Obamandias


Obamandias*

I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said: Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Stand in the desart. Near them, on the sand,
Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown,
And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command,
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed:
And on the pedestal these words appear:
“My name is Obamandias, king of kings:
Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!”
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
The lone and level sands stretch far away.


This is an open thread.


*(With apologies to Percy Bysshe Shelly)

This entry was posted in Barack Obama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Obamandias

  1. 1539days says:

    Heh. I referred to him as Ozymandias in 2009.

  2. Lulu says:

    I see a psychotic break in his near future.

  3. OldCoastie says:

    I think he’s a goner. I work at an urban school and the other day a couple little boys were discussing Obama with one of them saying, “I don’t like him so much anymore”.

    Tells you what they are hearing at home.

  4. myiq2xu says:

    I hate slow news days

    • myiq2xu says:

      I spent the last two hours looking for something interesting to post about. I guess I’ll go check in with Spoony. He’s usually good for some laughs.

    • yttik says:

      I’m living in upside down world and trying to figure out WTH is wrong with my local government. They’re convinced the economy is booming and they’re spending money like they just won the lottery. Meanwhile, this is becoming a ghost town. We have all this fancy landscaping and public art that leads to nothing but empty shops. So many people have moved away seeking employment that our school superintendent is facing a possible lay off. And yet our local Gov just keeps bragging about the decline in unemployment without seeming to realize that it’s because all the unemployed people had to flee the area! They also seem to believe that tax revenues are way up due to “projections,” so they’re spending money they haven’t got. I don’t know what is going to happen but reality is going to rise up at some point and smack my area in the head.

      • DandyTiger says:

        They live in Obomination apparently. It’s like a hollywood set where it’s all facade and no substance.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Our locals just raised our real estate taxes, so those of us lucky enough to still own homes get to pick up the slack of the budget shortfall.

  5. yttik says:

    President Obama’s budget suffered a second embarrassing defeat Wednesday, when senators voted 99-0 to reject it.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/blog/inside-politics/2012/may/16/obama-budget-defeated-99-0-senate/

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Transcript from the Hannity and Klein (“The Amateur”) interview.

    http://nation.foxnews.com/rev-jeremiah-wright/2012/05/17/rev-wright-throws-barack-obama-down-stairs-explosive-new-audio

    Interesting read though really nothing explosive except resourced confirmation that Obama’s a sneak and in way over his head. 🙂

    • cj says:

      I watched it & my first thought was that I’d underestimated just how pissed off the people under the bus really are. Fingers crossed, Wright’s just the first of many defections.

    • elliesmom says:

      I thought the same thing about the book. But it was a good rainy day read earlier this week. I liked the quote about Obama going into the telephone booth as Superman and coming out as Clark Kent.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Update on Mary Kennedy’s suicide:

    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/national/rfk_jr_wife_hangs_herself_pyWHUGMLz6ntRTOeCkf3JI

    Interesting tidbits about RFK,jr will probably put any political future to rest.

  8. wmcb says:

    I have done some preliminary calculations based on this new study that correlates cups of coffee per day to longevity, and have concluded that:

    I AM FUCKING IMMORTAL.

    http://apnews.myway.com/article/20120516/D9UQ3HAO0.html

  9. cj says:

    It’s heating up!

    GOP superpac going to “do exactly what John McCain would not let us do”

    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/05/17/us/politics/gop-super-pac-weighs-hard-line-attack-on-obama.html?_r=1&pagewanted=all

    I’m waking up with a smile on my face lately. The RWers have totally jolted me out of my Obama malaise!

    • wmcb says:

      LOL! Romney is playing by Obama rules. He came out and strongly denounced the gutter politics that this PAC is about to engage in! *wink wink*

    • leslie says:

      And, coward that I am, I just started working on those who thought I was still a Dem. This morning, after talking a bit about Panem and hunger Games, I began by recalling the MSM/DNC campaign against Hillary during 2008, then Palin, and then women after SP. Then I lit into the smear campaign that TehOnce has launched against private cictzens who have contributed to the Romney campaign. I started small then got madder and madder and by the end of my rant, I had more than one person on the bus, talking about how they wanted to hear more about what I was saying, and others who were totally opposed to what they heard.
      I said, “Yes, I was a terrorist when I didn’t support Bush, now I’m a r@cist for not supporting Obama.”

      • leslie says:

        I think this was stirred up by the comments about the NATO Summit that we are all having to sit through. (Can’t even take a cup of coffee or bottle of water on public transit regardless of where you get on – or off.)
        Working through this without coffee or breakfast will be a real treat. /s

      • wmcb says:

        Go, leslie!

  10. foxyladi14 says:

    😯

  11. DandyTiger says:

    RIP Donna Summer

  12. driguana says:

    as a Romantic poet devotee and student…..kudos on Obamandias…

  13. leslie says:

    re the photo . . . One day he is going to drown sticking his nose up in the air like that.
    I pray for rain daily.

Comments are closed.