“Gun Control” means hitting your target

SBdemotivational-posters-explanation


Sometimes you read a post that makes you want to applaud. That was my reaction to this one by alexthechick:

An open letter to Bob Costas and Jason Whitlock

Gentlemen: I see that you have chosen to use the horrific crime of the murder of Kasandra Perkins to express your belief that guns are the problem, not the men who wield them. I am utterly certain that you believe that you have the moral high ground on this matter. I am equally certain that such a belief is appallingly wrong, not to mention terribly misogynistic. Why do I say this? Because had your desires on gun control been in place, I would not be alive to be writing this now.

I have an Ex. I have an Ex who, in the process of becoming my Ex, made credible threats to kill me. Why did I believe these threats were credible? Because among the primary reasons why I left him were that he had anger control issues, that he was a problem drinker well on his way to full blown alcoholism and that the things he was throwing at me were getting ever closer to my head. I decided to leave before finally snapped and actually hit me. He was displeased by this and made such displeasure known.

Do you know what kept me safe? Not some piece of paper. Not a judge tut tutting at him and shaking his/her finger and telling him to leave me alone. Not the police, who, after all, would only be able to respond once he had caused me harm. No, what kept me safe was my Glock. What kept me safe was my Glock and the fact that he knew I had both the ability and the will to empty a clip into his chest if he made good on his statements that if I did not come back, I would not see the next week. He never tried to do any of the things he screamed he would because he knew that not only would I defend myself but that I could. My Ex was nearly a foot taller than me and, at the time, had about 150 pounds on me. If he had been able to get close enough to me to harm me, there were very few options I had to protect myself. But with my Glock, well, I would be able to stop him before he got that close. I am alive today because he knew that if he tried to make that otherwise, there was a better than even chance he would be the one lying there in a pool of blood instead of me.


In case you missed it, on Saturday Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Jovan Belcher took a gun and murdered his girlfriend Kasandra Perkins before killing himself. Some people have used the tragedy to argue for gun control.

There are literally millions of guns in this country. Nobody knows for sure how many there are but even conservative estimates put the number in excess of 100 million firearms. Every year less than one percent of those guns are misused to injure or kill people.

Thousands of times a year guns are used properly in self defense. There is no uniform data on how many times a gun is used to stop or deter crime, but approximately 600 justifiable homicides are committed each year with firearms. Meanwhile, millions of people go hunting and/or target shooting each year.

The illegal use of firearms should be severely punished. Gun owners should be held to a high stand of care when it comes to gun safety. I would support a law that put the burden of proof on the owner to prove that he/she was not negligent whenever there is an accidental shooting involving a child. But guns should remain legal.

One nickname for a handgun is an “equalizer”. To paraphrase an old saying, “God created men and women, Samuel Colt made them equal”.



About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in Gun Control and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Gun Control” means hitting your target

  1. HELENK says:

    all spouse abusers should have to think about this

    judged by 12 or carried by 6.

    as spousal abuse will rise during the hard economic times sometimes a gun is the only thing that will save a life, there should be more firearms training.

    • Jadzia says:

      Seriously. My Aunt Lola saved her own life when her estranged husband came banging down her door. She shot him 7 times and still the bastard died of old age. But so did she.

  2. angienc says:

    Did they ever find the gun used to kill Nicole Brown Simpson & Ron Goldman?

  3. myiq2xu says:
    • catarina says:

      Does Bob or anyone else really think that domestic violence would come to a screeching halt if there were no “handguns?”
      (Bad, bad guns!)

      Bob’s a moron.

  4. myiq2xu says:

    It was the preacher’s organ.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I remember a young mother who drowned her 5 children in a bathtub, we haven’t started a war on bathtubs yet?

    I remember a young mom who sent her toddlers to their drowning deaths in a car, we haven’t banned cars yet?

    So Mr Costas, if Belcher was intent on killing and there were no guns, I think he would have thought of another way. OJ did.

  6. yttik says:

    Good post, myiq!

    “Saturday Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Jovan Belcher took a gun and murdered his girlfriend Kasandra Perkins before killing himself…”

    You know what astounds me about this the most? You’ve got a guy that has been unbelievably blessed, fame, fortune, good health, a healthy child, everything anybody could ever want in the world. He doesn’t have to worry about paying the light bill or how he’s going to get his child cancer treatments. He’s won the darn lottery of life and been given every opportunity the world has to offer….and this is what he does with it.

    It just convinces me more than ever that 99% of people’s problems are self inflicted. Some people even seem to insist on trying to create their own private little hell on earth. Jovan Belcher succeeded at it and sure left a lot of misery in his wake.

  7. catarina says:

    If women want to protect themselves, they should get a gun. The FBI’s National Crime Victimization Survey indicates that by far the safest course of action for women to take when they are confronted by a criminal is to have a gun.

    Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2012/12/03/truth-about-costas-belcher-and-guns/#ixzz2E1TauuYI

  8. Jadzia says:

    Frankly, I am thinking of looking into getting one. It’s pretty scary way out here in the middle of nowhere. There’s pretty much no law enforcement out here, one of my clients was murdered last year right after we won his case, and another one of my cases (that fabled “last case” before moving on to better things) scares the bejeezus out of me.

Comments are closed.