How To NOT Make Friends And Influence People


Remember when Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and other civil rights leaders linked arms and blocked bridges and freeways, chanting “Fuck your commute!” while people were tied up in traffic for hours?

Yeah, me neither.

From The Stanford Daily:

Students shut down San Mateo-Hayward bridge; 68 people arrested, 11 jailed

Monday afternoon, Stanford students and community members shut down the San Mateo-Hayward Bridge in support of the Ferguson Action national demands, which include the demilitarization of local law enforcement and the repurposing of law enforcement funds to support community-based alternatives to incarceration.

According to Silicon Shut Down’s Twitter feed, 68 people were arrested in total. According to an email sent out to the Stanford community, 57 people were released and 11 have been sent to jail.

During the demonstration, participants engaged in nonviolent civil disobedience and attempted to block the westbound side of the bridge for 28 minutes to symbolize the fact that every 28 hours, a black person is killed by a police officer or vigilante, stated a press release from Silicon Shut Down, a collective of students that “organize in West Palo Alto, East Palo Alto and the Silicon Valley against state-sanctioned violence (police brutality) and other forms of systemic oppression,” according to their website.


The most obvious immediate reactions among the drivers who were stuck in traffic were puzzlement and anger. One man complained that the protest was lengthening a commute that was already an hour each way.


Additionally, during the demonstration, students held banners calling attention to the violence committed against black communities as well as the Palestinian and Mexican flags as an act of public solidarity with victims of state-sponsored and U.S.-sponsored violence in Mexico and Palestine.

“Combating the triplets of racism, militarism and materialism was one of the biggest legacies King left us,” said Bailey in a public statement. “We proudly carry the Palestinian flag as we call on Stanford to divest from human rights violations in the occupation and related state violence in the U.S. The recent trip of Black Lives Matter and Ferguson representatives to Palestine signifies these movements are coming together on a global scale.”

Protesters chose to inconvenience the weekend commute in order to remind Silicon Valley that “it can’t ignore oppression in the midst of its own comfort.”

“We chose to inconvenience the weekend commute because the status quo is deadly to the black and brown peoples of this country and can no longer be tolerated,” said participant Maria Diaz ’17. “We are honoring MLK’s legacy by forcefully reminding Silicon Valley that, decades after Martin Luther King, black lives, and brown lives, and the lives of all oppressed people, still matter.”

Fun times down on Leland’s farm. What wild stunt will these crazy college kids think of next? Nothing says “I’m down with the struggle” like a bunch of kids from one of the most privileged elite universities in the world blocking rush hour traffic.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the SF Bay area, the San Mateo Bridge crosses the bay about halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, from a few miles below Oakland Coliseum on the east side to few miles below SFO on the west.


The seven mile span connects what is known as the East Bay with the Peninsula and averages about 93,000 vehicles a day. A lot of those commuters using the bridge are not wealthy librul elites, they are wage slaves who trade long commutes for affordable housing outside the Bay Area.

If you’re looking to win the hearts and minds of the working class, that’s not how you do it. If you want to incite road rage, your odds of success are much higher. Seriously, it’s like these idiots are trying to fail on purpose.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to How To NOT Make Friends And Influence People

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I am rather proud of this tweet:

    And the rest was history.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    • votermom says:

      I remember when I used to think that the religious right was being ridiculous when it said that gay marriage was opening the door to normalizing perversions like pederasty, pedophilia, incest, bestiality, etc.
      But now we look at the culture and it doesn’t seem that ridiculous anymore.
      Either the culture holds & supports a norm, or it says anything’s ok.

  7. Lulu says:

    When I read about the current “acting out” by the current crop of protesters I feel like I am going back in time to when my kids and their friends were in late grammar school and junior high. This age group is much too old to be acting like 10-13 year olds. Or they are stupid. Their rationalizations and statements reflect serious maturity problems and inability to reason as well as a cry for adult attention. They have been enabled to remain young children with no sense of consequences, empathy for others (under the guise of empathy for others), or cause and effect. Now they are butthurt because people find them ridiculous.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    Last night:

    I like Larry Wilmore but this schtick won’t last long. Basically it’s the Black Daily Show. Of course Colbert’s ratings have been dropping for years already, so this will probably accelerate the decline.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    • piper says:

      There a huge continent where these people who yell racism at the drop of a snowflake could resettle and live off the ground occasionally fending off Boko Haram and others baddies.

    • elliesmom says:

      The young woman’s lack of self-awareness is what I took away from her rant. What young guy, white or black, wants to listen to his female roommate, white or black, obsess about her hair? And maybe her new roommates feigned ignorance about Michael Brown because they were suppressing their “whiteness” for her benefit. Maybe they thought he was a thug who got what he deserved, but didn’t want to start a new living arrangement off with a controversial topic. Why is she embarrassed about eating fried chicken? Last I checked the Colonel’s a gray-haired white guy. If black people were the only ones who listened to Miles Davis, most people wouldn’t even know who he is. I think her problem is for the first time in her life she’s left the black bubble she grew up in. The one where everything and anything is all about her. She might be surprised at how many black people don’t care about the things she worries about white people not caring about.

