I Ain’t Celebratin’

per_swearing012013_256150c


Obama inauguration celebration to begin with official oath

President Obama began what will be a two-day celebration of the commencement of his second term Sunday, with a wreath-laying ceremony at Arlington National Cemetery, a visit to a historic African-American church and plans for a private swearing-in at the White House at noon.

Obama’s second term begins officially Sunday, although the public ceremony and inaugural address at the Capitol will wait until Monday.


I’ll be partying today, but that’s because I’ll be watching football with some friends. I won’t be celebrating today or tomorrow.

For the record, I understand and accept that Barack Hussein Obama is our president and Allah willing he will remain so for the next four years. There is no doubt in my mind that he is the legitimate leader of our federal government. But that doesn’t mean I think he won fair and square.

The past four years have been more of a disappointment for me than the eight years that preceded them. I never had any hope or faith in Obama or George Bush so they could not let me down. But I have lost hope and faith in the Democratic party, feminist groups and civil rights leaders as well as most of the blogosphere. You know what I’m talking about so I’m not gonna explain.

I haven’t felt like celebrating an inauguration day since 1997. That’s sixteen years. That’s longer than all my marriages combined.

FML



About The Klown

I have the right to remain silent, but not the ability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to I Ain’t Celebratin’

  1. driguana says:

    Yes, I agree…such a disappointment as a president and such a delusional event….will no doubt be chock full of pomposity and self-adulation….first Lady with a new wig and Lady Gaga to perform kinda says it all…wow…..
    Posted this earlier….Ah….the man behind the curtain becomes visible and it is, indeed, Kansas after all!!!
    Only sports and the Scyfy for me until Tuesday….reality and monster movies!!! much better than the fact-bent media and monster politicians!!!

  2. lyn5 says:

    “But I have lost hope and faith in the Democratic party, feminist groups and civil rights leaders as well as most of the blogosphere.”
    So true!

  3. DeniseVB says:

    LOL, from the article, Biden’s swearing in was so early because Justice Sotomayor had to catch a train to NYC for a book signing event.

  4. cj says:

    I’m sorry, I know I shouldn’t, but ROFL, it looks like she pissed off one of her photogs. That can’t possibly be the look she was going for, could it?

    “U.S. first lady Michelle Obama speaks during the Kids Inaugural concert for children and military families”

    http://news.yahoo.com/photos/u-first-lady-obama-speaks-during-kids-inaugural-photo-011518881.html

    I can’t WAIT to see the gown !

    • DeniseVB says:

      Look downstairs for the link to the Daily Mail, a whole buncha’ photos that slipped through the WH photoshoppers. :D

      • cj says:

        Oh goodie ! Thanks. (I’m terrible, I know, but when you present yourself as a fashion icon, expect no mercy.)

      • cj says:

        Well I’ll be damned, that IS the look she’s going for. The top pics look ok, just don’t get too close or catch a shot of the profile, I guess. And what the heck’s going on with the back of the white shirt? Can she not wear anything that doesn’t beg for a diagram & explanation?

        Ok, I’m done, didn’t mean to hijack the thread. :-)

      • Oh for crying out loud! Her poor daughter! Her bra is showing right through her shirt. Seriously- did no one LOOK at the girls before they went out the door?
        Or is this some new fashion trend?

        • DeniseVB says:

          More disturbing, MO seems to be in competition with her daughters with that swingy Tina/Keely Smith “shagged bob do”. The girls seem to be on their own with mumsie hogging the spotlight.

          Damn, I miss Ann Romney and Sarah Palin. We never had these kind of conversations about them.

        • votermom says:

          I really don’t like this Housewives of DC look Michelle insists on.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I haven’t felt like celebrating an inauguration day since 1997.

    I’m sad I feel the same way. As a political junkie, it never mattered who won, but the inaugural experience was as American as apple pie, July 4th fireworks and the NYE Ball Drop in Times Square.

    • HELENK says:

      The Presidential Inaugural Committee (a supposed non-partisan group) is using the upcoming event in D.C. to grab data for Democrat causes. They openly acknowledge it. When you download their app, they get your info and can share it with liberals. The story was first reported by Steve Friess of Politico where he points out when you read the fine print of the “Privacy Policy” of this app it tells you what the government can share with third parties. You find they they can share your info “with candidates, organizations, groups or causes that we believe have similar political viewpoints, principles or objectives.”

      • Constance says:

        They are pretty far off at telling who these people with similar viewpoints and objectives are though, since I get bombarded with Email from the Democrat party. And I find it offensive that the Democrat party thinks I have principles that match theirs. Sure I gave money to Hillary but I haven’t given any money to Democrats since and you would think they could figure this out.

