Another Small Step



Mormon church announces support for legal protections for gay people

After years of behind-the-scenes meetings between LGBT advocates and top Mormon leaders, church officials Tuesday announced for the first time general support for legislation to protect LGBT people in areas such as housing and employment – as long as accommodations are made to protect the freedom of religious people who oppose such measures.

“We must all learn to live with others who do not share the same beliefs or values,” read a statement released at a midday Salt Lake City news conference.

Church officials emphasized that there has been no change of the doctrine. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints teaches that it goes against the law of God to have sex outside of marriage between a man and a woman.

LGBT advocates had mixed reactions to the announcement, which mirrors a national discussion about how to balance civil rights of gays and lesbians with the religious freedom of conservatives of different faiths who oppose gay equality, among other liberalizing moves.

“As a matter of policy, there’s no ‘there’ there,” said Fred Sainz, a spokesman for the Human Rights Campaign. “The so-called religious exemption is the size of five Mack trucks. It entirely neuters their proposal.” However, that doesn’t mean the announcement won’t impact the topic, he said. “In the relationship..between Mormon families and their LGBT children and LGBT friends, I have no doubt that this will be deeply meaningful…From the perspective of symbolism, this is a step forward in the continued acceptance of LGBT people by the church.”

But Jim Dabakis, a gay, married Utah state senator who was involved in talks with church leaders in recent years, has a different take.

“As long as: ‘It’s the whole enchilada or nothing,’ as long as you’re using rhetoric to rev up your base…and not involved in saying: ‘Let’s find that common ground,’ when you find that kind of good will, like the church has…it’s a golden moment and that’s here we need to be going in America,” he said Tuesday.

So far the usual suspects on the Left are mostly just ignoring this story. Few organizations are hated by LGBT activists more than the Church of Latter Day Saints. On the other hand, few activists are more hateful and annoying than LGBT advocates. No matter how much you do for them they’re angry you didn’t do more.

When I was born homosexuality was considered a mental illness and consensual homosexual “sodomy” was a crime. We’ve come a long way since then, but there is still a ways to go. Depending on what SCOTUS decides same-sex marriage may be legal in all 57 states by this summer. I support same-sex marriage and LGBT rights, but I also understand that some people sincerely believe that homosexuality is a sin. I don’t think that makes them evil.

Some of the laws, policies, rules and regulations that are still on our books weren’t meant to discriminate against homosexuals, but they certainly have that effect. But compared to the slow pace of change in law and government the rate of change in religious institutions is glacial.

Since men wrote the law, men can change the law. But religion is (allegedly) handed down from the Creator. If you don’t agree with God’s laws well tough shit. He’s God and you’re not, so obey him or burn in hell.

That is why this really is a big deal. It’s like a glacier suddenly sliding forward several feet. It’s still a glacier, but it moved.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

106 Responses to Another Small Step

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      A simple image search for other FLOTUS’ (I only did Hillary and Laura on official visits with their husbands to Saudia Arabia), neither one of them had head scarfs on. As much as MO annoys me, I think this is unfair to her. Fox News is so annoying this morning with their “clickbait” reporting. Stupid “tell us what you think”.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I’ve seen a couple articles. Apparently some people in the media are unaware that there are two Saudi Arabias. There is one inside the walls of heavily guarded compounds where the rules don’t apply, and then there is one outside the walls where the rules are strictly enforced.

      • piper says:

        Anything goes when they leave S.A. for Europe or America. Parties, Drinks and Women

    • Constance says:

      When people complain about Arab women being covered and covering their hair what always comes to my mind is the men are completely covered and cover their hair too. So it does seem like a unisex cultural custom.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Daily Mail has some nice photos of the Saudi visit. Poor MO, she can’t help she has a natural BRF😉 (bitchy resting face)

  3. votermom says:

    Hah, on topic:

    How Marine Le Pen is winning France’s gay vote
    The Front National now has the support of a quarter of Paris’s gay voters – and only 16 per cent of the straight ones

    Btw, it’s amusing how slanted the spectator article is.

