Anti-Vaxxing is a Left-Wing Thing


This is how a political hit-job is done:

Vaccination debate flares in GOP presidential race, alarming medical experts

Medical experts reacted with alarm Monday as two top contenders for the Republican presidential nomination appeared to question whether child vaccinations should be mandatory — injecting politics into an emotional issue that has taken on new resonance with a recent outbreak of measles in the United States.

First, New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, while visiting a vaccine laboratory here, called for “some measure of choice” on whether shots guarding against measles and other diseases should be required for children.

Then, Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.), an ophthalmologist who is also readying a 2016 campaign, said in two U.S. television interviews that he thinks most vaccines should be voluntary, citing “many tragic cases of walking, talking, normal children who wound up with profound mental disorders after vaccines.”

“The state doesn’t own your children,” Paul said on CNBC, praising vaccines for their health benefits but insisting that the government should not mandate their use in most cases. “Parents own the children. And it is an issue of freedom and public health.”

The vigorous outcry in response to the remarks underscored the sensitivity surrounding the vaccination debate, particularly given a widening multistate measles outbreak linked to a California theme park. Both Christie and Paul are leading GOP candidates who are likely to exercise significant influence over the direction of the 2016 primary race.

Boy, those anti-science Republicans sure are stupid.

In 2008, Barack Obama called science on vaccines ‘inconclusive’

“We’ve seen just a skyrocketing autism rate,” Obama said in April 2008 at a rally in Pennsylvania. “Some people are suspicious that it’s connected to the vaccines. This person included.”

(Shortly after the comments, Obama campaign spokesman Tommy Vietor supplied a video showing that Obama had pointed to a member of the audience when he said “this person included.”)

Obama continued, “The science is right now inconclusive, but we have to research it.”

But wait! There’s more!

Senator Hillary Clinton, in response to a questionnaire from the autism activist group A-CHAMP, wrote that she was “Committed to make investments to find the causes of autism, including possible environmental causes like vaccines.” And when asked if she would support a study of vaccinated vs. unvaccinated children, she said: “Yes. We don’t know what, if any, kind of link there is between vaccines and autism – but we should find out.”

I’m not a fan of Governor Soprano. I don’t much care for Rand Paul either. But this is bullshit.

The anti-vaxxer movement is part of the secular “New Age” religion that includes environmentalism. animal rights, organic foods, veganism, homeopathic medicine, and a whole bunch of other pseudo-scientific mumbo jumbo. In other words, anti-vaxxing is a Left-wing phenomenon. The most prominent anti-vaxxer in the country is Jenny McCarthy, and she’s definitely not a conservative.

But suddenly, according to the media, anti-vaxxing is a GOP platform plank.

Like I said – it’s a political hit job. The question is who ordered the hit – Jeb or Hillary?

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 Responses to Anti-Vaxxing is a Left-Wing Thing

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I ‘m assuming I don’t to explain to anyone here why getting childhood vaccinations is a good thing. This is one of the areas where I support a government mandate. The benefits far outweigh the risks.

    Yes there are risks, but nothing is 100% safe.

    • DeniseVB says:

      When the grandtwins were born 12 years ago the autism-vac link was just rearing it’s ugly un-scientific head. By the time they were due their MMR, their pediatrician gave them seperately over several office visits, as was his practice since he didn’t like the combo vacs anyhow for very young kids. He also made sure his vaccines were free of whatever the culprit ingredient was being blamed.

      One of the girls did get a mild case of chickenpox a few days after that vaccine, which is a side effect, her sister never caught it from her.

    • 49erDweet says:

      When my honey worked in health care (a vampire) we knew of a respected pediatrician that sometimes delayed or spread out vaxs due to individual patient health needs. I trusted him. Not so much the US Surgeon General.

  2. HELENK3 says:

    we had successfully gotten rid of some dangerous childhood diseases in this country by vaccinations. I am old enough to remember what polio did to children. I have 2 nieces that were damaged due to the high fever of measles. For some reason the smallpox vaccination would not take on me and I was still getting vaccinated when I changed high schools. Keeping kids and some grown ups safe from disease should not be a political thing. It is a common sense thing. It is a safety thing. It is just that simple.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Helen, have you gotten the Shingles vac ? People who had chicken pox as a child are at high risk in their golden years. I got it after seeing a friend suffer with it for weeks and it affected his optic nerve so he lost some sight in one eye. Scary.

