Enlightenment Arrives Too Late

SBdopeslap


Hahvahd Economics Professor Greg Mankiw (via Legal Insurrection):

An Unfortunate Broken Promise

Back in 2008, when President Obama was running for his first term, he promised to be a post-partisan leader.  While a Democrat, he said he would accept good ideas when they came from Republicans.  At the time, I believed him, at least to some degree.  And I wrote about it in this NY Times column.

Sadly, I was wrong.  The short version of the story is this: As a candidate, President Obama campaigned on a platform of raising taxes on the rich.  Yet he and his economic advisers also said they wanted to raise dividend taxes only slightly, from 15 to 20 percent.  For reasons I explained in the Times article, keeping dividend taxes low was a position bolstered by good economics. Now, however, the president wants to raise dividend taxes to ordinary income tax rates (plus, for high-income taxpayers, the new tax of 3.8 percent that is part of the Obamacare legislation).

To put it another way, he campaigned as a moderate, willing to concede that the other party had some good ideas on tax policy.  Once in office, he gave up on those ideas.

A similar thing happened with Bowles-Simpson. During his first term, he appointed a bipartisan panel, which concluded we could address our long-term fiscal problem with lower tax rates and a broader tax base. Now, the President goes around the country lambasting that approach.

Reasonable people can disagree about whether President Obama is a good or bad president. But the claim that he has tried to transcend partisanship and find a middle ground is just impossible to square with the facts.


I didn’t go to one of those fancy-schmantzy ivy-covered colleges like Hahvahd. I went to schools covered with weeds and pigeon droppings. I can barely do math let alone economics. But I figured out that Obama was a phony-baloney piece of shit SCofaMF before he got elected the first time.


About myiq2xu

Creepy-ass cracker
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, SCOAMF and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Enlightenment Arrives Too Late

  1. myiq2xu says:

    Maybe in five or six years the rest of these morons will be willing to admit the truth.

  2. HELENK says:

    http://www.reagancoalition.com/articles/2012/20121205004-nyt-wright.html

    tell me what college this guy went to???

    do not eat or drink before reading

  3. piper says:

    I have to run out again but just saw this story on my browser so I want to share it before I forget. What do you think of his clown get-up. Forgive me if someone already posted this.

    http://www.wisn.com/news/south-east-wisconsin/milwaukee/Man-makes-court-appearance-in-clown-gear/-/10148890/17668046/-/10hygvg/-/index.html?absolute=true

  4. myiq2xu says:

  5. yttik says:

    What??! Say it isn’t so!! President Obama would never do something harmful to the economy and he certainly would never create hostile partisanship in Washington!

    “But the claim that he has tried to transcend partisanship and find a middle ground is just impossible to square with the facts….”

    Don’t be silly! Just start mainlining hopium and the facts be damned. Your pony is in the mail, too.

  6. HELENK says:

    On the tv they showed backtrack telling people that those big bad republicans want to take away deductions for charities.

    but the government is going to take care of people from the cradle to the grave, just ask JULIA., so why will we need charities????

  7. HELENK says:

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2012/12/05/new-dem-rep-arrested-for-second-time-in-two-weeks/

    a new democratic hire.

    I got one for my district that protested for a cop killer. Gee I feel so safe

  8. HELENK says:

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/12/05/us-usa-tax-irs-idUSBRE8B41GW20121205

    IRS finalized medical device tax to go into effect in Jan

  9. HELENK says:

    http://www.kentreporter.com/news/182266431.html

    holder;s dept of crime tells states NO WAY on POT

    • yttik says:

      It’s kind of funny, suddenly liberals in Washington state are getting all conservative and talking about state’s rights and getting rid of the Feds.

  10. HELENK says:

    http://www.wnd.com/2012/11/the-big-list-of-vote-fraud-reports/

    list of voter fraud that no one is talking about.
    what the hell votes do not mean anything now

    • Kim says:

      Thanks for the link, Helen. It’s so infuriating that no one is talking about the “surprising” election results. I guess the only explanation is that Obama was waaaay more popular than could have been measured by mere mortals and their polls.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    You know, maybe during Bam’s first term I would have embraced an msm “journalist” or a drool bucket “journOlist” saying “I was wrong” and that POTUS really is a POS. Too late for me, they can all just STFU. Not forgiving any of them.

    Just like the same media types who are going “Hey, Hillary 2016 sounds pretty nifty” when they destroyed her in 2007-2008. They can eat sh*t and die now.

    Don’t get me started on the aholes who are now suggesting “Romney’s Future”. Suck it and I hope they all lose their jobs for selling us out.

    So, there’s our new mission, No Apologies, No Forgiveness. Could be fun :D

    • Erica says:

      I agree. There’s no excuse now. They are liars and manipulators and fraud is rampant, just look at the article Helen posted about vote fraud. It’s sickening and repulsive, and personally I blame Obama and the electioneers he rode in on.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Whew, you got me Erica. Rant’o’venting isn’t my strength. ;)

        I’m in a place right now, I don’t blame Obama at all, just his ass kisser supporters, which may or may not include the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of our government. The fourth estate is already on my last nerve, I mean, how bad can that be if Pravda’s calling them idiots ?

        • Erica says:

          Then you’re a more generous woman than I! Obama, his supporters, the DNCers who rigged the primary, the media, the people pulliing the strings, yep, basically I’m down (and not in a good way) on all of them.

  12. fif says:

    I didn’t go to one of those fancy-schmantzy ivy-covered colleges. I went to ones covered with weeds and pigeon droppings. I can barely do math let alone economics. But I figured out that Obama was a phony-baloney piece of shit SCofaMF before he got elected the first time.

    Well, I did go to on of those Ivy-covered colleges, and I knew he was a phony-baloney piece of shit the first time I heard him bluff his way through a debate too. If it walks like a phony and talks like a phony…

  13. HELENK says:

    OFF TOPIC

    per Fox news
    Syrian military just mixed the ingredients for sarin gas. It must be used with 60 days

  14. myiq2xu says:

  15. myiq2xu says:

    • DandyTiger says:

      Her response should be the end of it: “In the 1970′s, I identified as a lesbian and wrote about it. In 1991, I met the love of my life, married him.”

  16. Propertius says:

    Actually, he *kept* his promise to accept ideas from Republicans. He accepted their 1994 “health plan”. He accepted unlimited domestic surveillance. He accepted unrestricted drone warfare. He accepted unlimited detention. He’s going to accept massive entitlement cuts (just watch him). He’s already cut food stamps and Pell grants.

    He even added some ideas of his own, like extrajudicial assassination of US citizens.

    He’s not bipartisan, he’s the most successful Republican since Ronald Reagan.

Comments are closed.