  4. votermom says:

    I sort of accomplished something today! I “fixed” our fridge water dispenser which stopped working yesterday – turns out the hose coiled behind the veggie drawer had frozen when hubby made the temp colder yesterday. I ran a hair dryer over it to thaw it.
    But we still have an ongoing issue with it — it only works if someone also turns on a nearby faucet. Something to do with the water pressure — I guess there’s some part in there on its last legs.

  5. piper says:

    Will we ever learn the truth

  6. piper says:

    For the children

    • 49erDweet says:

      The CIA is long past it’s “best by” date. We need to put it out of it’s lying misery. They can’t be trusted in small things so how can they be taken seriously with important stuff? Any administration relying on their advice is just shooting craps.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Proof that Charles Blow blows …. more details on his son’s unfortunate encounter with the Yale police….the officer is black. The Yale police chief is black ….

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Another tragedy’s anniversary today. It’s one that I remember where I was also. Put my daughter on the kindergarten bus, went back inside and turned on the news before heading to work and watched the launch live…..then the expolsion. Horrifying to watch in real time, I forgot all about working that day.

    • mothy6767 says:

      I was at Purduein a lecture hall l the lights went off and everyone sat silent

    • Somebody says:

      I saw it live in the sky, where I live you can see the shuttle launches. I took my son outside as soon as it launched so we could see it, something we always did. Things seemed normal, I’ve watched so many launches, but then suddenly things weren’t normal, my brain knew something was different, something was wrong, but my mind thought surely NASA had it under control…….you know that moment of disbelief. Then my son said “Space shuttle go boom”, that’s when it started to sink in. I searched the sky looking for parachutes, something, any sign the astronauts made it, but they didn’t.

    • Constance says:

      I was driving by myself and had to pull over and just sit for a few minutes. It was horrible.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I was living in eastern Virginia and we had the shuttle launch on at the office. It was surreal because we all grew up with the space program and it felt like deja vu. The Challenger disaster happened almost to the day of the Appllo 1 fire.

  9. mothy6767 says:

    Gay stuff is tricky because a few people screaming don’t actually represent anyone but themselves. I love chic-fil-a. No pompous ass writing for the times or voice is going to dictate how I feel. My favorite boss ever was found of saying the customer is always right except of course when he is wrong. I personally think the ideal situation for a child is having a mom and a dad. My life changed radically for me when I had to start thinking about little one. My situation has nothing to do with gay rights. It is about me as a person and her as a separate person. She is not a fashion statement. Be real everyone knows if you are a gay the correct fashion statement is an Asian baby. White kids are so out of can wear pretty much anything with an Asian baby in a sling. Whites tend to look washed out with pastels.
    Eight years I have dealt with the pain. I did not ask for it nor did I want it. The ball was dropped and I was the only one near enough to see she needed someone. Most important thing in the world for me but it has nothing to do with gender preference. If anything she has made me more of a man. So many slights during my life I let go because I thought not worth it. Different with a kid I am savage. Way before Rick ate a man’s throat on the Walking Dead I had baby girl at the zoo. I was changing her and this man was watching and then he said something. I went full animal I wanted to rip his throat out and spit back in his face. People held me down. He was arrested and filed charges against me. I have no doubt if I had not been stopped one of us would be dead.
    I worry every day about her. I am clinical because I even worry about stuff ten years down the road. Kids are tough. I get into arguments all the time with my gay friends how can you say being gay is natural and then in the same breath say I want a kid because I want to be needed. I have so much to give.
    Shut up. Kids are the most annoying things ever. Once you worry once you are destined to a life of fear. Never would I take back the last eight years but it is work.
    Her mom is a cutter her dad is in and out of jail for petty crimes. He lives with a woman in Section 8 housing. To quote Amy no no no. It is end of the road mentality. Get a near free apartment, a phone cheap internet but that is all there will ever be. Drones. Christmas was over a month ago and he has yet to give her one thing. Stuff doesn’t matter but oh does he like. On his Facebook page he goes on about sending her to college and how it is killing him. So dumb he tells that to a judge. She says let me see receipts he has none. I do 50/wk auto deposits to her 529 but the account is in my name..He went to PNC and tried to withdrawal all of it. Raised a stink my daughter my money. No you ass it is in my name and even if I wanted to cash out it would take weeks and end up with a check. He is so far gone he told pup it is okay to steal because other people have too much. Hell no. She is funny 3rd grade but she gets to administer make up tests to the whole school. Insane world her parents are pretty thieves and big razor cutting drama seekers. Her dad is borderline illiterate mother is I am crazy send me to school for free because somehow an associate’s degree makes you less crazy. Crud is straight A’s. I am so blessed that I get to fight with her e very morning yet I no matter how much I love still think most children belong with a mom and dad. My baby is extreme but even with her I am going to have to say I am gay. I think she may know or is at least getting close. 8 years I have poured my soul into her. Best friend. When it happens she is allowed to feel whatever. I am braced she can hate me betrayal shame disgust I will deal. My relationship with her has nothing to do with anyone at the New York Times. You will not tell me how I relate to anyone ever. I find the older I get the more I find institutions like the Times more pathetic. Life is hard for everyone. You get kicked you get back up or you wallow. The Times to me celebrates whining. Victomhood becomes identity. Everything is some one else’s fault.ugh I have no patience. Brat whines about homework I say fine be a waitress cause without work all you a re going to do is serve the people that did the work. I waited tables and tended bar thirty years so I permit myself to make such an openly offensive statement.

