The Romney Tsunami


Mitt Romney has tapped into what Nixon called the Silent Majority.

There are millions of people out there that are non-political. They don’t talk about politics. They don’t go to protests or donate to candidates and they damn sure don’t answer opinion polls. But they do vote, especially when they are unhappy.

Right now they ain’t happy.

When they are happy they either stay home or they vote for incumbents. They are happiest in times of peace and prosperity. When the economy is booming and none of our kids are dying in foreign countries, they are very forgiving. Just ask the Big Dawg.

They aren’t stupid or ignorant, they just prefer to think about other stuff, like Dancing With The Stars and NFL fantasy football. Unlike us, they find politics to be boring. But that doesn’t mean they don’t care.

They know when things aren’t the way they oughta be. They weren’t happy in 2004, but not unhappy enough to do anything about it. They were very unhappy in 2006, so they voted out a lot of incumbents, especially the ones in power – the Republicans. They still weren’t happy in 2008, so they voted out some more GOP incumbents and switched the party controlling the White House to the Democrats.

But then they got even more pissed off in 2010 and started voting out Democrats. And they are still pissed today.

You can spend a billion dollars on campaign ads, but these voters know when mama ain’t happy. And as my uncle would say, “When mama ain’t happy, nobody’s happy.”

A lot of this is pure luck on Mitt’s part. If he would have won the nomination in 2008 he would have lost to Obama because 2008 was a “any Democrat” year. This year is basically “any Republican”.

So he’s gonna get four years to make mama happy. If he doesn’t, he’ll be replaced too.


My plan:

Today: Vote for Mitt Romney (done)

Tonight: Get drunk while I watch the election returns come in.

Tomorrow: Celebrate (recover from hangover)

Thursday: Start holding Mitt Romney’s feet to the fire.



About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in 2012 Elections, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

134 Responses to The Romney Tsunami

  1. angienc says:

    Do it for the children!

    Heh.

    Actually, this factoid really does say it all:

    Melissa Clouthier ‏@MelissaTweets
    Obama campaign ends in serious debt. Romney campaign perfectly budgeted. Says it all.

  2. mcnorman says:

    I hope it will be a decisive landslide, but I think that we might have to wait until Thursday to see. Anthony gave me a bit of insight as to what he went through today at the polls.

    Meanwhile, in New York City, I just finished voting. Usually I am in and out in less than 30 minutes, and have had to go into one of the old fashioned booths and pull a lever.

    This time around, the line spilled out the door and wrapped around the corner. When I finally got inside, I learned that there were no more booths, and there was only one scanner working. One. For about 1,000 people. One. Fucking. Scanner.

    The man in front of me was given a provisional ballot because even though he had proof of his address, he was not on the list.

    Fortunately (for them), I was on the list and got a cute little form with dots to fill in with one of the “special pencils” (free with an Obamaphone?) and then ushered to an area with a tiny “booth” (translation: a snack table with three 2 foot high pieces of pressboard that were approx 6 inches apart.) You couldn’t help but see what was going on next to you, and I daresay that things looked VERY good for Romney.

    Then, got on another line that snaked around the entire first floor of the elementary school that is my precinct, and waited to get to the scanner. Did my thing, got no receipt or proof that my vote was counted the way it was cast. Asked about that, and was told (with a really gratuitous wink) that I would “just have to trust them”. I started mentioning that even ATM’s issue receipts, but didn’t want to add another second to the ninety minutes I would never get back. What a bunch of bullshit….

    I don’t like this at all. I know NY is blue, but this is questionable behavior that is in your face.

    • myiq2xu says:

      One reform we should all push for is uniform voting standards and require that all states use paper ballots that can be checked and recounted manually. “Paperless” ballots should be outlawed.

        • myiq2xu says:

          The biggest changes I would like to see have to do with the primaries (including eliminating the caucuses). I would like to see 4-5 regional primaries scheduled 1 month apart on a rotating basis, starting in February or March and ending in June. Fuck Iowa and New Hampshire.

      • Somebody says:

        I completely agree! We need uniform voting standards. I have absolutely no problem at all with requiring ID. We should be assured that the people casting votes, should be casting votes. If you need ID for sudafed then it should damn well be needed to vote and nothing, NOTHING will change my mind about that.

        We also need to have cross state checks. I live in a beach community in northern Florida and let me assure you people around here vote in multiple states and BRAG about it. It happens on both sides. They own winter homes here and feel entitiled to vote here as well as their home state since they pay taxes. Oh they’ll get in your face about it too, not shy at all they will tell you how entitiled they are to more than one vote. This.must.stop!

