I Can’t Believe I Voted For This Guy


Al Gore: Al Jazeera “Tell It Like It Is,” They’re “Respected” — Fox News Is “Propaganda”

Gore appeared on the Charlie Rose show last night, unfortunately the editors left the part where Gore rips Fox News as “propaganda” on the cutting room floor. I’ve watched Gore’s appearance on the Charlie Rose show on my DVR and also on Charlie Rose’s web site and the “propaganda” part is not there. The editors did leave in the part where Gore praises the Al Jazeera network–so I grabbed that. Having said that, someone who attended the live taping of the show recorded the “propaganda” part on their cell phone. The video is not stellar but the content is worth watching–especially when it is juxtaposed with Gore’s praising Al Jazeera.


I am angry at myself because I can’t believe I voted for this guy. Not only did I vote for him in 2000 but I spent most of 2007 hoping he would decide to run again.

I guess Ralph Nader was right after all.



About The Klown

I've been an ideological free agent since 2008.
This entry was posted in Disingenuous Democrats, Vile Progs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

115 Responses to I Can’t Believe I Voted For This Guy

  1. myiq2xu says:

    I used to think this guy walked on water too:

    The chairman of the Harvard economics department, Greg Mankiw, recently noticed that Krugman had flip-flopped on the danger of the federal budget deficit’s effect on interest rates, blithely dismissing worries during the Obama administration after harping over similar concerns during George W. Bush’s tenure. A 2010 study of 17 prominent economists found Krugman was the most inconsistent of the group, changing his views depending on which party controlled the White House. To Mankiw’s criticism, Krugman replied, “I’ve learned some things and changed some of my views.”

    • why this man isn’t being held accountable for his irresponsible views on spending is beyond me. Just another example of how meaningless the Nobel is.

      • lildoggy4u says:

        I listened to Krugman the other day on NPR and was astonished at his casual embrace for more spending by the gov’t no matter what they spend money on – “Kash for Klunkers” for example? He is an idiot and I won’t say what other impression I got from him because its too rude but the Nobel has become a joke in my opinion because of him and Obama winning one.

      • DandyTiger says:

        For the record, his nobel was actually for some really good work on his part in microeconomics. His problem is that he knows nothing whatsoever about macroeconomics, and that’s all he talks about now. So the nobel went to his head and he thinks he knows everything. Turns out, he doesn’t know jack. Also, he’s a fucking asswipe.

      • nancy says:

        Rent control Room.It covers the start of the Iraq war and the birth of Al Jazeera There is a reason all the politico’s etc watch al Jazeera. I wish I could get it

    • I followed the links through to find the study. Of the 17 economist studied, 5 were women. Of the six found to be partisan, none were women. Ergo, we need more women in economics. :)

  2. myiq2xu says:

    Ben Stein:

    Let’s start with the obvious: the recent mass killings of young pupils in Newtown, Connecticut, were horrific beyond words. No sane person can doubt that. But in the aftermath of that tragedy, I have noticed a certain willful avoidance of some basic truths about guns and deaths in this, our beloved America.

    First of all, the figure of roughly 30,000 gun deaths per year was endlessly tossed about after Newtown and in the recent Senate hearings about gun violence. Thirty thousand is a huge number. But I didn’t hear anyone say that two-thirds of those gun deaths were suicides – self-inflicted gun deaths.

    These are sad, no doubt, often unbearably sad, but very different from gun deaths caused by a madman with an AR-180 at a school, shooting six year olds with .223 ammunition designed to be used against the Vietcong. Those latter are spectacularly horrific, but extremely rare — not rare enough, alas.

    Now, even after subtracting the sad suicides, something else is going on: deaths by firearms are wildly heavily concentrated in the African-American population of this country. The rate of firearms deaths per 100,000 population is about four times higher in the black population than in the white population.

    Gang-related killings account for much of this difference. In large cities with mostly black populations — such as Newark, Detroit, New Orleans — the rate of firearms deaths is almost unbelievably high compared with the rate in the mostly white suburbs.

    In any given week, on any given weekend, dozens of black youths are gunned down by other blacks in America’s cities. This is a horror show happening in real life. The total number of deaths from this ongoing disaster far outpaces the deaths in mass killings in Aurora or Newtown.

    The problem is coming up with a plausible explanation that blames white people for black-on-black violence.

