Saturday Morning Open Thread

Have at it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Saturday Morning Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Gotta run but anyone else wanting to brainstorm how unemployed peeps like me can earn some money in Omerika?

    • LOL I am seriously thinking on that as well. Years and years ago a friend and I did holiday gigs as an accommodation service. We would go into peoples homes and run their holiday parties for them. We did all the cooking, serving and cleaning up. It was pretty efficient. We did not need licenses for food service as we were working in people’s homes, not running our own establishment. For the most part they did the shopping (more regulatory bs we and they avoided) though we could and did help them with menu selection and shopping lists. We NEVER bought the liquor- that was always left to them, though we ran the bar for them.
      Both of us were ServSafe certified, so safe food handling was assured.
      Might have to think of doing this again. Craigslist ad might get me a couple of gigs. I could expand it too, to going in and doing a busy employed persons holiday baking.

    • elliesmom says:

      Start something like this: https://www.taskrabbit.com/ ?

      • Ellie- similar yes. I had seen that before- but I live so far out in bitter clinger land lol. No taskrabbit jobs anywhere within a 50 miles radius.
        We DO however, have doctors and lawyers out here who have SOME money- so working their holiday shindigs might be doable. I have a friend who is a nurse- so have an in so to speak lol.

        • Somebody says:

          PMM there is a woman in my area that puts up Christmas trees and window decorations for local businesses, like car dealers, assisted living facilities, various types of shops. The businesses buy or already own the decorations she just takes care of putting it up for them.

          Many businesses have cut back and have less employees. They’d rather pay somebody a few bucks to take care of that rather than lose an employees for several hours.

          I’m telling you she’s doing well and last year she expanded to private homes of the more affluent seniors.

          I wish I had thought of it before she cornered the market in my area. She put together a portfolio of pictures of decorated trees, wreaths, etc., she had done and used that to pitch her services. She’s really into Christmas decorating and switches stuff up at her own home each year. That describes me or it used to……still pisses me off I didn’t think about it and it amazes me how many people have contracted her services. She stays busy from Thanksgiving forward.

    • lyn5 says:

      Move to Colorado or Washington and grow pot.

    • t says:

      Whatever you decide, do something in support of THE RICH. They are the only ones who will have disposable income from now on.

    • Constance says:

      Grow pot, I am hearing you can sell it for about $1000. a plant. If they catch you anywhere but WA and Colorado you’ll get a warm place to live with three squares, a library and a gym and no one under 18 can live there.

    • Constance says:

      Cat or dog sitting but not more than 2 miles from your house. You can get $20 per day for 10 mins work. I also heard of a guy that got rich scooping dog poop at rich peoples yards once a day. He had a route he walked of customers and called it his exercise.

  2. Oh- and my brother used to make extra holiday money putting up people’s outside holiday decorations. Extra again for taking them down in January. He was his own best advertisement- he had some of the best holiday displays ever!

    • Constance says:

      That’s good my sister in law did that and she also planted annuals in peoples baskets and yards in the spring and bulbs in the fall but she didn’t do yard maintenance. Very quickly she started doing it for only businesses and not individual houses.

  3. cynic says:

    My daughter pet and farm sits, and I clean houses. As a matter of fact, came home last night to a message on my machine for another job. Picked up three in the last two months. The elderly don’t want to leave their homes, but need help. I think they also like the companionship.

  4. Two things:

    #1: I got good news yesterday in that I finally got a call for an interview for one of the secretarial positions I applied for. Hoping that by this time next week I have a job offer. Paltry pay, but excellent benefits that will allow my husband to get his RN for very cheap. And at least it’s full time, with no take-home work.

    #2: My daughter bought an HD smart TV yesterday. The smart part is fun, but the HD part will likely ruin television for me, which I really don’t mind. Everything looks like a cheap Cable Access set. That was surprising.

  5. SimoFish says:

    We found out on Thursday my spouses job is moving to Dallas, Texas. So, we are moving from the Bay Area of CA to Dallas, Tx about April / May.
    One way for the company to downsize without laying off. Every level 3 and above has to move, find another job locally with the company or receive a severance package.
    Luckily for us this means more money in our pocket since CA is very expensive to live and they will pay all our relocation costs. Including the 6% realtor fee. HUGE savings. Downside, we love, love our home. It’s perfect for us.
    Others around the country / company – not so lucky.

    • Congrats! I hope you enjoy Dallas. It’s a nice area. Texas also does not tax income, so there’s savings there, too.

    • Lulu says:

      Welcome soon to Texas. Both of my sons are in Dallas and like it. Your salary will go much further. Keep an open mind, expect some culture shock, and get a good realtor. And you will need a new wardrobe with the climate change.

    • If you can, try to buy or rent a home from a military family going PCS. They take beautiful care of their homes and generally live in wonderful, friendly, neighborly neighborhoods!
      It really helps them out- sometimes orders come through with no notice and they end up having a house sitting on the market back here in the States while they are a world away.

    • angienc says:

      Congrats! Dallas is great — I went to college there & I think Texas will be a great place to be during the Obama economy.