  12. votermom says:

    OT question
    I got an email thanking me for an online order that I didn’t make. Except that it had a different name & address, just the email address is mine.
    I checked my CC – no suspicious activity.
    This same person also used my email addy 2 years ago at a dvd kiosk (I got the return receipts) and lives 2 states over. While my personal email is rather generic, it is not at all similar to this person’s name, so while I thought that maybe it got fat-fingered 2 years ago, I’m wondering how they’d fat-finger it on an online order.

    What do I do? Should I contact the (small) retailer and tell them to cancel the order? It’s under my email and I have the order id, so I guess I could.

    • piper says:

      After living thru the pain of identity theft, I would not only contact the retailer, I would file a police report and change my e-mail address even though that it is a colossal pain in the tush.

      • votermom says:

        Can you tell me more?

        Edit: not sure of it qualifies as id theft since the perdon only seems to be using me email addy, not my credit info or name?

        • piper says:

          VM – will share more later today, on my way to Book Club. DH – id theft turned out to be a bigger and more involved situation. File a police report which you will need if this person decides to accelerate.

          • votermom says:

            I called the police dept (non-emergency desk) figuring they’d tell me how to file a report instead the lady took my name, address & number & told me an officer would call me back.:facepalm:

        • Lulu says:

          Since email is password protected it can be considered part of identity. My bank caught a bank card thief using my number when they slipped up and used their own email. The thieves were buying !GUNS! in Florida! When the bank told me what had been purchased with my card number I told them I would never buy cheap shitty guns like that! Especially not in Orlando. So email them back and tell them it is not you buying their crap because they may have stolen someone elses card or number.

        • votermom says:

          I emailed the retailer.

          Figuring out how to file a police report.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Myiq is right. Get three or four email addresses. It helps keep you secure. I have 7, but 3 are for disabled adults I cared for. And you guessed by now my first name isn’t a number, right,? But I’ve used that moniker on line for over 20 years.

    • elliesmom says:

      I got an email from WalMart letting me know the Wii game console I was supposed to pick up had been delayed 24 hours. I’m in Boston. The pickup was for a store near Houston. WalMart was indeed very interested. I’d definitely report it.

      • votermom says:

        Was it in your real life name or someone else’s? But not your credit card?

        • elliesmom says:

          It was my real life name. They had used the card number I had used once online at WalMart to order the stuff, but would have had to present the card to actually pick the stuff up. I don’t know if they had made themselves a card or not. It turned out to be a WalMart employee. WalMart was wonderful. Even sent me a gift card as compensation for my trouble. I had sent some photo files to them to print so the other grandmother could have some of the pics I had of our shared kids w/o having to mail them to her and paid with a credit card.

      • votermom says:

        I thought it might be phishing too, but the order link was to a legit site (mandrilla app which does online order tracking) and the online retailer seems legit too (small but been there a while).

        • smile says:

          At my job, we all got an email informing us about an order each of us “supposedly” placed. We contacted IT, and they said it was a phishing/spam and to delete it, and that IT was going to do their part to block/delete it or whatever they do with such things. So be cautious. Best to not touch/click/reply to any part of the email. If the purchase is from lets say “best buy”, then best to contact them from going to new browser and typing in their email address or by looking up a phone number for them. Do not use any part of the email as it is all a bait.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I sometimes make up email addy’s when filling out things like online polls that say “email required.” Maybe they made one up that is like yours.

      Knowing someone’s email address will let you spam them, but unless you know their password you can’t access their mail.

      I have one secure email account that I use for business only, like ordering from Amazon and so the bank can contact me. Then I have the email I use for most stuff. Lastly, I have a junk email I use to register for stuff. It’s the one that gets all the spam.

      Only the secure one has my real name on it. None of them have my real age, birthday, address or phone number.

      • votermom says:

        Yeah, that’s why I gave this person a pass on that dvd kiosk thing – maybe she/he made one up that accidentally matched mine. But why would someone give a fake email on an online order? Specially as I now know the other info the person gave on billing & shipping – name, address, phone.

        • NewOrleans says:

          I used to dismiss messages on one of my email addys from Facebook, b/c I didn’t have an account there with that address. I finally got tired of the notifications, so I reported them to FB. They then tried (repeatedly) to take over my email address. Why someone would go through that much trouble over a throwaway Yahoo email made no sense, but I wasn’t going to let them do it.

          Be sure you have a good password set on your email account, VM. Hackers use lists of regular words to try and break into accounts, so NEVER use a simple word that can be found in the dictionary. Use a combination of numbers and letters and make it as long as possible. Replace certain letters with numbers. i.e. Instead of using ‘votermom’ as your password, use ‘v0t3rm0m.’

