Klown Musings

Shakes 1


Just a few thoughts about the past few days:


I was saddened and disappointed by Hillary Clinton’s performance the other day. It reminded me why I am no longer a Democrat. But some of the reactions to her testimony reminded me why I’m not a Republican either.

Hillary Clinton is a high-ranking public servant and quite capable at performing her job. The events in Benghazi called for some intense scrutiny. “Grilling” the Secretary of State is not inherently sexist just because she’s a woman.


An adverse court ruling is not proof of “high crimes and misdemeanors”.

As long as the Democrats control at least 34 seats in the Senate then impeaching Barack Obama is a waste of time and likely to be counter-productive.


Principles require consistency. If it’s wrong when they do it, it’s wrong when we do it. Otherwise, you’re just a tribalist.


We need a mutual cease-fire in the politics of personal destruction. The wrong people are winning and we are depriving ourselves of too many potential leaders.


Sunlight is a known carcinogen. We all need sunlight to be healthy. Too much or too little is a bad thing. Find the right balance.

This applies to everything.


About The Klown

I support same-sex marriage and voted against Proposition 8 but I will no longer use Firefox nor any other Mozilla products. Tolerance is a two-way street.
This entry was posted in Klown Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Klown Musings

  1. myiq2xu says:

    I am watching FrackNation. Watch it before you make up your mind about fracking.

  2. angienc (D) says:

    Well, you pretty much summed up how I’m feeling about it all too. We’re our own tribe and I’m OK with that.
    I like the exclusivity. :-)

  3. driguana says:

    Well said, Klownman! There are a lot of us these days floating around in this rudderless boat. I was thinking the same thing this morning….how I gave up being a Democrat years ago, gave the Repubs a chance this go ’round…and while I still like Romney personally…the party sucks, policy-wise, and is absolutely foundering ideologically….and what makes me maddest of all, though, is how many progs are now out there saying what a great job Hillary did in those hearings…..I just shake my head in disbelief and go back to washing the dishes….or watching a good basketball game…

  4. HELENK says:

    for those who tweet. the French made up a new word for hashtag

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2013/01/25/the-official-french-for-hashtag/

  5. HELENK says:

    i commented the other day on this.

    I am now a registered Independent. Was a very long time democrat. In 2008 I left the democratic party like millions of others. Since then I have voted republican.

    The republican party called me and wanted a donation.
    my words

    I am fed up with the democratic party and I am fed up with the republican party. When they get some balls call me. Until then do not waste my time
    do not think they will call me again.

    I do want a strong two party system where both parties have the best interest of this country as their core value.
    There should be differences of opinion between the two on many things but the country should always come first.
    we do not have that today and we need to put people in office that will work to get that back

  6. myiq2xu says:

    He wants to pirate some of her good approval ratings

  7. myiq2xu says:

    This PSA has panties in a bunch:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    I think I figured out why Rand Paul must be destroyed. This is a snip from his PAC email, and I bet he raises a boatload of money from it…..

    Ultimately, with her leaving, Hillary Clinton is accepting the culpability for this tragedy – and I commend her for that.

    But this problem should have been addressed earlier.

    If I were President, I would have relieved Hillary Clinton from her post a long time ago.

    Of course, some cables are going to be missed and not read.

    If she would have missed the cable from the Ambassador in Vienna asking for $100,000 for electrical “green” car stations, I would excuse that.

    Or if she missed the cables requesting $100,000 for three comedians who went to India to “make che, not war,” I would have excused that.

    But she didn’t miss these cables, and instead missed the cable coming from Libya – one of the hottest terrorist spots in the world.

    Not to know cost four Americans their lives. These are lives that could have been saved.

    As the review board stated, Hillary Clinton and her Department weren’t “willfully negligent.”

    It was a failure of leadership not to be involved and know these things.

    And for those failures, she should have been relieved from her position a long time ago.

    I don’t think this is over for Hillary.

    • myiq2xu says:

      Rand Paul = Greg Stillson

    • Mary says:

      I don’t believe she didn’t know about the cables from Stevens.

      Sorry to say that out loud, but I don’t.

      • myiq2xu says:

        I can believe she wasn’t informed about them before the attack. But I would expect her to be furious and fire some people as soon as she found out.

        • myiq2xu says:

          She never did explain why she wasn’t informed, other than to say that the State Dept. gets lots of cables.

        • Mary says:

          Maybe, but either way, she copped out. And now he’s doing 60 Minutes to tell us all how much he valued her all along.
          Not to mention that they paid off all her campaign debt the week before the testimony.

          I’m as disappointed as you are—-but it just doesn’t smell right.

          Or maybe I misunderstood who she was, all along. Sigh….

