That which I feared most has come to pass


There is no way to sugar-coat it. We lost.

The American people voted for the status quo. Don’t ask me to explain it because I can’t. I don’t even want to think about it right now.

I am going to be taking a break from blogging. This is something I have been thinking about for quite some time. I honestly can’t say when or even if I will be back. I really need to clear my head before I make any decisions. I have some real life stuff I need to deal with.

I love you all, you are my friends. May the deity of your choice bless and keep you.

Until we meet again.

The Klown


UPDATE:

I haven’t changed my mind about taking a sabbatical, I just haven’t left the premises yet. There are a few loose ends I want to tie up.

This election has been very traumatic for many of us, and for good reason. At times like this we need to do the patriotic thing and accept defeat gracefully. Our democracy depends on it.

In many other places a closely contested race like the one we just participated in would result in violence or even civil war. It’s easy to support majority rule when you are on the winning side. The really hard part is losing – it requires advanced citizenship.

It’s time for us to suck it up and be good citizens.

Mitt Romney is a better man than me – I am not going to congratulate Barack Obama or his supporters. But I accept that the people have spoken and he is the winner and he will be our president for another four years. I sincerely hope they turn out better than the last four.

I am not going to do a post-mortem on the Romney campaign or try to predict what will happen over the next four years. There will be plenty of other people doing that. I just want to say that I have faith that we will endure. Both as individuals and as a nation we will find a way to muddle through somehow, some way.

Our ancestors survived far worse.

Vox populi, vox Dei

M.


About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to That which I feared most has come to pass

  1. swanspirit says:

    You will be missed .Come back soon, I am personally grateful for all you have done .

  2. Underwhelmed says:

    Thanks so much for providing this wonderful space. Rest. Recuperate. And gird your loins … because honestly, I don’t think this is over. Not in the long run.

  3. fif says:

    First this loss and now the Klown is gone? This has been a really bad night. Take care or yourself myiq and thank you for all you’ve given.

  4. Jadzia says:

    Thank you for pouring your heart into your work here. Be well and hope to “see” you soon.

  5. piper says:

    This is worse than awful – woke up at 3:30AM and now can’t get back to sleep so puppy and I are sitting together on the couch wondering how it all happened. Thank goodness that I’m retired otherwise I would have needed to take a sick day to deal with this mega loss and down feeling.

    myiq – thank you for hosting this party and agree that sometimes we need a break to reassess our lives. I know that I need to do this given all the changes in my life. Will continue to check in daily.

  6. linda192 says:

    Delurking to say thank you for all your work over the past few years, here and at the Confluence. All the best.

  7. Thomas4Clinton says:

    Thanks myiq. It’s been a long road for all of us. But one that has made us stronger in our convictions and that can’t be ruined. We survived the wrongful and wasted additional years of Bush and we will survive Obama. We will take a break and then regroup individually. It’s been a pleasure.

  8. Glennmcgahee says:

    myiq , i can certainly understand your need for a break and to take care of your health both mentally and physically for the sake of yourself and your children. Life is short and its important to get outside and enjoy the sky and nature – its healing. We all sit for too long in front of these screens and forget what Mother Nature has provided – beer for example.
    But I’ve enjoyed being with you through these years, most recently experiencing the World Series vicariously through your enthusiasm and getting your take on the law when something happens in the the world that is difficult to comprehend. You created this community where we all feel welcome (even ABG wants in) and appreciated the non-judgmental attitude among us. So much has been shared here. Truly a port in the storm.
    Take a breather. Look up to the sky. Enjoy the grass growing and your children. Get a prescription for pot. THEN COME ON BACK!

  9. AniEm says:

    You and Lola have done some wonderful, insightful work here and I thank you for it. I’m happy to have voted for the more decent of the two candidates even if he did not win. The results tell us that 48% of the population is opposed to creeping totalitarianism and maybe that’s a start. One of the ironies here is that Mitt did put Obama to work, to the point that the prez became cranky and tearful, and maybe that’s a start too.

