Irresponsible Journalism

h/t WMCB on this image

A couple of things to note this afternoon. First, P&L broke the story last night of CBS playing fast and loose with the video and transcript of the Romney-Ryan 60 Minutes Interview. However, perhaps because of our story, a critical piece of it was restored as of today. The details:

BREAKING! (approx 1:30 p.m. 08/13) Alert reader ProudMilitaryMom has made me aware that CBS has restored the Solyndra remarks to the supposed complete interview video! You can now find these remarks starting at the 11.27 mark on the video. These comments were not there last night. I ran the video three times before I posted this article, and checked everywhere online to see if I could find a clip or a quote.

Interestingly enough, about an hour ago I checked my blog stats and found that someone on the internal servers at Fleishman Hillard, a public relations firm, had been to my blog. I was wondering what that was about, but I think we now have our answer. If you want to put the details together yourself, just check out their client list on Wikipedia. Clearly a left-leaning PR firm with lots of Chicago connections.  Also, check out the controversy part of the Wiki just below the partial client list.

Now to gloat:

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever does.” ~Margaret Mead

Also, HotAir posted about this this morning, sans the Solyndra part, but WE broke the story last night! (h/t myiq2xu)

Another interesting tidbit: the media is now becoming part of the story, which is always a dangerous development for them. Just today Matthew Yglesias at Slate became the latest to sacrifice his credibility on the alter of Obama-worship, via a story he had to retract less than three hours after he posted it:

Let me apologize. I originally had a too-credulous item here linking to a piece at The Richmonder alleging that Paul Ryan has sold bank shares after a closed door meeting with Henry Paulson and Ben Bernanke on the financial crisis in 2008. As Eric Platt explains he certainly seems to have sold the shares on the same day as the meeting, but the meeting happened in the evening by which time the markets would have been closed. One can perhaps construct a scenario by which the Richmonder’s theory of the case holds up, but they don’t have the goods and I shouldn’t have passed their analysis on with no qualification and so little scrutiny of my own.

This comment was posted above a total strike out of his entire article. At least he had a shred of integrity left and didn’t yank it entirely. And by shred, I mean a dried up, broken fig leaf.

The media is a mess, judging by visits today to Memeorandum, RCP, and various known BS artists like the WaPo & the NYT. The Ryan pick has totally upended the narrative, and the fear and loathing is swelling to new heights. Good. I suspect that’s part of the plan.

This entry was posted in 2012 Elections. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Irresponsible Journalism

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Bob Scheiffer should be removed from the debate gig !

    OT: Who had Bi-Polar in the JJjr office pool?

    http://www.suntimes.com/news/metro/14462704-418/story.html

    The good news, it’s very treatable with meds.

  2. If you want to help, please retweet:

  3. mcnorman says:

    msm = negligence

    sheer negligence

  4. votermom says:

    OT this enrages me

  5. myiq2xu says:

    “Irresponsible journalism” is redundant.

  6. myiq2xu says:
  7. carol haka says:

    From a friend on FB:

    Recently, while I was working in the flower beds in the front yard, my neighbors stopped to chat as they returned home from walking their dog. During our friendly conversation, I asked their little girl what she wanted to be when she grows up. She said she wanted to be President some day. Both of her parents, liberal Democrats, were standing there, so I
    asked her, “If you were President what would be the first thing you would do?” She replied… “I’d give food and houses to all the homeless people.” Her parents beamed with pride! “Wow…what a worthy goal!” I said. “But you don’t have to wait until you’re President to do that!” I told her. “What do you mean?” she replied. So I told her, “You can come over to my house and mow the lawn, pull weeds, and trim my hedge, and I’ll pay you $50. Then you can go over to the grocery store where the homeless guy hangs out and give him the $50 to use toward food and a new house.” She thought that over for a few seconds, then she looked me straight in the eye and asked, “Why doesn’t the homeless guy come over and do the work, and you can just pay him the $50?” I said, “Welcome to the Republican Party.” Her parents aren’t speaking to me anymore.

    • ROFLMAO! I am stealing that!

    • votermom says:

      LOLOLOLOL. Awesome!

    • Oswald says:

      A Democratic candidate is out campaigning door to door. At one house he introduces himself the the man who answers the door, hands him a brochure and asks “Can I count on your vote this November?”

      The man says “I’m sorry but I’m a Republican and I only vote for Republicans.”

      “Why are you a Republican?” the candidate asks.

      “Well,” said the man, “My parents were Republicans, all my brothers and sisters are Republicans, and all my friends and neighbors are Republicans.”

      The candidate gets annoyed and says “If your parents were idiots, all your brothers and sisters were idiots, and all your friends and neighbors were idiots what would you be then?”

      “A Democrat, I guess” the man replies.

  8. votermom says:

    Preview of Biden-Ryan debate

  9. yttik says:

    I wouldn’t call it “irresponsible journalism,” I think it borders on criminal negligence. A blogger, an individual, a facebook poster, is one thing, but the so called professionals in the mainstream media should not be allowed to edit, plagiarize, censor, or deliberately lie and slander. In the olden days, you would lose your job for things like that.

  10. DM says:

    I doubt very much that Bob Scheiffer had anything to do with the editing. I thought his questions were good and fair.

    • Eh, I thought it was overall a “friendly” interview, but he stilled shilled for Obama quite a bit. And Romney knew it when he did. You could tell by his reaction. See the article at my place for more explanation on that.

      • DM says:

        I read your post. I find that flash overheats my laptop (one reason Apple does not allow flash with mobile gadgets) or crashes when the video is too long. This may be the reason for the interview having been shortened and posted separately, to make it more user friendly, obviously I’m giving CBS the benefit of the doubt. I find CBS to be mostly fair with its reporting, and Scheiffer a good journalist. I also believe that the editing of the video or any missing transcript was not the work of Scheiffer, just a guess. Now that Couric is gone, I find CBS to do a fair job at reporting. I don’t like to assume bad intent, unless the reporter or media consistently shows its bias, such as Fox News and MSNBC. McClatchy is another media source that is very fair, imho.

        • myiq2xu says:

          If they were worried about the video being too long why not break it into 2 or more parts?

          Why post the edited version labeled “full interview?” Why edit the transcript?

        • DM says:

          It’s possible that there was bad intentions. I saw 60 Minutes on the TV, and the Solyndra comment didn’t seem that big a deal. Obama has been attacked on that so much, that’s not news. I liked the highlighting of the $700 billion Medicare cut because it reminded the voters of something from 2009-2010 when Obamacare was passed. People forget.

          Pre-recorded interviews are not aired in their entirety. If we knew what was left out, we would scream: BIAS! But it’s mostly due to time constraints. It’s possible the editor tried to cut the video for the internet in a way that did not disrupt the flow of exchange. The Solyndra part could be cut and stand on its own. It’s the only explanation I can come up with. The video cutting might have also screwed up the transcript. It just wasn’t that important, imho. The TV audience is the largest.

Comments are closed.