Are You A BGV?



Stephen Green
(aka “Vodkapundit”):

The polls also have a hard time making numbers out of “broken glass voters.” These are folks who (like me) voted for Bob Barr four years ago, or held their nose and grudgingly voted for McCain, or just stayed home. This year they’d crawl naked over broken glass to vote against Obama. There are even a few BGV types who voted for Obama last time around. They can also be filed under “Won’t Get Fooled Again.” They feel betrayed, and rightly so.


I would crawl five miles through broken glass while naked in the snow uphill both ways to vote against Obama.

Just one more week. Just seven more days.



About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in 2012 Elections, Barack Obama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Are You A BGV?

  1. catarina says:

    I always give telephone pollsters the “I’ll crawl across broken glass” line.
    It makes them giggle, but it’s not a joke!

  2. DM says:

    In 2004, when the national polls indicated a second Bush term, my last refuge was: The electoral map is what matters, and the fight is in OH.

    I see the Obama supporters repeating my mantra that The One will win because he has, according to a few polls, a slim edge in some battleground states. Those who are losing look for anything that might just work to change the outcome. I have no doubt that the Detroit Tigers were also looking at the 4th game as the one game that would change the battle. But I was like a BGV and wore my magic SF cap. :)

    • Constance says:

      I’m thinking it might be a good idea to wear your magic hat until the election is over. Because voting has already started so you shouldn’t wait until next Tuesday to put it on.

  3. yttik says:

    Yes, I’m a broken glass voter :)

    People around here have been calling the state Dems, the broken record party. All they ever do is tell has how if we just pass this law and pay these taxes, they’ll fund “education, healthcare, sustainability, and prevention.”

    I guess it wouldn’t go over well if they asked for more laws and higher taxes to fund crony capitalism, but I’m really starting to hate those words, education, healthcare, sustainability, and prevention. They never fund any of those things, I’m not even sure they know what they are. They’re just empty words they repeat like a broken record as if that explains everything.

  4. ME says:

    Yes I am a broken glass voter. I voted for Romney the first day of early voting at 10am.

  5. DM says:

    Did Sandy have a mssion?:

    Sandy Takes Down Huffington Post, Gawker Websites

    http://www.cnbc.com//id/49607735

  6. yttik says:

    Anybody think Oregon is going to go red? I think Wa and Ca will stay blue, but by very narrow margins this time. I’m thinking Oregon could actually go Romney.

    • DM says:

      I think it will be close in OR, but I’d give O a 1 point edge. Other blue states that were closer in 2008 will shift to red.

    • Constance says:

      I still haven’t badgered my husband into mailing his ballot, he loves to torture me, and so two Obots came to our door and wouldn’t leave until he talked to them. He had a complete melt down about Benghazi and sent them packing but I live in liberal Seattle and if Obots would chase individual votes here they must be worried Romney will take it. I do think we are going to get a Republican Governor.

    • deminexile says:

      I saw a new poll today for Oregon that had Romney within 6 and it had a 5 point margin of error. So he is getting pretty close. It will probably go down to turnout. Oregon isn’t as dark blue as everyone thinks. Especially with the state of the economy. We are currently the state with the highest percentage of people on food stamps and have had a big jump in the poverty rate. I live in Salem and have seen plenty of Romney/Ryan signs, but no Obama signs. But Portland is the fly in the ointment. Without Portland and Eugene, the state is red.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    I know Muse is uberLiberal, but I like this….

  8. gram cracker says:

    It is a strange world. Two weeks ago I was in rural VA staying with friends who are retired from DC area jobs. They are yellow dog Dems. Abortion and birth control are the most important issues to them. They just don’t understand how any woman could vote for any Republican. They are convinced that Romney and Ryan will work to get Roe overturned. They they will go after birth control access.

    This week I am visiting with my Indiana based born-again, fundamentalist Christian nephew and his wife. My niece-in-law won’t vote for Obama but is reluctant to vote for Romney because she is convinced that he isn’t pro-life enough. She doesn’t think he will try to get Roe overturned. She may withhold her vote for President.

    Both of these couples are some of the nicest, most caring, generous people you could ever hope to have as friends and relatives. My nephew and his family have at times attended a primarily black church. They volunteered to adopt the son of a chinese woman they had befriended who was beaten to death by her husband, his father. My Dem friends have provided extraordinary hospitality and support to their Repub relatives back in KY.