    • swanspirit says:

      When I was in Nursing School, it was hard and stressful. Every time we were discouraged or scared , my buddy Bernie (short for Bernadette) and I would say, “We can always go back to being waitresses” and then we would scream NOOOOO and get our courage back, and keep on working.

    • Constance says:

      I have seen that gay people can be fine parents and I don’t believe that gays should be discriminated against in work or housing. But I do have a problem with gay activists. They don’t seem to realize that most marriage laws came about to provide for children that inevitably came about when a man and woman marry. Gay unions do not randomly produce unwanted children that must be provided for or are dumped on society so no law was needed. Also Gays act like marriage is the gold standard of relationship status when in fact it doesn’t insure love, affection, economic success etc. The only two good reasons I can see for marriage are children and money and since I don’t need more of either I would never consider another marriage if I found myself single. But if gays want to subject themselves to marriage who am I to stop them.
      Another thing that always bothered me is gays always had the right to marry the opposite sex person of their choosing just like straight people. When they answer back they couldn’t marry the person they love I just have to laugh. I would say the vast majority of straight people over the centuries did not marry for love.

      • Somebody says:

        Personally I don’t care if gay people want to get married, but I do draw the line at forcing a minister to perform the ceremony or even a notary if they’re uncomfortable with it.

        In other words where do the rights of other people come in? The rights of the individual who because of their religious beliefs is opposed to gay marriage? Why are the rights of the gay person greater than the rights of the minister or what have you. I’m thinking specifically of the two ministers that a court ordered them to perform same sex marriages recently. In a battle between freedom of religion and someone’s civil rights where does one draw the line? That’s a slippery slope that could have far reaching consequences, think Sharia law and the conflicts there with far more than gay rights.

        I think those are interesting questions that need to be answered. I also oppose all the stupid gay cake stuff. You know if they don’t want to make you a cake then you probably would be well advised to get your cake somewhere else. It’s their business and you know the market has a way of working things like that out.

        As for all the other arguments about gay marriage they are hollow and baseless. I could make Klown my health care guardian. I could leave Klown every dime I have in my will, I could make Klown my power of attorney. Point being I’m not married to Klown, in fact I’ve never even met him so the whole…….I can’t visit my lover in the hospital or I can’t leave my house to my lover argument is bullshit. An apple to apple would be that I could make Helen all of the above and hell at least Helen lives in Florida……better yet Kathy she lives in my area.

        I certainly don’t believe someone should be discriminated against because they’re gay, but I also don’t think they should become some special snowflake status, you know a new minority, a new victim class. We have enough snowflakes, how about we all learn to get along and we also learn to suck things up and deal with them. You can’t make everybody like you and life isn’t always fair.

