Massive Opposition To Gun Ban

Blog017


Gallup:

Opposition to Handgun Ban Hits Record-High 74%

Despite Americans’ willingness to strengthen gun laws in the wake of Sandy Hook and other deadly mass shootings, Gallup finds public opposition to a broad ban on the possession of handguns at a record-high 74%. Conversely, the 24% in favor is the lowest recorded since Gallup first asked the question in 1959.


Now if you read the whole article you’ll find this part buried near the bottom. Polls do show people favoring some stricter laws on guns even though they oppose a complete ban. But the questions are kinda vague – it’s like asking people if they favor reducing unemployment. Everybody is in favor of “reasonable” gun laws, but they don’t always agree on what “reasonable” means.


About The Klown

Rude, crude and socially unacceptable. But I'm like toe fungus - I'll grow on you. Just because I agree with you doesn't mean I like you.
This entry was posted in Gun Control and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Massive Opposition To Gun Ban

  1. tommy says:

    In other words, don’t mess with the 2nd amendment. Some gun-control laws may be palatable. But thats it.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Can’t they look to Chicago’s violent crime problems and their gun ban laws ? Doesn’t seem to be working.

    I think the last Preezy election left me numb to any Poll results too ;)

  3. yttik says:

    Americans are notorious for our rebelliousness. Ban alcohol and we’ll create and entire economy around it, complete with fast cars, private clubs, and moonshiners.

    I myself got a hold of a banned library book list at school and read every darned book on there. Declare a war on drugs and drugs will become a real problem. Same with the war on poverty.

    LOL, I didn’t say we were smart, I said we were rebellious.

  4. tommy says:

    ‘A hot temper can add 2 years to your life – Hot tempered Italians and Spanish live nearly 2 years longer than their ‘stiff-upper lip’ English counterparts. Being fiery and expressing negative emotions is the key to long lasting good health, according to researchers at the Univ of Jena in Germany. The study was published in the journal Health Psychologies’. I got loads of bad habits that may kill me. Gotta get a temper somehow, and be fiery. Hmm…….theres only 1 commentor at TCH who fits the temper profile. Maybe I’ll be the 2nd. Lol

  5. myiq2xu (D) says:

    How long can you hold your breath?

  6. myiq2xu (D) says:
    • yttik says:

      Hillbuzz used to poke fun at Damon, say he was nice to look at but dumber than a box of rocks. They used to make me laugh.

      I haven’t seen Hillbuzz post anything since the start of December? I’m hoping everything is all right with them.

  7. HELENK says:

    http://www.feinstein.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/assault-weapons

    D Feinstein bill to be introduced in 2013 banning assault weapons

  8. myiq2xu (D) says:

    Thanks to Votermom and some Xmas leftovers I now have ham and beans simmering in a crockpot in my kitchen.

  9. HELENK says:

    made really good veggie beef soup yesterday. that and rye bread on a cold day just tastes so good

  10. tommy says:

    PMM, you serious? I can’t believe it. Everyone knows that you’re the angel of TCH. Your posts and comments are innocent, open-hearted and sincere. In short, you’re real. Can’t imagine you having a temper. Lol. The only time I saw you display that very itsy-bitsy temper was when you very subtly admonished me right before the GE when I doubted that Romney might not win. I was suitably chastened, like a child. Lol. Naaa, you don’t really have a temper.

  11. HELENK says:

    http://livewire.talkingpointsmemo.com/entry/clinton-to-return-to-work-next-week

    Hillary Clinton will return to work next week. Do not know if she will answer any questions

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Chicago Tribune newspapers dropping AP wire services…….

    http://timeoutchicago.com/arts-culture/chicago-media-blog/15958831/wire-cutters-tribune-co-newspapers-dropping-ap

    AP’s a POS ever since they assigned 11 fact checkers to Sarah Palin’s book and 0 for Obamas’. Not sure Reuters will be any better.

  13. HELENK says:

    General Stormin Norman Schwarzkopf has died. may he RIP

    http://bigstory.ap.org/article/ap-source-retired-gen-norman-schwarzkopf-dies

  14. myiq2xu (D) says:

    That makes them more than twice as popular as Congress.

Comments are closed.