A vote for Romney is a vote for Hillary


Politico:

Report: Bill Clinton aide voting Romney

Top Bill Clinton confidant Douglas Band has said that he will vote for Republican Mitt Romney, according to a report in The New Yorker, apparently a move to strengthen Hillary Clinton’s position in the Democratic Party.

In revealing the relationship between President Barack Obama and former President Clinton, The New Yorker’s Ryan Lizza drops a fascinating tidbit in the second-to-last paragraph of the story.

“By some measures, a defeat for Obama in November would leave Hillary the undisputed leader of her party and propel her toward the Oval Office that much faster. At least one of [Bill] Clinton’s closest advisers seems to be backing that strategy,” writes Lizza. “According to two people with direct knowledge, Douglas Band has said that he will vote for Romney. Band declined to comment.”

IOW – A vote for Romney is a vote for Hillary!

I agree with the strategy. It’s what I have been saying for several years now. If Obama wins then the Republicans are a lock to win in 2016.

If Romney wins there are two obstacles to Hillary running successfully in 2016:

1. The economy – If the economy is turned around and unemployment is down, Mitt will be almost certain to win a second term (and he would deserve it).

2. Benghazi – We still don’t know how big a stain the Benghazi attack/cover-up will leave on Hillary’s record.


About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in Hillary Clinton, Mitt Romney and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to A vote for Romney is a vote for Hillary

  1. angienc says:

    Some days you don’t post for hours on end. Others you step all over your own post.

    Is this “manic” myiq we’ve got today? ;-)

  2. DM says:

    I think it’s true that the Clintons will be powerful if Obama loses this year. But I believe Hillary when she says that she will not run for president in 2016. Having the Clintons’ influence in the party will hopefully bring the party to give the voters better choices.

    The New Yorker is reaching again to the Clinton haters (DKos, Huffington, etc.) to bring back the excitement from 2008. It’s not going to work. This 2012.

  3. DM says:

    No Gallup poll out yet. :(

    • angienc says:

      I think I heard somewhere they were only going to release numbers Monday.

      I bet they’ll have it as a tie. The polls at this point are even more meaningless than usual — it’s turnout & nothing else because no one is changing their minds. The truly undecided who intents to *vote* doesn’t exist.

      • Jadzia says:

        I really think that’s true in any election when you’re down to the last coupla days. But likely ESPECIALLY true this time around, thanks to the Polarizer-in-Chief.

    • angienc says:

      Update– Pat Caddell just said there’d be a Gallup number tomorrow.

  4. DM says:

    Two Different Types of Crowds
    Mark Halperin: “Don’t kill me for the obvious, but the near absence of racial diversity in the Romney crowds is teased out further by the contrast with the rainbow the President draws. It is more striking than I have ever experienced it in any presidential campaign I have covered.”

    I want Mitt to win MI, WI, and MN.

    • Mary says:

      Not to mention that the crowd for one of them was 30,000 people, and the crowd for the other was 4,000, Mark.

      Pretty striking, given what we saw in 2008.

    • Jadzia says:

      Having grown up mostly in Michigan, it always shocks me to hear that it’s considered to be so very blue. Then I remember that the U.P. (home of Rep. Stupak, need I say more?), where we lived, contains 3 percent (there is no second digit missing) of the state’s population. Though it makes up about 1/3 of the land mass.

      • leslie says:

        That makes me realize that the only people I know in Michigan (my mothers family mostly and a few family friends) are conservatives and Reps. My mother was the renegade – - – until the second year of Obama’s term. She wasn’t going to vote for him again. If she hadn’t passed away last summer, she would’ve gladly voted for Romney.
        Her family was from the Grand Rapids area. a very conservative area at one time.

  5. angienc says:

    Hey remember all that talk about the vaunted Obama “ground game”–yeah, like everything else about that organization it was nothing but a lie (the biggest lie of 2008, as we all know, is that Obama ran a “nearly flawless campaign” — it was lying, cheating, stealing & MSM boosting that won that election –in combo with Bush fatigue — not his great campaigning skills). Proof:

    CLEVELAND, Ohio — Legendary performer Stevie Wonder this morning expressed his love for Cleveland during a get-out-the-vote rally at Cleveland State University.

    His love went largely unrequited.