      • Thanks Denise, my other half was hit hard by the shingles which left him deaf. I didn’t know that there was a vaccine for shingles. Funny how our doc has never mentioned it. I’ve had it too but it wasn’t that bad for me but I understand you can get shingles a second time. I want that vaccine if it will prevent it.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My insurance covered the vaccine for free because I was over a certain age. Otherwise it’s a $300+ vac if you’re too young. I don’t understand it. It’s not 100% guarantee, but if you get the vac, shingles will be much, much milder. I got mine at a grocery store pharmacy🙂

      • piper says:

        My then 70 year old mother was also hit hard by shingles which left her with severe pain in her shoulders. She went from being an active person to a quiet non-active lifestyle which was her way of coping with the constant pain. However, her imposed treatment actually led to further deterioration and pain. How bad was it – she stopped wearing a bra bec. of increased pressure on her shoulders, and sadly refused hugs from us and grandchildren.
        I did have a light case of shingles 5 years ago – caught early and treated with anti-virals leaving me with no residual effects.

      • foxyladi14 says:

        I had the Shingles when I was 51 they are nasty. 😡

    • elliesmom says:

      Yesterday Ann Althouse posted a blog entry where she basically said getting the measles is no big deal so what’s the fuss? I know she’s my age so she must have lived through the period in time when most of us suffered through a myriad of childhood diseases that are now preventable. For a lot of us getting them was a big deal. I’m surprised she was so blase about it. I understand, perhaps, how parents in their 30’s might not have any idea of what these diseases can do to their kids because even some younger doctors have never seen them. My daughter is 40 and her childhood predates the chicken pox vaccine so she at least remembers having that one. But someone in her 60’s should have a clear memory of polio, whooping cough, measles, mumps, rubella, and scarlet fever. I don’t remember diphtheria or smallpox epidemics, but all of the rest, yes.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    This sums it up, warning *NSFW* (language) ….

  4. HELENK3 says:

    how long before these lying B——ds are gone?
    they lied about Netanyahu’s invitation “blindsiding” them

  5. HELENK3 says:

    why is this not a surprise? same people that voted for backtrack are the most anti-vaccine

    • 49erDweet says:

      I saw on a Canuckistan blog (whose name escapes me) in answer to “Where do these anti-vax people live”? a health person said “Stick a pin on a map of Whole Foods Stores”. LOL.
      No offense intended, Denise.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        This approach simplifies it a bit but does correspond with my experience. I know quite a few anti-vax and they are all global warming enthusiasts who just love Whole Foods and BO BO and think Ebola should be left to nature (unless they contract Ebola – then I am sure we will hear some screaming). Of course they also believe that Chipotle fast food is 100% local fresh and organic.

  6. votermom says:

    Talking about anti-vaxxers is the media’s way of ignoring the elephant in the room

    • foxyladi14 says:


    • lizzy says:

      I wondered why no one had mentioned the invasion of the sick, unvaccinated children at our southern border. Suddenly we have unknown diseases that paralyze and an out break of measles. Thanks Obama.

    • Constance says:

      Absolutely! I think we Americans do have sufficient “herd immunity”. This outbreak of Measles started in southern California near the unenforced border . So was patient zero an immigrant or possibly an illegal immigrant? The fact that there has been no mention of the possibility by media tells me there were probably a lot of immigrants involved in this outbreak. My kids are fully vaccinated but on a slow schedule as I don’t believe in multiple shots on the same day. My kids have had bad reactions to Pertussis and my son got Measles with spots and 104 fever a week or so after both of his shots. So just by going the slow route I was contacted by their Catholic school, and the insurance company. It’s not like American citizens who aren’t conforming to government recommendations for vaccinations are just left alone.

      • 1539days says:

        The big problem may be Enterovirus, which kids are not vaccinated for. Vox and the administration (but I repeat myself) have no immunized themselves from Republican criticism. Since the meme is that the GOP are anti-vaxx, any call for vaccination “only” among illegals will be considered racist.

