Everything You Wanted To Know About Barack Obama’s College Days, Only About Scott Walker Instead



As Scott Walker mulls White House bid, questions linger over college exit

Scott Walker was gone. Dropped out. And in the spring of his senior year.

In 1990, that news stunned his friends at Marquette University. Walker, the campus’s suit-wearing, Reagan-loving politico — who enjoyed the place so much that he had run for student body president — had left without graduating.

To most of the Class of 1990 — and, later, to Wisconsin’s political establishment — Walker’s decision to quit college has been a lingering mystery.

Not even his friends at Marquette were entirely sure why he never finished. Some had heard that a parent had fallen ill, or maybe there was some financial strain. Others thought he had simply had enough of school.

Walker clearly liked college politics more than college itself. He had managed to line up 47 campaign endorsements, including ones from the ski team and the varsity chorus, but he had trouble showing up on time for French.

And, after four years, he had faltered on both fronts. He’d lost an ugly race for president. And he apparently had far too few credits to graduate.

Kevin Miller, who knew Walker from the Marquette Students for Life, described Walker’s thinking at the time as: “ ‘I’d rather have a full-time job and have the rest of my time to spend on politics.’ ” He said Walker intended to go back to school at some point. “I never got any indication that it was anything other than that. Or anything more than that.”

Walker’s own explanation has been short and simple. He got a job. He meant to go back. But he just never found the time.

Today, Walker, 47, is the governor of Wisconsin and a strong contender for the GOP’s 2016 presidential nomination. He is known for an astounding political hot streak: Since 1993, he has run 11 races for state legislature, county executive and governor — including a highly unusual recall election in 2012 — and he has won them all.

But before that streak came a string of defeats — the campus election, his failure to finish college and his first campaign for state office.

There is a bunch more, with lots of specific details and interviews. You probably should go read it. I’ll drop a spoiler and tell you it’s a hit job thinly disguised as an objective candidate bio. But that’s not what I want to talk about.

The thing that struck me about the article is that it’s about a midwestern governor who isn’t officially a candidate for anything right now and yet it gives us more information about Scott Walker’s college years than we have ever heard about Barack Obama.

Don’t get me wrong – Scott Walker is fair game. Anyone who wants to run for president should expect some close scrutiny of their life. But Barack Obama has been president for over six years now and there is still a lot of missing information about his college background. What little we do know mostly comes from his ghost-written memoirs and official campaign press releases.

Will the media be fair and balanced in its treatment of both GOP and Democratic candidates this time?

I’m not optimistic.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

124 Responses to Everything You Wanted To Know About Barack Obama’s College Days, Only About Scott Walker Instead

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    The Democrats obsess over the Koch brothers, but compare their influence to having someone like Candy Crowley putting her finger on the scale during a debate.

    • fif says:

      & they never mention the millions Soros pours into the process to support their candidates. They are so sanctimonious about their concern for the world (unless you are not one of “them”).

  2. votermom says:

    A guy drops out of college to pursue his calling and becomes widly successful. Scott Walker is the Steve Jobs of politics.

    • Lulu says:

      The media wants stories of flunking out, getting arrested, running out of money, pregnant girlfriend, drug addiction, running off to Europe with a band, etc. You know cool stuff that they would have done. Going to work in your early years instead of hanging around and running up huge student loans to be fully “credentialed” is so peasant-ie, middle America, ERNEST! And his friends said he was NICE! Bleech. Next they will show his transcripts and he made A’s and B’s. /S/

    • Somebody says:

      VM that is actually a very good response, perhaps Walker should hire you.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Unsaid but glaringly obvious in all this is Obabbles must have made even less of a collegiate impression on his classmates. There’ve been no “Kevin Millers” remembering him. Mr. Forgettable. Now President Forgettable-except-as-a-footnote-to-history.

      • lizzy says:

        Obama won’t even rate a footnote unless he manages to get us all blown up by the Iranians, If that happens the question is moot. We’ll all be dead.

        • 49erDweet says:

          I’m holding out hope they’ll only get part of us before we turn their entire nation into molten glass, but I could be wrong. Whichever that “part” is sucks, but will probably include Obabbler, thus freeing us up to resume things.

    • Constance says:

      Bill Gates also quit college to start Microsoft.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    This is a fun list …. http://www.collegedropoutshalloffame.com/

    Still smarter than the Obamas😀

    • DeniseVB says:

      Glenn Beck, radio and TV political commentator, bestselling book author. Enrolled at Yale University for one class but quickly dropped out because he “spent more time trying to find a parking space” than in class.

      I am not anti-college…. There is such a thing as getting an education other than through the gates of a university that are charging our children $100,000 to $150,000 to $250,000 just to be able to have a certificate that doesn’t necessarily mean anything to them…. I’m not anti-education. I am anti-massive debt. I am anti-giving our children’s souls over to these universities.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Andrew Carnegie, industrialist and philanthropist. Elementary school dropout. Started work at the age of 13 as a bobbin boy in a textile mill. One of the first mega-billionaires in the U.S.