    Except for their beliefs regarding abortion and their political party affiliation these people share many of the same values and live their lives similarly. Most of us want the same things for ourselves and our family.

    I believe Romney is more likely to work effectively across partisan lines than Obama. If he wins, Romney will have his work cut out keeping his fellow Repubs from overreaching and creating a backlash at the polls in 2014.

    If Obama wins his last election what incentive will he have to bridge the partisan divide. He can golf, vacation and party with his Hollywood friends and prepare for a cushy post presidency life. Obama isn’t likely to be concerned about what happens to the Democratic party after he is gone.

    • DM says:

      I believe Romney is more likely to work effectively across partisan lines than Obama. If he wins, Romney will have his work cut out keeping his fellow Repubs from overreaching and creating a backlash at the polls in 2014

      I think Romney understands that religion should not be politicized. If anything, it’s one of the things I look forward if Romney wins, religion will not be a political issue in the next four years.

  9. leslie says:

    I would have been a BGV but I only had to wait for an hour or so on Sunday to vote for R/R.

  10. Clover says:

    “At this point, given all the indicators, Obama’s plan for a decisive enough turnout advantage to overcome a huge loss with independents looks like the Underpants Gnomes’ business plan.”

    bit.ly/VtCIgX

    http://bit.ly/g0XhVq

  11. swanspirit says:

    Absolutely I am a BGV , canoe over Sandy flood waters voter . I didn’t hold my nose to vote for McCain and Palin , I enjoyed it .

  12. DM says:

    Gallup expects voter turnout in 2012 will be lower than 2004 and 2008.

    http://www.gallup.com/poll/158435/voter-turnout-likely-fall-short-2004-2008.aspx

  13. swanspirit says:

    Also , anyone who thinks Obama isn’t using the tragedy of Sandy for political purposes is an Obot.

  14. angienc says:

    I already voted for Romney in the alleged “swing” state of NC.
    Mom & dad already did too (although they are in a red state).

  15. 49erDweet says:

    Waiting for the next OFA commercial claiming credit for the construction industry’s rebirth – due to long term effect of Sandy recovery requirements. Apparently he does control the elements.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Sorry. Depressed from watching too much Weather Channel.

      • swanspirit says:

        No apology necessary , Everything obama says rubs me the wrong way . In regard to Sandy , he said “Americans are tough ” Well some are , but there are some very tender Americans who have had a rough time and and now some have endured a tragedy of epic proportions .Saying Americans are tough bespeaks a real lack of empathy to me .

  16. http://baseballcrank.com/archives2/2012/10/politics_why_i_2.php

    If you’re a data geek, the above post is one you will not want to miss. It’s basically what I’ve been saying all along. Obama’s only hope is to exceed his voter turnout in the exact same categories, across every category just in order to beat GOP (and BGV) enthusiasm this year. And he’s not doing it among the two areas he needs to most: independents and the gender gap. That gender gap goes both ways, remember, and not only is Obama down among women, Romney is way, way up among men. Independents are flooding to Romney. The post above has the data to back all this up. The title is Why I Think Obama is Toast.

  17. fif says:

    I am sitting in a cafe, and I was listening to a table of people loudly pontificating about Obama, citing sources like the New Yorker, and personifying every infuriating, condescending, media-driven meme out there. Then the final straw: “The real reason is racism, that’s the only reason someone wouldn’t vote for him. How could anyone not vote for him? The rest of the world all thinks we’re crazy for not supporting him.” That was it for me: I jumped in and asked: “If it’s all racism, then how did he win in 2008?”

    “Well, they’re all angry now because he did win.”

    WTF? “How about that he’s done an awful job?” I cited his numerous broken promises, lies, ineptitude and whatever else poured out of me, and one woman left and the other guy ended up mumbling, “Yea, he has been disappointing…but the alternative is unthinkable.”

    Sigh–I can’t wait ’til he’s gone. I told them to brace themselves for Tuesday.

  18. Glennmcgahee says:

    This looks like it may be old news but not if you watch any major media. SHOCKING, but no surprise.

    http://tinyurl.com/9pfj6le

  19. DeniseVB says:

    I give up. So according to Andrea Mitchell, Red Cross doesn’t want “stuff” they want “cash” ? JesusMaryandJoseph.

