Countdown to InaugurCoronation Open Thread :)

obamasheep

h/t Helen

And, some fun stuff….

This year, 2013, both Groundhog Day and the State of the Union address will occur on the same day.

This is an ironic juxtaposition of events. One involves a meaningless ritual in which we look to an insignificant creature of little intelligence for prognostication.

The other involves a groundhog.

How are you preparing for Inaugcorogroundhogday ?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Countdown to InaugurCoronation Open Thread :)

  1. myiq2xu (D) says:

    I’m stocking up on booze and cancelling my satellite subscription.

  2. HELENK says:

    http://washingtonexaminer.com/40th-march-for-life-crowds-could-top-obama-inauguration/article/2518147#.UO8e0EbCz8C

    obamacare attacked religious beliefs. wondering if this event drawing such a big crowd in backlash?

  3. HELENK says:

    I now have ROKU and plan to learn all about it on that day

  4. HELENK says:

    got this on facebook and broke out laughing

  5. myiq2xu (D) says:

  6. myiq2xu (D) says:

  7. Jadzia says:

    Elliesmom — I saw your question about books for 5-6 year old boys on a previous thread. Two of my sons are in the same boat: one is 5 (turning 6 next week) and the other is 6 (turning 7 in a few months). They’re in 1st and 2nd grade but both read at the level that your grandson does. (Our situation is a little worse here in France; the schools here teach reading MUCH later than they do in the States, which is why both boys skipped a grade; on the other hand, my 2nd grader’s class is doing simple geometry!)

    Anyhoo, I bought a BUNCH of English language books for them for Xmas:

    1. The Wrinkle in Time Quintet (this one I might wait a year or two to read to them);
    2. All 7 Narnia books. So far we are on book #5, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. It’s fun to watch the movies (LWW, Prince Caspian, and Dawn Treader) after we finish each book.
    3. Anything by Roald Dahl–they liked James and the Giant Peach and the Fantastic Mr. Fox last year; for Xmas I got them the 2 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory books. But there are something like 20 more.
    4. Judy Blume’s “Fudge” series — Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing and Superfudge. There are a few others as well.
    5. A book on Greek mythology that you can probably find on Amazon.
    6. Judy Blume’s “Otherwise Known As Sheila the Great.” One of her more appropriate for younger kids books. Freckle Juice is good, too. I try to have them read SOME books that are not exclusively boy-oriented.
    7. Beverly Cleary’s “Henry and Ribsy” books. Henry and Ribsy are the less-celebrated neighbors of Ramona and Beezus. Although one of the kids did get a Ramona book, too.

    I saw the “Where the Red Fern Grows” suggestion and it is on my list, but I am probably going to wait a year or two on that one because it’s so emotionally heavy. YMMV.

    My boys also love those stupid Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Captain Underpants books, but they read those on their own time (i.e., they are not in my “reading time with Mom” rotation). Same thing for their beloved “Usborne Science Encyclopedia,” guaranteed to put mom to sleep.

    • votermom says:

      That’s a great list.

      • Jadzia says:

        VM, you have girls, right? I of course have a book list in my head (in addition to the ones listed above) of what I loved as a kid — the Little House on the Prairie books, the Betsy-Tacy books, etc. What books of quality are out there for the tween girls these days? Not that I have to worry about it for another few years….

        But I don’t want them to grow up as warped as I did. When I was 9, my favorite books were: (1) A full book of Poe’s poems; and (2) A 10-volume set of etiquette books from the 1930s. So if you need to know a line from ‘Annabel Lee,’ or are wondering how thick the black border on your calling card needs to be after you’ve been in mourning for 6 months? I’m your gal. Let’s not even talk about the extensively detailed report on the wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald that I stumbled upon; it gave me nightmares for years.

        • votermom says:

          LOL. At this point my kids (they are 16 & 11) read basically what they want – the 11 yo just finished The Hobbit.
          I like to try to get them to talk about books they’ve read. Sometimes I manage to snag a “hot” new release (YA or Juvenile) and read or skim it before they do, and if I think I should I discourage them from reading it.
          My older one loved the Little House books. Also Diana Wynne Jones. I’ll have to think to remember other favorites.

        • votermom says:

          My younger likes the Wimpy Kid books – after reading the first one she kept making “fart police” jokes. :roll:

        • Jadzia says:

          myiq — I think my boys now have ALL of the Wimpy Kid books.

Comments are closed.