Is Walker Running? He Sure Looks Like He Is!

So they had that Iowa Freedom Summit get-together yesterday, and the general consensus is the big winner was Cheesehead Governor Scott Walker:

In the 2016 sweepstakes, the standout performances would probably go to Ted Cruz, Scott Walker, and Rick Perry. For Cruz, that’s delivering on expectations, as he’s well known by the grassroots for his oratory skills and passionate commitment. Walker, who has spent most of his time the last few years fighting for his reforms in Wisconsin, may have made a bigger impact with a surprisingly passionate speech, starting off with some self-deprecating humor and ending up giving something close to a stemwinder.

If you have been listening to the media the big players for 2016 are Jeb Bush, Chris Christie, and Mike Huckabee. Well, they had a little poll over at Hot Air, and guess what? The media is full of shit:


Those results aren’t scientific, but neither is the stuff the media pulls out of its ass.

As you can see, none of the media favorites even managed to score double digits. Bush and Christie got only 1% between them, and if you add in Huckabee that still only accounts for 2% of the votes cast. The big three were (in order) Scott Walker, Ted Cruz and Mitt Romney.

Roger Simon of Politico has already dubbed this the “GOP clown car” primary, even though there isn’t a single person officially running yet.

In 2008 there were eight Democrats officially competing, and a couple more (like Al Gore and Russ Feingold) who teased but ultimately didn’t run. In 1992 there were nine candidates, not counting Mario Cuomo. The Democrats won both of those elections.

It’s gonna be a long year, and my prediction is the final field of GOP candidates will include more than one serious contender.

Bonus footage:

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Is Walker Running? He Sure Looks Like He Is!

  1. HELENK3 says:

    scot walker has my vote. one of my choices for veep would be Alan West. that would take care of domestic issues and with what is going on around the world Alan West would be good on foreign and military issues. Both are strong good men who love the country. something we have not seen in 6 years.
    Ben Carson would be great as Secretary of Health. Ted Gowdy for DOJ.
    just my opinion

  2. HELENK3 says:

    interesting comments. seems like the dem ops are out already to try and damage him

    • piper says:

      He doesn’t scare easily and keeps plugging away. This is a man who has won the governorship 3 times in blue state Wisconsin.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    The winners even swept the 2nd Choice field ! Totally excited about how that’s trending on Hot Air. Whew, the msm polls have had me worried since they seem to want Hillary v. Jeb.

    Let the vetting begin, I think what doth not killed Walker in Wisconsin made him stronger, whatever they throw at him this go round I’m sure he can handle🙂

    I really do want to see more Dem candidates, in Aug 2007 I saw 7 of them in person at a Kos convention in Chicago … I knew I was looking at the next President, but had no idea it would be Obama …. he was so nervous, or maybe twitchy and fidgety, like he needed a cig? Just my impression at the time. Also at the time, the cult was starting to grow for the “cool, black guy”. Of course I was an Edwards fan and really don’t remember who my 2nd choice was. It was eventually Hillary at the end because I just couldn’t warm up to the cool black guy, not that impressed with his resume of professtional politician with no other experience. None.

    I did get to meet “Macaca” of George Allen gaffe fame. He was there for Bill Richardson and I asked him Why Richardson? He responded sweetly, he’s the only one here that makes sense on paper, referring to his Governor experience.

    I’d like to see Jim Webb jump in and shake things up, but the Dems have already started to do the dirty on him. That’s a shame😦

    • Jeb is the only one she could win against. There would be a lot of bitching and moaning about “dynasties” and there’s a legit argument to be made that she’s not actually part of a “dynasty.” Jeb cannot make that argument, given the multiple generations of wealth & privilege his family has enjoyed. Bill & Hillary are self-made people in one generation. Jeb’s father & brother were elected based on years of built-up political stock and networks. That’s the difference, and there would be buy in for that argument.

      Of course Hillary is combating all those little black seeds of hate planted in the hearts of millennials in the 90s, as well as America’s still-raging issues with sexism and its sub-nexus with agism, so there’s that to contend with.

      • Somebody says:

        My issues with Hillary don’t have anything to do with the 90’s, sexism or ageism. My issues with her have to do with her record and her proposed policies.

        I agree with you that Jeb would have to fight off “dynasty” claims, and rightfully so. He also has to make it through the primary process, which for him will be no easy task. Jeb is far too liberal for the base of the republican party, IMO. I still can’t believe he’s running, I honestly thought he’d given up on that idea. I guess power is the ultimate aphrodisiac…….ha Hillary and Bill have some of that going on too, don’t you think?

        Personally I don’t think Jeb or Hillary are what we need right now.

