It’s Over Open Thread

It’s over. Four more years of hell, of a terrible economy, and more progressive authoritarianism. Tomorrow we begin to regroup and figure out the future. One thing I’m not doing is moving. There is still no greater country on earth. Romney is still winning the popular vote, which is proof enough for me.

I’ve committed to having one final This American Election tomorrow night, so I hope you will call in to express your pain and consternation, and not leave me and Anthony to fill an hour with our own melancholy. For now, here is this open thread for you to express yourself. Here’s where I am right now:

This entry was posted in 2012 Elections. Bookmark the permalink.

143 Responses to It’s Over Open Thread

  1. britgirls says:

    Okay … I’m headed to bed and hoping that we get some solid results in the morning. Screw the projections … count our votes!!

    Night all and thank you! If the outcome is not good I’m going to completely cut myself off from the news for awhile. Crawdad Hole will still be my refuge, though.

    Thanks for the good company! :)

  2. kanaughty says:

    thanks for this blog place klown! i hope you will keep this open for us as a place of refuge for all of us no-ob folks. we will be proven right eventually… ;)

  3. Constance says:

    I guess I am going to bed, I’m going to read in the book of James and see if anything inspires me. Also we know inflation is coming so we should try to warn the young folks who don’t know how to deal with inflation. People have lost their jobs, their equity in their homes if not their homes and now the dollar is going to devalue so that bread will wind up being $ 10.00 a loaf. We need to warn any one who will listen.

  4. lorac says:

    Mt Laurel, I don’t know about her website, but mcnorman was here tonight…

  5. threewickets says:

    Best group of Americans on the web. Right here! Thanks everyone and let’s take it one day at a time. I for one will keep coming back here.

    • threewickets says:

      Btw if this result holds, there will still be many silver linings. One important one for me is that Obots will go away. They have no more purpose, period. They’ve done harm to our democracy in my opinion with their style of electioneering and politicking. Anyway, I know it’s still early…

      • swanspirit says:

        Actually , they may get whiny , because they think ( if you can call it that) that somehow bronco bama is going to act like a president now .

        I just got my first laugh of the evening because an obot said

        “Yeah. Thanks Bush, Foley, and Lott. Not sure how you guys screwed that up. You have seen the movie IOUSA haven’t you? If not you should. This Congress better get off their asses and do something because it is up to them to pass a budget.”

        and then I said “Actually it is supposed to come from the potus and his didnt get ONE VOTE not one .
        Wow first complaint about the “new administration ” LOL Not my problem I didn’t vote for him .
        You helped get him elected , call your congressman, don’t tell it to me LOL people voted him in with NO BUDGET , and now you expect him to act like a president LOLOLOLOLOL

        FYI Bush hasn’t been POTUS for the past 4 years, the guy who just got re-elected was .

  6. kanaughty says:

    yeah, we lost about 30k in our home :( how much worse can it get except that we can’t seem to sell it either and it is an awesome house!

    • carol haka says:

      Lease it. That’s what I did and it is working out well.

      • kanaughty says:

        Yep, that is our new plan. See we have to move for my hubby’s new project. We have had it up for sale since april, no offers. We reduced and reduced. The house isn’t weirdly laid out or anything like that, has 4 big bedrooms with big closets and all built ins, full master suite, tall ceilings, crown molding, lots of light, big garage with a nook for stuff including our zero turn mower, and a great layout for parties! Plus 5 acres! I mean this is my dream house and i wish we could have it in our home state of washington. But it would cost twice as much there as here in arkansas. So we move to nola this weekend and the new place has no garage, smaller, no yard hardly, for the same price. But we have ro go for his work :( anyway, i wish we could have sold this thing, but instead i am just stressed. And now we have to make sure to get a renter or we are screwed because this is just not home as much as we love this house. Also since the one just won, my hubby might have to find a new line of work after this project because the one is so against american sources of energy!!! Romney was our only chance of keeping my hubby’s career going great!

        • carol haka says:

          Good luck. Leasing will probably save it for you.

