Rainy Sunday Open Thread

Brian Williams is giving himself a time out. He’s not yet saying whether he will fire himself or not. I guess he’s waiting for the results of the internal investigation by NBC news.

The Grammy Awards show is tonight. Apparently the big challenge of the night will be keeping Taylor Swift away from Katy Perry and/or John Mayer. She is up for three awards tonight – Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Pop Solo Performance. Tay will be bringing her long-time BFF Abigail Anderson as her “date”.

Did you know that Taylor Swift has a separate page at Wikipedia just for her awards and nominations?

Last night I re-watched Red River. I was trying to spot all the historical mistakes.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

129 Responses to Rainy Sunday Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Re: Grammys

    Record companies and individuals may submit recordings to be nominated. Nominations are made online and a physical copy of the work is sent to the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. Once a work is entered, reviewing sessions are held, by more than 150 experts from the recording industry, to determine whether the work is eligible and entered in the correct category for official nomination.

    The resulting list is circulated to all NARAS members, each of whom may vote to nominate in the general field (Record of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best New Artist) and in no more than nine out of 30 other fields on their ballots. The five recordings that earn the most votes in each category become the nominees, while in some categories (craft and specialized categories) there are review committees in place that determine the final 5 nominees.[13] There may be more than five nominees if there is a tie in the nomination process.

    Whereas members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are generally invited to screenings or are sent DVDs of movies nominated for Oscars, NARAS members do not receive nominated recordings.

    After nominees have been determined, final voting ballots are sent to Recording Academy members, who may then vote in the general fields and in no more than eight of the 30 fields. NARAS members are encouraged, but not required, to vote only in their fields of expertise. Ballots are tabulated secretly by the major independent accounting firm Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.[14] Following the tabulation of votes the winners are announced at the Grammy Awards. The recording with the most votes in a category wins and it is possible to have a tie. Winners are presented with the Grammy Award and those who do not win are given a medal for their nomination.

    In both voting rounds, Academy members are required to vote based upon quality alone, and not to be influenced by sales, chart performance, personal friendships, regional preferences or company loyalty. The acceptance of gifts is prohibited. Members are urged to vote in a manner that preserves the integrity of the academy.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    AFAIC if Tay doesn’t go 3-0 then she got cheated.

    • Don’t worry. She’ll shake it off.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        She has a blank space on her mantlepiece.

      • leslie says:

        I had my 4y/o granddaughter with me most of yesterday. I showed her “Shake It Off” on youtube. She was so serious the 4 times we watched it. (She kept saying “Again?” each time it ended.), I thought I’d made a big mistake because of that odd reaction – no dancing or singing or smiling – very odd for her, btw. But when I took her home she took off her boots and jacket and then said to her parents she wanted to sing for them. And she put on a Taylor Swift-like performance of “Shake It Off” in the middle of the living room! She had the best time! Wish I had recorded it! She spent that time memorizing the song and watching people shaking it off… 😀

        • leslie says:

          She tried to teach her baby sister to shake it off, too. But we rescued the 10 month old from shaken baby problems quickly. We told the 4y/o she could teach her sister how to shake it off when the little one turned 3. 😉

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Awesome! 🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      Then there’s the Spoken category (audio books) where Joan Rivers is up against Elizabeth Warren. It should be no contest, I’m sure Joanie (R.I.P.) does that best, is the politics strong in this one ?


      You can find all the nominees in all the categories at the link also.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      She got cheated.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Has this group been nominated for a Grammy ? (make sure your volume is turned WAY down!) This is “feminist music”. True story…..

    • elliesmom says:

      It’s time to clean up the gene pool.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        We just took a litter of kittens into our rescue group after they were dumped at the a vet clinics door in sub freezing temps. One of the vet techs wants to foster and her partner wants to name the kittens after various types of birth control. I pulled the short straw to “talk” with the foster that wanted to use names such as Lizzie Borden and Charles Manson. At least that young volunteer was just clueless and not seeing the names as an opportunity to make statements heterosexual norms and rape culture. So unfortunately I can see some people buying this catcalling and doll abuse as “art” and not just talentless crap.