      • 49erDweet says:

        The sexism thing worries me, too, an ancient white male. If our first woman president isn’t a dynamite leader it could set women back a couple more generations, just the way Obumbler-in-chief has set back blacks.
        Ageism, OTOH, doesn’t bother me as much. I’m 84, and very much concerned with the health and vigor required to govern possessed by folk 20 years younger. Based on my experience it’s a valid issue.

        • Constance says:

          I can get a senior discount many places and I don’t want a President who will be 70 while serving. Hillary, Brown, Biden and Warren missed their timing in my book.

  4. 1539days says:

    I had this conversation yesterday. Scott Walker is a governor, battle tested, a solid economic conservative and not too much of a media personality like Rick Perry (who is actually kind of an iffy conservative as well). He would be my choice.

    But what do I know? I wanted Alan Keyes to win when he ran for president. Man, I wish he beat Obama in that Senate race.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Did you see where Mike Ditka apologized for not running in that Senate race ? LOL, you know he would have beat Obama being the Chicago legend that he was (still is).

      • 1539days says:

        I remember following that race almost in its entirety. I didn’t know it at the time, but it was textbook Obama. His first opponent in the general election, Jack Ryan, had divorce records mysteriously opened. His ex-wife was Jeri Ryan and in 2004 she had just been on TV in Star Trek Voyager. So there’s all these stories of him taking her to swingers clubs and he just had to drop out.

        Ditka passed and the GOP was down to Alan Keyes. He wasn’t even from Illinois, and was criticized for having called Hillary a “carpet bagger” when running for the NY Senate in 2000. He had no chance, but yet again, private family information came out. His daughter was apparently blogging about being a lesbian, but doing it anonymously for the sake of her family.

        Opposition research has been the core of the Obama strategy. When he runs head on, it ends like the Bobby Rush victory. I only knew Obama then as the guy who cheated in Chicago.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    He gets heckled by illegals at about 12:45 but he ignores them.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    From the wayback machine. I found a clip of Edwards and Hillary going at each other at the YK07, it’s probably why I eventually supported her. You can see Obama trying to join the conversation but they wouldn’t let him.😉

  7. piper says:

    Always enjoy reading Lloyd Marcus’ threads – another good one
    The dirty little secret is that black America’s most formidable nemesis is liberals. Liberals treat blacks like mentally challenged children or savages incapable of being held to moral standards, too stupid to find their way to acquire a photo ID to vote. Liberal VP Joe Biden ranted that Republicans’ desire to require a photo ID to vote was a hate-filled racist attempt to disenfranchise black voters.

    Wow! Is requiring a photo ID all it takes to keep blacks en masse from the polls? Biden’s assumption is very insulting – typical liberal Democrat bigotry of lowered expectations.

  8. piper says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

      • elliesmom says:

        Yale’s campus cops have guns?

        • Myiq2xu says:

          I’m surprised they even have cops. Obviously there is no crime at Yale.

          • elliesmom says:

            Yale is in a shitty neighborhood. Like a lot of elite colleges. But I was really surprised they have guns. So I looked it up. Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Cornell, UPenn, and Brown all outfit their campus cops with guns. How does that fit into the liberal utopian ideals?

          • threewickets says:

            Yale campus cops are serious these days. They lock all the residential college gates now. They didn’t do that in my day when crime was higher. Think college settings have become more expensive and asshole-ish in general.

      • Myiq2xu says:

      • DeniseVB says:

        FFS. I was pulled over by a cop looking for a blonde runaway in a red mustang. I was happy to help him out and let him run my license and plates to prove I was from Virginia, not Maryland. I had my hands at 10 and 2 at all times, as I was taught when discussing a problem with an officer. He thanked me and I wished him good luck finding her. Okay, okay, white privilege? But I’ve seen what those white gals can do on “Cops”, and what they do back to them😉

        BTW, have they found the mysterious #NAACPBombing bald guy in the white truck ? I’m sure they’re still pulling people over…..

    • DandyTIger says:

      The elite 1% sure get testy when they’re treated like the rest of us.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Well, well, well:

      According to a university spokesperson, Yale police responded to emergency calls Saturday from undergraduates in Trumbull College. “Several students reported that an individual had just entered their rooms under false pretenses, pretending to be looking for someone.”

      The spokesperson states in an email that students at the College had been victims of a burglary that week and “a person matching the physical description of the individual, as well as the story of “looking for someone” has been seen several times in the college.”

      On Saturday night, students called police and described the suspect as a tall, African-American, college-aged student wearing a black jacket and a red and white hat, the spokesperson states.

      “This was the description that Yale police used as they converged on Trumbull and attempted to track down the suspect. During the efforts to locate and detain the suspect, a Yale College student, who closely matched the description of the suspect, was briefly detained and released by Yale police.”

      The actual suspect, seen fleeing Trumbull College, was “arrested shortly thereafter in Berkeley College (a residential college adjacent to Trumbull College) and will be charged with felony burglaries.”

