Happy Festivus!


Frank Costanza: “Many Christmases ago, I went to buy a doll for my son. I reached for the last one they had, but so did another man. As I rained blows upon him, I realized there had to be another way.“
Cosmo Kramer: “What happened to the doll?“
Frank Costanza: “It was destroyed. But out of that a new holiday was born: a Festivus for the rest of us!“


Get your poles out of the crawl space, it’s Festivus!

I started the practice of observing Festivus when we were still back at The Confluence in 2008. It’s an annual tradition.

The Airing of Grievances will be tonight at 5 p.m. Bakersfield time. I gotta lot of problems with you people.


festivus_pole_kit

The Festivus Pole


About The Klown

Captain Spaulding is BACK!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Happy Festivus!

    • lisadawn82 says:

      I am a FedEx Courier. Thank God it wasn’t one of our people this year who screwed up. It took a long time to live down that idiot who through the computer over the guard fence last year.

      As a personal request to all of your who have ordered a package, even those delivered by other delivery services, can you turn on your porch light so we can read the house number. Thanks.

  1. myiq2xu (D) says:

    FYI:

    A donation has been made in your names to the Human Fund.

  2. tommy says:

    Uh-oh. This sounds serious. A strategic retreat from TCH might be in order, atleast for 24 hours. Myiq sounds like hes in a head-eating mode.

  3. Sounds like I will be needing the eggnog!

  4. driguana says:

    Happy Festivus…may your pole always be shiny!

  5. tommy says:

    A request to the mods. After the high drama in DC over the last few days, whats your prediction on what might happen regarding the fiscal cliff? A post bout it would be nice. Will the 2 idiot parties come together, and hammer out a deal within the next 9-10 days? Is that even possible in so short a time? Or is it gonna be the scroogy new year? In Jan, both parties may scheme on how to pin the blame on the oppo side, while the market tanks, and the economy slides. In Jan, do think that they’ll come together in a bipartisan show and dance of how they are trying to “SAVE” the middle class and the economy, while they’ll secretly be praying that the markets go into overdrive (thats where their dirty investments are). So what does TCH predict?

    • DandyTiger says:

      Good question. I’ve got my hiding place under the bed set up. Truth be told, I never liked the Bush tax cuts, so in principle I’m OK with them running out. Of course the last thing in the world that extra money would be spent on is the debt. But the real worry is is that we may fall into another recession if it happens. Ha, hard to tell we’re still not in one given the real unemployment, but hey, actual people don’t count when it comes to measuring these things.

  6. HELENK says:

    http://www.newsdaily.com/stories/bre8bl0en-us-usa-ports-scott/

    what is the over/under that backtrack will go against a union in the looming port strike possible starting Dec 29th??

  7. DandyTiger says:

    I’m making my list. Not nearly enough pirate activities going on around here.

  8. HELENK says:

    http://www.whitehousedossier.com/2012/12/23/white-house-chef-joins-obamas-hawaii/

    I am sure you will all be very glad to know that the backtrack family will not have to go without their personal chef while vacationing in Hawaii.

  9. HELENK says:

    I have a question. didn’t penny priken buy the backtrack’s a house in Hawaii??? why are they staying at a rental????

  10. lyn5 says:

    Watching this today via amazon streaming.

  11. elliesmom says:

    Ellie says if you’re going to steal your mom’s raw cookie dough, go for the shortbread. At least I didn’t waste any energy rolling it out and baking it.

  12. myiq2xu (D) says:

    The Raiders are on already.

    I hate morning games.

  13. Somebody says:

    One of the Seinfeld writers must have known my family! Today is my birthday and growing up all my family ever did was bitch and moan about the fact that today is my birthday and it’s a pain. In fact my parents just decided to combine my birthday with Christmas because it was more convenient for them. After Christmas dinner I would get the “privilege” of picking out a gift from under the tree and opening it first, it was then dubbed my birthday gift. To this day my mom still wraps my gifts in Christmas paper, but I’m over it now.

    The only “birthday” anything I ever got on my actual birthday growing up was to hear the same story every year from my mom about how my birth screwed up Christmas for my sisters. My dad was overseas, my grandparents stepped in, screwed up and ruined Santa for my sisters…..and apparently to this day it is all my fault.

    The true Festivus type celebrations started after all of us were grown. My husband insisted for a few years that we had to celebrate my birthday. My parents and siblings would grudgingly show up and a true Festivus type event would ensue. When the Festivus episode of Seinfeld originally aired I roflmao! I thought how fitting! Every year my husband and kids decorate a pole for me with birthday decorations, perhaps it’s not a true Festivus pole but I LOVE it!

    Driguana thanks for the song, I’ve never heard that before. I’ll be adding that to my birthday……er Festivus celebrations from now on.

    Happy Festivus everyone!!

  14. DeniseVB says:

    I got my Happy Festivus card from Markos today:

    the simple fact is that the business of online publishing has changed.

    Online advertising revenue has dropped over 30% in the last year. What that means is that Daily Kos can no longer depend on advertising to finance operations. We need your help.

    Please donate to Daily Kos today, and help us do our work.

    We won’t resort to bullshit slideshows to artificially drive up page-views, and since we don’t want to lard up the site with even more obnoxious ads, that means we have to make up the shortfall in other ways.

    Bottom line, if you value the news, activism, and/or community we provide, I need you to help fund those efforts.

    Please, click here to contribute to Daily Kos.

    Help us keep fighting,
    Markos Moulitsas
    Publisher, Daily Kos

    Well his airing of grievances has begun anyhow……. :P

  15. HELENK says:

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2012/12/23/video-meet-the-woman-who-got-fired-for-being-irresistible/

    sounds to me like the guy was having a midlife crisis. should have bought a sports car or a hummer, instead he fired the lady

  16. Mt.Laurel says:

    Mom mentioned that Martina McBride changed her mind about a song. I had the same experience when I heard the Drifters version of White Christmas. Although I first heard it on on one of those now ancient records sans the cute cartoon reindeer.

  17. foxyladi14 says:

    Thanks Love this ! :)

Comments are closed.