        • kanaughty says:

          Thanks carol! :)

        • Jadzia says:

          We tried to lease for months with no luck, but the rental market was just completely saturated where we were (Eugene, Oregon), and there were no jobs, so the pool of people in the market to rent a “family home” (ie not a crappy student apartment) was pretty small and could afford to turn up their noses at things like the color of the hardwood floors. Oh, and the HOA that forced us to take down our small “FOR RENT” signs, and banned street parking within a block of the house, didn’t really help matters.

          I am SURE that in Arkansas you are going to have better luck, especially with all that land!

      • Jadzia says:

        Get foreclosed. That’s what we did! Laughing through the tears here. It was most of my life savings, because we did the right thing and put down a large down payment and spent an equal amount on improvements.

  7. DandyTiger says:

    Thanks to the hosts and to everyone. There are some lessons that the Repub party can learn, but they probably won’t. Just like with Dems when they lose. They’ll blame the people or blame the messenger. It’s pretty much always the message, but they just don’t get it.

    In this case it wasn’t the message Romney was saying directly, but it was the message the people were hearing, the Repub party line message towards women and latinos and others. In some ways you could argue that’s the messenger, or not doing the message right, but no, it’s still the message.

    If the Repub party goes to the right, like some of the stunningly bad Senate candidates they had, I”m looking at you George Allen, then they’ll fall off the irrelevant cliff. They need to learn what they American people really think about social issues for example.

    But having said that, if the economy doesn’t turn around much, then in four years it will be a Republican president no matter what. That will probably be one of the new crowd we’ve seen this time, like Rubio. But they’ll have a new sort of fight. There will be permanent Obamacare. It’s here forever. So the message will be about making it better or fixing it somehow. And the message will be about more jobs. But the message on social issues has to change.

    On the Dem side, they have a golfer in chief. He doesn’t give a shit. He’s the ultimate Wall Street president. He hats women. He could care less about anything. He may worry about his legacy and try to do something. But I think the realities of Obamacare are going to hit the wall over the next two years. That may be the main thing that drives Repubs to do better next time.

    I mostly worry that the new Dem party is only going to get worse. Why would they move in directions to actually help people. But we’ll see.

    • DandyTiger says:

      Bottom line, my goal in this election was to fix the Dem party long term. That isn’t going to happen. The Repub party isn’t my party either, and worse, it tends to be further away on policies. So for me, both parties are drifting further away. That’s a depressing situation. We’ve got the nasty bullies who hate women in the Dem party, and we have the clueless lost people of the past in the Repub party. I mean, nominate Akin and Allen and others like them. Really? WTF kind of party is that. And on the Dem side, you like Obama, and drones, and the elimination of habeas corpus, etc. WTF? These are really horrible, corrupt parties of completely horrible, corrupt people running them.

      But I don’t see a better place. So I guess I’ll stay and fight. But I have no idea where to start. Most of the old puma crowd is now happy with the misogynist in chief. They’ve become sweeties and learned to like it. We haven’t had a tribe for a long time now, and clearly the two out there are both going in the wrong direction.

      Who knows, maybe when Obamacare kicks in, people will wake up. Or maybe as the economy gets better, but still very slowly, people will wake up. Maybe. The funny thing is, I’ve always thought the economy would get better no mater who was president. So I think it will be quite a bit better in four years.

      • Karma says:

        I agree with everything you said.

        Frankly, I hope the part-time job economy ruins Obama’s legacy and Congress wakes up and negates most of Obamacare. Don’t think it will happen but that’s all I have.

        And now Mitt is conceding.

      • Erica says:

        Dandy, this member of the old puma crowd is definitely not happy with the misogynist in chief, not at all. I don’t know where the country is heading but tomorrow is another day.

        Ugh. Romney just called Obama.

      • kanaughty says:

        I don’t know if the word irony is correct here, but if this benghazi thing does blow up and sandy areas just are ignored by o, i think there could be push back and impeachment proceedings, and then we end up woth that goof biden as prez. Crazy!

      • kanaughty says:

        Ps also dandy i am a PUMA forever. You didn’t lose me. :)

    • Constance says:

      All they have to do to end Obamacare is give individuals an opt out for having a medical savings account. The policies have already gone to crap.