  4. fif says:

    I rewatched Red River too! We’ve been pounded by snow and cold here in the Northeast, and it was so nice to snuggle under a warm blanket with a cup of tea and a classic old Western. I always forget how big John Wayne was and how pretty Monty Clift was. Good campy stuff.

  5. piper says:

    Clarice’s take on cognitive dissonance and the ‘news’ reporting from television stations.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Lyin’ Brian wuz framed!

    In a news cycle, the report that Brian Williams is taking a brief sabbatical is already old. But what does it mean?

    The last time we had a major news anchor step down it was definitely a political move. Dan Rather dared to expose George W. Bush’s service records. I don’t know which was worse: that a trusted name in news who covered in person some of the major news of his era was deposed or that we were subjected to the mind numbingly boring subject of kerning. Count me among the people who believe the records were genuine. His political enemies took him out anyway. That was to meant to be an example to the rest of us. Step over the line and we will finish you.

    We all know how hyping misinformation can ruin a person’s reputation. This is what Vince Foster complained about before he committed suicide. But what could be behind this latest attack on the news?

    Could it be a warm up to making Hillary Clinton’s campaign a living hell? Hmmm. Interesting possibility. But she’s been through this stuff before and she continues to learn from her experiences. That should trouble the opposition greatly. There’s nothing worse than someone who continually gets whaled on who figures it out. It could still be a rough campaign season if she decides to run but the results might not be as predictable as they were 20 or even 8 years ago.

    Could it be something that has happened in the wake of the FCC chairman’s decision to treat the internet as a public utility? I have no idea how Williams’ forced leave would tie into that but telecomm/networks are not happy about that decision, even if we don’t know exactly how it would play out yet. Maybe they’re getting their ducks in a row for some serious push back. MSNBC is (was) seen as slavishly devoted to Obama so who knows.

    Following up on that, maybe NBC needs a more compliant anchor going into the 2016 campaign season. You know, someone like Keith Olbermann in 2008 who will sell out his principles in order to push one candidate over another. Someone without so many annoying scruples. Hmmm, who could it be, who could it be?

    Or maybe this is a symptom of a much more serious problem. Maybe the military is getting way too powerful and is indicating its willingness to call the shots. Brian Williams becomes its new poster child. Even mild transgressions will be punished severely.

    Because of Hillary??

    • jeffhas says:

      “I get my news from written sources and my eyes carefully scan the text for trigger words”

      Yes, we understand, you are better.

      Friggin’ Elites are everywhere – even when they aren’t ‘Elite’, they cannot help themselves but remind us how much better they are then the gen’ral public that cannot make sense of all the ‘pitchures’ and AUDIO.

      Geez, does she really think she’s the only one who can think for themselves? Hey, word to the wisest amongst us; we all gots are own ‘pinions!

      …. And we all have our own set of Trigger Words. Or was it Tigger Words?… I love Pooh.

  8. cynic says:

    I had two thoughts on this. The first was somehow getting rid of Ly’n Brian because he’s got a $10 million contract.

    My second one was, that they needed a minority anchor.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’ve always been a fan of Lester Holt, even back in his MSNBC days.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      If they really want to shake things up, hire Megyn Kelly to replace BW

    • cynic says:

      or maybe he’s been slow jamming the news one too many times, and the network is concerned that he’s become more of an entertainer than an anchorman.

      Can’t say if I’ve ever watched the nightly news. I’d like to see the collapse of NBC (now that we sold all our GE stock) for their Obama bootlicking.

      Reading the stories last week about how poorly MSNBC ratings are, brings a smile to my face.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    What is it with “liberal” journalists’ fixation on “Friends” these days ? I guess when you’re paid to spend a month binge watching all the seasons ?


    • Myiq2xu says:

      Friends just went on Netflix.

      • leslie says:

        Speaking of Netflix . . . Last night I watched a small indie movie called “If I Were You” on Netflix. It was another winner about a middle aged woman who learned her husband was unfaithful with a young woman. I laughed from start to finish. It stars Marsha Gay Harden and Aidan Quinn has a supporting role in it. I’m sharing this title with everyone. It’s just great fun and very touching at the same time.

        • lyn says:

          If you liked Zoe Kazan in “Ruby Sparks,” you may like her “In Your Eyes.” It’s a sweet film.

