Holy Frozen Batman!

hell-freezes-overIt happened. Obama was held accountable for something. It’s not much, but it’s something.

President Obama’s 2008 campaign was fined $375,000 by the Federal Election Commission for campaign reporting violations — one of the largest fees ever levied against a presidential campaign, POLITICO has learned.

The fine — laid out in detail in FEC documents that have yet to be made public — arose from an audit of the campaign, which was published in April. POLITICO obtained a copy of the conciliation agreement detailing the fine, which was sent to Sean Cairncross, the chief lawyer for the Republican National Committee, one of the groups that filed complaints about the campaign’s FEC reporting from 2008.

“$375,000 is a huge fine,” said Republican election lawyer Jason Torchinsky. “It may one of their top five- or ten-largest fines.”

But he added, “They’re also the first billion-dollar presidential campaign. Proportionally, it’s not out of line.
[...]

The major sticking point for the FEC appeared to be a series of missing 48-hour notices for nearly 1,300 contributions totaling more than $1.8 million — an issue that lawyers familiar with the commission’s work say the FEC takes seriously. The notices must be filed on contributions of $1,000 or more that are received within the 20-day window of Election Day.

More than half of those contributions were transferred from the Obama Victory Fund,a joint committee between the campaign and the Democratic National Committee.

Sources said the fine resulting from the settlement agreement has been paid, with $230,000 coming from the Obama campaign’s coffers and the remainder from the DNC.

The document outlined other violations, such as erroneous contribution dates on some campaign reports. The Obama campaign was also late returning some contributions that exceeded the legal limit.

Like I said, it’s not much, even though the idiots quoted in the article and the author herself makes it sound breathlessly serious. It’s really just putting the whole thing to bed without actually investigating anything, and offering a veneer of credibility to the most corrupt campaign in American history. There’s nothing there about the illegal contributions from foreigners or the fact that many Vile Progs could have and probably did donate more than the maximum allowed because of that little CVS number work around. But at least it’s something.
You’ll have to wait forever for an investigation into caucus manipulations and delegate-stealing, though. This is an open thread.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Corruption, Democratic Party, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Holy Frozen Batman!

  1. swanspirit says:

    One can only wonder what kind of retribution awaits the members of the FEC from the Thug in Chief and his administration

  2. this doesn’t make up for him not nominating Michele Flournoy for Secretary of Defense:

    http://womenwintoo.blogspot.com/2013/01/another-should-have-been.html

  3. swanspirit says:

    Hurricane Sandy victim Scott McGrath unloaded on President Obama and Washington elites in an interview with Neil Cavuto today on “Your World.

    “http://nation.foxnews.com/scott-mcgrath/2013/01/04/monumental-interview-we-run-country-not-you

  4. HELENK says:

    since this is an open thread.

  5. HELENK says:

    If only 2013 became the year backtrack and bunch were held accountable for their actions, it would be a very good year. wishin and hopin

  6. http://www.marklynas.org/2013/01/lecture-to-oxford-farming-conference-3-january-2013/

    I want to start with some apologies. For the record, here and upfront, I apologise for having spent several years ripping up GM crops. I am also sorry that I helped to start the anti-GM movement back in the mid 1990s, and that I thereby assisted in demonising an important technological option which can be used to benefit the environment.

    As an environmentalist, and someone who believes that everyone in this world has a right to a healthy and nutritious diet of their choosing, I could not have chosen a more counter-productive path. I now regret it completely.

    Something tells me that in a few years we’re going to have a tidal wave of former Vile Progs saying they are very sorry for having been such complete dumbasses. It won’t make me feel any better. And I WILL vote them off the fucking island anyway.

  7. elliesmom says:

    So Elizabeth Warren’s daughter gets the state of Massachusetts to send voter registration forms out to welfare recipients at taxpayer expense. Nineteen thousand of them come back “addressee unknown”. Hilarity ensues.

  8. Read today the ten counties surrounding Washington DC are the ten wealthiest counties in the nation. Surprise, surprise! That got me to thinking what could be done to twist the shorts of the vile progs living there?

    So how about a grassroots tongue-in-cheek (or not) campaign to phase out the district as our nation’s capitol and within a decade relocate it to another, yet-to-be-chosen mid-west location just to get all that governing apparatus more centrally located and out of harms way from extreme coastal weather and surprise attacks?

    Alinsky lives!

  9. HELENK says:

    http://drinkyourkoolaid.com/ted-nugents-open-letter-to-joe-biden/

    pretty good letter to Joe Biden on gun control

  10. HELENK says:

    way off topic
    when my son was here and helping me with the kitchen. he reorganized the garage. Now I love him dearly, but a note to all the guys here
    DO NOT PUT THINGS THAT ARE USED OFTEN ON SHELVES WHERE YOU HAVE TO BE 9FT 7IN TO REACH THEM
    THANK YOU

    • swanspirit says:

      I am there with you Helen

      Mother of a tall son
      Swannie

    • elliesmom says:

      I’m short. 5′ 4″ and I will probably start shrinking soon. But my mom was only 4′ 10″ so I grew up feeling tall. The other day I was in the grocery store, and a woman who is shorter than I am was having a hard time reaching a package of cheese. I was so proud of being able to help her reach the cheese she wanted I didn’t notice it was the same cheese I wanted, and I helped her get the last one.

      • HELENK says:

        i used to be 5’2 3/4″ now according to my doctor I am 5’1″. My son is over 6″ tall. I now need step stools, and ladders to reach things. He forgets that he lives across the country from me, I can not call him to get stuff down
        I still love him and really am thankful for all he did while he was here

  11. HELENK says:

    thanks everyone for the information about the internet and the TV.
    just bought myself a belated Christmas gift.
    ROKU2. i got the last one on the shelf in target. sears was out of them

Comments are closed.