Tuesday Open Thread : Son’s Birthday Edition

Just for fun, because not ready to talk about American Sniper yet, derr, don’t take a Middle East Urban Warfare Military expert with you, aka, the spouse. So here’s a little fun, and Happy Birthday son, another “Chris”. He’s 43 today. My oldest, vaccinated baby😀 (and his Christmas family ski trip).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Tuesday Open Thread : Son’s Birthday Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Snicker, son doesn’t seem to have blocks on his videos, but the family is un-identifiable. He’s the fast guy on the snowboard, the ladies are a little more, uhm, under stated? Therefore, I share.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Nice winter theme, doncha think ?

    Okay, loved LOVED the movie American Sniper as well as Bradley’s acting and Clint’s directing. Finally came to our local cozy Cinema Cafe, food, drink, movie, where all my worlds come together! HubVB and I did the a.m. showing, cheaper tix and less crowded. Surprise, it was crowded, with “young” people. (I’m sure the youngsters came for the 50 Shades of Grey trailer, ewww)

    According to my “expert”, best movie he’s seen about approaching a real war as a personal and family event. It won’t win the Academy Award, nor will the Bradley. (Sidebar: “Expert” is still mourning the loss of Saving Private Ryan to Shakespeare in Love).

    I was definitely annoyed with the “wife”. Who calls their husband in a war zone to “chat” ? Maybe this is a new thing for family morale, but I didn’t see how it was helping, or is helping today? Dear Lawd, one PMS fueled call … okay, catch my drift? Ms. Kyle is writing her own book now, the movie did leave that “cliffhanger”.

    One more thing, what happened to Kyle’s brother ? Trivia: Did you recognize “Jeff Kyle” ? If you’re a fan of “Wedding Crashers” ….. no fair checking on imdb😉

    • elliesmom says:

      I thought “Saving Private Ryan” and “Shakespeare in Love” both deserved awards. Given some of the absolute crap that wins some years, it was a shame they had to compete against each other.

    • 1539days says:

      I have a thread on my blog for people who saw the movie and want to spoil.

      I assume the calls were dramatic license. Taya Kyle was also drinking something different when she met Chris in that bar, too.

    • fif says:

      I was totally annoyed by the calls in the war zone – cheesy and manipulative. I thought the war scenes were compelling but the domestic scenes were not well integrated with the rest of the film and pulled it down.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Have to agree with the Hills here:

  4. mothy6767 says:

    Never get to my desktop beacause it would cause cataclysmic devestation if I walked up 12 stairs. My favorite song is


    On tablet I can not read comments . How is this a neagative song? Admit I am airhead about some songs from that era but I was a kid. iwas 40 before someone said to me so many things( leaving on a jat plane) I had no idea it was written about Vietnam. I was born in 67 that soung was yellow duster my great grandparents had and an am radio. I love Southern Cross so much. Refuse to over analyze it but 5 up votes and hundreds of down votes.
    Song makes me reflective .I think about alot when I hear it. How do you give thumbs down?

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Oh my, it’s getting late….c’ya’s in the a.m…….

  6. mothy6767 says:

    I am such an idiot. I was buying my little monster an iphone 6 plus for v day. Love herbin rhat good lord you get on my nerves. My everything. She does me so proud. Father is close to illetarate and she sheds a tear when there is a delay. I was so happy straight A’s and o’s why not buy her a sick expensive phone. Hey other than mind craft in almost eight years I have never needed to raise my voice. I screwed up and ordered ten I wanted one. Most likely my fault for having fat fingers but I only knew because I looked ar my bank 2500 hundred for a cell phone? Plus 250/mo. Hell no. I am being triple billed.

  7. mothy6767 says:

    I am so angry. Yes I wanted to buy my brat the iphone 6 plus and I did. 300 hundred plus two year contract. 45 a month on top of that because I must know where she is. Call me helicopter but I need to know.
    Well I can get a hold of no one at&t. I wanted one phone and I am gettig ten. There are not ten people I like thatl much. Subtract baby and I have my parents and they are old one phone is plenty. Over 2400 hundred was taken from account.