        • elliesmom says:

          My favorite Netflix series right now is Australian – “The Miss Fisher Mysteries”. I want her clothes.

        • fernschild says:

          Watched it about half a dozen times, it is absolutely wonderful.

          • leslie says:

            It is, quite wonderful. I’m so happy to “know” someone else who has seen it. I am certain to watch it again and again. Have you seen “First Night”? It is another delightful movie – about love and music. It is also on Netflix.

        • lyn says:

          I put “If I Were You” on my amazon watch list to rent later in the week. I found three 99-cent movies to rent this weekend. “In Your Eyes” was one of them.

          • leslie says:

            Nice… Where/how do you find such inexpensive rentals on Amazon?

          • lyn says:

            Filters are on the left side of the amazon instant video page. I picked movie rentals for up to $1. I stumbled across several 99 cents movies when I was looking at the overall rental list and then decided to use the filter menu to find more.

      • DeniseVB says:

        The show’s been running non-stop in syndication for 11 years on a few different channels, I guess that’s too hard for real journos😉

        • 1539days says:

          It’s kind of sad. It’s the height of laziness to just sit in front of the TV and look for something to watch, but I think Netflix is worse. They changed it so you have to log into the front page every time, where you are confronted with ads for what they want you to watch, including Friends.

          Netflix is intellectual laziness. People watch the same stuff over and over and take a bunch of Netflix recommendation and think they’re superior because it’s not TV.

    • 1539days says:

      Of course, the writer doesn’t understand historical perspective. A lot has been made about the amount of “homophobic” and gay jokes in the series. That’s not surprising, since Ross’s ex-wife became a lesbian. More than that, the 90’s were the time when you could talk about being gay on TV. The alternative was not talking about it at all, which became unacceptable in the late 80’s.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Didn’t “Roseanne” make waves in the 80’s with gay characters (she has two gay siblings in RL) ? As much as she annoys me now, her old show still cracks me up. Her controversial last season with all the twists and one of the most depressing series finales, is still one of my favorites🙂

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. leslie says:

    I have more work to do today and will step away from the keyboard in a moment. I wanted to remind everyone that BAFTA awards are tonight. I found that BBC America will be televising the program this evening. It should be interesting. I figure it will be a delayed telecast. Here in Northern Chicago, it will be aired at 7:00. I’m eager to see what films and actors are winners tonight.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    I like backstories on films and actors more than I like reading the reviews. This is for Bradley Cooper fangirlz (and boyz).

  13. foxyladi14 says:


  14. lyn says:

    Faith matters.

  15. HELENK3 says:


    ok 1–2–3 everyone start singing My Heart Cries for You
    holder is upset at Congressional hearings

  16. HELENK3 says:

    Geico using backtrack’s ideal for new commercial

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. Fell asleep and had a dream in which I got into a food fight with Mamma Cass. Make Your Own Kind of Music is along with Led Zeps Fool in the Rain and maybe Chet Bakers Let’s Get Lost my favorites and Okay I admit it I love Evergreen from Streisand. And anything from Patsy Cline. Mamma Cass and I were at salad bar at Steak and Ale throwing chick peas at each other. So not right. Why can’t I dream about Channing Tatem. No I get Mamma Cass. Not six pack abs I get barbecued ribs with mashed potatoes

  19. swanspirit says:

    Ruthie Foster , played her on Goddess Radio for almost a decade now, nominated for a Grammy in Blues!!

  20. SHV says:

    More weird shit for the Klown:
    “10 Benefits Of Vaginal Weightlifting”

  21. Myiq2xu says:

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Took the baby and demon dog to the grocery store. I gave kid ten dollars and stood watch at the door. She came out with 35 dollars in flowers for me. . I was like no. Woman behind her paid. Nice of the woman but really not what I want to teach her. I am floored that a little girl bought me a bouquet but a stranger paying is not good. Maybe she felt good by act but I feel humiliated. Kid is getting older and she thinks for herself. I am crazy helicopter parent. I gave her ten dollars and then stood right in front of the door. Did not expect her to get someone to buy 31.99 in flowers I came as close to yelling as I can but I said baby you don’t Do that stuff. Tears running down her cheek she said I bought them for you. Ouch that stung.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Well you certainly taught her a lesson, just not the one you intended to teach her.

