, survived by his beloved sons Mike and Chopper, former wife Jane Transue, brother Stephen Blanchard (Susan), Uncle Don and Aunt Cynthia Blanchard(his favorite); Uncle Dill and Aunt Dot, cousins and nephews, Baba Yaga can kiss his butt. So many of his childhood friends that weren’t killed in Vietnam went on to become criminals, prostitutes and/or Democrats. He asks that you stop by and re-tell the stories he can no longer tell. As the Celebration will contain Adult material we respectfully ask that no children under 18 attend.

    Published in Denver Post on April 12, 2012

  25. threewickets says:

    Some people are talking about the movie Alien as a story of class struggle. The vampire squid monster against Ripley and her blue collar occupy crew. Although from what I remember, the Alien was doing pretty much all the occupying on the ship.

  26. Lulu says:

    There are two articles about the selling of influence in this WH this morning. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/15/us/politics/white-house-doors-open-for-big-donors.html?_r=1&pagewanted=all?src=tp and http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/former-dem-congressman- kennedy-alleges-quid-pro-quo-access-white-house_637051.html
    Both paint an ugly picture of influence peddling which was entirely predictible with Obama’s history in Chicago if anyone was willing to look. Let us remember that Hilary Rosen is a senior partner in a unregistered lobbying firm along with Anita Dunn with complete access. To suggest that this entire group (including ex Clinton supporters who quickly got with the program) donated, rigged the DNC, and promptly cashed in is pretty obvious. There is a rather unflattering term to describe the process and the individuals sucking up the cash while they can and we all know what it is.
    .

  27. yttik says:

    I think the election of 2008 was the worst bad trip I’ve ever had. I didn’t go anywhere, but most of my community was kidnapped by alien pod people.

    • leslie says:

      I know, it was the same “trip” for me, too. I just rec’d a message from a former colleague saying he respected that I was the “only liberal that wasn’t hypnotized” in 2008. He then said “I think Hillary would have made a better president”. I think he wants a refund for his trip ticket. too late.

      • Jadzia says:

        I got my first FB message like that in mid-2009. : ) Because my mama raised me right, I did not say, “I told you so.”

  28. WMCB says:

    LMAO! David Axelrod just made a huge gaffe.

  29. yttik says:

    The Titanic is not sinking. We’re in the throes of a recovery. All is well, three million people have left the work force so there are enough life boats for everybody.

  30. HELENK says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Journalism/2012/04/14/black-activist-to-trayvon-martin-parents-get-off-the-stage

    this is beyond the pale. No matter how you feel about the case , these parents have lost a SON, to them he is a lot more then a political or racial cause

    • yttik says:

      Wow!! So basically he’s telling the parents to sit down and shut up because their grief and honesty is interferring with the politics of this case?? You’ve served your purpose, now STFU and let us exploit your tragedy for all it’s worth?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I just knew it was about her comment “I believe it was an accident”. I heard the collective gasps of the professional race baiters when I first read about it.

      • leslie says:

        Yes, well one of those gasps came from me. When I heard her say “it was an accident” I was surprised Sharpton didn’t come out an grab her by the hair and drag her from the set. I wondererd how long it would be before she would retract or “clarify” what she had said.

      • WMCB says:

        Yes, because it’s just not possible that Trayvon wasn’t an evil thug looking for trouble, NOR was George an evil racist looking for trouble.

        It’s just not possible that maybe they were both fairly decent guys for whom a chance set of events, with crossed signals on both sides, turned tragic.

        They got pissy that Trayvon’s mother was being a sensible human being, saying “It’s entirely possible neither was an awful person” despite her grief.

        • myiq2xu says:

          One of the dirty little secrets of war is how many of our troops are accidentally killed by our troops.

          Fear, adrenaline and firearms are a dangerous combo.

  31. HELENK says:

    http://cnsnews.com/news/article/department-justice-assigns-5-prosecutors-retrial-roger-clemens

    holders dept of crime can have 5 prosecutors for a retrial about steriods but none for an investigation of the black panthers for death threats. screwy priorities

  32. HELENK says:

    I found this interesting
    wall of water mirage

    http://129.164.179.22/apod/ap120415.html

  33. Today’s Power of Women news daily is out: http://paper.li/annabellep/1334417850#

    Please subscribe if you like it. It’s a collection of stories and articles from around the web about women, by women, or for women.

  34. DandyTiger says:

    iowahawkblog: The “War on Women” meme serves the same purpose as Axelrod’s combover, and is equally successful.

  35. zaladonis says:

    That’s our girl!

    Hillary Clinton knocks back a beer and dances the night away at a Colombia nightclub

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2130083/Hillary-Clinton-knocks-beer-dances-night-away-Colombia-nightclub.html

  36. WMCB says:

    Heh. Gawd I love iowahawk:

  37. HELENK says:

    Do you think this guy has a future as a government worker? He can use expensive equiptment and waste time while getting paid to do something that most people can do for a lot less.

    http://www.wimp.com/emptybottle/

  38. Pingback: Luck Ain't A Lady And Columbian Hookers Are Not Stay At Home Moms — Hillary Is 44

Comments are closed.