        • swanspirit says:

          When I was the 3PM – 11PM , evening supervisor of a large Rehab and Nursing facility , I had to call the head honchos for any emergency , or event that merited calling the police ,fire dept , or other institution , up to and including a temporary power outage due a drunk driver hitting a telephone pole down the road and knocking out our power for an hour , or calling the police for a missing patient , ( NO MISSING ON MY WATCH!!) Goddess forbid that a call would go out over the police radios with our name in it ,and they not be informed .
          Libya was Hillary’s baby from the get go . Chris Stevens was her friend . She either saw the cables , and was overruled as to taking any action , or the cables were diverted away from her . Either way , she should have been checking in , cables or no cables. I think she took the flack for Obama and he is responsible . She justified the entire tragedy in her own mind with some convenient rationalization , but it is not justifiable . Now he is parading around with her as if she needs his stamp of approval ,or she is his favorite pony . The whole thing is disgusting and disappointing .

        • swanspirit says:

          And I cannot believe she would even try , or anyone would buy , ” The State Dept gets lots of cables ” What a lame excuse . There is no system for prioritizing incoming information ? An attack doesn’t have the highest priority ? A request for increased security in a volatile area is a low on the totem pole item ?? I do not believe that for one minute .

          • myiq2xu says:

            All I am saying is I can believe that someone failed to inform her of what was going on. But I haven’t heard her or anyone else at State say that.

            Either way, it was a major fuck-up.

        • swanspirit says:

          The media wasn’t exactly keeping anyone , like say , the public ; up to date on Libya and our ambassador either .
          I hear you , Myiq , but even if she was not kept informed , she should have been asking .

          • myiq2xu says:

            she should have been asking .

            She should have known. She should have been asking. Her only excuse for not knowing would be if someone failed to keep her informed.

            But she never said that, did she?

      • HELENK says:

        if the underlings did not feel that she needed to know, and they did not have to inform her, then she is not a good leader.
        I know that the GMs that I worked for would have raised so much hell if they were not informed about any problem. I used to have to wake them up in the middle of the night to tell them some things. When I first went to work on the railroad there was a GM who was just over 5 ft tall than could make 6 ft men cringe if he was not informed

    • DandyTiger says:

      Sadly, she’s either incompetent or corrupt. I think within that WH, this was corruption and politics.

      • Mary says:

        Sadly, I think you may very well be correct.

      • DeniseVB says:

        That’s what Rand was pointing out, she sure was competent for the Vienna Embassy’s request for electric car plugins and the comedians’ tour. I think there was a few million for new art pieces for another embassy she didn’t miss.

        Didn’t the Obama team try to blame the GOP for cutting security funding to Benghanzi? If that’s true, then they’re just as much at fault for funding the crap requests ;)

  9. myiq2xu says:

    Violet Socks is closing up shop:

    Thanks for the memories

    Reclusive Leftist used to be one of my favorite blogs.

  10. myiq2xu says:
  11. DandyTiger says:

    Is it too early for a drink? Or ten?

  12. HELENK says:

    http://www.nextgeneration.tv/?cmd=mpg&mpid=538

    are we better off than we were 4 years ago?? I do not think so

  13. HELENK says:

    rand paul questioning john kerry

    • Mary says:

      So, what IS the difference between bombing Cambodia without Congressional input, and bombing/assisting in Libya without Congressional input?

      • DeniseVB says:

        Kerry’s been rehearsed, I can hear Obama in his answers. He keeps fidgeting with his pen as though he’s checking off key points he was supposed to respond with no matter what the Q.

        I read where Russia warned us not to overthrow K’daffy, and sure enough, it’s gotten worse.

    • DeniseVB says:

      OMG, at the 7 minute mark Rand slams him with the Pakistani doctor in jail. Kerry takes Pak’s side and said the doctor didn’t know who he was helping !? Wow,oh, wow. Rand’s Q’s are great, Kerry dodges and waffles.

  14. foxyladi14 says:

    I like it. :)

    • DandyTiger says:

      LOL. That’s a good one,

    • HELENK says:

      a friend of my late husband owned a roofers bar. On a rainy monday a guy came in pulled a gun and tried to rob the place. Nine roofers pulled their guns on him. beat the hell out of him striped him and threw him out on the street. What was he going to tell the cops ” I tried to rob a bar and they would not let me.”?

      word of advice do not try to rob a roofer bar on a rainy day. it is not healthy

  15. Wild Berry Cobbler in the oven.

  16. myiq2xu says:

    Palin: ‘We Haven’t Yet Begun to Fight!’—Exclusive Interview with Breitbart News

    1. What’s next for you?

    Short term: I encourage others to step out in faith, jump out of the comfort zone, and broaden our reach as believers in American exceptionalism. That means broadening our audience. I’m taking my own advice here as I free up opportunities to share more broadly the message of the beauty of freedom and the imperative of defending our republic and restoring this most exceptional nation. We can’t just preach to the choir; the message of liberty and true hope must be understood by a larger audience.