      Example….I had a wart on my shoulder it drove me nuts, I went to the Dr. $25. copay, his advice, “wow that is a wart you should have it taken off I will refer you to dermatology”. Call dermatology “we are making appointments for 4 months from now”. Go to dermatology 4 months later (and four ins premiums later) another $25. copay “that is a wart you should have it taken off we will need a procedure room call and arrange that. Another month, another copay another ins premium, forget it I removed the wart myself. What a BS way to run a Doctors office.

      OK now I really am going to bed.

  8. BTW – Colorado opted for Pot. Go figure. Obama Justice Department will be so pleased.

  9. tommy says:

    Its a BFD. Very soon, we’re gonna go right over the fiscal edge, and once that happens, theres no turning back. I know that TCH’ers won’t like to hear it right now, but we gotta work towards taking over the senate in the midterms, thereby limiting O’s options. I refuse to give up.

  10. nerdle says:

    I’ve been lurking for a long time and make comments infrequently. I started at Taylor Marsh, went to Bitter Politics, TC, and now here.

    I keep telling myself to stop following politics, but it’s impossible. When you love your country and care for your fellow compatriots, you can’t help but follow politics.

    Now more than ever, there need to be people who push back against Obama and his brand of Dems. Not support Repubs, but support people who are looking out for the average American.

  11. lorac says:

    fox says Romney going to concede in one hour – what happened to contsting OH?

  12. simofish says:

    I’m in a foul mood – very foul. I think I need NOT to be around people for a while. Canceling my morning for tomorrow – may not get out of bed for a few days.

  13. jeffhas says:

    Hey Tommy, I’m not going anywhere, just getting on with other stuff.

    The majority of people want ‘free stuff’ now, screw working your way up for success, etc. I need to get with the program and find a way to get on Obamacare, and collect whatever goodies I can – even though I clearly make too much money… But I’ll figure how to put an end to that.

    I just have to re-prioritize.

    Like I said previously…. I love you guys and thank you for the safe haven… I’ll be checking in (lurking) daily, but I will also disengage quite a bit.

    ‘Night all.

  14. swanspirit says:

    Can’t sleep . Sometimes the mean people win , for a while . I just don’t want to hear the crying and the complaints from the people who voted for him . I do not want to hear it .

  15. kanaughty says:

    can you imagine, hillary would have won reelection tonight :(

  16. Constance says:

    Hey! This is good news. Washington state legalized recreational pot. I will have to see how much it will be legal to grow because I think it is something like 10-15 plants which would be at least $10,000. a year extra money I’m pretty sure. And I know some people who really need the money.

    http://www.king5.com/news/politics/Washington-voters-approve-marijuana-177586181.html

  17. Erica says:

    Well, thanks everyone. It was as good as it could be being here with you all tonignt. Apparently Romney is working on his concession speech, and while I’ll do him the honor of watching it, I’m not going to stay up for it tonight. My heart is heavy, and now I have to figure out how to tell my daughter why I voted for the man that everyone she knows is telling her hates our family (two moms).

    • Somebody says:

      ((((HUGS))))) Erica. I know you can explain to her that you were concerned about her and her future. I have confidence you will find the right words.

      • Erica says:

        Thanks. She’s been sitting in carpool listenting to uc berkeley profs spouting all this pablum about Obama. It’s tough to overcome when we’re surrounded by it. Right now she thinks her mom is a self-hating freak.

    • Karma says:

      Not sure how you would do that but Obama isn’t pro-gay rights either so tell her that her carpool is lacking all the facts. Obama had to sued by Log Cabin Republicans and fought them in court before he was forced to negate DADT. And he only ‘evolved’ his stance on gay marriage a few months ago after Biden cornered/gaffed him with an election on the horizon. That isn’t genuine support.