      There is no mention in the statement of the student’s name, how long he was detained or whether police pointed a gun at him.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’ve been enjoying the Davoss articles on the hypocrisy of it all. Most people in attendance have made millions off of “green energy” projects, of course they’re “concerned” about Gorebal Warming, heh.

      Now about Bill Clinton’s $60,000 Rolex watch….. really Bill ? Who even NEEDS a watch in this tech age ?

    • Ann says:

      I’d sooooo love to be wealthy enough to have my own plane (or at least rent one whenever I wanted) and bypass the TSA bullshit. And I would not give a rat’s patootie who didn’t like it. If that makes me an obnoxious bad person, so be it.

      • DeniseVB says:

        You already have that opportunity to bypass TSA, some of my frequent flyer friends have it and love it …..

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Thanks!!! 🙂

        • DandyTIger says:

          Love precheck. And love flying private. And love driving further than I would have some years ago just to avoid the TSA and frankly the screwed up commercial airline status. We so need a shakeup in that industry.

        • Ann says:

          Precheck is just like Nexus and they check you down to your grandmother. Something I would do if I worked in Canada and commuted frequently (the border crossing lines are terrible), not something I’d do to fly. Ever.

      • Constance says:

        I seem to have acquired some status with TSA for being an old broad and they put me in a separate line where I don’t have to take off my shoes or open my bags and remove everything. I just walk through a scanner as is. I have a rebuilt ankle which used to set off their equipment and even that isn’t causing problems now. But I do always bring my passport and I have to say they seem to know who I am. I have worked for the Feds so they have my finger prints and all and maybe my new status is based on that.

        The thing that worries me is if they stop searching some demos like old broads, developmentally delayed, children, etc, it makes those folks targets for terrorists to blackmail or force to carry bombs.

  10. Falstaff says:

    Today’s real story is the election in Greece. Polls remain open for another 90 minutes or so, but it looks like the anti-austerity left will win. If they can form a government, the Eurozone is going to face a real challenge. Much more rides on this than on some beauty contest in flyover country.

    • 1539days says:

      The first thing they’d have to do is ask for more IMF money.

    • driguana says:

      I’ve been trying to follow this because I agree that it appears to have a very important bearing on the European economy but I don’t quite get it. So the far left anti-austerity party wins and they are going to do away with the previous austerity measures because they were so far in debt but how will they go forward? Just ignore their fiscal situation as all good leftists do? How do they plan to revive the failing Greek economy? Can someone explain this?….

      • votermom says:

        Just ignore their fiscal situation as all good leftists do?


      • Falstaff says:

        A fair bit depends on whether Syriza gets enough seats to form a government on their own. Last I looked, they had at least 149 seats but there were still some races undecided. The magic number is 151: if they get there, the can govern solo. Tsipras has committed himself to renegotiating the austerity terms of the EU-IMF bailout, but Germany (which calls the shots in the EU fiscal realm) has said there can be no renegotiation of the austerity provisions. That leaves default and an exit from the Euro as Tsipras’s threatened move. That would surely do damage to the economies of the Eurozone, but the Greek economy is not big enough to really matter — it’s currently about 2% of the total EU output. However, Spain, Portugal, and Italy are facing similar political movements. If Greece bids farewell to Euroland and can still find someone to lend (obviously at higher rates), this could be the beginning of some serious realignment among Europe’s economies. If the Syriza ploy fails, there is likely to still be a real economic price to pay, and political unrest will only get worse. Add in the fact that the Greek neo-Nazis won at least 16 seats (even with their political leadership in jail), and you have the makings for a real mess. Right now, anyone with any sense and the means to do so is looking to get the hell out of town. That’s bad because it costs the country the very people it needs to recover from the current catastrophe.

        • 1539days says:

          I think Iceland tried to drop austerity. They still had to take IMF money and the citizens had their credit destroyed, since many credit cards are issued from outside banks.

        • angienc says:

          Syriza — the communists — won outright and the fools that voted for them are going to get what they voted for as the communist party — the party that put Greece in this situation by what they did years ago and which is now coming to a head — once again destroys Greece as they have every since the end of WW2.

          Everyone: please ignore Falstaff — I actually speak Greek and have the Greek channels and can assure he that he doesn’t know what the fuck he is talking about; he is just cutting and pasting from sources to sound “smart.”

      • angienc says:

        Just ignore their fiscal situation as all good leftists do?

        Yes — that’s the plan.
        Syriza is communist btw (moderate communist, not hard core communist — as you probably know, in Europe there are several versions of communism).

        • votermom says:

          It must be very disappointing to your family there. Sorry.😦

          • angienc says:

            Yes it is, but about 1/2 of them are bums who don’t want to work and voted for SYRIZA (and btw, it should b all caps because it’s an acronym — I made the typo because of that idiot Falstaff writing it the wrong way — I meant to correct it in my post & forgot).
            For me it sucks because my parents and I own 2 houses and they’ve already raised taxes 5x in the last few years so I’m sure these bastards will raise them some more.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    Hey you guys in the path of Winter Storm Juno, be safe ! Here’s my husband (not really) after hearing our area has a 10% chance of a dusting…….

