Saggy Monday Open Thread

Last night the Screen Actors Guild honored one of the great ones for her lifetime achievement, although if I was an aging actress I’m not sure I would want a SAG Award. Anyway, Debbie Reynolds still rocks.

This is an open thread.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

92 Responses to Saggy Monday Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Apparently the NE seaboard is buried in global warming today.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Lots of people were talking about Sons of Liberty last night:

  3. HELENK3 says:

    why Scott Walker is driving libs crazy

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Take a spin around Left Blogistan and see how many articles about the Iowa shindig mention Scott Walker compared how many mention Sarah Palin.

      Then do the same thing on the rightie blogs.

    • piper says:

      Like this article written by Herman Cain, someone who has business acumen and talks reality rather than utopian drivel.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    • 49erDweet says:

      Example of a necessary law enacted during WWII never being taken off the books because it could be manipulated to benefit an industrial bigwig. Bad government! Both parties!

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s the list of SAG winners and losers….

    It’s really a head scratcher since they call this show a predictor of the Academy Awards, yet no acting nominations for Selma or American Sniper either ? Twitter was happy last night when a couple of lovely black actresses won their categories. “Yay diversity ! Hollywood isn’t racist afterall! We overcame!”

    Here’s Eddie Redmayne’s acceptance speech ….. he’s such a sweetie …..

  7. Myiq2xu says:

  8. leslie says:

    I was happy with the show last night and the winners’ speeches (for the most part). Of course, Eddie Redmayne’s award was well-earned and it should have been his second. And JK Simmons performance/character was the center of “Whiplash”. I loved his acceptance speech. Weren’t you surprised at the Downton Abbey award? I couldn’t figure out which character the sparkling redhead was until she spoke. Upon realizing it, I nearly fell out of my chair.
    But I was really most pleased that “Birdman” won the ensemble award. I honestly haven’t stopped thinking about “Birdman” since I saw it. It was that good.
    My regret was that in order to watch SAG, I missed “Downton Abbey” and could not watch it on-demand last night. oh well, perhaps tonight.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. piper says:

    Where do the wealthiest 1% live of 7.125 billion people – Countries with the largest share of the wealthiest 47 million people (Guess which country has the most)

  11. piper says:

    • Somebody says:

      Piper did you read the rest? To be in the top 1% requires $798,000 in assets, but if you click the link to the rest of the story it is quite telling. If you have $77,000 of assets you are in the top 10% worldwide, if you have $3,650 in assets you are in the top 50%.

      Apparently there are 18 million Americans with enough equity in their house and 401Ks to qualify as part of the 1%, even though most of them likely don’t feel like they’re wealthy.

      I dare say virtually every American has $3,650 in assets to be in the top half. I know plenty of people will say, no, no they don’t, but even poor people in the US have cars, TV’s, jewelry, furniture, etc., that would easily add up to $3,650. I would venture to say a very large portion of Americans meet the $77,000 threshold, especially if they’ve owned a home for any length of time or heck even if they own two fairly new cars outright.

      • HELENK3 says:

        how are you dong???

        • Somebody says:

          Doing OK……two weeks! I spent last week at Disney World with the family which kept me really busy, a different park every day. I’d say yesterday and this morning were some of the strongest cravings I’ve had, but I have my non-nicotine e-cigarette/vaporizer to puff on so it’s all good. Technically you’re supposed to use e-cigs in the smoking areas at Disney, but I didn’t……..I puffed on mine in the bathroom, it was like being in high school all over again, LOL!

          BTW if I knew how to post pictures I would have had fun taunting all of you. I became simply amazed at the elasticity of spandex. My husband became really annoyed with me pointing things out because he would always look, LOL! I was even more amazed at what people think they should be wearing or look good in, OMG!! There should be a weight and an age limit on certain items of clothing. Mini skirts and short shorts too, sometimes you should just say no! My husband was really put off by a group of drag queens, they were really ugly and creepy. They dressed like female fairy tale characters, except with Adam’s apples, 5 o’clock shadows, ruddy complexions and hairy or stubbled legs. I guess they were more like weekend drag queens or something. People watching at Disney can be as much fun as the rides, LMAO!