        • Somebody says:

          Damn somehow my post above ended up below where I thought it would be…..argh!

          I agree with you about no more paperless ballots. Heck I’m fine with having a purple finger if it means honest elections.

          As for the primaries, excellent idea!!

        • swanspirit says:

          I would be so tempted to say to someone who bragged about voting twice ” omg I am so sorry you told me that , I am a voting watchdog for ( some made up org ; friends of the police wives blah blah ) and I am legally obligated to turn you in , just to see their face fall .

      • mcnorman says:

        I agree completely.

      • HONK! And Honk times a million for the regional primary idea! FUCK Iowa and NH!

    • threewickets says:

      This is Sandy. Everyone in NYC has been complaining.

  3. angienc says:

    I saw a post from one of the morons at AoSHQ that made me LOL:

    Holy shit — there’s a long line of grim faced bastards at the polling station in SW Ohio.

    Another poster asked what he thought those “grim” faces meant, but I didn’t need to ask. I know exactly who those men are — men like my grandfather who fought in WW2, was career Navy & then worked for Caterpillar but who never voted because he figured he had done his duty for his country with 2 purple hearts & various other medals & “those politicians are all corrupt anyway.”

    Those men aren’t voting for Obama.

  4. I said earlier today on another blog – that video is SO well done, it actually gave me the first hope since 9/11/01. It has been a HORRIBLE time for our country since then. Bush & Obama both.

    I don’t know if Romney really will be better, but if he is one tenth the guy who is shown in this video I already feel better.

    Obama is simply DOOM AND GLOOM.

    I hope Obama is out of a job tomorrow.

  5. tommy says:

    Like I asked at the end of the last thread, a serious question. Did O vote early? And is he the first sitting President to do so?

    • Yes he did vote early and I beleive the fauz news made a big friggin deal out of him having yet another historical moment.

      • tommy says:

        Damn. I heard that he voted early, but didn’t know that he was the first Preezy to do so. The idiot has broken American Presidential tradition. This isn’t like basketball or golf or receiving the Nobel Prize or being world famous or being categorized as kewl and hip. Its American Presidential tradition, which a long line of pub and dem Presidents have followed.

      • angienc says:

        LOL! They did make it a big fucking deal didn’t they?!?! They broke away from what they were reporting to “take us there live!” (he, of course, made sure to go at 5:00 pm EST) so we could watch him chat up the people at the station (and SHOW HIS ID, btw) while all the pundits went on & on about how he was the FIRST sitting POTUS to early vote, blah, blah, blah.

        But they sure cut away fast when he started having obvious trouble working the machine. SCoaMF doesn’t even know how to vote.

  6. Good plan MyIq. I have about the same plan- except have allotted time for a damn good cry- either in gratitude or despair- and time for continual prayers for the rest of the day today lol.
    Thanks be to God for antidepressants.

  7. Megan running the ad now. (Watching online)

  8. threewickets says:

    Blue state, red district that went huge for Obama last time. Line today was longer than I’ve ever seen it, moving fast but still waited over an hour. Much more Republican looking than I remember in 2008. :)

  9. WOW. Howard sure is looking a lot more like an SS General these days.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    To add to your list myiq, Friday: Hammer the media fools and empty their drool buckets.

    With hopes a Romney blowout will do that for us. Media malpractice has run amuck since January 2009 and I don’t mean just the partisanship, but the coverups like Fast, Furious and Benghazi.

    Should Obama pull this off tonight, I think he’s going to wish he didn’t. The media always seems to turn on the Preezys during the second terms. And SNL gets funny again ;)

  11. votermom says:

    This one tops the “My First Time” ad

    • Underwhelmed says:

      Whatever happened to safe, legal and rare????? Now it’s like what … blowing your nose?

      These people. These people.

      • votermom says:

        Exactly! And if you read the article, the rationale of the admaker is so fascist – Downs babies should be aborted. Ugh.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          Anyone who doesn’t conform to their notion of perfection should be aborted. But wait — wait — it’s the conservatives who are evil! The Nazis dehumanised Jews, turned them into rats, so that killing them became a public service. The radical abortion crowd have done the same thing to babies still in utero. They aren’t human, they aren’t people, you’re not actually killing anything, so go for it! Which isn’t to say that, for me, there aren’t circumstances where I won’t accept it’s the least of many evils. But it shouldn’t be made simple or easy or unthinking or casual. But that’s just me.