  7. Lulu says:

    I am old enough to have had measles. My brother and I had it at the same time and our parents were terrified. I was five and my brother just three. A pediatrician, who I still see around town and he is OLD!, came to our home almost daily for several days although our parents couldn’t afford it. I’m sure my dad borrowed the money from his employer. We were essentially quarantined because my mom had never had it either but my father had. I can still hear my little brother crying because we had to stay in a dark room and he couldn’t play. My mother was in a state of physical and nervous exhaustion when we started getting better.

    Anyone who wants to go through that is crazy or very delusional. I don’t think people should be forced to vaccinate. But then they can’t send their kids to school, go out in public, and have to be isolated like mountain recluses or something. The herd immunity works. If you don’t want to be part of the herd (special snowflake syndrome) it needs to mean exactly that. Crazy people don’t want to take their meds either.

    • votermom says:

      As a kid I got measles, chicken pox, and mumps.
      Measles was the one that made me feel really sick – I remember lying on the sofa not even that interested that my teacher ( and my sister’s teacher) had come to visit, which was pretty unusual. I remember my mom some time later talking about someone in the neighborhood whose daughter had died.
      With chicken pox / mumps I was running around playing while I still had bumps / giant throat.

      • Lulu says:

        For some reason my brother had it very bad. And because HE had it very bad I was treated the same way. They were very worried about his vision being impaired. He is a very fair green eyed strawberry light haired redhead as was my mom. I was sick but not that sick. My brother doesn’t remember it at all but he was just a toddler. And children died in our town in that outbreak too.

        • 49erDweet says:

          AIRC In my youth the few vaccines we had gave us a weaker, controllable version of the disease, from which 99.9999% would fully recover. We understood that other .0001% wouldn’t’. Without them, the mortality rate once we’d caught a disease was like 15%. Math isn’t that hard.
          Btw, we also had a kazillion kids wearing leg braces and in wheel chairs because of polio in those days. And those were the ones who survived. I sure miss those days. Not.

      • lyn says:

        I had those three too. I was sicker than a dog with mumps, and I missed three weeks of third grade.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I lived on a military base in the 50’s when the pre-vac childhood diseases were going around, and our homes were quantined with big QUARANTINE signs on the front doors. Meant nobody outside the family could enter nor could the sick child leave the house. Sorta like ebola’s been treated here. I had everything, never had the mumps, but my brothers and sisters did.

      • Constance says:

        Mumps was horrible. I still remember it. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

    • elliesmom says:

      As a child I had measles and rubella. I had chicken pox as an adult, and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. Our country bumpkin GP diagnosed me with mumps when I was 6, but when I was titered for it when my son was diagnosed with cancer, the test came back negative. I did, however, test positive for meningitis. Which apparently was just allowed to “run its course” untreated. I don’t for a moment want children to suffer, but maybe it’s going to take a major outbreak of one of these diseases to wake people up.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      I remember the Quarantine signs.
      Now everyone runs to the ER.A good place to stay away from unless it really is an emergency. ::P

  8. HELENK3 says:

    New York Times Co.’s annual profit declines in 2014; investments in digital journalism, severance costs cited @nytimesbusiness


    years ago I worked for a Phila newspaper. I love newspapers, but the NYT forgot the purpose of a newspaper and became a PR agency for backtrack.

  9. HELENK3 says:

    read this and weep. we have a government that is doing it’s best to turn America into a 3rd world country and we are paying them

    • Somebody says:

      Yes the unfettered immigration both legal and illegal is going to hasten the death of this nation. Why in the hell are we importing workers when there aren’t enough jobs for Americans?? IBM lays off a quarter of their workforce and continue to cry boo hoo and lobby for increasing H1B visas.

      You know we used to put a moratorium on immigration if our unemployment was above a certain amount. We also used to ensure immigrants were healthy and self sufficient, what was wrong with those policies?? They made too much sense?

  10. Somebody says:

    Your “New Age” description is spot on. Many of them call themselves “Crunchy Moms”, they are the new hippies, very anti-establishment and yes most of them lean far left which is odd because the left is so into government control of everything. To a person though the anti-vaccine people I know were all Obots in 2008. To be fair about half of them abandoned him in 2012, but it wasn’t like they suddenly became republicans they just were honest enough to admit Obama failings.

