TAE: Calm Before the Storm Open Thread

It’s time for our final episode of This American Election before the actual election. TAE starts in just half an hour. This week’s episode if Calm Inside the Storm. Click the link to access the show, or the archive later. You can also listen live by calling (347) 324-3592. This week’s topics include:

  • Anthony’s Stephanopouli Report
  • Final Thoughts on Benghazi
  • Eye on Sandy
  • Closing Arguments
  • Schizophrenic Media
  • Anna Belle Calls the EC Map

Special guest: Mr. Anna Belle

We hope you’ll join us for this special edition! This is an open thread.

This entry was posted in 2012 Elections. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to TAE: Calm Before the Storm Open Thread

  1. Chatroom now open….

  2. Refresh for chat. Slight snafu…

  3. myiq2xu says:

    Mitt Romney is rocking a rally in Ohio

  4. swanspirit says:

    Damn , missed it !!!!! Will go and listen in a bit

  5. leslie says:

    Too bad tommy isn’t around. Megyn Kelly is interviewing someone about the difficulty with the polls and the polling processes now in question.
    And Paul Krugman is calling people who think obama might lose on Tuesday, “stupid”. Ah yes. The Democrats – the party of unity and harmony.

  6. DandyTiger says:

    Comment I made on your site posted here (yes, keep the show):

    Definitely keep the show going. Possible new show titles:
    “A New Hope” (if Romney wins) h/t Star Wars
    “Holy Fuck we’re Screwed” (if Obama wins)

  7. DM says:

    Well, that’s not good. Pew has moved from a few points Romney, to a tie, and now 3 points Obama? Wrong direction! I don’t see how all these polls can manage contacting people who are impacted by the storm.

    November 7 will be here soon enough.

    • DM says:

      I don’t know about this Pew poll. The race component seems skewed towards minorities (likely voters):

      White non-Hispanic 74
      Black non-Hispanic 12
      Hispanic 7
      Other non-Hispanic 5

      I believe that both, Hispanics and Blacks will not vote in smaller numbers. When those two groups aren’t excited, they stay home.

      • DM says:

        Correction: I believe that both, Hispanics and Blacks will not vote in smaller numbers

      • Somebody says:

        They called me yesterday…..I live in Florida. As soon as I told the woman I was white she told me they had their quota for white and promptly hung up the phone before I could say boo.

        I wondered about their research and about past elections. What has been the racial breakdown of past elections? Are they basing this survey on some model? How strong is their model?

        Fact is, I’m white…..but I’m a white bitch that has actually voted. There is no speculation about my vote it’s in the books….but pew didn’t care.

    • DandyTiger says:

      Interestingly they don’t say the R vs. D breakdown. But they do show that R’s are way more engaged and likely to vote. I take that to undo the advantage and bringing it back to even. But your mileage may vary.

    • DandyTiger says:

      Interesting from the report:

      Another notable gain for Obama, perhaps reflecting Hurricane Sandy’s effect on the race, comes in a region he was already secure in: the Northeast. He has increased his lead over Romney from nine points (52%-43%) to 21 points (56%-35%) there over just the past week.

      That tells me a big bump in the states that are going EC-wise to Obama anyway. So no difference in OH or PA IMO.

  8. myiq2xu says:
  9. myiq2xu says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t understand this obsession with early voting. You only get to vote once, right?

    I have never had any hassle voting. No long lines, ever. You can vote before work, during lunch or after work (I’ve done all three at different times)

    • Same here. I truly believe the early voting thing is designed so they can “register” voters hither and yon and bus them around. At this stop you are Joe Smith, the next polling station you are Joe Blow, etc. How many votes can they cast in the early voting period?

    • Constance says:

      In Washington we have mail in only ballots but once you mail your ballot in they stop harassing you with calls and stop knocking on your door. It is great! 2 days after mailing the ballot my peace and privacy was restored.

      • Don’t you worry about the privacy of your vote? How do you know they are not opening and recording your vote with your name?
        Creeps me out.

        • lyn5 says:

          PMM, in Oregon I sign the outer envelope that has my name and address on it. I put my ballot in the secrecy envelope and place it inside the outer one. I can go online to track my ballot and make sure it was accepted. Mine was accepted on Oct. 24th.

    • leslie says:

      I voted early in 2004 because I was working for the Kerry campaign and I was going to be out of state the 7days prior to and including election day. I voted early this year because I can’t get to the polls early enough to get to work on time, and if I wait until the end of my work day, I may not get to the polls before they close due to the distance of my commute. I didn’t want to take that chance.

      I work for the state and they don’t have to follow any of the rules they enforce on others.

  10. Somebody says:

    I’ve had to wait HOURS to vote before, during the middle of the day. In 2004 it took me over 3 hours to cast my vote, all the while standing in line trying to entertain my then 5 year old.

    Usually it’s about a 30 to 45 minute deal, sometimes 20 minutes if there is no line…….but 3 times in my life I’ve had to wait in line for hours. Oddly in 2008, the supposed year of record turnout I only had to wait behind about 5 people.

    I kind of expect long lines Tuesday so I decided to go ahead and vote last week since I could.

  11. ROFLMAO! Here’s a good one! Need a mod to put up the graphic

Comments are closed.