          • myiq2xu says:

            What is the “right” answer to an unwanted pregnancy? I have to wonder about anyone who doesn’t consider abortion to be a moral dilemma.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          Well, my exceedingly unpopular view on that is … don’t have sex. Seriously. If you can’t deal with the consequences, don’t do the deed. Because the alternative has become, do whatever the hell you like and then destroy the life that’s been created because it’s not convenient. But that’s when ‘unwanted’ doesn’t include all the truly horrible circumstances that abound. Obviously there are circumstances when you’re looking at weighing up a set of truly terrible options. Fwiw, I believe that abortion is the taking of a human life. But sometimes there are circumstances where that’s the best outcome, even though it’s a terrible situation. Which isn’t the same as having a free for all, no holds barred, there is no moral or ethical question to be considered at all approach.

      • angienc says:

        When the pro-choice movement went from “safe, legal & rare” to “on demand, at any point, & taxpayer funded” they lost me. And don’t fool yourself — when the progs took over the Dem party, they made the conscious decision to abandon the “safe, legal & rare” position (in fact, they raked Hillary over the coals for saying that) because, by their logic, that left a “stigma” on the decision. I actually got in arguments with people saying that PREVENTING an unwanted pregnancy *was* the best thing to work for & that could provide common ground with people in the pro-life movement. They didn’t want to hear it AT ALL.
        So fuck them –one less threat for the New Dem Party to try to hold over *my* head.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          Honky honk honk. Sometimes I wonder about the psycho-pathology of women who are so hell bent on killing unborn children.

        • votermom says:

          Hillary is the last Dem I heard talk about safe, legal and rare. After that it was give me my abortion now, you breast-cancer charities!

          “On demand, at any point, & taxpayer funded” is the perfect position for sexist pigs btw – absolves them of any responsibility and helps them pressure a woman into having sex at the man’s whim.
          Consequence-free is for guys – a woman’s body WILL have consequences from promiscuity – whether its STDs, scarring from abortion, or body-image problems as they turn themselves into sex objects.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          VM, you’re right. I don’t give that angle enough consideration. And that just makes me very very sad. Talk about women being their own worse enemy.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          PS Mind you, when I hear the hard right types screaming about anti-abortion, then I get antsy too. Because I really do not want men controlling women’s bodies — whichever side of the fence they sit, men don’t live with the consequences either way. But they can’t be shut out of the conversation, because they are half of the equation. One of my big issues is the men who can’t prevent a woman from aborting the child they would love and cherish even if the woman doesn’t want it. Arrgghhhh!

    • jjmtacoma says:

      I think the fan-boyz miss the point with shit like this. Only really shallow, self serving idiots would think that was the purpose of having choices. It is tone deaf since plan-B is not available without an adult for girls under 17 thanks to Obama.

      Choice means: It is up to me what happens to MY body and choice means it is up to YOU what happens to YOUR body. End of story.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        Absolutely — when yours is the only body in the equation. But when a woman is pregnant, there are 2 people in the equation. That’s my feeling, anyhow. I guess it’s not yours.

        • jjmtacoma says:

          I don’t understand your response to my comment.

          Maybe I do… At some point, there are “two in the equation” but each woman should be trusted to make the best decisions for her situation and health, in my opinion.

          The choices I make for myself would probably fit the conservative position pretty well but I am choosing that and I don’t expect everyone else to do the same.

      • votermom says:

        Great point about plan B – if it was available it would almost eliminate the need to consider abortion in cases of rape or just plain “oops”

  12. 49erDweet says:

    Plan de 49er: Voted 10 days go. Took sweet mama shopping this morn. Take foster son to clinic after lunch. Watch tivo with sweet mama this evening. Check returns at 11PM, celebrate till 11:15 then sleep. I know, I know. Too tightly structured. Sorry. Must be the ritalin.

  13. myiq2xu says:

    WTF?

    Eeeeewwwww!

  14. Erica says:

    Fox just had Peggy Noonan on talking about her impression that the Romney campaign is dynamic and joyous while 0′s is bleak and sad. Followed that with a clip of Gingrich slapping John King about the opening question of the repub debate (re: his wanting open marriage) as an opener for a piece on the media’s influence in politics.

  15. myiq2xu says:

    Strangely enough, I tend to agree with Tweety:

    • myiq2xu says:

      But WE own our votes. If we want to waste them that is our business.