    There are legitimate medical reasons for not having your child vaccinated. My eldest had a severe, life threatening reaction to the DPT. He was never given the P (pertussis) part of the DPT again. As a result he has no immunity to whooping cough. We never thought that would be an issue for him, except perhaps that he’d have to be mindful of that when traveling overseas. Well thanks to the anti-vaccine crowd there have been THREE outbreaks of whooping cough here in the small town where I live in the past decade.

    Those outbreaks threatened not only my son, but also my youngest daughter who was going through chemo at the time and had no immunity.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      This is one of basics of vaccinations that many people just do not understand. Vaccinations serve to reduce the incidence and prevalence overall thereby lowering the risk for everyone. Including those that cannot be vaccinated due to existing health conditions/faulty immune systems/etc.

      Dad was a polio survivor who was left with one withered leg and arm. He kept up with other survivors and they never forgot those from their hospital stays that were not as fortunate.

      • 1539days says:

        Exactly. When vaccines were developed, parents ran out to get their kids protected. They knew there was the very real likelihood that their kid could die or be permanently disabled. Now that everyone has been vaccinated and outbreaks are uncommon, some have the luxury to refuse vaccinations without the instant Karma of their child getting infected.

        I remember an episode of ER from 2001 where a child died from Measles because the mother was anti-vaccine. There’s wasn’t a lot of social media then, but it pissed people off. Link below to a Newsweek article. Guess who they talked to about anti-vaccine. The person wasn’t a right-winger.

  11. votermom says:

    OT. Tried to talk to the cable/internet company about our bill – we have a contract that expires this week so the bill goes up.
    I am always nice when I call companies up. First 2 people I talked to were perfectly nice back but had to transfer me. 3rd person was the one I was supposed to talk to but he seemed grumpy and said he could do nothing, we were already on the discount. He was so off-putting I didn’t realize he didn’t mention anything about our contract expiring.
    So I am probably going to switch us over to the other internet company now which will be a lot cheaper apparently (if their estimate is correct, $25 bucks cheaper than current discounted price, and $70 bucks cheaper than regular price). I don’t like the hassle of switching.

    • mothy6767 says:

      Seems that customer retention would be top priority especially with so many people dropping cable and landlines. Instead offer a 200 gift card and a really low priced bundle for new customers inundate mailboxes with special offers but try and bleed current subscribers. Agree it is a pain in the arse to switch.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Good thinking. We are down-billing these days, too, and the vendor has been jumping through hoops trying to stall us off. Every 90 days we go through a cancellation/offer of free goodies cycle that ends up shaving $$ from our monthly bill. It’s less than half what it was in 2010.
      As a byproduct, the occasional repair guys bend over backward making us happy.

      • votermom says:

        Your bill is less than half of what it was 5 years ago? Wow!
        What company is this, can I ask?

        • 49erDweet says:

          AT&T. My cellphone service provider lets me use their entire 4G/LTE network w/unlimited everything for less than half their smartphone rate, but I had to buy my own phone. {{sob}}

          • votermom says:

            Wow. At this rate soon they’ll be paying you.😀

          • 49erDweet says:

            🙂. Shoulda said: Use them for home phone, internet and TV. The irony is…..
            (Switched from Vzn last fall).

          • Somebody says:

            49er how did you do that beyond purchasing your own phone? We are grandfathered into the unlimited data on AT&T and our cell phone bills are ridiculous. I’ve long been ready to drop them, but hubby doesn’t want to let go of the unlimited data even though we pay through the nose for it. BTW we never even come close to the would be limits on data usage so why he insists on keeping unlimited is beyond me.

            So……please share your knowledge how did you lower your cellphone bill??

            We’ve been cutting our bills too, but the cellphone bill has thus far proven elusive.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Amazon unlocked Huawei Ascend Mate 2 for $299.99. Add the insurance program for around $50 if you’ve never heard of Huawei, largest cell phone maker in world. Also, longest lasting battery of any smartphone. Your kids won’t steal it bc it has a big screen. Good for middle aged eyes.
            Go to Walmart ☺ and buy a $5.99 sim card and $45 30 day unlimited service card for Straight Talk and activate the new phone. Port if with your existing number, or not. Your choice. Try it for a week or so to make sure it works and the network works. Then either sign up with Straight Talk for automatic renewal or buy a discounted annual service card. First class operation, IMO. My honey is happy!

