I Was Told There Would Be No Math

Math001


Frank J. Fleming at Pajamas Media:


Math Is Coming

Math is remorseless, and it will eventually balance its numbers, not caring who is hurt in the process.

All the debate over spending is starting to remind me of the movie Jaws. We have some people who believe there is this big threat headed our way, but the authorities all tell us not to panic — but instead of the mayor of Amity Island telling us the beaches are safe, President Obama is telling us we’ll grow our way out of this deficit.

Right now the Republicans and Democrats are hotly debating which of their two wholly inadequate plans we should use to avoid the fiscal cliff, but looking at the size of the deficit, they’re proposing different-sized Band-Aids where a tourniquet is needed. If you point this out, you’re called a Tea Party extremist who wants to throw old people off a cliff and deny underprivileged Ivy League law students free birth control. “You silly person. Budgets don’t have to balance. That’s just a superstition.”

Everyone is so used to politicians treating our tax dollars with less seriousness than the average person treats Monopoly money that they just don’t get why people are suddenly talking about the need for spending cuts. But this isn’t some idea invented by the Tea Party or Paul Ryan or the Koch brothers while sitting in their hollowed-out-volcano Koch Lair. They only mention cuts because they fear the one truly insisting on them: Math.

Politicians have long ignored Math. And it’s no wonder: Math is unelected, unsympathetic, and highly biased toward the rich and keeps demanding cuts to spending and changes to entitlements that are politically infeasible. In a nation filled with obese poor people, we’ve discovered a long list of things everyone should be entitled to besides food, clothing, and shelter — things people need, like subsidized hybrids — but heartless, uncompromising Math keeps looking at our revenue and telling us we can’t have all of that.


I never liked math. (To be completely honest, I hate it, but I never knew until recently that math is racist.) The reason I was never good at math is probably because I’m left-handed and us southpaws are creative and artistic but whatever the reason me and numbers never got along. They say that math is the language of science and guess what? I was never good in science classes either.

On the other hand I’m not any good at singing either, but I know what it is and I can make it through a church hymn or karaoke night without embarrassing myself. And you don’t have to be a mathematician to understand a profit and loss statement or to balance your checkbook. One thing I do know is that 16 trillion is a REALLY BIG NUMBER.

Now any Vile Prog will tell you (with sneering contempt) that the federal budget is not like a household budget. And that’s true. But money borrowed must be repaid because the books must balance. (That’s why they call it a “balance sheet”.) Right now we owe a shitload of money.

That’s why this “fiscal debt” kabuki is such a waste of time. The Republicans are talking about a fight to the death to avoid raising taxes on the richest Americans by a measly two percent. But even if the Bush tax cuts were completely repealed it would only reduce the rate at which we are going into debt.

The First Rule of Holes is “When you are in one, stop digging”.


About The Klown

I support same-sex marriage and voted against Proposition 8 but I will no longer use Firefox nor any other Mozilla products. Tolerance is a two-way street.
This entry was posted in Federal Deficit, National Debt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to I Was Told There Would Be No Math

  1. tommy says:

    Politicians (both repubs and dems): Americans can’t handle the truth (in their favorite Jessep voice makeover). Meanwhile, this is a slowly executed hostile takeover by the Chinese. Instead of war and death, they’d just prefer to buy us out.

  2. I too am a southpaw. And math- abstract math that is- hates me and I hate it. I barely passed algebra- but excelled at geometry. Then I discovered Bookkeeping and Accounting- All A’s. Easy Peezy! All must equal at the bottom of the sheet. Nothing abstract about it. Add and subtract. Simple.
    Politicians can NEVER do anything the easy way- hence the insurance company profit protection act. And completely unrelated amendments tacked on to bills.
    Something has got to give. The US is in a world of shit. This BS of everyone being entitled to a phone and the latest gazillion dollar shoes is just that BS. Bring back the fucking pay phone on the corner FCS.
    And the politicians need to get it through their thick heads that Social Security IS NOT an entitlement.
    Congressional benefits and retirement packages? THOSE are entitlements. A good start would be right there. More symbolic than anything else, but would be wonderful for morale!

    • myiq2xu (D) says:

      “Entitlement” is not a bookkeeping term.

    • here here—I’m a lefty too!! Explains everything I think!!

      Arrived home to Ohio yesterday to a blizzard. Can’t decide what’s more beautiful—snow or palm trees. Oh well, my best friend has a door mat with palm trees and snow on it.

      I think both parties are looking stupider with each passing day, and worse, they think we are all stupid too.

      And I know I’m a day late due to travel, but every time there is an opportunity to appoint a qualified woman, a man is appointed as in Hawaii’s Senate seat. War on women indeed and both parties do it….

    • simofish says:

      Social Security is an entitlement to those who never paid in or paid very little and have full benefits because they are drug addicts, alcoholics, Etc.
      Fot those of us who paid into the system then NO it’s not entitlement. It’s our money.

  3. Gojoyknocks says:

    Myiq…I beg to differ. Comedy is math with words and you excell.

