Best Wishes To Former President G.H.W. Bush

GHW Bush


George H.W. Bush in intensive care

Former President George H.W. Bush has been admitted to the intensive care unit at a Houston hospital “following a series of setbacks including a persistent fever,” but he is alert and talking to medical staff, his spokesman said Wednesday.

Jim McGrath, Bush’s spokesman in Houston, said in a brief email that Bush was admitted to the ICU at Methodist Hospital on Sunday. He said doctors are cautiously optimistic about his treatment and that the former president “remains in guarded condition.”

No other details were released about his medical condition, but McGrath said Bush is surrounded by family.

The 88-year-old has been hospitalized since Nov. 23, when he was admitted for a lingering cough related to bronchitis after having been in and out of the hospital for complications related to the illness.

Earlier Wednesday, McGrath said a fever that kept Bush in the hospital over Christmas had gotten worse and that doctors had put him on a liquids-only diet.

“It’s an elevated fever, so it’s actually gone up in the last day or two,” McGrath told The Associated Press. “It’s a stubborn fever that won’t go away.”

But he said the cough that initially brought Bush to the hospital has improved.


I realize that in these hyper-partisan days it is uncool to treat members of the other party with affection and respect. I say horseshit.

George Herbert Walker Bush is a good, decent man who devoted most of his life to public service, beginning with his enlistment in the Navy in World War II. He served our country as a congressman, Ambassador to the United Nations, Envoy to China, Director of the CIA, Vice President and finally as our 41st President. He has been retired since 1993.

We should all offer our prayers and best wishes to former President Bush for a speedy recovery.


About The Klown

Grab some pine, Meat!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Best Wishes To Former President G.H.W. Bush

  1. fif says:

    I just saw that headline too and felt sad for the family. They are a close-knit clan, and our family has gone to Maine near their place since I was a little girl. They are well-loved in the area, and at his age any fever is very serious. Wishing them well.

  2. HELENK says:

    whether you agree with his politics or not, President Bush deserves respect. He has served his country with pride.
    may he get well soon and enjoy more time with his family

  3. swanspirit says:

    I hope he recovers and gets to go home .I am sure he is getting the very best care . Of course he deserves respect .
    I am so tired of this no respect garbage

  4. Somebody says:

    I hope he recovers soon. I’m sure his medical team is top notch and they’re doing everything they can.

  5. 49erDweet says:

    Yep, he’s been forgiven for the taxes thing for years now so best wishes on a speedy and complete recovery.

    • myiq2xu (D) says:

      I despise everything about Barack Obama including the way he chews his food. But I wish him a long, healthy and happy life and if I ever met him I would shake his hand and call him “Mr. President.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        Me too. It was kinda awesomey when my hotel was locked down when the First Couple were in the theater next door. I was able to stand outside for 2 hours hoping to catch a glimpse when they exited. Unfortunately the SS cars created a blockade and I barely got to see the top of their heads. Such was my brush with “greatness”.

      • smile says:

        That is so nice of you, myiq. I have been working on this myself. Why make my heart dark and ugly because of politics and wish others ill. I don’t agree with obama, but lately, I have been making sure that it is his deeds that I hate, and not him.

        I like your posts on General “Storming Norman” and Bush Sr. Your call for respect for them, and looking at their years of public service is commendable and honorable. I agree with you wholeheartedly.

  6. gxm17 says:

    I didn’t vote for the man but always liked him. (Actually, I was relieved to have him in office instead of Reagan.) I read that he was in the hospital over Christmas which is worrisome because IIRC he was hospitalized in November too. I hope it’s nothing serious and that he has a full recovery.

  7. myiq2xu (D) says:

Comments are closed.