          • 49erDweet says:

            Also, Straight Talk gives you one time choice of one of the four networks, so check local coverage maps if your service is spotty.

          • Somebody says:

            Oh wait you use AT&T for home phone, internet and TV? You must have Uverse. We don’t have Uverse in our area.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yeah. We like it but will probably drop them when my honey finishes making sure we are able to get her special shows off the inet or from netflix. And do some wiring/equipment stuff. No rush. Probably after next London trip.

          • HELENK3 says:

            are you a captive customer of brighthouse, like I am? in the apt complex where I moved only option is brighthouse or direct tv. Next time I decide to move, I will check what services are available before I move in

          • Somebody says:

            No it’s worse than that Helen. My neighborhood has its own internet and cable which are paid for through our homeowner’s association dues. Everybody only THINKS that they have piss poor customer service, I went without any cable for 6 years and no recourse at all… refund either. When they redid the cable in the neighborhood they just forgot to connect it to my house. I called and I called and I called, every time they would come out and tell me their shit was just fine something was wrong inside my house, but nobody could ever find a problem in my house.

            Then one day they had the box open and were working on the neighbor’s cable and I saw that there was no cable going to my house so I snapped some pictures and made another phone call. They hooked me up finally and had the balls to send me a $50 reconnect fee. Mind you we were paying for services we had no way to receive all those years, over $850 a year, but I have no recourse because of the way it’s through my homeowner’s dues which also includes amenities. I guess I just paid a premium for the neighborhood pool I never use or the tennis courts or something.

            We’ve had direct TV for years, basically since just after we moved in, because the cable and internet were so unreliable, we also have DSL for internet for the same reason. Actually once the new company took over and redid the system it’s much more stable and much higher quality…….took me 6 years to know that since they left my house off the grid……not that I’m bitter about it. Seriously we were only reconnected last year, we’re debating cutting direct tv and dsl……but given our previous experience we’re leery what if that happens again???

            You will find most areas in Florida have only one service provider. My mom is the only person I know that lives in area where she has a choice. I can’t explain why that is, it’s just been my experience. I know the counties and cities are involved in permitting and they seem to set up little monopolies. I assume there are kickbacks, but I have no personal knowledge of that it’s just a hunch……..oh and welcome to Florida!!!

          • leslie says:

            I started using Consumer Cellular a few years ago because T-Mobile was costing me so much and I’d already had the same experience with AT&T. A friend told me about Consumer Cellular and I figured I’d try it. I could keep my phone number. And the phone I purchased, I could use for 30 days without paying for it. The rates are individualized and there is no contract. There are several nice features to this company. And my phone bill hardly ever fluctuates. They let me know when I’m reaching my limit and then I can change my minutes, etc without penalty or I can just stop using my phone until the next billing cycle. I’ve been pretty happy overall. Their customer service is the BEST of all the companies I’ve ever used. I’ve had a few problems that they helped me with and customer service is probably the biggest reason I’ll not change from them. I just got a new phone through them (BTW: they also offer the Huawei Ascend Mate 2) and am pretty happy with it. They use the AT&T network. You can check them out online.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yep. There are several like that. I love the no contract and flat rate thing.
            I discovered that world when I looked into a basic old school cellphone for my disabled sister. It had to be s i m p l e to use. I pay $28 per year for service on her $24 phone. No price increase in four years. Grandmothered in.

          • lyn says:

            We have Consumer Cellular for are only and non-smart cellphone that we use when we travel. Haven’t had any problems.

          • lyn says:

            are = our. :eyeroll:

    • piper says:

      Check out how much time you will get before the new company charges you for overages. When there is nothing good to watch on tv, which is frequently, I stream movies thru Netflix. I can usually watch for several hours a few nights before reaching my limit then pow – internet company ups my limit with a fee increase.

    • 1539days says:


      Bring you complaint to social media, especially Twitter. Some companies are more responsive because you are on a “public” site with your issues. I’ve had good luck getting Time Warner to knock down my bill. My Cable / Internet bundle is now only $20 more than either one on its own.