    • elliesmom says:

      We got hit with about 6″ yesterday. Another 18-24″ on the way for tomorrow night. First real snow of the season. Mother Nature is making up for lost time. We have a full freezer and fridge, lots of toilet paper and pet food, and fine wine in a box. Let her come!

      • foxyladi14 says:

        Candles Flashlights Battery Radio!!! 🙂

      • votermom says:

        We got around 4 inches of wet heavy snow yesterday.
        Supposedly we get more snow tomorrow morning and tomorrow evening, but they are unable to predict how much (the range is from 2 inches to a foot)
        I think I need more bread.

      • swanspirit says:

        We are expecting anywhere from 2 inches to 2 feet , on Monday. We are on a blizzard watch. I have a full freezer, bread , milk , paper products,and dry wood in the bin next to the fireplace, just in case the power goes out. I hope it doesn’t come to that.

    • piper says:

      too funny

    • votermom says:

      Finished my panic buying.

    • leslie says:

      Everybody be safe. Don’t go out if you don’t have to. Say warm. Extra blankets and layers if needed.

    • elliesmom says:

      I always appreciate it when someone takes the time to point out one does not have to be a religious zealot or even believe God exists to have severe reservations about abortion on demand. I have always only been tepidly pro-choice, willing to go along as long as we were talking “safe, legal, and rare”, but we are so far past that point now, I am open to abortion becoming more difficult for women. A lot more difficult.

      • piper says:

        Same here – am concerned that abortion is being used as birth control when there are meds. and other means for birth control but of course that implies responsibility of both adults.

      • Constance says:

        Same here too, but then I’m too old to get pregnant at this point and that may be causing my change of heart.

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    • piper says:

      Take that Jessie Ventura, the absolute worst governor of Minnesota, a crybaby who decided not to run again because of his low approval numbers but blamed the media stating that they were picking on his wife.

      • 1539days says:

        Did he mean his wife or himself in the feather boa?

        • piper says:

          LOL – He ran as an independent against Skip Humphrey (D) and Norm Coleman (R) – idiots who turned off the voters with their constant bickering and accusations. Jessie as well as his team were quite surprised when he won (knew one of team thru family connections)

  13. mothy6767 says:

    My back molar collapsed in my face today. I was f feeling sad. I t is all above the gum so I can hopefully get a cap. Still felt like Shit then my eternal annoyance plopped herself down on the rim of the tub and just spewed the most inane Shit.
    I could not help but think of my favorite Sonnet

    When in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes
    I all alone beweep my outcast state,
    And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries,
    And look upon myself, and curse my fate,
    Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,
    Featured like him, like him with friends possessed,
    Desiring this man’s art, and that man’s scope,
    With what I most enjoy contented least;
    Yet in these thoughts my self almost despising,
    Haply I think on thee, and then my state,
    Like to the lark at break of day arising
    From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate;
    For thy sweet love remembered such wealth brings
    That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

    • sleepyhead says:

      You’re not alone. The bonding chipped off one of my front teeth last night. It looks scary and I have to meet with a new client today. I’ll have to try to keep my mouth shut. Going to try to get to the dentist tomorrow before it gets worse. Hope it’s not too expensive – I just spent a pile of money that I don’t have, and most of the day yesterday, getting my office computer fixed (with more expense ahead to transfer data).

    • piper says:

      Take care – teeth problems are a pain.

    • Constance says:

      I’m so sorry, I hope things pick up for you.

  14. lyn says:

    Turning the tables

  15. mothy6767 says:

    Best present ever– a card with a straight A report card tucked inside. Even evil common core math. It is actually not that bad the approach is just strange. 193 minus 17 for us is borrow a ten 13 less 7 is 6 8 less one is 7 equals 176. Common core is 193 becomes 190 17 becomes twenty so you have 190 minus twenty which leaves you with 170. Not the answer so you have to add in the three to make 193 190 then you have to add in the 3 you made 17 20. Way too many steps. I see where they are coming from but it can be very confusing

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    Winning the election was the easy part.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. HELENK3 says:

    a very much needed just because

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Watched The Wedding Crashers on my … cough, free, cough …. HBO this afternoon, if this link works, a studio photo of Bradley Cooper 10 years ago. I think this movie put him on the map ?

  20. DeniseVB says:

    SAG Awards are on now. Stay off twitter if you w.coasties don’t want spoilers.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Not a spoiler, this is just a photo of “Alex Dunphy”, the middle child, on Modern Family. (SAG, red carpet)

Comments are closed.