We have a small crisis at Kasa de Klown

cat fart

It appears that Tigger has a small problem with feline flatulence. There is nothing like having your cat jump up on your desk and let a furry fart rip within inches of your face. He likes to squeeze cheese whenever he’s picked up too.

Meanwhile, The Oakland Raiders have hired a new coach.

This is an open thread.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to We have a small crisis at Kasa de Klown

  1. Somebody says:

    I had a cat with a flatulence problem, he’d make your eyes water and run you out of the room. The vet suggested that I give him metamucil every day for 30 days. I don’t remember the dosage, but it wasn’t much and it fixed the problem……..maybe a teaspoon???

    Apparently that somehow helped balance his intestinal bacteria, according to the vet??? How in the hell metamucil did that I don’t know, but it did work. This was 25 years ago and a lot has changed, now they actually make digestive enzymes and probiotics for animals. You might be more comfortable with one of those products, but bottom line most likely Tigger’s intestines need a little tweak to balance out. All animal have gas, but if they have excessive gas then that’s usually a clue that something is a little out of whack.

    • Lulu says:

      I had an older cat who would eat too much at once and stop up her digestive system. I had to feed her a little at a time, limit the amount per day and if I remember correctly the vet gave me some enzyme stuff I had to try to get into her mouth. She would bloat and blow AND upchuck. Then act pitiful because she wanted to gorge. Tigger may be eating too much, too fast, and too often even if he is a starving kitten. He may not stop when he is full. Some cats don’t. Just saying.

    • sleepyhead says:

      Also, switching to a grain-free diet (if they’re not already eating one) might help. Cats don’t digest carbs well and eliminating grains often helps with digestive upsets. Probiotics are readily available and very helpful, especially in growing animals whose GI tracts are still developing. Forti-flora, Pro-viable, RxBiotic are a few that are readily available at Amazon or PetFoodDirect and not too expensive. (Make sure to get the feline version of Forti-flora – the one in the white box.) You can also try adding a teaspoon or so of canned pumpkin (plain, not the pie mix) to the food – it’s a good source of fiber and most cats like it.

  2. HELENK3 says:

    Department of Defense announces transfer of 4 Guantanamo Bay prisoners to Oman, 1 to Estonia – @carolrosenberg
    Read more on miamiherald.com

    backtrack still releasing gitmo prisoners

  3. HELENK3 says:

    stolen from a commenter at No Quarter

  4. HELENK3 says:

    stolen from a commenter at No Quarter

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    Oscar nominations:

    Supporting Actor:
    Robert Duvall, The Judge
    Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
    Edward Norton, Birdman
    Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
    J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

    Supporting Actress:
    Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
    Laura Dern, Wild
    Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
    Emma Stone, Birdman
    Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

    Alejandro González Iñárittu, Birdman
    Richard Linklater, Boyhood
    Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher
    Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
    Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

    Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
    Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
    Julianne Moore, Still Alice
    Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
    Reese Witherspoon, Wild

    Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
    Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
    Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
    Michael Keaton, Birdman
    Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

    American Sniper
    The Grand Budapest Hotel
    The Imitation Game
    The Theory of Everything

  6. piper says:

    My first Bichon had major flatulence issues which he finally outgrew when he was 2 years old. Scenario – We’d be comfy in bed, bomb would go off, wife accuses dh of farting which husband denies blaming sweet 4 legger, wife grumbles, dh maintains his innocence still blaming puppy, this behavior continues for several nights until wife wakes up to the reality of a farting pup as he liked to sleep against wife’s shoulders/head. Thankfully our other Bichons had good digestive systems.
    He also like to roll in fishy smelly stuff outside then would want to cuddle with us. Great dog, he kept us hopping and laughing for 18 years. Miss the little stinker!

  7. piper says:

    • piper says:

      BTW – that’s Merlin in his first Halloween costume, the little devil bought by my young nephews.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        There is a special circle of hell for people who dress up their pets in costumes.

        • Somebody says:

          My husband feels that way, he HATES it when I dress my dogs or now my one dog. I buy clothes and they just disappear, vanish. Hubby feigns innocence. Hubby would always tell the groomer not to put a kerchief on our dogs when they were groomed. If the groomer forgot, he’d snatch it off and grumble…..I asked them nicely not to put shit on my dog, LOL!

          I think it’s a guy vs a girl thing?? I don’t know any men that like to dress their animals up.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. foxyladi14 says:


  10. SHV says:

    “Also, switching to a grain-free diet (if they’re not already eating one) might help. Cats don’t digest carbs well and eliminating grains often helps with digestive upsets. ”
    Dry cat food had all kinds of stuff in it that cats can’t digest, especially carbs and it’s also not good for their kidneys. It’s too bad that you can’t buy 10 pound bags of frozen, skinned , mice or rats; drop them in a grinder and it’s perfect nutrition for kitty.