  6. Constance says:

    Since you mentioned being disappointed and disgusted with feminists what happened to The New Agenda? I had high hopes for that group and they have just disappeared. Did their web master quit?

    What we need is a west coast centered pro woman movement. Those east coast women just don’t get it, they are 75 years behind the rest of the country when it comes to roles of women and they think they can sit back and bitch people into following their ideas rather than just getting out their and doing it. If you say something about Obama’s all male white house they just comment something irrelevant like he will probably appoint a gay person soon. That’s nice but what the hell does gayness have to do with political parity for women?

  7. myiq2xu says:

    Since when does Obama cut a golf game short?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Let me guess……my first clue….

      On December 2, Obama played golf with Clinton, U.S. Trade Representative Ron Kirk and Virginia gubernatorial candidate Terry McAuliffe.

      McAuliffe wants Obama’s support and some of that new Chicago OFA cash ? Terry’s got an uphill battle against LtGov Ken Cuccinelli here in Virginny. I’m guessing walking away was easier than saying no?

  8. votermom says:

    For the record, I understand and accept that Barack Hussein Obama is our president and Allah willing he will remain so for the next four years.

    Insh’Allah

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Oh, fer crissakes…. from Kossack central….

    Hey you (in lieu of real dk name), thanks in large part to Daily Kos, Mitt Romney is not being sworn in as president.

    That might seem like a brash statement, but it’s true. How do I know? I was the Obama Campaign’s Netroots Outreach person. It was my job to work with blogs and online communities.

    I loved working with Daily Kos. You were always there, one step ahead of me, and ten steps ahead of the Romney campaign. By the time Team Romney had a chance to react, Daily Kos had already dominated the message.

    Daily Kos showed Mitt Romney no mercy, and defined him before he had a chance to define himself. Please support their work right now.

    The Obama Campaign saw the Netroots as an allied constituency, as partners in the fight for a better America. I couldn’t have asked for a better partner than I had in Daily Kos.

    When it comes to a national campaign, it’s silly to point to any one factor (other than the candidate) and say “that’s why we won,” but whether it was killer videos of Mitt Romney debating himself, the epic Chronicles of Mitt, or countless brilliant community diaries, Daily Kos consistently brought the awesome.

    I don’t want to imagine fighting a presidential campaign without Daily Kos. Your donation will ensure that we never have to.

    I’m so happy that President Obama won a second term, but you and I both know this isn’t the end. There’s always another fight. But as long as we have Daily Kos I feel confident that our voices will be heard and our calls to action answered. Again, thank you.

    Keep fighting,
    Melissa Ryan

    Funny, Melissa didn’t tell me why she’s happy WE O’WON, let’s just kick Mitt some more! Yay team. :(

  10. indigogrrl1 says:

    49ers ….. WHAT THE HELL????

  11. DandyTiger says:

    3 point game. Finally interesting.

  12. HELENK says:

    Officials lower turnout projection for inauguration; between 500,000 and 700,000 people expected to attend – @AP

  13. HELENK says:

    brought this up from downstairs. seems like a good site to follow the game

    http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/2013012001/2012/POST20/49ers@falcons#menu=drivechart&tab=track

  14. gram cracker says:

    We have come along way from JFK in 1961:

    “And so, my fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.

    My fellow citizens of the world, ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”

    To Barack Hussein Obama in 2013

    (as interpreted by DailyMail commenters)

    I swear to subvert and deny the Constitution as America is my witness. To install and enforce the NDAA and serve the elite people to the best of my abilities. So help me, Money.
    – Deadpool, London

    Obama, I swear to destroy the constitution and to represent the bankers and corporations interests over the the American people’s interests. Oh and I will be crowned king of the world before my term is up. Long live King obama.
    – hamhead, tehran, Iran

    • gram cracker says:

      Full text of JFK’s Inaugural Address. Kennedy’s global perspective was much deeper and broader than the south side of Chicago community organizer’s. In many ways JFK’s speech sounded like a longer version of Teddy Roosevelt’s, “speak softly, but carry a big stick”.

      http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speeches/jfkinaugural.htm

      • leslie says:

        So this morning on NPR, they reported that tomorrow will be Bronco’s 4th swearing in – a feat achieved by only 1 other president – FDR. They at least clarified it by saying Bronco was only elected twice versus FDR’s four elections. But it isn’t how they started out.
        asshats they are…

  15. Insanelysane says:

    I’m here in DC for the weekend. It isn’t to celebrate Obama but to celebrate democracy and revel in the idea of America. I too haven’t been able to be happy about the Presidency since Clinton, but the city and the idea ameriCa is a country with a peaceful transfer of power and with ideas that transcend the man.