    • Karma says:

      This weekend, Alex Wagner’s show, had Clinton’s song, Fleetwood Mac, “Don’t Stop Thinking About Tomorrow”, playing while coming back from a commercial break. I think they first showed a clip of Clinton saying he lost his voice for his president.

      And then it went to Alex saying that the relationship had grown from one of political convenience to a real ‘bro-mance’ and that the Obama campaign had deployed Clinton like a scud missile. WTF? A scud!?

      Anyway, the reason I stopped to watch Clinton eventually being insulted. Was I thought, no way, Obama is using Clinton’s old song. And sure enough.

  16. votermom says:

    There is a lot of talk about Ohio not being decided until December – that must be the Dem plan.
    How sweet if Mitt picks up so many states that OH doesn’t matter.

  17. myiq2xu says:

    I am going to go mow the lawn since it’s supposed to rain on Thursday I expect to be muy crudo manana.

    This should be the last time I mow until March.

  18. angienc says:

    Ha, ha! After Axelrod trying to say this morning that Romney going to OH & PA his morning showed they were “desperate” (never mind that Obama went to IN on election day in 2008 & won it –same for GWB to OH in 2004) who shows up in OH but Biden! For the love of fuck! Does anybody on TeamObama even talk to each other? Cutter is trying to pass it off as an “unofficial stop” to make sure everything is “set up right” or something (basically what the field office director should be doing). HA has the story:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2012/11/06/videos-say-why-is-joe-biden-back-in-ohio/

  19. yttik says:

    “Thursday: Start holding Mitt Romney’s feet to the fire.”

    We should probably wait until he’s actually sworn in. It’s probably not fair to start blaming the man before he’s even on the job :)

    • I second that. For the most part.

      • myiq2xu says:

        Once he is President-elect he starts selecting his Cabinet.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          And I’ve been wondering if SP is on a list somewhere. Because suddenly she’s gone very, very quiet. Or am I imagining things?

        • votermom says:

          I hope! I hope!

        • myiq2xu says:

          I hope Mitt Romney picks Sarah for Secretary of the Interior or Secretary of Energy. They both deal with oil and that is a topic she is VERY knowledgeable about. As a Cabinet member she would gain experience in DC and keep her name in the public view. She really needs to pump up her resume if she plans to make a run for the WH someday.

          Another option would be to run for the Senate in 2 or 4 years.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          Yeah I was thinking Energy. But Interior would be a good fit too. Anywhere she can use her real life expertise/experience. She has a great deal to offer. And truly, I don’t think she cares so much about being president as she does about making sure things are done right for the people of the US. So I think that if she gets the chance to make a huge difference, she’ll take it. Like she said. It’s not the title that makes you powerful, it’s how you use your talents.

          But here’s something I’ve been thinking. Could be I’m totally nuts. But I’m thinking if RR win, then some time in the not too distant future Christie is going to change his team and then run for president as a D. The D bench, going forward, is looking mighty mighty thin. They’re looking at a generational change. I’m thinking Booker might be magically resurrected as the Next Big Hope. I hear good things about him, that he’s a decent man, so that’s something. The only problem is you’re looking at the fetid swamp that is the D party/machinery. Unless HillBuzz is right and the Clintons clean house big time. Anyhow — as much as I’ve appreciated C’s blunt honesty, I’m not trusting him. His speech at the RNC was spectacularly self-serving, his photo op with O the same … and word is he hates Romney. So … hmmm.

  20. angienc says:

    I’ve got to get to work here for a bit. Will try to check in later.

  21. votermom says:
  22. wyntre says:

    Hannity is speaking with a Bill Cunningham, a radio jock of Hamilton County Ohio who says the 3 pm polls show Mitt far surpassing the numbers the POS got in 2008 and GWB got in 00 and 04 and that if these numbers hold there is no way Ohio goes to the POS and Mitt is the next prez.

    He said the turnout us far surpassing anything seen in the county previously.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Well, dang, misread the TCH schedule, myiq meant 4pm *Pacific*, started my party already :)

    LOL, gonna’ be a long night ;)

  24. catarina says:

    When will it end, and is anyone else puking?

  25. FLVoter says:

    I can’t imagine anyone waking up tomorrow morning happy that President Obama gets another 4 years for more of the same. If so, I may need to begin to drink some strong kool aide just to get through the next 4 years.

Comments are closed.