  4. yttik says:

    “…even if the Bush tax cuts were completely repealed it would only reduce the rate at which we are going into debt…”

    It probably wouldn’t even do that. Taxes influence behavior, so if taxes go up, it’s likely people will just avoid using their money in ways that force them to pay higher taxes. Incomes have also declined, so people have less money to pay taxes with. Raising or reducing taxes is a pointless exercise at the moment. Math says they have to increase prosperity and cut spending.

  5. myiq2xu (D) says:

    AofS:

    The tv talking heads are all aflutter about Obama “cutting his vacation short” to “address the fiscal cliff”.

    Give me a break. They had 2 years to deal with this. They might as well say “Obama heroically crams for test”.

  6. tommy says:

    O/T ‘Mexico City offers cash, toys for guns – Mexico City is sponsoring a program offering cash, toys and computer equipment in exchange for guns in a rough neighborhood where a 10 year old boy was killed by a stray bullet inside a movie theater. The borough of Iztapalapa president Jesus Valencia tweeted on Monday that residents had turned in 27 rifles and 65 pistols’.

  7. driguana says:

    Numbers never lie though they lay there numbly….

  8. yttik says:

    It’s kind of funny, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to change people’s perspective on math and science, especially kid’s. Math is art, it’s music, rhythm, and emotion. It’s really not a right brain, cut and dry, boring, emotionless thing.

    For example, no matter what math congress tries to put on a budget sheet, the economy is not going to improve until they address the emotional side of the issue, which is a whole lot of uncertainty and distrust of our government. Nobody is going to invest and prosper in an environment where they are viewed as evil, rich, and deserving of punitive taxes. So your math can all look good on paper, but cutting taxes/raising taxes is all just a paper game. If you don’t deal with the emotional side of things, the math won’t work.

    • elliesmom says:

      Music is math in its purest form. Art and engineering are two sides of the same coin, form on one side and function on the other. Michelangelo’s “David” is a major engineering feat as well as an incredible work of art. Had he not understood the math of the piece of marble he was working in, his creation would have crumbled under his chisel. Unfortunately we teach math the same way we teach foreign languages. We went until the neuro-pathways that facilitate learning the abstract begin to close before we introduce them to kids. Algebra belongs in 1st grade. Not 9th. My grandson, who is 6, eats it up.

      • gxm17 says:

        Yes! This is what I’ve been saying for years. Math is a language, and needs to be introduced at a very young age. 1st grade not 9th, spot on!

      • LOL- to someone who can actually READ music it might be math. Not to me. Music is beauty and light and comes from my heart, not my brain. I can sing anything through with a great degree of accuracy after hearing it once.
        I can not read one note. Sight read yes, as I understand the progression of up and down dots. But I have never understood the whole every good boy deserves fudge and FACE thing.
        (I can sing over probably a thousand songs by heart lol)
        And I refuse to believe ever that a,b, c or any other letter equals a number. Give me what you want added, subtracted, multiplied or divided and I will work it out. I never ever want to see any x + y = b ever again.

        • Oh- should mention that I was always an “A” student until Algebra. Then it was crying, and headaches, and sick to my stomach and anxiety for that whole year. Messed me up for life.

        • LOL Myiq- I think it is the abstract part that gets me. I am very concrete and don’t get abstract stuff. I don’t like abstract art either- I don’t get it- it leaves me cold.
          I flew through Geometry with no trouble- concrete measurements. Accounting, Book Keeping- no problem- concrete, REAL stuff. I even got A’s in Statistics in college. (I threatened to withdraw if they tried to make me take Algebra- I never used it once after high school- so could not see the point- waste of my time)

        • myiq2xu (D) says:

          The Good Will Hunting types can actually think in math. To them it’s like reading a book.

        • And I always keep in mind the real reason we have to study math. It is so really dangerously smart people have jobs.
          See the unemployed math teacher also known as the unibomber.

        • elliesmom says:

          Reading music is the arithmetic of music. Composing music is math.

        • elliesmom says:

          And geometry is the study of logic. No actual measuring of anything is required. Taking measurements is an application of arithmetic. Just as accounting and bookkeeping are practical applications of arithmetic. Many concrete thinkers excel at arithmetic in all its various forms. Math is more about finding questions than it is about finding answers. I believe a lot of adult concrete thinkers were cheated out of learning to think more analytically by school curricula not by the ability of their brains to learn to do it.

    • tommy says:

      Honk! Excellent comment. I’ve never thought of it in that way.

    • votermom says:

      The youngest got a low score on her last Math test. The consequence is that she will be required to practice piano for 10 min a day.

  9. HELENK says:

    #Breaking: EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson will step down after Obama’s State of the Union address early next year, the agency confirmed

  10. HELENK says:

    my daughter is left handed. In order to make your eyeglasses you need algebra for the prescription lens. She had to take extra classes to really understand it for her job.

  11. HELENK says:

    Obama calls Reid, McConnell, Boehner, Pelosi separately Wednesday to discuss ‘fiscal cliff’ – @AP

    gee how long did he have to start working on this??? now he comes in like mighty mouse to try and do something. If his actions or lack there of did not hurt the American people so much , he would be a cartoon figure

  12. DandyTiger says:

    Math is like peanuts.