      You have to go to Alfonso’s Italian Restaurant (I worked there all through college) and tell the owner — Peter — that you know me! It’s a really nice/casual style restaurant with great food (the rolls that come with every meal are fresh baked & brushed with a garlic butter — to die for!).

      http://www.alfonsositalianrestaurant.com/

    • DeniseVB says:

      I have friends who live in the Dallas area and love it!

  6. yttik says:

    Trying to survive in the Obama-economy, uhg! Catering holiday parties is a good idea, selling things on ebay, having a garage sale. Setting up a lunch service where you provide kid’s with a lunch to take to school is something I’ve toyed with. LOL, my kid does it, she sells lunches to all her friends. I bear the cost, but at least I don’t have to give her spending money. I make some extra money helping people clean out garages, closets, and taking their stuff to goodwill. Many elderly people need some help with this.

    • Constance says:

      Another good business…when I had to breakup my parents estate I couldn’t figure out to do with all the stuff that none of my 20 or so cousins took so I hired a woman who holds estate sales at peoples houses. She had a following on her web page and she employed a lot of people who otherwise wouldn’t have had a job. She put stuff out on site, advertised it had a bunch of experts she could sell early to…I made $5,000 or so and she made $3,000. I got rid of a bunch of pretty good stuff and other people gave it a new home. I think it was a rewarding business if you like people.

  7. Somebody, on November 10, 2012 at 6:47 am said:

    You joke, but I bet it would be a successful business

    not really a joke. Just have to figure out the way to get paid by Obama Stash to have it be viable. I AM researching!

  8. tommy says:

    Been talking to a lot of my friends who owns businesses. Such doom and gloom. They’re more depressed than us. Too many uncertainties, Obamacare, fear of new regultations, paperwork up the wazoo. Not a good climate for economic recovery at all. I really hope they’re wrong. Cos what I really heard in their voices is PANIC. The last time that happened was during the recession. We’re gonna have a lost generation just like the Japs. Mitt was the last chance we had. Hey, I hate being so negative. So I’ll hope for the best.

  9. before you all say NO and close your minds to this idea, please hear me out. I am a Senior Sales Director with Mary Kay and regardless of the economy business is always good for us. I have been doing this for 29 years and I not only do really well, I have brought in alot of other people who are also doing well. Most people think they can’t do it because they “can’t sell” or “aren’t the type” but ANYONE can learn how to do well in my field because it is a learned skill not an innate one and also there is no “type” that does well. I’m came into it as a hippie musician 29 years ago and I never wore makeup or knew the first thing about skin care. However, everyone washes their face, so there is always a market for it. Part time, full time, whatever, What do you have to lose? I’ve won 16 cars (yes—pink Cadillacs), put my kids through college (one an ivy leaguer), and supported my family the two times my husband lost his job. but best of all, it has left me time to pursue my passion for politics.

    If you want more info, email cruccia@aol.com or call me 614-239-8928.

    Just sayin……..

    • SimoFish says:

      I looked into this at one time. I think Mary Kay is a wonderful company. I was unhappy in my current job, then my job changed so I never pursued it any further.

      GREAT suggestion.

    • Lulu says:

      I buy several Mary Kaye products from one of my best friends. It is a great company. She also has done it for many years. When her triplets, yes triplets, started school she needed an outlet for her wonderful personality. The triplets are in college and she is still going strong with Mary Kaye.

    • votermom says:

      I may take you up on that more info thing …

  10. SimoFish says:

    Thanks for all the well wishes. (I fell back asleep)

    After the election I said to the Mrs – I am sick of CA (they went BLUE and voted in more taxes). I was even looking at houses in AZ where my sister lives. I told her I needed a break from CA. Her boys live here so she was upset.
    Now, she’s fine because its work and they pay and we’ll be back in 4 years.
    I LOVE BBQ.

  11. SimoFish says:

    Hey, why isn’t Petraeus testifying next week? Is he off the hook because he resigned? I don’t understand

    • DM says:

      Simofish, congrats on that move to TX. I have cousins in Houston. I think you’ll enjoy it very much. I’m always amazed how life balances things. I know you were upset about Mitt losing, but that is balanced with the good news that you are moving to TX. I’m happy for you.

      I don’t know why Petraeus is not testifying. It’s difficult to know with this administration what is true and what isn’t, very Orwellian.

    • djmm says:

      Since he is not employed by the CIA, he is not testifying as their spokesman. But he could be called to testify as a fact witness, if any of the congress-critters have the gumption.

      djmm

  12. driguana says:

    This is startling….there are huge anti-Muslim fanaticism demonstrations going on in Paris today…it is amazing because France has the largest Muslim population outside of the Middle East…..this could have enormous consequences for France…even if you can’t understand French, you’ll get the gist….nowhere to bew found on the American MSM….