  12. HELENK3 says:

    here is another one

    • HELENK3 says:

      Photo: Smoke fills a subway tunnel and Brooklyn-bound N train at 57th and Lexington station – @nmuaddi
      see original on
      Manhattan, New York, NY, US
      Disruption in N, Q, and R train service in Queens and Manhattan following fire at 57th and Lexington station – @Traffic4NY
      see original on

      • DeniseVB says:

        Did you see where the victim’s family of the DC Metro tunnel fire is suing for 50 million ? And do we know what caused the NYC Penn station fire yet ?

    • elliesmom says:

      But did you read the comments? It’s easy to see why Berkeley would have to plan for a epidemic. The anti-vaxxers outnumber the people who think kids should be vaccinated by a huge ratio, even if you discount the one guy who just kept reposting the same thing.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. HELENK3 says:

    the sick bastards burned the Jordanian pilot alive. what ever it takes eradicate them like cockroaches. they have no redeeming value.
    this is not a religion, it is a sickness, it makes devil worship look good

  15. mothy6767 says:

    I would haunt every politician who enabled the gross negligence at the border in this life and the next if someone I cared about contracted measles(or any other desease) and was left with an impairment or worse. Cindy Sheehan would have nothing on me. Fucks cannot claim to be blindsided as alarms were being raised early last spring. Even now the PC bullshit is blaring in headlines saying it came from “overseas”. My ass. It came from south of the border and the migration was sponsored by both parties. Call me radical right wing extremist, but maybe the government should protect the most vulnerable. Children. Vaccination hoopla is a distraction away from the real cause. Fact is we have not seen an outbreak like this in generations. Blame the people who did not immunize rather than a pourous border and surreptitiously depositing unscreened children through out the country. Astonishing the way things are spun. Yeah its Jenny McCarthy’s fault not the SJW open borders crowd.

    • votermom says:

      Vox is claiming that an AMISH missionary started the measles outbreak by flying to the Philippines and back to Ohio.
      I am unsure as how it is supposed to have gotten to Disneyworld from there.

      • leslie says:

        “I am unsure as how it is supposed to have gotten to Disneyworld from there.”

        Tinkerbell, no doubt.

      • mothy6767 says:

        On cue Vox steps in. If vox opines on any subject you know they are providing cover. They attempt some bizarre straight white man’s judeo-christian blame game. Hundreds of thousands if not millions of children pouring across the border, but without facts blame a Christian group. We also have no idea who has traversed the borders since 9/11. Bush should have sealed it. I read the 9/11 commission report and it screams the border is a danger. Bush did nothing. obama created petri dishes to make himself look good. Now kids may have been crippled because of that rhinoretro or something like that virus last year. Your child will suffer perhaps for the rest of his/her life. My government is supposed to protect its citizens not offer them up as reparations to a man/child that has dreams of his father. He does not care about disenfranchised black youth. Made them pawns. He is angry that his daddy went away blames middle class whites.
        His mother collected food stamps while in graduate school. WTF? Is it true or a minipulation? You are in grad school and had a baby. Get walfare to continue studying? Confessed he only has dreams of his father. It is our fault the man didn’t engage his son. Why is there no book about dreams of my mother? She at least waited a little while(9 months) to say not worth my time. Then attack the only constant in your life as typical white woman

      • lizzy says:

        How did that Amish missionary get to the Philippines and back they don’t even drive cars? Trust the truth from Vox.

  16. HELENK3 says:

    Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal urges parents to get children vaccinated in statement; ‘I think it is irresponsible for leaders to undermine the public’s confidence in vaccinations that have been tested and proven to protect public health’

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    Some people don’t understand nuance.

  18. mothy6767 says:

    Fellow kindle user. My first kindle died then it came back to life then it died. I had it for almost two years but I contacted amazon and complained. I am getting on Thursday a 16 GB 8.9 for what was 108. I have to ship back old one shipping is free but you have to package and go to UPS store. I thought about all that math and said I might just buy an Ipad. I do not need an ipad. I have a desktop, a laptop I like the kindle because it is cheap and I can carry it around. Not crazy about smartphones. I am almost 50. Readers I forget. Like my tablet. She made it 88. I like kindle. Never use it for business just reading and emailing. One I got is refurbished but Amazon has a great one year warranty. I think it is 2nd or 3rd generation. I am not looking for high end graphics. I want to resize the screen a little less. New York Times is the worst. Rep also told me when new models come out you can exchange models at a discount. One I am getting for 88 was originally 499 two years ago it is refurbished but Amazon is the best at satisfaction. One year they replace after that they offer you discounts if you buy another. Two year old kindle batted around by me and a then a 6 year old. Of course it died a slow awful death. To get replacement must be registered but I had zeo problems.