    • sleepyhead says:

      Yup, they are carnivores. The only vegetable/carb material they ever eat naturally is whatever happens to be in the stomach of their prey. There are some very low-carb dry foods on the market (eg Innova EVO – which is a good diet for the rare cat who refuses to eat canned food) but that’s not ideal because cats are originally desert animals who don’t drink a lot of water normally (they get what they need from their food), so if a cat is susceptible to urinary tract infections he/she really shouldn’t be eating dry food at all.

      • lyn says:

        I like grain-free Nature’s Variety and Fromm canned cat food. One of my boys eats dry, and I tried to switch him to canned. Big mistake. After three months, his system is finally getting back to normal, but I have to give him digestive enzymes and clay at every meal. I will try canned again with the clay and enzymes. This boy ate Evo dry, but it caused his blood calcium to be too high. I feed him the dry NV limited ingredient turkey now. He was my only kitty without food allergies; the other two brothers get itchy heads and ears but diet controls that (one is on 2.5 mg of prednisolone daily, because he had three mast cell tumors removed two years ago). I am tempted to raise mice to feed them, but my hubby is against it.🙂

        • leslie says:

          My sister buys organic chicken breast, cooks it, grinds it up, and what she doesn’t use, she freezes for later. This for her cats. She is a vegetarian, so she eats the grains. lol

          • SHV says:

            If that’s all her cats eat, there is a good chance that they eventually will develop heart and eye problems, ie. blindness. Cats are one of the few (only?) mammals that don’t make Taurine, for Cats, an essential organic acid. When this problem was identified in the 1980’s, commercial cat food manufactures were required to add it to cat food.

          • leslie says:

            I’m certain it isn’t all they eat. She spends more time (and $) making certain their food is nutritional. I don’t believe she buys cat food – but I am not certain. I know that her cats (and dogs) are the healthiest I’ve ever seen. She schools me all the time about health and nutrition. I appreciate the tip, though and I’ll ask her when I speak with her this week.

        • sleepyhead says:

          Here is a very good informational website about feline nutrition: http://catinfo.org/. There is a lot of useful info about the various diets and instructions about transitioning cats from a dry to a canned diet. She also explains how to make a homemade diet if that’s what you’re into.

          Interesting about the calcium levels and Evo. I will have to look into that.

          • lyn says:

            My vet thought the high calcium was from the higher protein in the food. I’ve read that FOS can be the culprit. His T4 has been normal; he’s 6 years old.

          • SHV says:

            Homemade cat food is probably the best nutrition/cost option. About three times a year I will make about 30 pounds of cat food and freeze it in 1 “week”size containers. Cats eat about 50/50 commercial/homemade. Best that I can tell, Weruva and Tiki Cat are the best commercial cat foods, but it isn’t cheap.

  11. votermom says:


  12. HELENK3 says:

    do not stand down wind

  13. HELENK3 says:

    Live video: Pair who made historic climb at El Capitan in Yosemite National Park hold news conference – @NBCNews
    see original on nbcnews.com

  14. foxyladi14 says:

    The nasty stuff is spreading like Wild Fire!!! 👿

  15. Mary says:

    Drudge reporting that the Ferguson protests—and the others extended across the country—were financed by George Soros. Says he has spent about $33 million to “be sure this important message and the issues involved get attention.”

    $33 million.

  16. HELENK3 says:

    Iowa Sen. Joni Ernst to deliver GOP response to President Obama’s State of the Union speech – @WSJbreakingnews
    Read more on online.wsj.com

  17. driguana says:

    So Valerie Jarrett says that “the president was a constitutional law scholar”. Wow…I always thought a scholar was someone well-versed and well-published in a particular discipline. Can anyone direct me to one single constitutional law paper that Obama wrote? Someone provide me with just one, legitimate example…just one. This woman is a total wack-job! ashttp://weaselzippers.us/211111-valerie-jarrett-on-obamas-executive-action-overreach-he-was-a-constitutional-law-scholar-and-hasnt-forgotten-a-thing/

  18. 1539days says:

    So, I’ve been writing this week about how Islam is at the root of Islamic terror, whether you want to call it a political or cultural issue, because so many Muslims are told how to follow their religion by their governments. On CNN, Christianne Amanpour called the French terrorists “activists” which some people took as softening their motivation. In my opinion, it makes my case. If an environmentalist is obsessed with the environment, the environmental activist goes and destroys property to make their point. In the same way, a Muslim hates the offense of Charlie Hebdo, but the Muslim activist is the one who delivers retribution. One is an offshoot of the other.

  19. piper says:

  20. HELENK3 says:

    stolen from Rev Amy’s place

  21. HELENK3 says:


    parents being investigated for letting kids walk home

    I guess I never realized just how picked on and abused I was as a kid. Walked to and from school and it was further than 1 mile.
    made to be responsible for my actions. could not blame anyone else for what I did. Expected to get good marks and do chores. Is it too late to sue the state because due to their neglect I grew up and knew that I had to take care of myself because no one else was going to do it for me and now I am upset?

    no it was not walking uphill both ways

Comments are closed.