    I just listened to Dr condeleza Rice speak and she is inspiring. She was asked if being a woman and black was difficult in the Rep party and she shot it down saying that both parties are equal in their reticence to embrace diversity in power.

    • gram cracker says:

      Can’t help but wonder how peaceful the transfer of power would have been from Obama and his DNC minions to Romney and the GOP.

  16. westcoaster says:

    dream vs. drone- refreshing read, especially knowing that it’s coming from a liberal website:

    http://www.normansolomon.com/norman_solomon/2013/01/king-i-have-a-dream-obama-i-have-a-drone.html

  17. fif says:

    I had to take a plane through DC yesterday and stopped in Dulles. A young boy sitting next to me was traveling alone, and said he was on his way to the inauguration – he must have been so excited. Another colleague on my Facebook stream posted a smiling picture of Dear Leader and I can’t even remember the absurd list of adjectives under his picture, but the one that really jumped out and turned my stomach was “Integrity!”

    Sad and disillusioned all around.

    • Insanelysane says:

      One thing Obama knows how to do is Bamboozle. He hoodwinked the rubes and he Okie doked his way to the top. I look at O supporters as sadly ignorant of the facts.
      BHO
      Bamboozle, Hoodwink & Okeydoke

  18. Insanelysane says:

    The FortyNiners are going to the super bowl. Yeeehaw

  19. driguana says:

    Now let’s all root for the Ravens….

  20. Insanelysane says:

    If ravens win today it will be a Harbaugh Bowl. Dueling brothers. Could be a fun one. I,too don’t wAnt to see Brady win another Ring.

  21. myiq2xu says:

    I’m back! (and drunk)

  22. swanspirit says:

    WOOOHOOOO RAVENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. myiq2xu says:

    Local Niner fans are reminding me why I hate the 49ers.

  24. HELENK says:

    stole this from a commenter at legal insurection

    what she would rather do than watch the inauguration

    Tomorrow is my son’s 19th birthday. I would rather redo that whole 8 hour labor thing twice – without anesthesia – in a rice paddy even – than pay an iota of attention to the 2nd coronation of the Naked Emperor.

    • angienc (D) says:

      Happy Birthday to your son Helen!

      • HELENK says:

        angie
        it is not my son, it was the commenter son. It just struck so funny. now this lady really does not want to watch

        • swanspirit says:

          Tomorrow IS my sons birthday .. and I would really not go through that 18 hour ordeal again for anything especially not to avoid the regurgitation so ,. I will just click to a good movie .

        • angienc (D) says:

          Ha ha! Sorry Helen — I was thinking your son was older than 19!

      • HELENK says:

        Angie
        all my children are older than me now. I found them I a cabbage patch when i was small.

        I am only 21 and look like Linda Darnell

        • angienc (D) says:

          LOL! I’ve got an aunt like that (my mom’s older sister) — I’m *officially* older than her now. :-)

        • HELENK says:

          my oldest granddaughter on my birthday still asks me ” are you still 21 grandmom? My answer is Yes

  25. angienc (D) says:

    As long as those Dirty Birds (Atlanta) aren’t going to the Superbowl, I’m happy.

    BTW — seems there’s *a lot* of people on the internet who really, really hate Tom Brady. I know he’s kind of a wimp, never wanting to run the ball because he’s afraid to get hit (I’ve *only* ever seen him play in Superbowls & even *I* could see that) but dayum!

    OT — this is so awesome I want to marry the guy who came up with it:

    http://via.me/-8zac88g

    • HELENK says:

      I stole your link also

    • leslie says:

      I feel the same about Atlanta – in every sport.I can’t even tell you why. It’s just how I feel. I feel the same way about the Lakers, the Heat and the Yankees. (Yikes, I’m beginning to sound like my father – not a good thing.)

  26. I agree with this- though they neglect to mention my number one reason. Jan 21st most depressing day of the year.

    http://health.yahoo.net/experts/menshealth/most-depressing-day-year

  27. HELENK says:

    http://dailycaller.com/2013/01/21/report-rapper-lupe-fiasco-thrown-offstage-at-inauguration-event-after-anti-obama-rant/

    blames the USA for the world’s problems, but makes a good living here.
    not a fan of backtrack

  28. foxyladi14 says:

    I did not watch in 2008, I did not watch in this 2013 the swearing in of the biggest fraud in our history. :evil:

Comments are closed.