  3. right there with you myiq2xu——Gore has become so sleazy, so dishonest, such a caricature of what you and I and others admired in him. It’s heartbreaking to see how creepy he’s become

  4. off topic—-for everyone here, if you can, please distribute this graphic far and wide;

    http://www.womenwintoo.blogspot.com/2013/02/blog-post.html

  5. lildoggy4u says:

    I should have added this link to your other Hillary thread but didn’t want anyone to miss it:

    http://www.businessinsider.com/hillary-clinton-photos-2013-2

  6. lildoggy4u says:

    I watched that interview with Rose and Gore and it seemed as if Gore lives in another world – one of wealth and privilege and couldn’t relate to any of us at home. His talk of loving the business world… I bet since he’s made billions off of nothing. Wonder what else was left on the cutting room floor. As for Al Jazeera, I’ve watched it and they do seem a hell of lot more comprehensive in their reporting than any American mainstream media. They will put Obama’s feet to the fire compared to the propaganda networks.

  7. Mary says:

    OT: Interesting. The Newtown Board of Education has voted unanimously to add more armed guards to their schools.

    Apparently , they agree with the NRA.

  8. driguana says:

    You’ve “evolved”!

  9. DandyTiger says:

    I have to admit, when I heard Gore saying this shit, and just the fact of the bastard becoming richer than Romney and that being fine amongst the usual limousine liberals, I found myself saying what I never thought I’d say: thank god Gore didn’t become president in 2000. Now that’s fucking sad.

    • This started to change my mind on Climate Change: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climatic_Research_Unit_email_controversy

      And when I did more research, THAT’S when I was glad that Gore lost in 2000. While we do need to be careful managers of our environment, I am now convinced that GW is indeed a scientific conspiracy invented to advance more control of human activity by those who think they know better, but whose credentials and evidence for “knowing better” are highly questionable. The last thing these people need is a popular politician who would advance those ideas and solidify that control.

  10. lildoggy4u says:

    You know, I really wanna like and believe Al but for another take on the Goracle:http://www.michellesmirror.com/2013/01/qatar-hero-algorical-returns-to-explain.html

  11. angienc (D) says:

    I voted for him – phone banked for him — begged people to vote for him not Nadar because “this was important.”

    Still — my vote for Kerry 4 years later is more shameful.

  12. angienc (D) says:

    Hey everyone — go to this link & join TCH’s Oscar Pool — only 3 weeks left to make your picks! (Picks can be changed up to the day of the Oscars before the broadcast begins). You have to create an account. The name of our pool is “TCH” and the password is: crawdad

    http://www.funofficepools.com/joinpool.php?Passed_Pool_Key=216134f2e46

    • DandyTiger says:

      My picks are in. Suck it people, I’m going to win.

    • Sorry- I am totally unqualified to participate. I know nothing about movies. I saw Les Miserables and the Hobbit last yr. Which is twice as many films as I have seen in a theater in at least ten yrs.
      (It’s one of my weird things- I totally dislike sitting in a dark room full of strangers. And now I find the sound to be so loud it hurts my ears- I had to plug my ears during Les Mis to be able to halfway enjoy it. I got earplugs before I went to The Hobbit. What is wrong with people that they have to have deafening sound anyway?)

      • DandyTiger says:

        I like going to movies generally, but I have to agree with you on the sound. WTF is going on with the average movie goers hearing? Is it life with ear pods/headphones? Brain rot in general? How on earth can most people sit there with damaging decibel levels and not have a problem?

        • angienc (D) says:

          Even worse is the “IMAX experience” ones — I went to see The Hunger Games & because of the times I went to the IMAX experience one — biggest mistake of my life.

        • lildoggy4u says:

          If I go into a movie theater, I spend $11 for a 2 hour nap. I fall asleep as soon as the lights go down.

      • lyn5 says:

        PMM, please participate. Most of my picks are guesses. Because I wait for the DVDs to come out, I haven’t seen most of the films.

        • LOL I don’t even recognize a 100th of the names of the movies. I generally don’t pay much attention to Hollywood or their products. My era has long gone. I liked it when some things were left to the imagination and there were actual story lines.
          I do know there was some film about Lincoln that everyone was talking about. And I would vote against zero dark thirty on principle.
          So that makes a total of four movies I know exist- and still only two I actually know anything about lol.

        • Well, I typed in a whole reply- but it went to ethernet hell I guess. Anyway- I only know the names of four movies- the two I saw and Lincoln and the fake bin laden raid/obama fluffer.
          And the site wants me to create an account.
          sigh

      • DandyTiger says:

        Yeah, I just made guesses. Mostly I leaned towards what has already won or what is politically likely to win. And some just random guesses. Just like the real oscar voters. :)

      • angienc (D) says:

        Actually seeing the movies isn’t a requirement to play — most of the members of the Academy who really* vote on them don’t see them either (shocker: the Oscars are all a political popularity contest).

    • lyn5 says:

      I didn’t like “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” but I think it could do well because we live in the Age of Obama.