      While Romney went all in for gay rights in MA more than Obama ever has in his career. Yes, he flipped flopped to run as a Rep President but he said he wanted to make MA the Las Vegas of gay marriage. Obama has never said anything close to that, his entire career. And iirc, Romney was supportive of the gay pride parade while Obama never has. Hillbuzz pointed to the gay pride absence of Obama years ago due to the black communities’ disapproval. At this point Mitt has been more supportive while Obama has been forced into his support. And iirc, Romney had a gay spokesman who had to step down when the liberal media made a big deal about it. Which is better? Being forced into support or real effort towards gay rights? Even Hillary’s actions on the State Dept forced Obama to act.

      http://www.theatlanticwire.com/politics/2012/06/how-proud-romney-was-be-pro-gay-rights-1994/53920/

      Lots of details here. Obama has nothing even close to the amount of support Mitt offered the gay community. It’s clearly an offensive site but they’ve complied a lot of details of Mitt and gay rights. So it might give you a place to start but some of the links aren’t exactly informative. But still it’s a place to start with leads to his efforts as Gov.

      http://www.massresistance.org/romney/

      A timeline of Romney’s efforts. I challenge any Obot to find a similar Obama list of his efforts towards gay rights.

      http://www.massresistance.org/docs/marriage/romney/timeline.html

      • Karma says:

        Ugh…as I look at that site more it is clearly only useful for leads/dates to better information. But may not even be worth the effort of wading through such hate. It is probably better to try google and avoid it.

        My apologies, Erica for even linking it.

  18. lorac says:

    Romneyhas called O to concede

    69% hispanics voted for R – did I hear that right?

  19. Somebody says:

    Take a look at the vote totals in the swing states. “Others” cut into the vote count. I will be interested to see tomorrow exactly where those other votes went. Would they have been Romney or Obama votes?

    1.7% in Ohio, .9% in Florida, 1.4% in Virginia, 2.0% in MN, 2.1% in CO

    • kanaughty says:

      that’s what i saw too. johnson got a enough of the vote to cut into romney in those states. :( for me i think 3rd party right now is just a spoiler. they can never win and yet they determine the outcome of the votes :( very sad about this. it is like those swing votes in survivor, those people stink the place up and are used…

  20. DandyTiger says:

    Wow, shock of shocks. My Obot FB friends are gloating and being ultra nasty bullies. Who would have thought.

  21. votermom says:

    yup and they own it

  22. kanaughty says:

    yeah, they really can’t keep blaming bush, this is ob’s fault, and those voters fault, this whole economy!

  23. kanaughty says:

    maybe some of mitt’s son’s will run for office someday :)

  24. taw46 says:

    I am listening to Romney, but will not listen to Obama. Will not listen to any of the pundits tomorrow. Will check back in with TCH tomorrow. Feeling sad for my country.

  25. kanaughty says:

    gnight all, see ya soon :) thank you for everything!

  26. DandyTiger says:

    Great concession speech.

  27. A short and gracious concession speech by Romney. I’m all in for Paul Ryan in 2016. The entitlement state must be defeated before it defeats America. The era of free shit has to come to an end.

    • kanaughty says:

      it’s too bad, i really liked mitt’s way about him, his graciousness humbleness and calmness and confidence and family man. i would have loved to see him be president…

    • Somebody says:

      I’m afraid the era of free shit has only just begun. I think as a nation we’ve reached a tipping point. I think that’s what we’re seeing in this election.

    • bluestate says:

      i think mitt believes this is god’s plan, and he trusts in that, which is why he was so calm and gracious in his concession speech. it was genuine, and it came from his faith. it’s inspiring to see someone like that. i’m going to miss hearing about him in the news. i really liked him and his family.

    • catarina says:

      i’m with you lola.

  28. DandyTiger says:

    VA to Obama. Ummmm…

  29. jen says:

    a lurker uncloaking here. I blame the Clintons. They let their personal ambitions get ahead of everything else. In a close election, Bill Clinton helped keep the sheeps from defecting. BC also helped stir the racial fugliness. It is very sad but pols are for themselves. If Bill and Hillary think she can run in 2016, think again. The MSM and obots will savage her.

    Hubby and I have divorced the dimocratic party. I divorced my family too and hubby (a lawyer) signed off so we did not have to hire divorce lawyers, LOL.

    I don’t know what the repubs will do but they will have a very hard time winning the WH now. Several red states like CO, VA, NV, FL, NC are now slightly blue states. they can still keep the House and possibly Senate but winning a national election could be ways away for repubs.