    • DeniseVB says:

      What was her assignment with that $10 ? Milk, bread ? Or if you just said “here’s 10 bucks” have a blast ? OMG, flowers for you, priceless😀

      Reminds me of the time (early 90’s?) I was sitting in DC’s Union Station with a fidgety 10 yr old with a several hour layover from Vermont to Norfolk. Here’s $10 kid, go into the toy store and have a blast. Moments later a Swat Team stormed the station yelling for everyone to GET DOWN, GET DOWN, and I did, and they entered that freaking toy store across from my bench and baggage. And I STOOD UP ! (inaudible cross chatter). Long story short, it was a drill, the kid was fine,I don’t think my blood pressure’s gone down since🙂

  24. Myiq2xu says:

  25. I worry that I worry too much about writing. I am one f those freaks that skipped a few grades and took one test in 10th grade that said I was special. I am not . I see some stuff differently. I am not normal I will never the world the way normal people do. It is not sad . I have been beaten because a bunch of boys in an el Camino jumped out of car and pissed on my face kicking me in the head. I lived. Episode was harsh but it did not destroy me. 35 years later a guy standing outside of a store waiting for a child that he wants to see grow up gets handed flowers from a stranger.

    • I worry that I worry about worrying. All i do is worry. I obsess over tuition. Kid is 8 but I lose enamel thinking about freshman year. Often I wonder does she know how much I care. Well flowers speak volumes.

      • swanspirit says:

        Chamomile ……tea….

      • Kathy says:

        I understand….about worrying. I have two (now grown) daughters and worry is my middle name….but there comes a time that you have to let go. It is the most difficult thing you will ever do. My oldest spent her senior college year studying in Japan on scholarship and was detained by the Japanese equivalent of the DEA because a friend sent her some weed thru the mail–they actually took her passport for a few days. Another time, she passed out on the phone with me–food poisoning….so, calm down.

        • Kathy says:

          Trying to say….relax, worrying is ok….you are normal.

          • Oh my I do love the Japanese but not sure I could handle pup living there of course she is eight. I did know two Japanese girls who went to The University of Pennsylvania to study nursing. Back then 35,000 a year. Is Grey’s anatomy different if you spend 30,000 thousand extra? One young woman was named Kana Watsamatsu. I Loved saying her name. So lyric. I guess the liberal minds at Penn thought it proper to house two girls born in Upper Darby together because of heritage. Other girls name was Alice. Who names their Japanese daughter Alice? I always called Her Yasanara Kawabata. It was the late 80’s so of course they were goth. Some where there . is a rule that if you are Japanese a daughter of a surgeon you have to wear all black and have a gay best friend. I think I was included with tuition. You also have to love The Cure. Pictures of You is a beautiful song.

  26. 49erDweet says:

    After reading RD’s screed all that time ago, still shaking my head. How come some stupid people can still spell well? It’s a puzzle.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think Brianless Williams has trumped all the network and internet screed? I haven’t watched network news since ’08, haven’t read RD since 2007. Ok, I lied, maybe just the links here, especially Ralphs, I miss Ralph😉

  27. elliesmom says:

    Just a reminder for all of the “Breaking Bad” fans. “Better Call Saul” starts tonight. 10 pm EST on AMC

  28. 1539days says:

    I don’t watch Downton Abbey, but is anyone watching the preceding show, The Great British Baking Show? I’ve been catching it in the middle of the night for a few weeks now and now I actually saw it at its regular time. I’m just fascinated by the ridiculously complicated bakes these people have to do.

  29. 1539days says:

    Back to Obama’s dumb Prayer Breakfast Speech. Apparently, he did mention the KKK.