    Focus on the 2014 election is also imperative. It’s going to be like 2010, but this time around we need to shake up the GOP machine that tries to orchestrate away too much of the will of constitutional conservatives who don’t give a hoot how they do it in DC. DC is out of touch, obviously. Voices on the right like Mark Levin, Rush, and the writers here at Breitbart have come out strongly against the “go along to get along” politicians who wave the white flag before the battle even begins. We’re not going to be able to advance the cause of limited constitutional government unless we deal with these big government enablers on our side. And this all ties into the problem of crony capitalism and the permanent political class in the Beltway. We need to consistently take them on election after election – ever vigilant.

    As far as long-term plans, the door is wide open. I know the country needs more truth-telling in the media, and I’m willing to do that. So, we shall see. And always in the center of it all I have an awesome, full, exciting, and large family living in a very unique part of America that keeps me hopping! I love it!

  17. SHV says:

    “word of advice do not try to rob a roofer bar on a rainy day”
    **********
    Not quite a dumb as the guy that thought it was a good idea to rob hunters at deer camp. I think that he was dead before he hit the floor of the cabin.

    • myiq2xu says:

      One time a couple guys in LA decided to rob a bar.

      It was a cop bar.

      They had a hard time convincing the local precinct to come pick up the prisoners cuz the station house thought it was a joke.

    • HELENK says:

      with most of these crooks, the only thing to say is
      you can’t fix stupid

  18. myiq2xu says:

    This is what you call an “unfunded mandate”:

    White House requires school athletics for disabled

    Money quote:

    The guidance has its roots in a 2010 study by the Government Accountability Office that found students with disabilities participate in sports at much lower rates.

    • HELENK says:

      what ever happened to give the kid a good education first and then the opportunities in sports or the arts. Have no problem in giving disabled kids a chance at sports but give them a chance at a good education first. Lets face it many of our schools are failing all kids today and not giving them the education they need and deserve

    • DeniseVB says:

      If the WH requires it, then will the gov’t fund such programs ? But not find the money to keep the schools safer. Bronco just keeps pulling monkeys out of his ass doesn’t he?

      My disabled child had Special Olympics and other community programs. Some of the kids were pretty high functioning and also were allowed to play on their school’s teams.

      I doubt many schools have enough kids in wheelchairs to field a full team in any sport. Obama’s got to step away from “Glee” …. the boy in the wheelchair is not crippled in real life, he’s acting.

      Just you wait, the GOP won’t fund it, because they hate the poor, disabled kids !

    • DeniseVB says:

      Ok, an inspirational break from President Stupidhead’s policies ….

  19. HELENK says:

    http://www.senseoncents.com/2013/01/weekend-read-all-my-babies-mamas/

    this man will most likely get loudly condemned for speaking out like this . It does not fit the obot program.
    but smart people will listen and think

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Damn Evil Corporations …. again, where are the OWSies when you need them. ;)

    http://freebeacon.com/corporate-cash-financing-obama-501c4/

  21. myiq2xu says:
  22. HELENK says:

    do your cities or towns have CERT ? it is a class on what to do until help arrives. If they have them in your neighborhood it is worthwhile to take it. shows you how to help until help comes.
    as you say help is not always on the scene instantly

    • HELENK says:

      this CERT training is for emergencies like earthquakes, auto accidents and events like that.

      for intruders just shoot when they get in the house

  23. myiq2xu says:

    Dinner is almost ready. I’m making sort of a cross between sauerbraten and braised sirloin tips.

    I sliced up some sirloin and marinated it in Italian dressing. Then I braised it with some sliced carrots, celery and onions. I am serving it over stroganoff noodles.

    Just waiting on the noodles so I can eat.

    • myiq2xu says:

      I’m pretty sure there were some other ingredients but I forget what they were.

      • swanspirit says:

        I made a pot of chili today , but with ground turkey instead of beef and red beans, onions garlic peppers and seasonings . With beef bouillon it tastes like beef .. Mm it is good Especially with snow still on the ground and temps in the twenties and teens .

  24. Constance says:

    On the Hillary topic. I got three Email requests from different Democrat men to sign a card for Hillary to make her feel appreciated. Of course they asked for all my personal contact info. When I did sign one of them they Emailed me right back asking me to list 5 friends who they could contact for the Hillary card. So suddenly the Dems are testing Hillary’s popularity? Or trying to form a data base for some reason. I could think it was for her 2016 candidacy but I really think it is so they can bombard me with a bunch of “Hillary says give Dems money” and “Hillary says kiss Obama’s ass” and Hillary says vote for Biden, etc, etc, etc” Emails.

Comments are closed.