        • HELENK3 says:

          unless things have changed a lot, if you were married in the Catholic Church and get divorced ,you can not marry in the church again. They refused my mother the last rites because she was divorced and married again. They have had that belief for a long time.
          I have no problem with gays having a civil marriage ceremony and if they find a church that has no problem performing a marriage ceremony, go for it. But trying to make a church go against their beliefs is just wrong. Would they even try getting married in a mosque? do not think so. Would this government force the mosque to perform the ceremony? do not think so

          • DeniseVB says:

            Great point Helen, why haven’t they challenged mosques ?

          • 1539days says:

            The Catholic Church has gotten more lax, especially with Pope Global Warming. It’s easier to get an annulment from them now.

          • Constance says:

            Hey, I’ve been married to my husband for 30 years as far as the state is concerned but the Catholic church wouldn’t let us get married in the church because I was divorced. Big deal. I haven’t spent a lot of time worrying about it. They have rules and in my opinion they have a right to their rules.

        • foxyladi14 says:


        • DeniseVB says:

          I agree with everything you said Somebody !

  10. HELENK3 says:

    just how many muslim brotherhood members are in our government now?

    state dept host muslim brotherhood leaders

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      There are a LOT in the state department (and elsewhere in government). They are also now working to get on all sorts of community boards/agencies and trying to rewrite mission statements. I have dealt with this on seven different boards in the area just in the last few years. The pattern of Muslim brotherhood/state department employment has been the strongest followed by HHS. Two of the agencies no longer exist because no one wanted to be on staff or boards once these guys got chairmanships, three others got them to leave/resign after very prolonged and heated attempts at coups (including threats to board and staff) and two are still dealing with the problem. One has apparently given up after getting opposition from everyone single member of the association but has not resigned and appears to be waiting for another opening or letting his time run out. Meet the new MOB. And we pay their salaries with our taxes. I have yet to meet one that I would consider an appropriate hire for the State Department. Diplomacy is not their stock and trade. Miss Manners would be horrified by their behavior to say the least.

      Oh – they do not take kindly to women in leadership roles. Surprise. The first thing they do is go after any female officers. Especially those they assume to be Muslim and try to debase them as too Americanized. I say assume because two women they decided were Muslim view themselves as being of Persian descent and are Coptic Christians. Their families emigrated decades ago rather than conform to the peaceful religion’s view of the world.

  11. votermom says:

    This was a fun quiz

  12. HELENK3 says:

    Boston police ask for help identifying who shoveled the Boston Marathon finish line – @bostonpolice

  13. mothy6767 says:

    I am on my 78th hour smoke free. I did not mean to quit. I am just a very very lazy puts. Looked outside and said nope I will wait til the neighbors shovel their walks. Three days later some of them still haven’t. Rude. Mail person has to trudge through their neglect. I can bitch because I have a snow blower. So sad my front walk way is ten feet but I use an industrial demon
    Takes me longer to get it out than it would to shovel a few feet. It is a monster. Only have it because when I owned a bar I needed itt. Thing is built to do parking lots not six feet. Told all my neighbors knock yourself out use it. I even let it sit on the side of the house when it snows. Nope still didn’t clean their walks. Now I an on my fourth day smoke free. Cold turkey because I am too lazy to walk through snow.

    • Constance says:

      Cool! That’s the best way to do it. I have the best success on diets (which is a constant battle I will fight until death) when I don’t plan to start. Because if I plan to give up fattening food for a week or so ahead of time I always over indulge and gain even more weight.

      • Somebody says:

        Good for you Tim, you can be my quitting buddy! I’m in my third week, best advice I can give is to stay busy. I actually got on my elliptical yesterday, shock of shocks! I’ve only owned it for 8 years, first time I ever used it, LOL! Boy does it need a good dusting! Seriously though it helped me get through a craving. I stayed on it for 7 minutes and by then I didn’t give a shit about a cigarette I just wanted off the damn thing, LMAO!!!

        Haha I do that too Constance. Also, every time in the past I would decide I needed to quit smoking I would smoke twice as much just thinking about it.