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/ready-msnbc-anchor-makes-stunning-claim-while-criticizing-romneys-storm-volunteerism-red-cross-doesnt-want-or-need-your-donations/

    • The Red Cross doesn’t need it, but the people do!

      • Lulu says:

        This reminds me of my friend who was donating some service from her business for the PBS “begging” week. Some rich old bat local PBS board member told her they didn’t really want that donation they wanted money. She told her the PBS station didn’t really want her volunteerism either but they had to put up with her to get her old man’s money.

    • DM says:

      Food and staples is what churches give away. It’s true that the Red Cross wants cash, but the Red Cross is not the only one that delivers help. My supermarket has a bin to give food to the needy. I’ve never asked which charity gets what goes into the bin, but I’m assuming there’s a channel for that stuff.

    • cj says:

      It’s hard to believe that Mitchell was once a well-respected journalist. It’s baffling to watch someone with her former gravitas beclown herself for Obama just a few years before her retirement.

      She & Hillary would be wise to follow Oprah’s lead & drop the sucker like a bag of rocks.

  20. votermom says:

    I’m back! Lost power since last night but it’s all good now. :)

    • yttik says:

      Congratulations!

    • angienc says:

      Glad your OK votermom!

    • gram cracker says:

      Was wondering if you were all right. Noticed your absence and figured that at a minimum you lost power. I am relieved for you that you have your power back.

      For once my daughter in Arlington VA did not lose power. She was at U of Miami when Andrew tore through Florida. I remember feeling so helpless that I couldn’t swoop in and get her out of harms way. She was at Lallapalooza and didn’t even realize she was in the evacuation zone. Kids!

    • leslie says:

      Yay vmom !!! Stay well and safe.

  21. DM says:

  22. Constance says:

    I’m just waiting for the Obots to delay the election or some how screw it up because of the storm in the East.

    • gram cracker says:

      Earlier today Judge Napolitano said that Governors can delay congressional elections but the US constitution does not allow them to change the Presidential election from being the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. He said that established case law has consistently ruled against accepting ballots turned in late for any reason. No dog ate my absentee ballot excuses.

  23. Hahahaha … tweet

    toddstarnes ‏@toddstarnes
    Bloomberg asks Obama not to visit NYC.

    • Lulu says:

      They are too busy to fool with him. Think of the security cost to the city and state, the time, and people too busy to provide adoring crowds. He didn’t go campaigning or fundraising because he was hoping for campaign photo ops. No one has time for him or can afford to host the clueless guest.

  24. myiq2xu says:

    New thread up – “Will Sandy Save Barry?”

  25. honoracarroll says:

    I am such a BGV that I am thinking of voting early in MARYLAND. There is no way my vote even counts since Obama will win Maryland, even when Romney wins in a landslide. I am so dying to vote against Obama that I am will to drive into dangerous parts of Baltimore City to cast my vote early.

  26. gxm17 says:

    I’ve supported Jill Stein for the better part of a year and have sent her as much, if not more, money than I sent HRC. But I live in a swing state and I’m willing to buck up and do what I gotta do. My vote next Tuesday will be both incredibly painful and incredibly delicious. BGV? You better believe it.

    • leslie says:

      I can only imagine how hard this decision is for you gmx. It was all of your comments about Jill Stein that got me to really consider her. But Sunday when I cast my R/R vote in Illinois, I actually smiled. I know we aren’t really a swing state, but I know that “downstate Illinois” – meaning anything outside the metropolitan Chgo area -whether north south or west – is strong red, and I just wanted to give them a shot at overturning the Chicago Dems.
      Now would that be loverly?

  27. Somebody says:

    Good for you gxm17!

    I’m also a BGV, but better than that my card carrying union husband is a BGV this time……WOOT! In fact OFA people just called here Sunday trying to pimp for money or volunteering and he told them not only no, but hell no. They kept telling him Romney would do this or that and he’d say……”Doesn’t sway me, still voting Romney”. They did that with 3 different things and finally gave up.

    As a little side note, those OFA people all year have called and gotten me a registered R, LOL! I have given them an ear full several times. Somebody figured out our family “diversity” and they began to specifically tell me they didn’t want to talk to me, only my huband. They usually call when he’s at work, his shift changes daily, I’m sure they just think I’m a liar, LOL! This time he was home and actually answered the phone……and their little bubble was burst.

Comments are closed.