    Watch for bad economy news coming. My company sales are tanking and tanking hard. We are looking at 20-30% drop this coming quarter.

    Good night. God bless all.

    • Jadzia says:

      Yeah, my favorite aunt, who was a longtime professional Dem (but out of it before 2008; she worked for a congressman, now senator, who is a pretty good guy) said to me the other day, “If Obama wins this thing, he can thank Bill Clinton for saving his butt.”

      That I agreed with. What I did NOT agree with was her morning “Yippee!!!” email.

      If Hillary runs in 2016, I don’t know what I would do. She’s not responsible for what her husband does. That said, I want some answers on Benghazi, and I would like to know if she supported BC’s decision to campaign for the fraudster-in-chief. Because right now: super disappointed in both the Clintons.

  30. Erica says:

    Sheesh, my dvr when crazy when Romney spoke, so I missed it. I was so looking forward to a good night’s sleep knowing a new start was on the way. I really feel for Romney, too. A class act defeated by a crass act. Again.

  31. Somebody says:

    McNorman if you’re out there just checking that everything is OK with you. Mt. Laurel left you a message in the last thread and I left you one over at the pie place.

  32. Lulu says:

    The economy is going to get worse and very quickly. Businesses who were hanging onto extra people with the hope that their would be a turnaround just got slapped tonight. It isn’t so the cuts to budgets will be made now and expect a lot of layoffs between now and the end of the year. We have three Obama supporters who will not be needed and will be replaced with contractors. Profit from my pocket will no longer be used to subsidize them.

    I will also be stopping all charity. Any giving I do will be to people I know personally and it will be given directly. I was going to donate to the Sandy recovery funds but they can get it from Obama. Last year Obama did not like us very much during the massive fires so I will return the favor.

    I live in a red state. I will no longer do business, even small stuff with blue states. I have some orders to NYC out and was going to wait for them to recover from the storm but I will be canceling. If I have to I will order directly from Europe (UK and France) and cut out the middle men on the east coast.

    We have always been proud to pay taxes. Not anymore. I would rather spend the funds on accountants than to pay one cent more than I am forced. I had hoped that 2008 was a massive mistake. My fellow citizens apparently have liked it. Let’s see how much they like the next four years with hard-asses like me.

    • kanaughty says:

      also all those young voters, they won’t be able to find a job, and they will figure that out very soon :(

      • Lulu says:

        I hate to say this but as of tonight I will. I have three children in their twenties, age twenty two to twenty nine. All three have fairly good jobs and none are married as they think the economy is too unstable to start their own families. I hope everyone on this forum has kids that are doing well. As for the rest of the country I really don’t give a shit as that is their problem not mine. I am done worrying about social problems. I am henceforth a selfish asshole.

        • Jadzia says:

          That’s very sad that your kids feel like they can’t move forward with their lives (I’m assuming from your post that they would like to have families) because of what looks like permanent uncertainty in the economy. Where did America go? Even the ’70s were better than this.

  33. DandyTiger says:

    Amongst my FB friends I’ve remained clearly independent, without a tribe. But I have argued about issues and about dirty tricks and crony capitalism. IOW, I made it clear I didn’t worship the one, but wasn’t a Repub. Many are slamming me like I’m a tea-party deeply right person. Such character. They hate me simply because I argued against corruption and for real liberal polices and ideals. Class.

  34. bluestate says:

    a really unfortunate result, but this country did reelect bush as well. i really thought romney would close better. maybe the storm got in the way. not to be, i suppose, but i don’t know if i’ll ever understand why bush and obama got two terms. it will now be 16 years of the politics of division and incompetence coming out of the white house.

    i think obama went into today thinking he was gonna lose, and romney thinking he was gonna win, and it reversed. well, here’s to hoping barack obama figures out how to be a leader sometime in the next four years. with benghazi and the remnants of sandy still lurking out there, buyers’ remorse could set in on obama pretty quickly. he does inherit his own mess. i am so concerned about the economic recovery now. america was offered an experienced turnaround artist and they took a pass on him. very sad indeed.