  8. mothy6767 says:

    I just got screwed . Netflix charges me on the 4th who cares they drop me I sign up again but I have an 1800 dollar payment due on the 5th. At &t will refund my money. May take days I am not worried about paying what I owe. Been watching Lost on Netflix and I identify with the assholes. I am on episode 6 of the last season. Show kinda fell apart in the middle but seems to have a moral niche I never watched the show when it was on but it was a big deal . Manhatten itself is an island filled with mysteries and so many ache for home. To be abusive “thomas Mann” you can never go home again.

    • votermom says:

      Call your CC company?

      • mothy6767 says:

        It is fine they charged me more than I have forgot I have insurance never thought it was 2k. Also able to move money in 5 minutes from other account. Cancelled all phones. There was someone able to chat but once I got email I could get a hold of noone. Had to wait til 7 am. Crud is sick. Other than my epic totally crazy mursa scare when she was a button imp doesn’t get sick. Color me racist but I like me a jew or an asian for docs. Dr Chin is the best. Called his office at 7 left a message. Called me back two minutes later. Can’t depend on caucasians for that. We have actually been friends since high school. We went to different schools but were both dishwashers at 16. 30 years later he is my kids doctor. Complete accident he was close and in network. Wish I was a pill popper because I would so abuse. Kidding. My mom loves him he was my nieces pediatrician when I was absent in New York/Philly and my 22 year old nephew. No connection ever made. First time I took baby girl I remember thinking why if you go to med school do you open an office in white town do you not change your name. He is a good friend or at least someone who can tolerate me for more than 3 decades. Pup was so little and had a fever. I was insane. So scared holding tiny thing in my arms. Out ran john into the waiting room. He is so white and gay. He loves that American Idol country singer. We washed dishes together at 16. Waited for the same bus every night. Nothing between us and I never saw him as anything but the guy who had same shitty job as me. My godparents are from Peurto Rico simply because I was born while my grandmother was having one of her many affairs with her neighbor. Never saw Peurto Rican. Saw the guy boning my grandmother until his wife put up 15 feet hedges between thier row homes. Spat at my Nanny kicked her feet and said I will never gaze upon you again. I was a kid I thought they were Greek. Cause let me tell yo those ladies like ti spit. A Yaya in a mood. Look out.

  9. HELENK3 says:

    I never realised until the last 6 years just how much the dems do not like Americans. They insult people, trash people with opposing viewpoints instead of discussing things. They show NO respect for the American people. They use the government to harass and embarrass people. I am beginning to wonder why they even stay in the US.

  10. piper says:

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful family with us. Great song which brings back memories.

  11. piper says:

  12. piper says:

  13. piper says:

  14. piper says:

  15. piper says:

    Poor widdle Jessie Ventura has not aged well – does living in Mexico to escape drones affect mental and physical well being. I know, having lived in Minnesota for 30 years that loons actually elected him governor.

  16. piper says:

    Avoidance issues and recent snowfall. New motto – have shovel and must use after loafing off here.

    From the outspoken obama advisor who wasn’t really an advisor just a man in the neighborhood.

  17. mothy6767 says:

    Kid has strep. I because of a bum ticker have to avoid strep. Love the kid but two days alone is heaven. Nine more episodes of Lost and a bottle of 18 year old scotch. Got one of those toasters that poaches an egg and heats bacon. I am in heaven.
    Bought baby her first smartphone. So glad at&t screwed because the iphone was 300 and 65/month. Got an LG optimus for 50 and 35/month. I was going to buy iphone but she is 8and lg has wifi. I wanted her to have a phone but was waiting until summer. She has to pay the bill. Half her allowance goes 529 and half she can spend as she likes. Those dollar claw machines drive me insane. I won’t tell her what to do with her money but she wastes it she is out of luck. T-mobile plan I gig of data but free wifi is everywhere. Unlimited talk and text. Best deal I could find(metro pc is the same company) nice phoneand perfect for a college student as campuses are wifi. How many tweets do you need to send in a month when you are away from wifi? I have a flip phone 2003 . Guess its funny because people ask to hold it all the time. Really tiny big as my pinky. It makes calls and texts. Model is v66 or 60. May have to put her down as the battery can no longer be replaced. She huffs and puffs but it is time. I do have an affinity towards a phone. Unnatural, twisted or a sign of the times.

Comments are closed.