      • leslie(D) says:

        Frankly, I thought “Beasts . . .” was pointless and a waste of my time (I know, raaacist,) I spoke to my sis – the resident authority of film in our family – and an obot to boot. I figured when I told her how I felt she’d pull her usual r@cist card on me. She agreed with me about the movie. Said the play was most likely much better. I didn’t know it had been a play. Did you?

      • votermom says:

        We watched “Beasts” on dvd. My kid said, sniffling, that movie was so sad. I said duh, it’s a movie about a kid watching her dad die.
        Emotional manipulative crap, imo.

    • leslie(D) says:

      I’ll be in as soon as I get home and off my iPad. I usually have an Oscar party. Not this year, though. I know the women in supporting roles out to be the toughest of categories. Those women were all amazing!

  13. catarina says:

    From RCP:

    Hillary Clinton: Secretary of Empowerment – Donna Brazile, CNN

    Can’t bring myself to read it.

    I guess Donna’s ‘mama’ changed the ‘rulz.’

    *pukes*

    *Sees photo of Al at top of screen, pukes again*
    I voted for him too. Seems like so long ago..

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Speaking of Gore and 2000, oh wait …… ;) Sweet statement from Barney’s dad……

    Statement by President George W. Bush on the passing of Barney Bush:

    Laura and I are sad to announce that our Scottish Terrier, Barney, has passed away. The little fellow had been suffering from lymphoma and after twelve and a half years of life, his body could not fight off the illness.

    Barney and I enjoyed the out…doors. He loved to accompany me when I fished for bass at the ranch. He was a fierce armadillo hunter. At Camp David, his favorite activity was chasing golf balls on the chipping green.

    Barney guarded the South Lawn entrance of the White House as if he were a Secret Service agent. He wandered the halls of the West Wing looking for treats from his many friends. He starred in Barney Cam and gave the American people Christmas tours of the White House. Barney greeted Queens, Heads of State, and Prime Ministers. He was always polite and never jumped in their laps.
    Barney was by my side during our eight years in the White House. He never discussed politics and was always a faithful friend. Laura and I will miss our pal.

    • lyn5 says:

      So sweet.

    • yttik says:

      That’s lovely! What a life Barney had.

      I was reading about a Jack Russel, the only dog to see both the North and South poles. Apparently his family were discoverers and liked to travel a lot. I can’t imagine taking a dog for a arctic exploration, but I guess they’d help to keep you warm.

    • leslie(D) says:

      Sweet was exactly what I said when I heard it on the news. There are times when I regret my past thoughts about W. (not all of them, however.) He certainly seems a more humane person than the current poseur.

      • votermom says:

        I feel so manipulated by the media during the Bush years – i really bought into all that “horrible hateful chimperor” crap.
        I still think Iraq was a big mistake, ftr.

  15. driguana says:

    Very interesting thread this morning…so what actually opens one’s eyes to these fraudulent people? Many of you have said at one time you voted for these guys, what made you realize they are something different today? I ask this question because so many folks out there still believe these creeps walk on water, Obama included, and yet it isn’t difficult to uncover their hypocrisy and in some cases, idiocy. Obama is a good example….very few people who idolize him know very much about him…oh, he was “community organizer”…yeah, ok, what exactly did he organize? Oh, he’s a constitutional scholar…yeah, right…what scholarly articles or work has he done about the constitution….so on and so forth. Van Jones is another one in my book…oh, he’s an “alternative energy expert”….oh, really, just exactly what alternative energy projects has he himself done???

    I think it’s important to know exactly at what point people change and become enlightened and what that means? When do people, for example, really understand “governance” and what it means to them and to the community that they live in.

    • yttik says:

      That’s a good question! I think I was a Dem for so long because of peer pressure, LOL! Seriously, it was that tribalism we talk about. You’re either a Dem or you’re a mean greedy selfish racist nasty person. I never thought too hard about candidates or issues, I just went along with the crowd. Then they turned on me! It was a bit like being in junior high and realizing that the in crowd is not all that it’s cracked up to be. They’re an illusion and when you strip away the fantasy you’re left with these insecure, self centered people, that really don’t have anything to offer.

    • piper says:

      so right.

      I still have a hard time understanding what people see in Bronco, reads from a teleprompter, makes outlandish promises which he never keeps, trashes the rich while aspiring to be one of 1%, etc., etc.

    • cj says:

      I don’t know about anybody else, but the last time I idolized a politician, I was 10 years old & gaga for Kennedy. Sadly, it was all downhill from there until 08 when I thought I’d finally found a candidate that I could truly believe in.