  13. Falstaff says:

    I like how the check in that pic is made out for -$0.6665.

  14. HELENK says:

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/dec/27/reid-time-has-run-out-fiscal-cliff/

    reid strikes again no time to bring fiscal cliff plan to floor

  15. Here is some more fucking math. We just got our new insurance cards. I posted this remark on Facebook.
    Happy (NOT) New Year! Thanks to Obamacare- our Ins just went insane. ER visit used to be 50 bucks. Now it is 150. My poor math skills say that is a TRIPLING of the cost!
    So if we are having symptoms of a heart attack- we should call for an appt with our primary care physician?
    Cuz I am not paying $150 PLUS 20% of the bill to go to the ER- EVER! Plus the cost of whatever tests they run. Nope. Not happening.
    But those on state ins will get to go for next to nothing. On MY tax dollars? This is fair how?
    Tell me again about how the cost was going down under Obamacare?

    • myiq2xu (D) says:

      They told me if I voted for McCain the cost of healthcare would skyrocket.

      They were right.

      • LOL. Yup. Premiums went up 20% end of 08. Another 10% in 09. In 2010 and 11 our deductibles, copays and coinsurances went up another 20%.
        Now this.
        Please God, if I am going to have any major health issues, let it be in the next three days. Cuz after Jan 1st I might as well just die and get it over with – as I can’t afford all this “decrease” in cost.

    • piper says:

      Our visit will now cost $250.00 unless you’re admitted to the hospital. Of course insurance won’t pay if they deem ER visit unnecessary.
      Broncocare is a rip-off brought to you by insurance lobbyists and kook-aid voting idiots.

      • piper says:

        Forgot to mention that we have an $1500.00 per person before insurance kicks in which is really a kick in the old kister.

        • Ours is way up there as well. The out of pocket costs went crazy! This year the premiums stayed the same- but the out of pocket, deductibles, copays and coinsurance are way way up. Plus can’t wait to see what is no longer covered.
          For example- some things are now only going to be covered if you are within certain age guidelines. Like bone density scans.
          It is all a scam. Take colonoscopy- well they say it is covered. Uhm, no, no it isn’t. Until you have met the yearly per person deductible. And meet the age guideline. AND have the copay and coinsurance covered.
          Sorry- we have’t got a spare three grand hanging around. So there will be none of that for us.

    • catarina says:

      We just got our “you’re fucked, pay up” notice from our health insurer too.
      WTF??

      I swear they just raised our deductibles and co-pays for everything, just a few months ago.

  16. HELENK says:

    A spksmn for Sen McConnell says he’s “happy to review” Pres Obama’s proposals but notes that Senate Dems have yet to put foward a plan.

  17. votermom says:

    OT but more important than any fiscal smishcal cliff – so what was that crockpot recipe for a ham bone & beans again?

  18. tommy says:

    ‘Carmen Electra, who recently revealed she is dating music mogul Simon Cowell, says she was attracted to bad boys when she was a teenager’. Apparently, now that shes a grown woman, shes still following her teenage instincts. How predictable!

  19. swanspirit says:

    My dad was a leftie , and my daughter is a leftie , and they were both born on the 13th of their respective birthday months .
    My dad had no problem with math , and to my knowledge neither does my daughter . She worked for a bank for a long time before she went into management recruiting . Maybe being born on the 13th has something t do with it . Maybe I am superstitious .
    I myself can do it , up to and including calculus in high school , but I don’t like it . Not one bit . Geometry , on the other hand , i like .

    • yttik says:

      Geometry is applied, you can see it in action. Many people prefer to see something tangible and real when it comes to math. The worse thing we do to kids is to make them sit there year after year memorizing math facts and times tables while they wail, “why do I have to learn this? I’m never going to use it!” Anybody that had to spend year after year learning about negative numbers with no context, no hint of what’s coming next, will eventually come to just hate math.

      I blame the right brainers :)

      • I am a huge fan of memorizing math facts. One should not have to stop and do the calculation every time.
        And I do wish schools would teach kids how to tell time and how to count change. As a restaurant manager I gave up and started teaching a class with play money for my cashiers and servers. Seriously- making change is as simple as counting to 100. Yet I was getting 16, 17- even 25 yr olds who could not make change.
        But they were applying for jobs where they had to count money?

      • oh- and I don’t believe in negative numbers either. No such thing. How is it possible in the REAL world to have less than zero?
        My bank agrees.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    MOTUS had fun with David Gregory too (and some funny iowahawk tweets)

    http://www.michellesmirror.com/2012/12/guns-and-posers.html

  21. tommy says:

    ‘Strange queries on emergency number – UK Police have revealed the “inappropriate” emergency calls that they received in 2012. They said once an angry father dialled 999 to report his teenage son was refusing to go to bed. Others included rubbish bins left in the wrong place, reports of a faulty phone line and a lost dog. A woman also called to complain that her takeaway order was wrong’. Lol

Comments are closed.