          Anyway some days I see myself as a non-smoker, like it’s all behind me. Then days like yesterday I see myself as the worst addict in the world and wonder if I’ll ever recover, but I’m taking things one day at a time. Thanks for asking Helen.

      • piper says:

        Agree……but what about other debt like property taxes, college expenses, credit cards, home loans (my sister remodeled her mortgage less home last year – new loan, they’re enjoying the improvements however the overall house value if put on market is down not up, also been hit with increase property taxes). If you take money from any type of retirement plan like pension, 401K, IRA, you’re hit with declaring such on income tax putting you in higher income bracket paying out more. We may look good on paper but day to day reality is a different picture.

        Good to see you back.

        • Somebody says:

          Piper I completely agree with you, it’s all on paper. However, it does drive home the point that just by virtue of being in the US you are most likely wealthy. Our standard of living is so much higher than many other countries, our poor live better than the middle class in many countries…….yet those little twits with OWS want to claim to be downtrodden.

          • piper says:

            Ah yes, those poor trust fund babies with OWS suffering the indignity of having to never work to pay for day to day living expenses.

      • Constance says:

        Something seems off about that 1%er article because Zillow says my house is worth $800,000. and I don’t have a mortgage but it is a 1948 rambler with 4 bedrooms and 1 3/4 baths. The largest bath is about 9ft by 7 ft and there is no master bath. I don’t live in the best part of town by far and all the houses around me are in the same price range so I feel pretty middle class. They should adjust that figure for cost of living. We were just in Florida and you could get a 15 year old well designed house that was three bedroom two bath in a gated community for $130K. Fortunately the weather in Seattle is beautiful right now because I was pretty tempted. This “wintery mix” weather combined with getting dark at 4:30pm really gets to you.

        • Somebody says:

          That’s the point Constance there are 18 million Americans in the 1%, but many of them certainly don’t feel like it. Some do, like Bill Gates or the Hollywood crowd. Many of those 18 million simply own a home that is worth a lot of money on paper, or they have squirreled away a nice nest egg through investments or a 401K. They aren’t jet setters by any means, however if they cashed out and moved to BFE perhaps they could be jet setters.

          There is no adjustment for cost of living because that’s not how the study was done. There are lots of Europeans with tiny little flats worth several million on paper, but they’re barely scraping by in real life…….yet they are included in the 1%. Everything is relative huh?

    • votermom says:

      • DandyTIger says:

        Reminds me, got to get a bigger pig roaster. Might be some new uses for it soon. Also, more ammo.

        • piper says:

          Wonder if my father-in-law’s civil war guns could actually be used? Better stick with my bow and arrows.
          Need to get a new boat and fishing pole to use on Lake Michigan.

  12. HELENK3 says:

    is there anytime that this fool has gone overseas and not been an embarrassment to this country?

  13. piper says:

    Sorry guys, Obama has always used people to get ahead but has never done anything to help them. Remember when he was in the Illinois senate and did nothing to alleviate the problems such as freezing decrepit apartments, rats, garbage, etc. in his district.

    “Was it all about using us?” he asked. “Was it all about getting all the people behind you to get you in the White House?” Black Chicago leaders have their say on Obama.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I remember BO was helping his Chicago slumlord friends, Valerie Jarrett being one of them. Now she’s his brain in the WH. Very telling. And scary.

      • Somebody says:

        Yep and people wonder why things are so screwed up. You hit the nail on the head, our country is being run by a slumlord and her puppet, OY!

  14. HELENK3 says:

    here is the whole ad

  15. Somebody says:

    Klown did you see this? I assume you did, if not enjoy.

  16. piper says:


  17. DeniseVB says:

    Oh dear….a guy killed himself in front of the Fox News building because Fox ruined his life !?

    Does this mean we can say MSNBC ruined the country ? Tingles, Sharpton and all ? Hope they investigate this guy or let us know what else was in the suicide note. Disgruntled employee? Hope it wasn’t Gregg Jarrett, I miss the guy …. from last summer….

  18. mothy6767 says:

    The Interview is on Netflix. Eminem is funny but is one long gay joke. Rogan is a bit fixated on homosexuality. Didn’t find it offensive just boring. Maybe that is what teenage boys find funny. He openly drooled over Efron in neighbors This is the End is loaded with same sex jokes. He made a movie with Streisand. Me thinks the writer Roth protest too much. Maybe I am a drip in my senescence it strikes me as infantile. Is it because he is a liberal Hollywood elite that he is never taken to task by the micro aggression crowd. As a gay man I am not offended just bored.