      The enlightenment for me came at the party level when all my previous assumptions about the Democrat Party came crashing down on the day they handed the nomination to BO. That was the eye-opener that turned me from a loyal straight D-ticket voter into a skeptical, questioning, vote for whoever the hell I want, Independent.

    • I think it comes down to betrayal for most of us. The abusive boyfriend analogy holds. We’ll stick with people as long as we think our wants and needs c an get met, and that the people we’re sticking with are the only ones who can deliver. But betray us on principle, and it has a way of wiping the eyes clear, and making everything come into sharp focus.

      But you have to be smart enough to see it, first. You have to be a natural critical thinker in the habit of asking questions and challenging assumptions, including your own. Because nearly every Dem constituency has been betrayed one way or the other by the neolib in the white house, but they don’t see it.

    • angienc (D) says:

      May 31, 2008 forced me to open my eyes and question a lot of the assumptions I had been taking for granted my entire adult life — not just about the Dem party but the people who were running it at the upper levels. I free admit that I was a blind tribalist up until that point in my life — I voted for Gore and Kerry because they had Ds after their names — no other reason. I knew almost nothing about them or their records beyond that. Now that I’ve actually taken the time examine them, I not only find them wanting, I’m embarrassed on how glaringly obvious their short-comings were & are and how I could have been so unaware (although even blind tribalist as I was, I knew Kerry was a dickhead back then).

      To paraphrase Cassius– the fault is in myself.

    • Constance says:

      Kerry and Gore went after idealistic people, these people remain idealistic but eventually see through the schlock, Obama went after stupid people. His voting block is not going to wise up because they can’t.

  16. DandyTiger says:

    OT: CBS bans sodastream superbowl ad because it competes with Coke and Pepsi.

    CBS banned SodaStream’s Super Bowl spot because, apparently, it was too much of a direct hit to two of its biggest sponsors, Coke and Pepsi.

    Please pause and read that sentence again.

    CBS is on a roll lately banning DIsh ads and from their subsidiary CNet, banning any articles or reviews of DIsh or other competing products.

    • Major backfire. I’d seen the ads, but don’t drink soda, so it didn’t appeal to me. Because of this article, I looked them up and found you can carbonate anything liquid. Now I want one and will buy one.

      • DandyTiger says:

        I’m totally getting one too after looking them up. And you can control how many bubbles. Super carbonate so you have lots of tiny bubbles, like good champaign. Mmm. Juice and water combo carbonated. Say goodbye to soda.

  17. Oh for crying out loud. But I should have seen this coming. Hillary is gone for one day and Joe announces we are willing to talk directly with Iran. But then teh once and future fraud did say he would talk to them.

    http://news.yahoo.com/biden-raises-possibility-direct-u-iran-talks-135607063.html

  18. swanspirit says:

    I didn’t vote for him , I voted for Ralph , because I live in Maryland and I figured it was safe and Bush would not win anyway .Hindsight is better than 20/20 . I am so glad he didn’t win . I felt guilty for voting for voting for Ralph for a long time , but no longer .

  19. tommy says:

    Excellent post. You’re plain honest.

  20. HELENK says:

    I voted for him> At the time I was a democrat of many years. First vote was for JFK and stayed a democrat until 2008. That primary opened my eyes and brought tears. The treatment of Hillary and Sarah hurt me as a woman. but backtrack and the comments on bitter knitters was the last straw for me. I have a big problem when people treat me with contempt. That comment told me I had been a fool for many years and it hurt. It is not fun to look in the mirror and see a fool. There is no way in hell I would ever vote for a democrat again. There is not way in hell I will every really believe any politician is working for me again. MY purse and my time are no longer available. I will probably vote with the idea which candidate will do less harm.
    Gore – Kerry- Hillary when looked at very closely are not what they seemed to be. That does hurt because it makes you wonder is backtrack just a more obvious and open clone of these three?

  21. HELENK says:

    slightly off topic

    http://bostonherald.com/news_opinion/local_politics/2013/02/brown_out_gop_mulls_romney_energy

    after how many republicans sat on the a$$es and stayed home during the presidential race, now the republicans want Romney to run for Kerry’s seat in Mass. Why on earth should he? What’s in it for him.?

  22. myiq2xu says:

  23. dailypuma says:

    Al Jazeera probably offers more moderate and accurate views of american events than our own american news reporting does. The problem is probably in how A; Jazeera perceives and reports on their own part of the world and the somewhat questionable treatment of women and those not yet adults.

  24. votermom says:

    Speaking of elections, another miracle of 2012

    • angienc (D) says:

      Nothing to see here — all those Romney crowds v. empty auditoriums for Obama don’t mean shit because — um — Sandy.

  25. votermom says:

Comments are closed.