      • cynic says:

        After all the baking that I did over the holidays, I had put on more weight, and came close to the amount I weighed before giving birth to twins. YIKES!

        Finally decided that I had to do something about it, so I went with the low carb diet. I know that on that one, I will no longer crave food after a few days.

        I lost 5 lbs. in two weeks, am exercising almost daily, and drink a concoction of a wedge of lemon, turmeric, cinnamon, apple cider vinegar, and just a teaspoon of honey. Believe it or not, I really like it, and now drink that instead of coffee or tea!

        I find that if I drink that in the a.m. it even suppresses my appetite; looked it up, and sure enough, cinnamon and turmeric are appetite suppressants.

        I even made chocolate chip cookies last week, and only ate one.. Feeling that 2015 is going to be a healthy one for all of us!

        Congratulations to all of you that quit smoking. I never smoked, but I do like my sweets, and that was my addiction. Sugar is evil.

      • mothy6767 says:

        I do not gain weight never have. When my organs shut down I put on a hundred but it was all in my legs and belly and it was all water. I can eat anything. Food has never been an issue. Why I probably never go over board. No temptation. I am inclined to choose fruit over cake. Because I like peaches not because I really want the cake but opting for fruit to feel better. I also get major sugar rushes that lead to serious crashes. Never could handle cocaine because I would go over up but then commit myself crash.

        • Somebody says:

          We got some huge, delicious, tree ripened peaches the other day. My family practically inhaled them! My youngest is a fruit addict! She’s the only kid the nutritionist at the hospital has ever told to stop eating so much fruit, first ever in the woman’s 30 year career! My daughter eats that much fruit, she’s a very expensive child because of it. It’s funny I craved fruit when I was pregnant with her. I couldn’t eat enough fruit during my pregnancy, no matter how much I ate I never sated the cravings.

          I like fruit, but I’m certainly not averse to cakes either…….my real vice though lies more with salty snacks.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Okay guys, put on your happy dancey shoes …. I just love this teacher and the students😀

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    What a day!

    Finished Gone Girl about 3 am.
    Went to sleep.
    Woke up and wrote a post.
    Went back to sleep.
    Woke up and fed Teh Kittehs and my face.
    Went back to sleep.
    Woke up because Taggart was dying of hunger.
    Fed Kittehs.
    Cleaned litter boxes.
    Took out trash.
    Got ready to go to VA to get annual eye checked.
    Sitting here checking comments at TCH until time to leave for VA

  16. HELENK3 says:


    • HELENK3 says:

      In 1976 during the bicentennial celebration at Penn’s Landing in Phila the Coast Guard training ship The Eagle came up the river. She had her sails furled and on the spars the cadets were standing at attention. It was an awesome sight to see. I could not figure out how they could stand up there and not fall.

  17. HELENK3 says:

    Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel, at farewell ceremony, thanks President Obama for leadership at a ‘difficult time’ and for the honor to serve

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m back!

    This was my personal VA experience:

    Made an appointment yesterday at 2 pm to have my annual eye exam. They offered to do it right then, but I had to pick up Tag and I didn’t want to wait. They set it for 2 pm today.

    I arrived at 1:50 pm and checked in on the machine by the door. 2 minutes later they called my name.

    The tech asked me a few questions and then took approx. 8 racy pictures of my naked eyeballs.

    I was home by 2:20 pm.

    BTW: According to my car stereo I live approximately 3:20 minutes from the clinic.

    DISCLAIMER: I am not a paid celebrity endorser.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Waiting for the naked eye pictures to be leaked to the tabloids. As we get older, the “leaked” part gets more accurate and less funny.

    • Somebody says:

      I’m very happy to hear you got such good service from the VA. Hopefully there are more veterans getting experiences like yours than there are ones on waiting lists.

  19. mothy6767 says:

    I am not doing anything productive for the next three days I plan on watching all 100 plus episodes of Lost. Very addictive. Seems pretty obvious they are in limbo. Can’t smoke if I don’t buy them and I can’t buy them if I don’t get out of bed.
    How does one poison a child with salt? That story is really fucked up.

Comments are closed.