  19. mothy6767 says:

    The noise about not getting Bibi because of a coming election complete BS? Caroline Glick unveiled this

  20. mothy6767 says:

    I remember reading a few years back that if a child qualified for free or reduced lunches but the parents opted to bag it they were eligible for a stipend of 1.80/ per day as long as the lunches were healthy. It was on the top of the monthly menu they send home. Pup carries her lunch she does not get subsidized. I am not stressed about lunch. I’d say it costs 25 maybe 30/wk. Was cheaper because last year she could buy milk at school. Now they sell super skim and if you do not buy the meal milk is more expensive than 7/11. No thanks she has a thermos.
    I know a single mother in the district that has four kids. Personifies why we need to give a hand up. Married young to a guy that spoke with his fists. She had babies. Great mother who obsessed over her kids. Free lunch now sucks. It is garbage kids will not eat it.
    Her daughter takes tae kwon do with my brat. Yellow belt ceremony she told me it is tough managing the monthly fee but she wishes someone would have provided her with the self esteem her daughter is getting from breaking a few boards.
    I am such a lazy fuck I sometimes buy pre made peanut butter and jelly for lunch. I have no issue with free school lunches. Almost feel lunch should be a part of the day. We spent over a billion in Yeman in two years why are school lunches an issue. The mother of my brat’s friend takes very good care of her kids. Four of them all polite active. I do a lot with pup’s friends. Bowling mini golf sleepovers. I am not some benevolent giver. Often a relief to just say bowl and get away from me.
    Maybe I feed one child three times a week and transport her to class. Maybe I have to endure the living room becoming an island fort every Saturday night. They pull in all the chairs from the dining room and use hair bands to construct a boat that owns my living room.
    Broke mother bought my pup a belt shadow box for Christmas. Crazy she cannot afford but it was reciprocity
    Anywho I respect this woman and her progeny. I know I read the amount per student can be refunded if your child carries a lunch. The school lunches are so bad I want her to take advantage of this program but I used bing, Google and Yahoo. I can find nothing about it. She has four kids from 3rd to 7nth. 1.80 times 4 times 5 make a big dent in weekly shopping. Again one billion in Yemen but a struggling mother in America fuck you let THEM EAt KAllE.

    • Somebody says:

      Tim probably someone with the school system would know the answer. Each state tends to use their free and reduced monies in slightly different ways and even within the same state, districts can vary.

  21. mothy6767 says:

    I bought this new Nieman Marcus ensemble from the tin foil collection and it is screaming like cults depriving students of whole protein to bend the will of novices our inedible school lunches make kids pliable. Egg whites are a super food. Cheap . Kale is awful. Adults on health kicks hide it in smoothies. No one eats it let alone kids. I am fixated on balanced meals for my crud and I confess I have dropped egg whites into a juice drink. I think Michelle’s school lunches are designed for tubby people over the age of 40. Kids need something different than adults. Except for noses and ears we stop growing late puberty. Most of you have kids I am new to looking at a baby and thinking she is getting fat and then six months later she is three inches taller and skinny. Fucking blows my mind.
    Kids need protein and carbs. Fat kids are sad but it is not school lunches that enable obesity. It is neglect and DNA. Lunch program under Obama has become a punishment. Kids do not need the monitoring of an adult. Obese children do not nor have ever gotten fat because of a cheeseburger on Thursday. Look at the science you lipsticks hunger makes people over eat. Shifty meals lacking protein make you hungry. Science pure and simple growing bodies crave nutrients.
    Cost me next to nothing to bag a lunch I have been called names because it is offensive for me to buy her her own lunch instead of participating in lunch program
    I am hurting illegal kids because well we all know what evil great uncle tyrants are. Simple fucks crud is a vegetarian. I could demand they accommodate her would cost them more. So far no examinations have been done on her lunch box but they are allowed to inspect and she is not allowed to share anything in her lunch box. That is how crazy stuff is.

  22. HELENK3 says:

    awesome Gary Sinise reply to howard dean on American Sniper

Comments are closed.