Happy Hump Day Open Thread

A soap bubble in mid-pop

A soap bubble in mid-pop


It’s 3 am and I got nothing. I don’t want to talk about Obama’s latest Greatest Speech Ever. I don’t feel like talking about Secretary of State Lurch or the bogus heckling video.

Is it possible I died and got sent to Hell without noticing? Because that sure would explain a lot.

I thought I was living in Obama’s America. Turns out it was just Hell.


About The Klown

Grab some pine, Meat!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

103 Responses to Happy Hump Day Open Thread

  1. Lulu says:

    I don’t suppose suggesting another hobby other than blogging would be advisable. That is what I have done and it has diverted me from my fury quite a bit. Then I decided to visit each of my kids. None are married or have children and I just slept on the couch (except for one who has a junk extra bedroom and a jail looking cot). I offered to clean up or organize one room of their abode. I cleaned an awful kitchen, a bathroom (horrors!) and an exploding closet. It was fun because each one did it with me and I think learned something about taking care of themselves. Then we went out to eat, shopped or watched movies, and discussed finances (budgeting, saving and investing, how to get a raise). Then they kicked me out.

    • HAH! I am busy trying to find a job down closer to my son and grandsons. Then they’re in for it!

      • Lulu says:

        Good luck with that. My kids live in three different cities and have very different careers, interests and lives. I think they liked my attention and each has come up with another project in about three months time with my assistance. A personal home office, painting and resurfacing an old ugly kitchen, and floorplan and appropriate furniture for a tiny apartment are on the list. I am not paying for any of it and there are severe budget restraints which make it more interesting. If they change their minds that is OK too.

    • votermom says:

      I’m doing sweeps – been off it this week though.

      PS Could you visit and help me clean up our spare room? It’s quite awful.

      • Somebody says:

        Can I put my house on that list? Bonus I actually have a guest bedroom with a pillow top mattress, private bathroom and entrance. Oh and did I mention I live in a beach town in Florida???

  2. OT- but if you all would- I woke up this morning to the news my oldest grandson had emergency appendectomy last night.
    sigh
    That’s the one we never see. His Mom – well never mind.
    sigh

    • Lulu says:

      Send him some goodies so he knows you are thinking about him. I have a niece and nephew with a situation like that. I love sending crazy little gifts to bug their mom.

      • catarina says:

        I do the same thing.

        My sister’s going to have a shit when she finds out I gave her daughter a gift membership to the NRA.

        The membership card, NRA hat, and “Freedom” magazines should be arriving in their mailbox any time now.

        It’s good to be the eccentric aunt…hehe…

    • votermom says:

      I’m glad they caught it in time. Hope he has a quick recovery.

    • Somebody says:

      PMM I hope your grandson makes a quick recovery.

    • We’ve got that situation in our family as well ProudMilitaryMom. My heart goes out to you!!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Healing thoughts and speedy recovery to your grandson PMM !

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      You are not alone. My only solace is the “I’m better than you” obots have no children so mom only loses time with one of her sons. However, he is the one with stage four cancer and visits became incredible hassle as we were told we were not welcome in their home as it disturbs the aura.

      It is actually easier with her living with me as I take Mom to PA and we stay in a hotel . My brother then he comes to visit her there or we meet up at a third party location. This is general accomplished when sister-in-law is at work.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I forgot to add that said sister-in-law is not even on speaking terms with most of her own family. She does not even know her first cousins. She, her sister and her mother talk to no one on either side (dad’s or mom’s). So it’s not just an in-law divide.

  3. WTF? He should have come to this conclusion back in 08. (And I do believe he has stolen some of Hillary’s words) Senile old fuck.

    http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/losing-my-religion-for-equality-20090714-dk0v.html

  4. lildoggy4u says:

    Since CNN seems to be re-arranging staff can we please get them to drop Donna Brazilnut from commenting on anything?
    PMM, hope your grandson’s recovery goes smooth.

  5. lildoggy4u says:

    I guess I still have to buy a Valentine present:

  6. votermom says:

    I just saw the last night’s overnight thread at ace.
    LOL.

    http://minx.cc/?post=337025

  7. lildoggy4u says:

    Myiq, your soap bubble made me think of this.

  8. Roberta says:

    Hell?

    You are lucky. Wish I were there. At least there would be some of the more interesting historical people there to talk with.

    Instead I am in purgatory.

    The world and USA is so crazy anymore I feel like I must have died somewhere around 2008 and I have been sentenced to purgatory. That is the only thing that explains it all.

    For those of you who do not know what purgatory is, it is part of Catholic theology. When you die you can either go to heaven, hell, or a place called purgatory. It is a place for people who were not good enough here on earth during their life to merit heaven; yet were not so bad that they merited hell either. So purgatory was where they sent those folks to be cleansed and become pure and sinless enough to go to heaven and meet God.

    Being trapped in this crazy world is my purgatory punishment.

  9. votermom says:

    Mebbe he means fellatious

    • elliesmom says:

      If I could have dinner with two bloggers, I’d choose Walter Russell Mead and Victor Davis Hanson. Of course, if I could only have dinner with one blogger, I’d choose myiq, but I doubt I’d make it past cocktails and canapes. Fortunately, it’s soft and comfortable under my table.