    Hope you resume the blog at some point in the future. It was an oasis of sanity and hope and always a great read.

  10. Shez ZK says:

    Same here piper. I awoke around 4 am, surprisingly with no trace of a hangover. Good chance that I may skip coffee and go straight to a real honest to goodness shitfaced bender. Who wants to join me?

    Saw lots of good tweets when I checked it, but the only one I bothered to retweet for now said simply:
    “Obama didn’t win this election. The corrupt MSM won.”

  11. leslie says:

    Myiq ~ I don’t know what to say except, “Don’t go, please.” This makes last night’s loss even more bitter. It is as if I’ve lost my home.

    I understand your desire to do this, though. And I want to let you know that your place, TCH, has been a haven for me and so many others during the past four+ years. Without you and this place of sanity, insanity, humor, intelligence and friendship, I (many, in fact) would have had no place to let down my guard and be real. Thank you for giving so much of you to this place. I looked back, not too very long ago and discovered I’ve been @ TCH for at least FOUR years. I had no idea it had been so long. I was stunned. So again I’m gonna say thanks. You have done a wonderful job on this blog and I hope your well earned sabbatical gives you time to regroup and then to return to TCH ready for bear (or beer).

  12. tommy says:

    Hey Klown, yep, you need to get away for a while, regroup and reconsider what you have to do. You may or may not want to rejoin blogging. Its your life, man. You gotta do whats best for you. Its been an honour to serve under you command, General Klown. On a selfish note, I do hope and pray that you come back to us. You’ll be sorely missed.

  13. carol haka says:

    There are no words or explanation for how we have been played! ! Benghazi alone should have buried this asshole and yet the Republicans sat on their thumbs up their asses instead of dragging him to justice. This is the outcome the Bushes wanted for Jeb and if I hear Hillary 2016 chants I will explode! :evil: fox news and their pundits are dead to me with the exception of Sarah.

    • Somebody says:

      I’m upset about the election too Carol, but I don’t think the Bushes had anything to do with it. I honestly don’t think Jeb will ever run for POTUS, but if he did…..know this, he’s not his brother. I’m a Floridian, he was my governor. But honestly, I don’t think he’ll ever run.

      I don’t know that Benghazi would have made any difference either. We are all upset about it, but the vast majority of people are blissfully unaware of Benghazi, in fact most have no idea our ambassador is even dead. The fault for that lies with the media and with the fact that the younger generation has no use for the news.

      Nope I think we’re simply seeing a change in our country.

      Myxq enjoy your break, I understand. I think I’m going to take a break from news, politics, etc. I’m right there with Lulu’s sentiments in the last thread……fuck it……I got the memo, it’s all about me.

  14. wmcb says:

    Just popping in to say I’m surprisingly calm. No post-mortem here either. The voters chose a direction. I think they are dead wrong, and it makes me sad. I’m going on political sabbatical as well – need more family and sane time. Life goes on.

  15. Pips says:

    For almost 5 years I’ve been immersed in American politics, and life, via first Talkleft, The Confluence and after the ‘purges’ at both sites via THC, JWS and a few other blogs.

    I’ve learned from you all so much, and so much more – and more truthful – than from the media. Yours as well as mine. And so much more about American life than I’ve learned from actually living in the US.

    Oftentimes I’ve almost wished that I hadn’t ‘come to blogging’ as I wouldn’t have known so much about what’s really going on ‘in the World’ – but then again, even without you all, I still wouldn’t have bought the Obama they were/ still are trying to sell me.

    Thank you myiq – and everyone participating here – for all you’ve done … and for letting me, an outsider, trot along all the while. I wholeheartedly understand and back up your decision to turn to the closer, more personal and probably (I hope) less stressing realities. There’s more to life.