    Fewer than 200 people showed up to watch Wonder perform a handful of his hits at the early voting event in support of President Barack Obama.

    Most of the people had learned of the event just hours before the 9:30 a.m. start time. Some just happened to be in the area and followed the live music.

    Campaign volunteer Ken Johnson asked who in the crowd had voted early before introducing Wonder.

    Nearly every hand went up.

    Wonder took the stage at about 10:30 a.m.

    “I do a song. You go vote. You come back. We do some more music,” he said before opening with “Sir Duke.”

    No one left to vote after the first — or any — song.

    A shuttle meant to take voters to the nearby Cuyahoga County Board of Elections left empty after Wonder’s final song, “Superstition.”

    Obama for America Ohio, which hosted the rally, informed its nearly 34,000 followers on Twitter about the event around 10 a.m.

    “Perhaps it wasn’t advertised properly, but the people who are here are fired up,” said Bill Milhoan, of Mentor.

    Milhoan, who said he supports Obama, was one of the few people in the crowd who have not already voted.

    “It would be disingenuous to say I am here because of Obama,” he said. “How do you pass up a chance to see Stevie Wonder?”

    http://www.cleveland.com/metro/index.ssf/2012/11/few_know_about_stevie_wonder_a.html#incart_river

  6. angienc says:

    OT — funniest man on the internet:

    • leslie says:

      I am laughing out loud and my neighbor just knocked on my (slightly ajar) back door – the one with all the anti-obama and pro-Romeny stickers on it – to see what happened .!!
      .
      :D

    • Jadzia says:

      Well, it sure would be nice if companies would stop requiring bachelor’s degrees for secretarial jobs and other occupations where people used to be trained on the job. Median undergraduate loan debt is around 27K according to CNN (http://money.cnn.com/2012/10/18/pf/college/student-loan-debt/index.html) anyway.

      Yeah, I’m a little grumpy today. (OK, I’m crying-in-the-corner depressed, if that’s not TMI.) But usually I find him funny.

      • angienc says:

        I think the “discover yourself” part in connection with $100k meant that he’s talking about people who get those vanity/b.s. degrees from really expensive schools that still won’t get you hired at any of those jobs you are referring to.

        • Jadzia says:

          You’re probably right. My anecdata says that the largest group of folks who have six-figure debt are med school and law school grads. Not an inconsiderable number of the latter chase the J.D. as a “find yourself” degree. I actually feel really sorry for the people who went to law school and graduated around 2008-2009 or so, the ones who signed up before schools were shamed into giving up the REAL employment stats. (And even now they are totally gaming those stats with their fake 9-month “fellowships” designed to boost their employment numbers on the February 1 following graduation, which is the US News reporting date.)

          But at this point there is so much out there about the crappy job prospects compared to the sky-high tuition that I’m not sure if these folks going to law school now are smart enough to find their way out of a paper bag, much less into a courtroom.

  7. DandyTiger says:

    Have I mentioned lately that Obama eats dogs? Obama eats dogs you know.

  8. DM says:
  9. angienc says:

    Remember how family & kids are off limits? Yeah, not so much — DailyMail is attacking Mitt’s granddaughter Allie (Tag’s oldest) for having pictures on some Instagram photo sharing site called “Rich Kids of Instagram”–they juxstapose her pictures with pictures of other kids in expensive cars, etc.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2227201/Allie-Romney-Mitt-Romneys-16-year-old-granddaughter-proves-shes-47-cent-poses-designer-dress-lavish-Rich-Kids-Instagram-blog.html

  10. myiq2xu says:

    Jeebus Christ on a broken crutch!


    FEMA Out of Water, No Delivery Until Monday

    FEMA’s vaunted “lean forward” strategy that called for advanced staging of supplies for emergency distribution failed to live up to its billing in the immediate aftermath of Hurricane Sandy.

    In fact, the agency appears to have been completely unprepared to distribute bottled water to Hurricane Sandy victims when the storm hit this Monday. In contrast to its stated policy, FEMA failed to have any meaningful supplies of bottled water — or any other supplies, for that matter — stored in nearby facilities as it had proclaimed it would on its website. This was the case despite several days advance warning of the impending storm.

