The Joy Of Working Security

NSFW


Zero tolerance mall cop filmed tasering an abusive mother is given $20,000 by well-wishers for helping to ‘clean up’ Atlanta

Supporters have raised $20,000 for an Atlanta security guard who became an internet sensation this week after he posted videos online showing his refusal to give in to abuse from troublemakers.

Darien Long made headlines earlier this week after a video showing him tasering a violent woman outside Atlanta’s Metro Mall spread online – it has now been viewed more than one million times.

And since then more and more videos are emerging of the zero-tolerance guard refusing to give in to violent threats.

In the footage, filmed by a camera on Long’s uniform, men are heard warning they’ll follow him home; he is racially abused; spat at; threatened with violence and objects are thrown at him all because he’s asked people to leave the shopping center or to stop hovering outside.


The video brings back memories, but nobody ever gave me $20,000 for doing my job. I never tasered anyone but I did have to deploy pepper spray a few times. Usually I could talk my way out of situations. (Being scary looking helps.)

BTW – If the guard was white do you think this video would have caused the same reaction?

This is an open thread.


About The Klown

Captain Spaulding is BACK!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to The Joy Of Working Security

  1. myiq2xu says:

    What a coincidence – guess what’s on Comedy Central:

  2. Somebody says:

    I was going to mention the fact that the women seemed to have quite a few children. The Idiocracy video fits right in with my thoughts.

  3. Somebody says:

    Since this is an open thread can I ask for a little info from all of you west coasters?

    My niece graduates this June from UCSB and we were planning on going to her commencement. I didn’t realize however that I could go to Europe cheaper than I can spend a weekend in Santa Barbara. The Motel 6 there which is sold out goes for $176 a night, seriously? Most everything is sold out or is $400 and up per night.

    There are reasonably priced rooms in a town up the coast called Lompoc. Since the rooms there are WAY less I’m suspicious that Lompoc may be some crime ridden, gang invested hell hole. Are any of you familiar with Lompoc? Also, is the drive down to Santa Barbara fairly easy? Google says 45 miles, an hour and 15 minutes, are they correct?

    • myiq2xu says:

      I’m suspicious that Lompoc may be some crime ridden, gang invested hell hole.

      Welcome to California. If you are going to Lompoc be sure to check out the prison.

      • Somebody says:

        I just read that there is a federal prison there and hence attracts a lot of visitors, especially on the weekends. Visitors like the Bloods and the Crips, coming to visit their fellow gang members in the big house.

        Damn, I knew there had to be a reason. There are more affordable places to the south, but you have to go much farther south and my sister says the traffic headed north to Santa Barbara will be bumper to bumper.

        I did find a covered wagon at a dude ranch for a reasonable price.

    • HELENK says:

      did you try looking in Goleta CA it is north of Santa Barbara

      • Somebody says:

        Goleta hotels are included in any search for Santa Barbara. In fact the place I found for $319 a night is in Goleta. Good grief are the streets lined with gold there? I mean I know California is “The Golden State” after all.

        • yttik says:

          We’ve had good luck in Pismo Beach. We once got a condo on the beach for less than 100 a night.

          • myiq2xu says:

            The basic rule in California is the shorter the drive the higher the price. That applies whether you are buying, leasing or renting for the night.

        • myiq2xu says:

          California is called the Golden State because you need a lot of gold to live here.

        • Somebody says:

          Oh hey not to worry guys, I found the perfect place. I found a 7 bedroom, 5 bath estate on a couple of acres with 2 detached guest suites, a pool, jacuzzi and game room all with an ocean view.

          All of that for the itty bitty price of $150 a night. All I have to do is fill out their forms with all my personal information and credit card information and they’ll let me know. Apparently the owner is very selective.

          What??? Oh I’m sure the owner will pick me……..to rip off.

        • The rates are all sliding depending on demand, so you can thank the other graduate’s families for driving up your prices. Lompoc is off the main road and a fairly quiet community during the week. Have you looked at Ventura and Oxnard? The driving time is going to be fairly similar but the available rooms about a thousand times greater. Btw, we’ve vacationed in Carpenteria a few times and the small motels there have been very accommodating.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The problem with college town graduations, hotels sell out about a year in advance, or what’s left is at premium costs. We learned that the hard way several years ago.

      Try the Ventura/Oxnard area, about 45 minutes or less south of Santa Barbara, of course, it’s about the same distance from Pepperdine, UCLA, USC and several Cal State campuses. Good luck with that !

      You might want to bite the bullet and spend the $400/night, but I’m sure your niece might appreciate the *check* in lieu of your presence, which is a good Plan B :D

      • Plan B sounds good to me, too.

        (Sorry DeniseVB. Reply interrupted for grandfathering duties).