  35. DandyTiger says:

    My wall street friends are all saying bail out of the market now, if you haven’t already. The spending approach of Obama will continue to the point of hyperinflation. Which will devastate the poor, though they’re not taxed directly.

  36. tommy says:

    Guess I’ll continue living in a foreign country. For the nation to turn around, the economy has to roar back. I don’t see that happening under this Preezy. There maybe a slight, limping uptick in the economy, but thats not even enough to keep up with the population. The unemployed will start growing again. The underemployed will become staggeringly massive to such a level that it all falls down like a box of cards. Not a good prognosis for the nation. Depressing really. We had a chance with Mitt, but our citizens chose otherwise. They just keep digging their own grave. Jeez, I’ve been going on and on, haven’t I? Just putting my thoughts on the internetz. Lol

    • DM says:

      tommny, we’re living with make believe money, not just here in the U.S., but Europe too. Both currencies are as good as dead. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that we’re living on borrowed everything and at some point the payable note will need to be paid.

    • Jadzia says:

      Tommy, I don’t know what country you live in, but I’m with ya. We are DEFINITELY staying in France. It’s not that there was much doubt of that to begin with, but the only silver lining in all this for me is that I have now shed my final regrets over leaving. Even though I love America.

  37. DM says:

    Karma is a bitch, and Obama is inheriting his crap. That’s all I’m gonna say about this election.

  38. Roberta says:

    Can’t sleep.

    I just want to know how he did it. I am sure he cheated some how. He has never won an eelction honestly. I don’t think he started tonight. How did he do it? What did he do?

    Besides Clinton that is. I am so disappointed in Clinton and if Benghazi does not get her I will not be supporting her in 2016 cause of Bill’s role in all this mess.

    • Constance says:

      I also can’t sleep it seems. With this win the Obamacrats are the dominant wing of the Democrat party and they are not going to let Hillary run for President because that would give more power to the Clinton wing of the party. Obama won narrowly because people voted for the Democrat brand above the Republican brand which they feared.

      • DM says:

        Hillary won’t run in 2016 because if she does, she will lose. Obama will destroy the Democratic Party, just like G.W.B. destroyed the Republican Party. To this day, people don’t want anything to do with the GOP. Mitt got as many votes as he did because he ran an amazing campaign.

    • DM says:

      I don’t believe there was any cheating that tilted the election. Obama won and Mitt lost. Enough people voted in OH to give Obama the election. Just take a look at the senate races. The Democrats won because Democratic voters showed up. It’s that simple. You may not like it, but people have spoken. The best thing at this time is to accept it.

      • DandyTiger says:

        Agree. Obama actually won. The people chose. Just like in ’08. The Dem party won’t change. The Repub party might change, but I’m not holding my breath. Meanwhile things could get really bad with the debt, the spending, hyperinflation, and when what’s really in Obamacare kicks in, watch out. But the politicians and the MSM will work hard to convince people it’s something else. But just maybe, they’ll be hit hard enough with it to make a bigger change next time. We’ll see.

  39. Underwhelmed says:

    I am so very, very sorry, everyone. Truly heartbroken for you. All I can say at this point is that I hope the worst fears don’t come to pass. And who knows?Sometimes very strange things happen in this world.

    • kanaughty says:

      I will never understand in my lifetime why people re-elected bush 2 or bush 3. These guys were never up to the task although i believe now that bush 3 is worse. I don’t understand why people don’t have the guts ro change direction when the country is in this bad of shape, when the economy was number 1 and i bet in dec we’ll get the unemployment numbers back and they will be over 8% again. I do wonder if those military votes ever made it back for virginia or florida. I don’t get how o won there :(

      • DM says:

        People deserve the government they have. I don’t care how bad a government is. People are the government in every country. The presidents we’ve had and the government we’ve had is because we built that.

    • DM says:

      I’m okay. I really thought that Mitt would win with a landslide, but I was wrong. I accept what is. I have no problem with that.

  40. tommy says:

    In addition to O, once HRC leaves, we’ll have to tolerate horseface Kerry too. The sleaze has been begging and begging for the job for 4 years. He’ll get it. Both O and horseface. Next 4 years is gonna be miserable.