    FEMA only began to solicit bids for vendors to provide bottled water for distribution to Hurricane Sandy victims on Friday, sending out a solicitation request for 2.3 million gallons of bottled water at the FedBizOpps.gov website. Bidding closed at 4:30 pm eastern.

    Breitbart News spoke with contracting officer Annette Wright, who said that the winning vendor would be required to deliver the 2.3 million gallons of bottled water to an East Farmingdale, New York distribution center that was listed in the solicitation request by Monday, November 5th. Ms. Wright was unable to say when or how the water would be delivered from the distribution center to needy Hurricane Sandy victims in New Jersey, Staten Island, Long Island, and other boroughs of New York City. Vendors “are currently being evaluated,” she said, and when the vendors are announced, they will provide information on how local distribution will occur.

    Obama really is Bush III

    • Mary says:

      I’m reading that Bloomberg didn’t want the National Guard in certain locations——he said the only GUNS he wanted in the area were those carried by his own law enforcement.

      Can you believe that crap?

      • leslie says:

        Bloomberg and Obama deserve each other. And NOBODY in those “certain locations” deserves either one of them.

        • Mary says:

          Yup. That means, of course, that the citizens outside Mahattan, where Bloomberg is concentrating most of his police force, have no armed defenses against looters except themselves. They may have unarmed Guard handing out food & water , but no one prepared to protect or arrest.

    • Bet those people who are suffering would be happy to have some of the water Mitt collected on his bus.
      Have I mentioned today that EVERYTHING about Obama et al makes me sick and furious at the same time?

    • Jadzia says:

      There’s part of me that thinks that there are elements of the Sandy response that have been worse than Katrina. In Katrina there certainly was a whole lot of “don’t give a f*ck” going on, that’s for sure. But IMHO the primary issue was incompetence at every level. For Sandy, until he was shamed into acting like a HUMAN BEING, Bloomberg & Co. were competent enough to get things up and running for a marathon (a RECREATIONAL EVENT), and that was the priority over the residents in crisis. I think evil/craven/Mr. Burns is worse than stupid.

      Although FEMA 2012 does seem to be giving FEMA 2005 a run for its money in the incompetence department with this new development.

  11. foxyladi14 says:

    Some people in NJ just got power back. :)

  12. yttik says:

    In the other thread somebody mentioned the Misogynistic Moron Who Thinks He is a Comedian, who said black people know where you live and will come after you if you DON’T vote for Obama. I just wanted to mention, I have three Indian tribes, 75 black people, 19 gang bangers, and a whole lot of pissed off women who are coming after you if you DO. We don’t even care where you live, we’ll just hunt you down in the damn street :)

  13. leslie says:

    I prolly won’t do this correctly, but this tweet is how I felt last Sunday…

    Laura Freed‏@heyLauraFreed

    RT @Soshajustis: Man walks out after early voting. Someone in line asks, “How long did you wait to vote?” He answers: “Four years.”” Amen!!!

  14. leslie says:

    Has anyone see the film, “The Master”? what about “A Late Quartet”?
    I need to see a movie tonight. I need distraction from this election.
    I just now asked this in the thread below. I guess I’m desperate.

    • votermom says:

      Had to look those up. I haven’t seen a movie in ages but if you want netflix streaming I just saw The Double and it’s pretty good for a spy movie.

      • leslie says:

        Thanks, vmom. It’s on my list. I saw a funny little netflix streaming movie last night. It was called “We Have a Pope”. It was Italian and subtitled and actually fun – about a cardinal who was elected to be the pope, but didn’t want the job. It was a fluke (not sandra fluke) that I saw it. I thought I had saved it and instead I hit play.

    • lyn5 says:

      I just watched “Safety Not Guaranteed” via amazon instant video. Good movie. Also, the Twilight films are only 99 cents each to rent at amazon.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Thanks for posting this. Gloves, huh? Running low on work gloves. Have a supply of the vinyl kind but never thought about stocking up on work gloves. Hardware store, here I come. Thanks for the tip.

  15. Why is Homeland Security involved in Sandy?

  16. angienc says:

    Please delete Captian Quark’s comment at the end of the “Can You Feel the Mittmentum” thread — he’s trying to make us look racist with his bullshit when we all know he is an anti-Semite from Cannonfire who has scolded those of us here for *daring* to vote for Romney.