      • Constance says:

        Gosh, you guys are nice considerate people. My daughter graduates in a college town this year where there are never any hotel rooms. I told her “yes, you are going to walk in the graduation ceremony because it’s important to ME and the whole famn damily is coming to sleep on your floor and couches the day before, warn your roommates”. Santa Barbara/Goleta is really a beautiful area though.

    • jeffhas says:

      OK – so I’m about 45 minutes south of SB, and I lived in SB County d all around that area for 25+ years (but not Lompoc! – that’s CrAzY!)….

      If you stay a little south in Carpinteria, it’s about a 20-30 minute drive with the heavy traffic – and you should find a lower rate. If Carpinteria was already in your searches and is too high $$$ (because it’s school commencement) then your sister is right, the traffic will suck.

      Lompoc is like any area – good parts and bad parts and there’s an Air Force Base located there (Vandenberg) so it’s safe around that area.

      … but, if you’re visiting from far away, consider Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, or Solvang – all beautiful areas that are pristine horse and wine country… You can visit wineries while your in town (that’s where the movie Sideways was filmed – you can visit The Hitching Post where they ate and drank during most of the film, and they do have the best Steak and Grilled Artichoke ever)… Solvang is a little Dutch town that is full of touristas and Danish (the baked goods – not the people).

      Yes, Santa Barbara’s streets are paved in gold… and it’s beautiful to walk First street for a day and hang out.

      Have Fun!

    • Constance says:

      Ask your niece if she has a friend who would rent you their room for the night for $50. The area around the school is probably full of the unused beds of kids who always stay at a boyfriend/girlfriends house. Bring your own sheets and towels though.

      • Somebody says:

        Bring your own sheets and towels, LOL!

        I’m looking at the Santa Ynez area…….a little scared of Lompoc now. I haven’t looked to the south because my sister scared me off insisting I’ll never make it to the commencement due to traffic. The Oxnard/Ventura area was my first instinct thinking we’d have plenty of choices, but sis had a fit. I will also check out the Carpinteria area.

        I LOVE everybody’s plan B, but no way I can get away with that. Oh my niece would prefer that I’m sure, but my sister expects me to be present. She flew back here to Florida for my daughter’s graduation and told me the day she did she expected me to reciprocate. Of course she has 3 family members here, as well as friends this is her hometown…….no hotel bill AND it was twofer trip because my mom had major surgery scheduled. She told my mom she flew back for her and told me she flew back for my daughter……family oy!

        Sis is staying with my niece as her house is down in OC, so I’m afraid staying with my niece is out since her whole family is squeezing in.

        BTW all you west coasters better look out! I have infamous vacations. Nothing bad has happened to us so far, but all around us. The last time I was in CA in the 80′s landslide, brush fires, I was very near FIVE flipping freeway shootings, and we were at Universal when a disgruntled employee blew up part of little Europe……we were on the tour and thought it was SO realistic! Thought the “1st responders” were really good actors, thought it was all so cute until they said “No really get off the tram NOW!” Many other things happened too, including a small earthquake, engine fire on our plane, absolute hell trip……haven’t been back since. Although to be fair to CA, the bad trips continued in other states…..kidnappers, car jackers, hell I’ve found dead bodies at rest areas in and my hotel room. Y’all might want to stay clear of Santa Barbara around the middle of June, LOL!

        • myiq2xu says:

          Is your last name “Griswold”?

        • jeffhas says:

          I lived in Santa Ynez for awhile, and have in-laws there – it’s quiet and scenic, and the ride to Santa Barbara from there is about 30-40 minutes of mountain beauty if you take HWY154 or coast beauty if you take HWY101.

          If you can find a B&B there (Ballard? Los Olivos?) or one of the Solvang tourist hotel/motels on the cheap, you will be doing good… and it’s on the other side of the 101 fwy vs. Lompoc.

          Try The Peterson Inn in Solvang (or one one of the many dutch places with the windmills out front nearby)….

          Anyways – good luck… I’ll be hiding when you come so I miss the Apocalypse.

        • Somebody says:

          No, but sometimes I wonder. In fact when we ended up at the welfare ER in downtown San Diego some of the people in the waiting room were laughing and singing the song to that movie.

          We had to go to that hospital because we were from out of state, even though our insurance was nationwide in fact federal government insurance…..still nobody wanted to treat my son. My son ate a tube of toothpaste, but I didn’t know that……a big tube. He said he was thirsty so I got him a soda out of the machine at our hotel. We went to Denny’s and he started puking white foam out of his mouth and nose, minty fresh foam. We tried to eat in peace, we were catching his puke in a napkin, but they threw us out of Denny’s. A nurse that was there told us my son’s condition could be serious so we decided to try and have him seen and we ended up at the ER all day, he was almost admitted. Toothpaste can cause damage to your esophagus and stomach lining in such large amounts, espeically when mixed with carbonation, so the doctors said. Pretty much every doctor in the hospital saw my son, each one giving him a drink of water and waiting for him to puke white foam………8 hours the kid puked white foam out of nose and mouth. Yep just about every doctor and intern there came to see the show.