  30. threewickets says:

    You know who needs to bite the dust? Uber Obots Jeff Zucker and Nick Denton. Their time will come. 🙂

  31. I was taking a stroll down memory lane tryin to figure out who I am. When a little girl buys you flowers with someone else’s money it throws you for a loop. I remembered Bing in London and this very petite Chinese girl played I’ll Stand By You twice. This prick was sitting with a few of his rugby friends and he decided to make fun of her. I do not suffer idiots well so I put twenty quid in the jukebox and played the same song over and over again the entire time I stared him down. I thought what makes me like that he was ten times my size but I felt strong in that moment. Then I remembered my Nanny. Tough lady. My baby girl’s grandfather my sister ex husband was a real tool. He was forever and a day threatening suicide. Sociopath. Well one day my grandmother beat him up. She was just sick of the lies so she punched him over and over again. His daddy showed up because sociopaths always have a consumer. How they operate. He was in the yard crying that his boy lost an eating that had belonged to his dead brother. Emotional manipulation only goes so far. You feel used and then you get angry. I am going to kill myself has a shelf life. You get bored and then you say do it I will buy you bullets or a noose. Well my Nanny had a father and son crying in her yard because she beat up the son. She grabbed her Hoover vacuumed the floor threw the whole thing out the door and yelled find your own fucking eating. I did not have a sweet cookie baking grandmother I had a woman who yielded small appliances as weapons. I cleaned banks with her every night. She was tough. I see women that way because of her. I hate the new feminists vulnerability can make you stronger than you thought possible. I want to yell grow up every time I hear people whine. Poor me. Stop no way to live. I can see mistakes made in the past. Do I live my life based on.actions decades ago. NO NO NO NO. I walked into my dad’s room tonight and told him pup bought me flowers. He does not like the gays I am not right in his world. He is my dad I love him flaws make him more. Little bitches complaining do not know what life is . Who ever said it was easy. Life sucks way it is but how many people get to sit in a snow pile and look at tears running down a child’s face. She was in a store and she made a decision to buy me flowers. I have raised her since she was weeks old. I become so scared I do not want her to be a sociopath. Her dad and her grandfather both are. Suicide is a daily thing with them. I love my pup fear of her being like her dad preying on emotions scares me. I was very mad that she had a woman buy her flowers. I am the asshole. So afraid she will be like her dad that I am blinded by the fact a woman saw a child and covered her Bill. I am mad but am I so angry I can dispose of my faith in the world? Twisted and wrong if two dozen pleasant an e loving weeds makes me reinvent how I see the world. Hey you gotta make your own kind of music Sing your own special song.

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Complete list of Grammy winners. On the upside, Joan Rivers beat Elizabeth Warren and Pentatonix won their group.


  33. DeniseVB says:

    BAFTA winners (The British Oscars) Oh, they must be racist too, not one nom for Selma either😉


  34. Lulu says:

    I came home Friday night from a trip to sell my mother in law’s house. I was tired Saturday and just noodling around on the intertubes. I came across the latest Rotherham report and read it in one sitting. https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/401119/46966_Rotherham_Report_PRINT.pdf in all of its ignominy.

    It is full of classism, stupidity, greed, laziness, jealousy, and hubris. The bureaucrats and piss ant elected officials who were responsible for pretty much everything in this small city are careerists who used any excuse to ignore problems which grew exponentially over time. The people who live there are viewed as sub-human by their betters who are all Labour party hacks. Especially young girls and young women who are treated with open contempt by social workers and police. Much has been made of this bunch of bums being afraid of being called racists. This is obviously a ruse. They are lazy, hateful, cash bonus seeking, do nothings who used this as an excuse to allow thousands of poor children to be groomed and violently raped by a psychotic Muslim minority who had gained a bit of political influence in the town. They sought rewards for writing reports, hiding data, and bullying whistle blowers. This applied to the police also and THEIR report hasn’t even been issued.

    What stuck me was the parallels in the bureaucracy in the US under Obama the Great. We heard the same garbage from the VA administrators who got grilled by Congress last year. They fail upward. They draw enormous salaries like their counterparts in the UK, do great harm, and cannot be gotten rid of due to too generous employment rights. The good thing in the UK is that they are looking at criminal charges against many of these cretins by a Tory government. Perhaps our next president will do the same because doing nothing while children are being raped or veterans are dying from neglect is criminal and should be treated as such.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Lulu! I didn’t see your comment when I put up a new thread since I noticed how long this one got, so thought, what the heck. Would love for you to repost/copy/paste, it certainly fits the Winners/Losers topic😀

Comments are closed.