  10. votermom says:

    GDP shrank in last Q 2012, making the national debt now bigger than GDP. We are officially underwater.

  11. swanspirit says:

    Watch MoonRise Kingdom , you might feel better

  12. driguana says:

    C’mon now y’all, have a little hope and lightness in your lives…..it’s my birthday! Me and FDR! Phil Collins, Dick Cheney…geesh…

  13. DandyTiger says:

    Boyscouts are considering letting gay children play with them. Lots of people are upset. I have the popcorn popping.

    • votermom says:

      You mean children who are gay? Aren’t all kids basically pre-sexual and chaste anyway?
      Or do you mean children of gay couples?

    • VM- Boy Scouts have been excluding gays forever. Mostly applies to leaders and of course boys in the higher levels.

      • Mary says:

        Correct. They don’t really panic over boys who are gay. It’s more about leaders and older boys, as you say, and potential for abuse. It’s not really about judging— more like protecting younger boys from being “groomed” for abuse by those who look for these kinds of organizations to do so.

        • jjmtacoma says:

          I used to think that too, even when I was a “den mother”.

          No, they really mean NO openly gay boys or men. There was some big deal in the 90’s where a gay activist was seen at a parade and the boy scouts made some to-do to take away his Eagle award. I can’t find the article (Google is giving me some very… um…”interesting” links).

          My son was a scout when all this was happening with the larger organization. Luckily, he was getting to that age where lots of boys decide scouting is not their thing… so he wanted to quit and I was glad since this position was against my beliefs. I had somehow missed the institutionally ingrained prejudice, it wasn’t in the leader training manual.

      • angienc (D) says:

        IOW — people old enough to know they are gay.
        Sorry, while I do believe homosexuality is something one is *born* being I don’t believe little kids know one way or the other if they’re gay or not — it isn’t something kids are even aware of until they hit puberty.
        Nonetheless, the ban should be on pedophiles not gays — it isn’t the same thing. But, whatever — I wish I had a fuck to give.

    • Karma says:

      Granted this is filed under the popcorn segment but how did they identify the gay kids prior to these considerations?

      I’m rubber you’re glue….last kid without a witty comeback is gay?

  14. votermom says:

    WH is now blaming Hurricane Sandy for #GDPShrinkage

  15. votermom says:

    So sad

  16. votermom says:

  17. driguana says:

    Soledad O’Brien reportedly out at CNN!
    Good….maybe this is a sign to all of these Obama shill stations that no one believes them any more and finds their shilling offensive. Get rid of all of them and put on some objective news “entertainers”. Really…both sides of a story, intelligently reported, is much more interesting than Obama shilling and ass-kissing! In fact, wouldn’t it be just exhilarating if these networks would now actually go after the illusion of Obama that they created in the first place!!!

    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Journalism/2013/01/29/Soledad-Obrien-Out-At-CNN

    • Mary says:

      Prediction: (fingers crossed) Next gone , Piers Morgan.

      • Lulu says:

        Zucker, unfortunately for them, can read ratings numbers and bottoming out ad revenue red ink. And who wants to be hectored by the village scolds O’Brien and Morgan when watching TV unless you are a masochist? When is it dopey Wolfen Blitzkrieg’s turn?

  18. Mary says:

    Well well……Harry Reid has “declined to support” Feinstein’s gun control legislation.

    Toldja. They can’t even get Senate Dems, let alone Repubs.

    • swanspirit says:

      THAT is hilarious , I just laughed so hard … but really it is too bad he isn’t supporting it , I would love to have seen him voted out of office , yeah right Harry , tell the folks of NEVADA you support gun control .

  19. yttik says:

    Off topic, but speaking of hell, my yard is a mess. It’s been raining so hard, it’s just a mass of mud and swamp and dead leaves. I’m actually getting worried that I may not be able to clean it all up this spring.

    That’s what you call a bad attitude. Worrying about yard work in January.

  20. Somebody says:

    Another “training exercise” with black helicopters and machine guns shooting blanks, this time Houston.

    http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=news/local&id=8971311

    I’ve been all over the net reading about black helicopters, some seriously strange things come up when you google black helicopters!

    Anyway from what I can tell these joint training exercises have been going on at least since late 2009 or early 2010. Boston, Chicago, LA, you name the city they’ve done these exercises there. However using their machine guns to shoot blanks is a new feature for 2013 as far as I can tell.

    I’m not much of a conspiracy theorist, but I think I’m going to stock up on tin foil this week……..and some more ammo.

  21. catarina says:

    BBC headline:
    “US economy in surprised downturn”

    pffft. *I’m* not fucking *surprised.*

  22. HELENK says:

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323375204578270401138739978.html

    under obamacare will your doctor’s office become a union shop?

  23. HELENK says:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2013/01/30/deal-near-between-holder-house-on-fast-furious-contempt-charges/

    interesting article on why holder and the house are now talking.
    avoid court ruling with long term consequences

  24. votermom says:

  25. DeniseVB says:

    I love coastal Virginia ! Last of the snow melted yesterday, in the 70’s today ! As the local forecasters say “Hate the weather, just wait a minute”. :D

Comments are closed.