    • DM says:

      tommy, I believe there will be a war in the M.E. that is going to make things very difficult. I’m not looking forward to the authoritarian in the WH in a time of war.

      • kanaughty says:

        I think now that he doesn’t need their votes, o is going to abandon israel :(

      • tommy says:

        Yep, O would be a very bad wartime Preezy. In all probability, he’ll tell Israel to eff off. And without HRC there to be the iron hand, you can bet that Iran will build the bomb, thereby jeopardising the entire ME. Soon we’ll have the Saudis and Iraqis clamoring for the bomb. What a clusterf*ck!

  41. tommy says:

    FTR, I truly don’t believe that HRC is gonna run in 2016. Shes just gonna fade away gracefully. But I do think that Andrew Cuomo will throw his hat in.

    • DandyTiger says:

      Agree. Hillary is out. After Libya, I don’t think she’d have a rats chance anyway. But also after four more years of Obama, I think a Republican will definitely win next time, esp. since it won’t be against the Dem VP.

      • tommy says:

        I’ll have to disagree with you, dandy. Too many reliably red states have turned blue and looks like it’ll stay that way. However bad a dem preezy might be won’t matter. Like sheep to the slaughter, they’ll continue to vote for the dems. We may be looking at a long democratic era. Unless the pubs do the unthinkable and go all in for immigration reform. May take time, but thats the only gamechanger the pubs have.

        • DM says:

          I don’t see it that way. People vote for what they think is good for them. Obama has not been good to the Hispanics or the Blacks. I agree that right now these minorities are in the Democratic camp, but not for long. If the Blacks continue with unemployment around 14% and this Hispanics can’t get jobs because we have a bad economy, people will not stay with the Democrats.

      • DM says:

        Libya was not an issue in this election and it won’t be in 2016. I think Hillary won’t run because whoever runs in 2016 will inherit Obama’s mess. 2016 will be like 2008 in reverse.

  42. DandyTiger says:

    In Obama’s acceptance speech, which according to Obots was the greatest ever, and for the first time they’re really proud of their country, blah, blah… anyway, in that speech Obama said he wants to meet with Romney and work with him.

    In other words, he wants to bring Romney in to actually do the stuff Romney talked about. You know, to fix the economy. LOL. I hope Romney tells him to take a flying leap.

    • DM says:

      After Obama said that Romney had no morality and no principles, he wants Romney to help him. I see. Just like Hillary and Bill Clinton helped the a$$ hole after calling the Clinton racists and all sort of character assassinations.

      Obama is shit.

    • GAgal says:

      Of course Obama wants to work with Romney. They’re both Republicans.

    • bluestate says:

      LOL. more proof obama doesn’t have a goddamned clue what to do with the next four years.

  43. bluestate says:

    just wanted to share a comment on hot air that i thought was perfect:

    I can’t be mad at Mitt. He didn’t lose to Obama. He lost to the media and the stupidity of the American voter.

    Mark1971 on November 7, 2012 at 1:59 AM

    it’s important to remember that he was up against a lot. when it was mano a mano, he proved himself to be the better man in those debates, something john mccain seemingly never even tried to do, and i was sorely disappointed by that in 2008. i truly believe mitt gave it his all, as hillary did. sometimes the best man doesn’t win.

    • DM says:

      Mitt ran an amazing campaign. He got close because of his campaign. I don’t doubt that. Mitt could not overcome the bad feelings voters have against the GOP. It was easy for Obama to smear Mitt with Republican crap. Just look at what happened with the senate. The Republicans don’t have the senate because the GOP is stupid.

    • swanspirit says:

      What Obama and co did was make people believe that Mitt was something other than what he really is , that even though Obama was bad , Mitt was unthinkable . That was the game and the Clintons helped

      • DM says:

        Yeah. Blame the Clintons. That is b.s. The Republicans built that their crappy party and anything that can be said about the Republicans, enough voters will believe. It’s only been eight years since people didn’t want anything Republican. The only reason the House is GOP is to put brakes on the Democrats, but it’s not because people love the GOP. Outside rural areas, the GOP is not worth many votes.

