Did Global Warming Kill The Pharaohs?


I am watching Why Ancient Egypt Fell on the Military Channel. I like these kind of shows – it’s really interesting stuff. You can learn stuff without having to study or take tests.

One pattern we see in many ancient civilizations is gradual growth and then a sudden end. Here today, gone tomorrow. Some never rebuild, others rebuild after gaps lasting a century or more.

Which begs the question – could it happen to us?

This is an open thread.



About The Klown

Captain Spaulding is BACK!
This entry was posted in Global Warming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Did Global Warming Kill The Pharaohs?

  1. myiq2xu says:

    I believe in global warming. The Earth has been both warmer and cooler than it is today.

    I am not so sure about Man Made Global Warming (MMGW).

    • yttik says:

      Well of course you believe in global warming, you live in California. If you lived up here, you’d be worried about the coming ice age.

    • DandyTiger says:

      I think we’re in a warming cycle. And I don’t really give a crap whether humans contributed or not. And at this point, I don’t think there’s a thing we can do about it anyway. The best thing to do is plan for the likely changes.

      • yttik says:

        I’m not sure if we’re entering a warming period. NASA and some other scientists claim we’re entering a cooling period. That’s why we had to scrap “global warming” and start calling it “climate change.”

        • angienc (D) says:

          Yeah, myiq & Dandy — keep up with the Newspeak — it’s “climate change” now not “global warming.”
          Didn’t think they could come up with a dumber name than “global warming” did you?
          To paraphrase Ace at AoSHQ — I wrote George Orwell & told him he was right. He responded “No, I thought they’d be more clever.”

      • foxyladi14 says:

        Swim suits for summer sweaters for winter. :)

  2. DandyTiger says:

    Not only can it happen to us, but it will definitely happen to us. It’s the cycle of life. Empires come and go. They never last. Doesn’t mean it will happen soon. But looking at the behavior of those in government and the mega corporations intwined with them, it sure seems like that level of consumption and corruption can’t last much longer.

    Now we’re hearing in perhaps as little as 15 years, China will be ahead of us in military strength. Will that frighten people here into spending even more to keep ahead? And if not, will our waining influence cost us economically. Even better, will we even last that long to find out? Then again, we’ve figured out with new energy resources and with better technology, we may actually have more energy reserves than Saudi Arabia. Who knows.

    I guess it all depends on what King Obama wants for his subjects.

    • myiq2xu says:

      There are two distinct ways civilizations end. They either gradually decline and fall to outsiders or they are suddenly wiped out by Mother Nature.

  3. I think any reasonable person would agree humans have probably affected the climate. The rub comes in quantifying the degree of affect. More than butterflies? Or bees? For the good? Or for ill? Those are questions requiring unbiased facts, not prejudiced assumptions. Now that governments are involved, good luck with that.

  4. myiq2xu says:
  5. driguana says:

    I like programs like that, too…because history is such a fungible thing…we have such a vague idea of what really has gone on on this planet…especially the time before Abraham. I say this with temerity and at the risk of derision but I also really like Ancient Aliens. There was no one buried in the Great Pyramid…and that was a feat way beyond technical abilities then….even now as both Japanese and German engineers have tried to duplicate it, on a smaller scale of course…..so what gives….???

  6. driguana says:

    groovin’ on Sheila Chandra’s remarkable 1982 LP this evening….Third Eye…

  7. myiq2xu says:

    God hates New York.

  8. SHV says:

    “I am watching Why Ancient Egypt Fell on the Military Channel. ”
    *******
    Too bad that Egypt is turning into an Islamic hell hole. I have been there twice and wanted to go for a third visit but not now. Three thousand years of civilization; 80% of the World’s antiquities are located in Egypt and I wouldn’t be surprised if those fuckers don’t start blowing them up.

    • catarina says:

      “those fuckers,” indeed.

    • angienc (D) says:

      Like they did to the ancient Buddhas in Bamiyan — I know, I worry about that too because I’ve always wanted to go to Egypt to see the antiquities, but always put it off for one reason or another. Now, I’ll probably never get the chance.

      On the bright side, my engineer daddy & brother have both guaranteed me that in order to destroy the pyramids, they’d need a bomb that would also take out the entire city of Cairo.

      Things don’t look good for the Sphynx, though.

  9. HELENK says:

    http://pjmedia.com/tatler/2013

    this is a weird story. pro taliban terrorist tries to blow up Oakland bank and blame it on the right to start civil war.

    the scary thing is that with today’s msm and their reporting it is not a wild idea

  10. HELENK says:

    Dr Carson the man that gave the great speech is on Hannity

  11. DandyTiger says:

    Everyone’s way to sober, here:

  12. driguana says:

    yeah…let’s get kinky…

  13. SHV says:

    “On the bright side, my engineer daddy & brother have both guaranteed me that in order to destroy the pyramids….”
    *********
    The pyramids were used by the Muslin conquers of Egypt as stone quarries to build Islamic Cairo. All of the marble casings were stripped from the surfaces of the Pyramids and used for building materials. In antiquity the Pyramids were a smooth white marble surface and were said to be especially spectacular reflecting the pink, early morning sun light.

  14. HELENK says:

    just listen and dream

  15. driguana says:

    Y’all have made my Friday evening again…show’s you where I’m at…..

  16. driguana says:

    What a coincidence…coming up at the top of the hour on Ancient Aliens is a program called “Secrets of the Pyramids”….I’m there…

  17. swanspirit says:

    Scandals of The Ancient World looks promising , I love all of those ancient history shows , I wish they would do more .

  18. LOL I have lost track of what is on the History Channel since they moved all the history programming to the premium History 2 channel. I use hulu and youtube to watch. History channel out here now is redneck central. Swamp people? WTH? Seriously what do swamp people and pawn stars have to do with history?
    lol
    I am going to bookmark the ones you have in the post for late night viewing.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Worst mistake History Channel made was refuse to air The Kennedys. I thought it was pretty good, thank goodness Reelz rescued it.

      I like Pawn Stars for the historic items and retro stuff, have never seen Swamp People.

    • driguana says:

      well….them swamp folks been there a long time, ya know….

Comments are closed.