    Here’s hoping we’ll meet now and then
    It was great fun
    But it was just one of those things.
    ;)

    I knew early on last night, which way it was going and stopped watching and listening and only just checked the news this morning to have my prediction confirmed and then turned away again. Which I’m afraid I’ll have to do for the next four years. I simply can’t take more ‘Obama the Beautiful’ 24/7/365/4 and have absolutely no expectations of the media suddenly waking up and begin investigating, asking important questions or telling the truth … unless the truth is favorable to Obama.

    Where I come from, Denmark, Obama would have gotten 85% of the votes, had he run here! I know the same goes for Germany and probably most western countries. Can you imagine what the news here are like and have been for the past 5 years!

    So my condolences to us all. I had so been looking forward to this, but alas it was not to be, sigh.

    I don’t know if this site will continue to exist but will keep cheking in for a continuation of information, links and laughs. There’s more to life than politics. And there’s life without Obama … Seek and Thou Shalt Find. :cool:

  16. cj says:

    Thanks for everything myiq & take care of yourself. On a selfish note, I don’t know how I would have survived the last few years without TCH, and I don’t know what I’m going to do if Crawdad shuts its doors completely.

    I’m tired. I’ve been on the losing end of too many political fights in this country, but this feels like the bottom has fallen out. The media won & unless something changes, it alone will decide the fate of this country. If they finally tire of Barack, they’ll take him down, if a few of them grow a conscience, maybe he’ll be held accountable.

    Again, thank you myiq, lola, votermom, and thanks to everyone who made TCH such a wonderful sanctuary. I hope we can stick out the next four years together, somehow.

  17. Thanks to everyone here. When I was blackballed at what I thought were sane sites- this place let me in.(and there went your neighborhood lol)
    I too need a break, but alas, it may not be a long one.
    The only consolation is the assholes did not get control of both Houses! Pray the firewall holds!

  18. gxm17 says:

    Klown, you’re much too good of a blogger to stop writing. And the next four years will have much klown fodder!

    Rest up, spend some time on yourself, and then get back here and get back to work!

    I’m so relieved that this election is over. And now I know with certainty that the Democratic Party has moved permanently center right so I’ll be voting third party from here on out. Which I’m very happy with, it makes election day wonderfully stress free.

    Big hugs to my THC family. You’re a great group of people, bloggers, regulars, and lurkers alike. I will miss you if you all disappear into the cyber void so here’s hoping everyone sticks around.

    • leslie says:

      gmx –
      you are so right! 3rd party here I come. (Actually, I have voted 3rd party many times.) just not this one or the last. At least we won’t have to go through another Bronco campaign. And {{hugs}} to you and everyone here at TCH.

  19. Lulu says:

    A sabbatical is a very good idea. While feeling sad and dejected is a very normal and valid reaction, I am disgusted. I do not want to hear any more sad sack stories from the American public. If people are this stupid there isn’t anything anyone can do to help them. Me and mine, relatives, my friends, and neighbors are all that matter to me now. This country wants tribalism and nastiness and I am going to give it to them. The greater good is a concept beyond the American voters understanding so I don’t have to worry about either. I’m old and I already got mine so why should I care about people I don’t know.

    All of the wonderful, wise, funny and caring people on this forum (including you MIQ2XU) should do something completely selfish and utterly without merit today. I plan on doing this and not giving a rat for the next four years. I feel better already.

    • leslie says:

      I WAS going to stay home from work, instead I’m going to work for a few hours and then taking off and go to a museum. How’s that for selfish? I’m gonna get me some R&R of the non-political genre.

      bbl

      • Lulu says:

        Excellent. I’m having lunch with a non-political frivolous old friend. She said she has been worried about me. We here are serious people but I don’t think we should feel responsible any longer.

        • Jadzia says:

          I’ve been spending money right and left on beauty boxes and today subscribed to a monthly tea box. OK, this is mostly because my husband has imprisoned me at the in-laws for six days (so I order something nice for myself every GD day I am stuck here), but I’m kind of indiscriminate today about the recipient of my “F*ck you”s.