        • DM says:

          It’s been six years, from 2006 to 2012, that voters don’t want Republicans. The GOP own the House because of the way our districts are apportioned.

        • jen says:

          The Clintons helped him win. You may not want to believe it but it did happen. Hillary took the blame for the Libya fiasco and that quieted the furor a bit. Bill helped keep the sheeps in line. It is a close election, a little bit here and there helped push him over the line.

          Look at the total votes for Zero. 15mils less votes for zero.
          Look at the percentages in Ohio, FL, VA, CO.

      • GAgal says:

        It’s time to give up the ghost of Bush and Clinton. But not Hillary.

  44. DM says:

    It’s interesting that the third party voters in FL could have given the state to Mitt. Not that I think they are responsible for Mitt’s loss. Just like with Gore, if they had not voted for a third party candidate, they would have skipped the selection and written their own candidate. I don’t doubt that.

  45. tommy says:

    Hope myiq is ok. The dude was furious. Hope he didn’t trash his place. Don’t binge drink, myiq. Your health isn’t what it used to be. Can’t do that sort of stuff now. Just let it go.

  46. Jadzia says:

    I am so, so, SO sorry, everybody. Like all of you, to me this result is literally incredible. After having watched Bush steal the elections of 2000 and 2004 (yeah, I think that happened)–believing, sadly, that Bo did legitimately win in 2008 (ya win some, ya lose some)–and now? I question the results of 3 of the last 4 elections because this is just crazy. Should I go get a tin foil hat now? It just makes no sense that in an economy THIS bad, and with a Republican opponent who is the very model of the modern major Main Street Republican, that folks would say “Yes! I’d like four more years of this, please!” It just stinks, and I mean that not in the sense of “this sucks,” but rather in the sense of “there is something hinky about this.”

    I know my posts here tend to be a little self-centered. It’s because my French still isn’t that pretty so y’all are some of the only people I can talk to! But know this: You all know, through me and mine, a family of ECONOMIC REFUGEES FROM THE UNITED STATES. Let me repeat: ECONOMIC REFUGEES FROM THE UNITED STATES. And we are basically middle class people, albeit with no family resources to fall back on in tough times. Hasn’t it traditionally been the other way around? That people come to America so that their kids will have a better life?

    I really do weep for the future. There are three things that I am going to insist on for my children: (1) They better damn well go to college or get some equivalent job training, otherwise a major reason for this move was for naught; (2) They will remain fluent in English; and (3) They will consume a steady diet of Johnny Cash, Hank Williams, Lucinda Williams, Ike Reilly, and the many other Americans who make American music the best in the world. They will not forget their culture or the country that their mama loves. But it’s sad to think that at this point, there really is no realistic chance of ever coming home.

    So in conclusion: I am so, SO, SO sorry. What stage of grief is that? Before or after the trash-talking?

    • DM says:

      This election was not different than the 2004. That election shouldn’t have been close. I was very upset when Bush won in 2004, but I had the certainty that he would turn everything into crap. I say the same about Obama. He’ll turn everything into crap. Oh well. The voters built that.

      • Jadzia says:

        I think you meant to say that Obama “turned” everything into crap. (I don’t know how to do that cute “FIFY” thing.) Depressing all around. How much crappier can it get?

        No wait, don’t answer that. French doctors don’t prescribe the Xanax as freely as the American doctors do.

    • Karma says:

      Personally, I have enjoyed reading about your adventures in France, and truthfully sometimes wish my family had the same opportunity. So I hope they continue and that your mother is doing well.

      And I’m also wondering about Ohio, since I think that was stolen for Bush 2, and quite possibly for Bush 3. There is no excuse for voter fraud in our country and voters should start demanding a system with more security and not subject to whims of partisans. There is no excuse for voter machines that switch candidates or that can be easily reprogrammed to negate votes. All of which were proven in several documentaries and news reports while Bush 2 was in office.

      I weep for the future too and think TPTB want America to drown in debt. My dad said he would never retire due to the 2008 economy hitting him so hard and he was right. I think the retirement that our parents knew or expected to live within is a thing of the past. And poverty for more and more people will be new normal.

      On that front, I truly hope that I’m wrong.

Comments are closed.