  17. Roberta says:

    I bet Bill and Hillary will vote Romney too. And I bet their are a whole lot of Congressional Dems who are voting Romney too.

  18. angienc says:

    This is seriously what John Kerry & Stephanie Cutter are tweeting today:

  19. Watching Mitt.
    He just said something to the effect of “I will try to be worthy” of your vote.

    Imagine that. He just does not seem like an entitled brat to me- unlike others who shall not be named.

    • And I love that his crowds are not chanting his name- every one I have seen and the clips- all show the crowd chanting
      USA USA USA!
      As it should be.

    • leslie says:

      It is embarrassing to say, but I think I have a crush on Mitt. Now I sound just like those obots from 2008

      • LOL no crush here. But I will admit- that listening to him just now- He tugged my heart strings- talking about AMERICA the America I used to live in, the America I want to live in once again. He talked about how great America is, about how together, WE can come together and come back.
        Could I tell you exactly what he said? No. But I can say that at the end I was a little misty eyed- and longing for that America- and almost, ALMOST believing.

        • leslie says:

          I know, PMM. That’s how I felt when I listened last night. I always fall for men who say what I want to hear. And Mitt says what I want to hear. Maybe I shouldn’t vote. . . oh, that’s right, I already DID vote for Romney/Ryan last week!
          Yeah!!
          :D

        • Stark difference isn’t it? Romney never disparages the voters. He does not try to shame us. He does not try to divide us by class, or race, or any other demographic.
          He reminds us of the BEST of what we are. He does not assign to the whole population the worst traits of small portions of extremist wingers.
          Appealing to the best in us- not the worst.

        • angienc says:

          I’ve noted it before, but Rommey uses the words “we” “our” and “us” much more than he uses “me” and “I” (the exact opposite of how the SCoaMF speaks). It shows he knows how to be a leader & bring people together. Bart Starr yesterday when he endorsed him in WI compared him to Vince Lombardi saying:

          “During the course of my football and business careers, I have had the great honor of meeting and associating with many outstanding leaders. This list includes some of the best football coaches of all time and numerous small-business owners. There are certain consistent qualities in each of these men – integrity, unselfishness, vision, dedication, and a willingness to unify individuals into a team – that I see in Governor Mitt Romney. He has been successful in every endeavor he has pursued, and I have every confidence that, if elected president, he would continue that remarkable level of success.”

      • yttik says:

        LOL, I have a crush on…being employed! Being able to pay the electric bill and keep the lights on! Being able to feel optimistic again! It’s been a long four years of hearing how racist we are, how greedy, how selfish, how our kids are fat. It’s been nothing but hatred, revenge, and divisiveness. You can’t help but fall in love with the idea of saying goodbye to all that.

  20. Cheese and RIce on burnt toast! I am getting at least a half a dozen begging emails every hour from the fraud campaign. I now have this as my standard reply (ya ya I know they don’t actually read them- still it is satisfying)
    “ROFL! Obama is the absolute worst president in the history of this country.
    You should have listened to the voters. WE chose Hillary. YOU chose a community organizer.
    You made your bed. I hope it is full of fleas and bedbugs.”

    • yttik says:

      Have you gotten the one that says, “you’ve always been one of our strongest supporters…” I was laughing so hard, I almost fell out of my chair.

      If I’m one of the President’s strongest supporters, he’s doomed :)

      • No I get the creepy one that says
        “We have been checking our list and see you have yet to make a donation……”
        All I can think of when I see that one is – Damn good thing I have a trained dog.

  21. leslie says:

    From Twitter:

    stephrork‏@Stephrork

    **BREAKING**NPR reports today that 75% of Cuban Americans in FL voting Romney because Obamas actions remind them of Castro. #oh #va #pa #p2

  22. SHV says:

    ” My anecdata says that the largest group of folks who have six-figure debt are med school and law school grads.”
    *****
    My wife went to state schools and with some scholarship funding, finished with an MD and $150,000 in debt. Five years of surgeon “school” with a couple of years of research and now a few years of cancer surgeon “school” and before you know it, you are pushing 40, haven’t made more than ~$36K and still owe a lot of money.

    With tuition gone out of sight and student loan interest rates going up, it doesn’t look good for someone just starting out on the med school path.

Comments are closed.