  20. ME says:

    I’ll say this to all the “millionaires and billionaires.” You see the country resents you and wants your money. I say move it all over seas and pay as LITTLE tax as you can.

  21. votermom says:

    I want to thank everyone on TCH. You are my cyber family.
    I won’t go anywhere — where else would I go?

    But I am going to put a lot of effort in keeping in balance – have to work to try to be healthy, try to stay positive.

    I refuse to give Obama and the Dems the satisfaction of seeing me in despair.

  22. foxyladi14 says:

    The election is over the results are in.
    Congratulations to all the winners. And to the losers I say You fought the good fight you gave your best but the opponent got more votes and won.

    Now lets hope that our elected leaders work together for the American people.http://crayfisher.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/that-which-i-feared-most-has-come-to-pass/#comment-form-load-service:Facebook
    Because there will be another election coming up in just two years. :)

  23. jeffhas says:

    I relate Klown.

    Just Remember – that you can pretty much ‘light up the Bat Signal’ and call me back any time.

    If TCH decides to have a pot-luck-crying-circus, I’m in – no matter where you hold it.

    I owe you all a great deal of gratitude for the past four years. This haven gave me an outlet for my angst, and a strategy for me to work past my anger and bitterness… and now, I’m waving my political emotions goodbye.

    We all have bigger fish to fry I suspect… I have a fully complete and lovely dysfunctional family to tend to… and with some attention I can mete out the next 20-30-40 years or so with them.

    I plan on making this big election into such a small event in my life…. but I will never forget how you guys gave me GRAND purpose.

    Thanks all – I hope you all fare well today and forever – stay in touch at the TCH, I’ll be checking in when not attending to my family garden.

    I hope as everyone goes on sabbatical (or not), somehow we keep a line open somewhere for us to recognize each other.

    Adios Muchachos!

  24. foxyladi14 says:

    God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    as it is, not as I would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    if I surrender to His Will;
    That I may be reasonably happy in this life
    and supremely happy with Him
    Forever in the next.
    Amen.

  25. Constance says:

    Myiq2xu, Thanks for the blog, You are right we have to suck it up and go along with the majority since the only other choice is an end to what Democracy we have. A lot of people who voted for Obama voted for the Democrat brand but do not like the people who control the brand right now including Obama. And a lot of people who voted against Romney voted against the Republican brand and never saw what a great leader Romney is. We have to hope the people who pull Obama’s strings can accomplish something now that they have more freedom after accomplishing their last election.

  26. DandyTiger says:

    Honk, honk. We got 8 years of Bush 2, and now we’ll have 8 years of Bush 3. I think we’ll survive it. Maybe we’ll come out the other end better. Who knows.

    • gxm17 says:

      My fear is that we’ll end up with another 8 years of Bush 4 with a Jeb run in 2016. I’m trying not to think about it. :P

  27. Constance says:

    I sense ongoing doom in the early Republican take on the election loss. I see them talking about how they have to figure out how to appeal to Hispanics if they want to win…..Seriously guys?! Pull your head out of your asses, women are the majority, you have to figure out how to appeal to WOMEN voters. Running around the country ranting about “legitimate rape”, trans-vaginal ultrasound and excluding birth control from insurance women are forced to participate in when it is the only service many young healthy women will ever use is LOOSING.

    Republicans, you don’t need to figure out how to appeal to small minorities of voters you need to figure out how to appeal to the majority of voters, which is women.

    • jeffhas says:

      You’d think they’d be able to walk and chew gum at the same time….

    • jjmtacoma says:

      I agree. The stance on women is my main issue with the republican party. Then they open their mouths.

      Another 4 years of Obama and it will be any republican will win. I *HOPE* he has figured out how to do his damn job and hire people who also know how to do their jobs or give good advice.

      • Glennmcgahee says:

        Couldn’t agree more. Its funny that after I voted for Mitt, I just checked every woman on the ballot. When I got home and spoke with my sister in another state, she told me that she had done the same and I hadn’t told anyone how I had voted.
        One good thing. Its the last time we have to listen to Barack campaign, he has to work.