          The people in the ER got to hear all about our trip because I was on the phone with my sister who didn’t believe me. I told her all the horrible things that had been going on, and about my son and what was happening right then. But she thought I was lying to avoid attending her birthday party which was the day we ended up at the ER. Oh well at least we entertained a bunch of strangers both in the waiting room by the pay phones AND the medical staff, glad to be of service…..NOT!

          We finally made it to my sister’s after the party, she was pretty pissed. At that point we decided to stay at a hotel by the airport and not leave the hotel until our flight home and even that wasn’t uneventful.

  4. I feel for those kids. As long as the mother was posturing, they were following her lead. One of them even kept yelling, “That’s why you gay!” But once she was down, they all started crying, just like regular little children would. She is a terrible example for those children. Just terrible. There is so little hope for them…

  5. yttik says:

    Why do people believe it’s okay to act that way?? Seriously, I’ve spent a lot of time working with the public and I can never figure out why somebody would want to bring that much trouble upon themselves.

    Once I was on a city bus and this woman got mad because the driver didn’t have any change. she cussed him out for about five minutes and then started whacking him in the head with her purse. He was trying to drive the darn bus full of passengers and she’s attacking him! Needless to say when he stopped the bus and the cops hauled her off kicking and screaming, she was carrying on about racism and abuse and her civil rights and suing everybody.

    What was kind of scary is that I don’t think she was mentally ill.

  6. myiq2xu says:
  7. angienc (D) says:

    And look, here it is:

  8. angienc (D) says:

    New hashtag game #NextWhiteHousePhoto but I don’t think anyone can top this:

    • angienc (D) says:

      Please note: when the WH released the Obama with gun photo it warned *against* anyone photoshopping it, even though ALL documents released by the US government are in the public domain (release can be restricted, if classified, but once something is released, it’s a free for all).

      • myiq2xu says:

        Photoshopping for satire is protected by the 1st Amendment so even if there was a copyright or defamation issue it’s still okay.

        • angienc (D) says:

          It’s the NERVE of an arm of the US government attempting to FORBID citizens from photoshopping the pics that pisses me off more. They’re public domain because I — as a taxpayer — PAID FOR THEM.
          Those fuckers work for ME, not the other way around.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    A few years ago, we took our “special ed” kid to the mall, mind you, he does a great impression of Dustin Hoffman’s Rain Man. Went into a music/video store, which he loves, and HE decided he had to have the $80 complete Woodstock video set. I said not today in all my motherly, practical and soothing voice. Well, he went into full tantrum yelling and screaming, sat down in the record store ….. and I thank GOD for those two mall security guards who showed up, fully realizing he was “special” and gently talked him down, and walked him out of the mall, to our car, so we could leave!

    I bought him the freaking video set for Christmas that year. I’ll never forget the kindness of those men though. Ever.

    • myiq2xu says:

      Generally speaking, if a person acts like that in public we assume they either have mental problems or are on drugs. We don’t assume the problem has anything to do with race.

  10. myiq2xu says:

    FUCK!

    I just burned dinner. It’s completely obamaed.

  11. votermom says:

    Iowahawk’s photoshop of President Skeeter

  12. HELENK says:

    http://apnews.myway.com/article/20130201/DA45R6S01.html

    I read this and thought Hilary is too smart not to know that Benghazi will matter if she decides to run for president. Does she really believe that it won’t matter?

  13. insanelysane says:

    Ms Blackburn (R) wants an invite.

    <<>
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I’d pay to see that.

  14. I got a chuckle out of this one- I think Lola will like it too! Second graders correcting NFL Tweets spelling and grammar,
    http://deadspin.com/5980905/second-graders-correct-tweets-from-nfl-players-and-its-magical
    All is not lost?

  15. angienc (D) says:

    Hey — I got a comment in moderation! Free me!! (Please)
    (Thank you)

  16. yttik says:

    Bahaha! The white house asked people not to photo shop that skeet picture? This is America, we view royal decrees as a challenge.

  17. Me! says:

    http://www.lipstickalley.com/f4/atl-come-answer-ratchedness-girl-gets-tased-security-guard-front-children-471043/index12.html

    You guys will just LOVE some of these comments. Don’t mind me I’m semi trolling. Having a bad day…

Comments are closed.