  19. 1539days says:

    The anti-vaccination stuff is a result of special snowflake syndrome. If the situation were reversed and only the rich and powerful could afford vaccines, the same elitists would get their kids vaccinated. In America today, however, most kids are vaccinated, so these idiots start thinking their kid shouldn’t take the risk of a bad reaction, not in spite of herd immunity, but because the rest of the low class herd has already been vaccinated.

  20. 49erDweet says:

    Ahem! Nailed it! Mentioned a few days ago we hadn’t yet had our “rainy season”, and just received alert to expect rain and wind at least twice before Sunday. Figures. The Pebble Beach golf tournament starts Monday. No way global warming won’t hang on for several days.

  21. swanspirit says:

    I firmly believe that this measles outbreak we are having is the result of the combination of antivaxx idiots, and the importation of the virus with the immigrants from South America. All of the anti vaxx idiots I know are far left. Some are absolute idiots.
    One in particular is/was a friend of mine in “real life” ( She has blocked me on FB for sometimes pointing out the obvious)
    She has a little mini -farmette, raises some of her own veggies and fruits and has chickens. She was going to sell eggs as a means of supplementing her income but the regulations were too hard for her to follow. IOW she was too lazy to follow a few simple rules , and she never quite got the irony of the regulations “preventing her” from obtaining what might have been a nice little means of extra income. Registration is free for anyone selling eggs who has under 3000 birds. There are two regulations .You have to keep your eggs at 45 degrees F until sold, and you have to mark out with a marker any old logos or labels on old egg cartons. Completely escapes her that the political ideology with which she is aligned is pro regulation.
    But then, in contrast to my ex-friend, is a woman on FB who posted on a lefty bloggers FB page , that perhaps we should “bring back the yellow star” for people who are not vaccinated. As I read that comment, and recoiled in horror; I thought yet another completely obtuse leftist, who doesn’t get the implications of what she is proposing. Yes, by all means impose some form of external ID on a group of people with whom we disagree, what could possibly go wrong? And the left wonders why we think they are fascists?
    I do think any un-vaccinated children should not be allowed in schools, businesses. And even home schoolers should be denied access to the system unless vaccinated.
    And last but not least, Christie and Rand should just STFU.

  22. mothy6767 says:

    Thinking about vaccines and people doubting efficacy or dangers I thought about my own experience. I love medical professionals, but often especially with more and more proticols they are just following health insurance computer mandated orders Hbands are tied. I was told I had HepC. I knew in my heart I didn’t. I have always been neurotic about being safe and never used an IV drug. Beyond that I just knew it was not true. Doctor was talking about interfuron(sp?) And other therapies. I refused to believe. Got the more extensive test and there is zero detectable virus in my system. I carry an antibody but no trace. I did have many transfusions as a child in the seventies and possible I was exposed and my body won or not sure about this but perhaps someone who donated blood gave me the antibodies? For several months it really screwed me up. I was ashamed terrified that I had hurt some one else. I was told it is a silent epidemic and even though I knew in my heart I did not have I still felt guilt. I was afraid to be even near anyone.
    Maybe my case was an outier. Am I willing to personally eat that for the greater good. NO. My records read Hep C and because of Hillary and obamacare it is almost impossible to erase. Sharing of info has its benefits. Who gets to decide whose life is worth what? A few kids die, or are deaf, blind scarred. They were someone’s kids. SJW and Soros crowd think waterboarding is criminal but throwing drugs and disease into suburbia is fair. Middle America must pay for all sins across the globe. Middle america had dick to do with any of that.

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    I have cat beds that don’t get used. Teh Kittehs sleep in carboard boxes, and Molly sleeps on the floor.

Comments are closed.