  28. soupcity says:

    Thanks Klown, take care of yourself. Something tells me there will be something to bring you back out one of these days. All I know is it will be too quiet without your voice until then.

    To all of you TCH’ers: Thank you from the bottom of my mostly lurking (and sorta broken) heart.

  29. DM says:

    Hey Klown, give yourself time, but we’re a family that have so much in common, more than with our own family. Losing an election should bring us closer. Come back when you feel like ranting. I’d miss you too much if your absence is too long.

  30. jjmtacoma says:

    I miss you when you take time off. I hope you get plenty of rest and your to-do list dwindles.

  31. smile says:

    myiq, please don’t go away for too long. Take a break, and don’t neglect other areas of your life that are more important than politics, but please stay and see if you can manage to do all that and still blog.

    Politics has become all consuming for us. We need to balance our lives, and that includes still keeping politics in our lives. Otherwise with time, we run the risk of becoming the type of disinterested voters who enabled the Failure’s victory in 2012.

    And just for selfish reasons, I want you to stay as well.

    Keeping you and all of TC bloggers and lurkers in my prayers.

  32. taw46 says:

    myiq, rest and take care of yourself, put your life and family first. But, please come back! I never read blogs until I saw how Hillary was treated in 2007/2008. Found TC, and then followed you here. I rarely comment, but read this blog every day, several times a day. Please don’t leave forever!

  33. alice says:

    myiq, I’ve been reading you for years now. A sabbatical is a good thing and I hope it helps — though selfishly, I also hope to see you back here again. I’m feeling a lot more than I’m going to type here, but this will have to do; it’s tough to capture the feelings right now. Best to you and thanks.

  34. 49erDweet says:

    Still shaking head. Fortunately for sanity’s sake gdaughter is with us today, and keeping up with an under 3 yo tends to refocus one.
    Still brooding on tipping points, and the reaching thereof.
    Is it time to colonize another “earth”?

  35. t says:

    Some people are talking like he’s leaving forever. I give him 2 weeks of pent up angst and then he’ll have to vent it on us or explode. And trust me, klown shrapnel is a really dangerous thing..

    Have a good break, MyIQ. You need, deserve, and definitely should take it.

  36. Karma says:

    Myiq, My deepest thanks for this place of refuge. Without the humor and thoughtful insights that you and everyone here offered I don’t know what these past four years would have been like.

    It was, and still is, mind-boggling to watch everyone, both family and friends, as well as the media, flip their principles to for the D behind Obama’s name. It’s stunning how they have continued to shut down their critical thinking skills, all for party, and any previous concerns about the country and constitution are set aside.

    I don’t understand it, and frankly, it’s probably best I don’t, otherwise I might be cheering Obama’s win.

    When Obama first started running, there was major shift with people on the net. Rudeness, lies, and worse. While going out to new sites and trying to fight back with logic and years of links, which were disappearing. I finally found Taylor March just as she flipped to Obama, leaving stunned posters wondering what happened. It was those poster’s comments that led to the only sane boards on the net. There has been more bust ups, so I want to also thank Crawdad for starting TCH. It has become a home away from home.

    Rest up Klown, I hope your health continues to improves and you return. We probably all have things to tend to in real life. But fighting for the country against the onslaught of lies wasn’t a waste of effort. It’s our civic duty to protect the constitution within our lifetimes, so that it will be there for the next generation. You fought the good fight.

    To the TCHers, thank you for all of your humor, insights, and links that kept this place filled. It really makes this site special and a wealth of information.

  37. djmm says:

    Thank you for all your wonderful posts, myiq. Rest, take good care of yourself, go look at the stars. May Life be good to you. But if/when you get bored or restless or outraged, I suspect everyone who posts, comments or lurks here would be delighted to see what you decide to post next. You helped keep a lot of us laughing and sane.

    djmm

Comments are closed.