          • votermom says:

            I have pretty good passwords, I think, kinda like that.
            It’s just that my email address itself is pretty simple, since I got it way back when the internet provider was new.

      • votermom says:

        I’m going to start the process of changing my “official” email too. My current one I made is too generic.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Every few years I start a new account for daily use. Switching over is a pain, but it eliminates a lot of clutter.

          I just leave the old one to die.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Good advice from the Klown. Also be aware that sometimes you get something that appears to be from a retailer that is itself spam looking for you to reply. I occasionally get something that looks like someone used my email address. I tend to just ignore them since I know there’s no link to any magic numbers. But changing things you use for shopping, etc. occasionally is a good idea.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        One of the favorite tricks of identity thieves is to steal your mail right out of your mailbox. They get your bank statements and credit card bills and they’re off to the races. Use a secure mailbox, and don’t dump your old statements in the trash where thieves can find them. Burn or shred them.

        • DandyTIger says:

          Agree. The home (or office) is the best place for identity thieves. There’s a cool show called “Hacking the System” that had a great episode on how identity thieves work, and how easy it can be. My favorite part was them using social engineering to get into an office (as copy machine repairmen), and swapping out the copy machine hard disk. If an office doesn’t set up the machine for security, copies made are stored on the disk. They also went for mail and trash at the residence.

  13. HELENK3 says:

    maybe those “students” should have spent that 28minutes on the bridge reading this. this affects the rest of their lives

    • piper says:

      but but this widdle snowflakes are trust fund babies or live in mommies’ basements who will skate thru life, the Peter Pan attitude, with everything provided for them.

  14. HELENK3 says:

    CAIR’s muslim conference in Texas does not believe in free speech

  15. swanspirit says:

    Another way to lose friends and influence people : This is a quote from a friend of mine on FB ; a really nice guy who works as a mason ,

    2 and a half weeks ago I mangled my left thumb with a table saw. … Flashback to the year 2008… I voted for some guy that promised to make health care affordable… flash back foreward… last week I took my own stitches out because I can’t afford no damn doctor…. I have no medical training… I don’t think my stitches were ready to come out!… Screw you Obama!

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m gonna break my own rules and post this here:

    Paranoid? Or not paranoid enough?

  17. foxyladi14 says:

    A lot of that going on these days. 🙂

  18. DandyTIger says:

    A lot of special snowflakes at my alma mater, Leland Stanford Jr University. I’m not the slightest bit surprised at these pathetic kids. One thing I noticed, being an out of place redneck at the school, rich kids at an expensive school didn’t make them smart. Some really stunningly stupid people there, just like ivy league schools in the east.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      They’re not bad kids, just young and dumb and ignorant. There is something to be said for mandatory military service – there are no special snowflakes in the army.

    • elliesmom says:

      If you’re not a legacy at one of the elite schools, it’s not easy to get in, but once you do, you discover you’re one of the smartest kids there.

  19. swanspirit says:

    OT : You may have already seen this, if not … you must ,

  20. SHV says:

    OT..”Source: Cardiac Surgeon Shot At Brigham And Women’s Hospital”
    Things have really gone to shit at my former hospital in Boston.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    I’m not planning on watching the SOTU and happy to report Vodkapundit (Stephen Green) will be drunkblogging tonight on the PJ Media homepage starting at 8:45pm ET.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      I can’t bring myself to click his link, is it about the no-go zones ? It’s true, they’re there. I think we have them here too. Shhhhhhhhhh.😉

  23. mothy6767 says:

    I watched the creepy Bill O’Reilly and that was the only time I listened to the one. No plans on ever doing it again. The 529 tax has already passed me off enough.Free community college for all but if she save screw you.

  24. HELENK3 says:

    so backtrack has broken 112 state of the union promises

    • Lulu says:

      Me too because I have been to MLK Day memorials followed by luncheons at black churches and it is the same menu. Juneteenth is even better because it is barbeque, homemade ice cream and watermelon. UNbelievably delicious and joyful food for great celebrations. These assholes want everyone to be as miserable as they are.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    Because nobody wants to see women suffraging.

  26. westcoaster says:

    the real state of the union (cartoon):

  27. HELENK3 says:

    isn’t this just peachy. obamacare share info with private businesses

  28. elliesmom says:

    Mini-Obama has left his successor quite a fiscal mess. I wonder what Obama’a successor will find in his/her first few weeks in office?

  29. Lulu says:

    “WASHINGTON—Speaking to reporters as he ran a tattered extension cord along the House of Representatives rostrum this afternoon, Vice President Joe Biden confirmed that he had arrived early in order to set up a fog machine for tonight’s State of the Union address.”,37812/?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=SocialMarketing&utm_campaign=Pic:1:Default&recirc=good-times

  30. HELENK3 says:

    let me see. backtrack spewing or walking over to the other side of the complex and see the rocket launch scheduled for 7:43 pm
    what should I do?

Comments are closed.