  13. tommy says:

    TCH is moving at a snails pace today. Think I’ll play devils advocate, lol. And since everybodys so serious, I’m gonna inject a bit of humour. I’m a wee bit imaginative bout Dave and Paulas affair. Just imagine this………..A hot and humid night in Afghanistan. Mosquitoes the size of golfballs being swatted aside. Dave is relaxed, telling Paula the story of his life. Suddenly the Taliban attack. Mayhem, confusion follows. Bullets whizzing, bombs falling all over the place. Death is but a breath away. Dave, being a professional, knows that its all over. Looks over to Paula, whose terrified eyes realises the same. Dave steels himself, and in a fit of bravado, breaks out into song : Lets do it for our country, the red, white and the blue, if the President were standing here, I’m sure he would approve, I’ll be a mighty soldier, before this night is through, so lets do it for our country, our country wants us to.

    • DM says:

      Speculating about 2016 is like speculating about 2008 in 2004. Jeb had a future, if not in 2008, certainly in 2012. It was not to be. Obama has a difficult four years to deal with. He has inherited a troubled economy (snark) with worldwide recession looming. He will also deal with a very difficult foreign situation in the ME. War is a possibility. I wanted someone capable in the WH for those reasons. I don’t see Obama doing a good job, just like I never saw GWB doing a good job. Obama is jr.jr.

    • Erica says:

      My biggest nightmare is that she would run, and that she ends up being the first woman president. If the dems try to install her next, I will never vote for any democrat for the rest of my life.

  14. John Denney says:

    What is it that makes a country prosperous? Prosperous people.

    What is it that makes an individual prosper? Four things:

    1) Can-do attitude
    2) Diligence
    3) Continuous Learning
    4) Trustworthiness

    These can be given to no one, only encouraged, and their opposites discouraged. They apply regardless of age, gender, or race. Our leaders should exemplify these qualities.

    The job of the government (We the People) is to protect each person’s life, liberty, and property.

    Like my Dad used to tell me, make yourself useful.

  15. angienc says:

    It’s an Obamairacle!

    St. Lucie County in Florida had a 141% turnout on election night. President Obama also managed to win 99% of the votes, according to the numbers, in various districts in Broward County.
    The sheer number of voters shocked the Supervisor of Elections there, though in this piece she’s not asked to comment on the amazingly lopsided voting percentages in some of the districts. It’s really quite impossible that any candidate, much less one with approval numbers the likes of those enjoyed by Obama, should prevail so hyperwhelmingly. I expect that Nate Silver won’t be calculating the likelihoods, but if there were statisticians willing to address the matter, I think we would find that the numbers are far outside the realm of reasonable probability.
    The infinitessimal statistical probabilities materialized in Broward County, FL, were not limited to that county. In polling locations in Philadelphia where Republican observers were thrown out, Mr. Obama received once again over 99% of the votes cast. In Cleveland, he received 99.8% of the votes in 44 districts, and he benefitted from 108% turnout from eligible voters in one county in Ohio.
    It takes a special kind of person not to see how such amazing, astounding, mind-bending statistical anomalies could crop up in so many precincts all in one election.

    More here: http://theothermccain.com/2012/11/10/bizarre-statistical-improbabilities/

    • DM says:

      This website from the Secretary of State, FL, shows St Lucie CO had a 70% turnout.

      I was caught flat footed when I stated that Romney had more votes than McCain in OH. I was using the NYT information. In fact McCain received about 90K more votes in OH. I learned my lesson.

      http://enight.elections.myflorida.com/CountyReportingStatus/

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think I saw this debunked. Something about the county needing two cards for all the referendums they were voting on, which caused the double counting in some precincts ?

      Also saw on Redstate something about that ORCA thing was a scam as the guy who ran it for Romney was looking for some quick money and obviously couldn’t produce the GOTV results he promised.

      There’s also some bunk going around that Alan West was declared the winner after counting absentee ballots.

      Not enough rolls of tinfoil to make all these hats ;)

      • angienc says:

        Winning FL by 74,000 votes is enough for me.
        I followed both campaigns the last few weeks — Obama knew he was losing; Romney knew he was winning (and that wasn’t because of Microsoft selling his team on a bad app that got overwhelmed during the actual GOTV effort).

      • angienc says:

        Like I wrote in the thread last night — all those left-leaning papers that flipped their 2008 endorsements of Obama to Romney this year? That isn’t what happens when the guy they endorsed last time is *winning* and they sure weren’t ripped off by ORCA.

    • DM says:

      Cleveland is in Cayahoga county, and the county had a 66.5% turnout. It’s possible that the city itself had a 99% turnout, but if the total for the county is 66.5%, I tend to doubt that the rest of the county was super low. Below is the link to the official county website

      http://boe.cuyahogacounty.us/

  16. DM says:
  17. driguana says:

    A friend put it to me very interestingly this morning….they country was just taken over by the perfect “coup”…just like in 3rd world countires where the dictators get 100% of the vote….Saddam Hussein used to do that…but then I guess we now are a third world country…

  18. DM says:

    All I know about the election is that we have someone in the WH who is not competent to fulfill the duties of a president. Its disappointing, but life goes on.

  19. swanspirit says:

    Romney created a vision for this country and sent a message that , for me , will outlast O-mans ignominious , scandal ridden failure of an administration

  20. swanspirit says:
  21. ME says:

    OT: I wish people would stop reading ulsterman. I stopped paying him attention long before the election. google him.

Comments are closed.