    • DeniseVB says:

      One more ….

      Bill Gates, billionaire co-founder of Microsoft, one of the richest men in the world, philanthropist. Dropped out of Harvard after his second year to work with Paul Allen on the venture that became Microsoft. As he noted, “I realized the error of my ways and decided I could make do with a high school diploma.”

  4. votermom says:

    Stupid OT question. I think our water meter, which is in our basement, is not working. The numbers aren’t moving – they’re the same for a couple of days now. Also it’s dripping. Do I call the water company? It’s going to be a pain, having them come check since they’ll have to come in.

    • Lulu says:

      Call and ask the water department. Where I live a plumber does everything except install a new meter and dig up the main that runs along the street. But we have meters in a big pipe hole thing near the street.

    • 49erDweet says:

      I thought those things measured water usage in huge enough quantities so they wouldn’t actually -“move”. Do you still have running water? If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

      • 49erDweet says:

        OK. The sun was in my eyes. True. Just saw the “dripping”. Put a can under it. If you need to offset it run a stick from under the drip to the can. Water sticks to stuff.
        If it’s less than a gallon a day, wait until spring thaw. More than that, probably a mess.

        • votermom says:

          It’s a tiny drip. The numbers haven’t moved in days though.
          I don’t want the water company to think we’re stealing water.

          • leslie says:

            I received a notice from the gas company that they were going to shut off the gas if I didn’t let them in to see the gas meter. (Lest I be stealing the gas, I guess.)
            I live in a f***ing multi-unit building. The gas meters are all together for the 26 units that we have. (who knows where that is? I don’t.)
            I’ve been here for 22 years and a) have never seen a gas meter. and b)never received a letter like that in the past. If they shut off the gas, I’ll cook with my microwave.

          • 49erDweet says:

            They may be under some type of legal hassle to safety check their meters every couple of decades.

          • votermom says:

            Our electric/ gas company sent a letter a while back before saying their guy would be checking meters (outside) in our neighborhood. I guess they didn’t want anyone getting shot for trespassing.
            The water company told me: “the guy we send will have our id, our uniform, and drive our truck.” Apparently there is a lot of crime committed by impersonators.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Stealing infers intent. Did you mess with the meter? No? It could be considered reasonable to wait for warmer weather. Unless you have a duty to check the meter frequently, etc. Doubt that’s the case.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Our water meter’s near the street, all I know about it is what tool in the garage I need to grab to turn it off in case there’s a water/toilet/broken pipe explosion in the house. I would imagine the numbers won’t move if there’s no water running? I’d turn everything on full blast, then check if the numbers move.

  5. piper says:

  6. piper says:

  7. piper says:

    The War Prez who was against it before he was for it – Ah the hypocrisy!

  8. piper says:

    Lest we forget Harry Truman didn’t have a college degree either.
    From Wiki
    “Truman is the most recent U.S. president who had not earned a college degree. When his high school friends went off to the state university in 1901, Truman enrolled in Spalding’s Commercial College, a Kansas City business school, but stayed for one semester. In 1923–25 he took night courses towards a law degree at the Kansas City Law School (now the University of Missouri–Kansas City School of Law), but dropped out after losing his government job”

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think there were 8 Presidents w/o degrees, including Lincoln. I was amazed to see how many zillionaires were on that list at the link I posted above. Including high school drop outs🙂

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    I have a confession: It took me more than four years to get my BA degree. I went full time every semester and took classes in Summer too, but I still didn’t have all the units in the right categories to graduate “on time.”

    Of course I wasn’t 22 when I graduated either. I took a few years off after high school.

    Can you still respect me?

    • DandyTIger says:

      OMG! {{runs screaming from room with hair on fire}}

    • Lulu says:

      I had the opposite problem for a while. I finished in three years. I remember on an employment interview I was asked why I did it. “Because my dad told me to.” “Do you do everything your dad tells you to?” “While living with him and dependent that is a yes.” I think that was an interview at NASA and I thought they were assholes. So any deviation is suspicious.

    • fif says:

      I’m outta here! The horror…

    • DeniseVB says:

      Didn’t it take Sarah Palin 6 years ? Libs think you’re stupid if you can’t do it in 4😉

      • Constance says:

        And she didn’t go to private universities! And her schools weren’t even on the east coast!

        • DeniseVB says:

          I think she worked her way through school, took some time off here and there, but did finish. Whoa, didn’t she still get elected a governor? 😉

    • votermom says:

      Oh dear, I don’t know if we can ask Klown to tea anymore. *delicate shudder*

    • Constance says:

      Well I’ll try to respect you still. I went to a state college for a 4yr job training degree so I hope people will still respect me!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Don’t tell the Professional Fems, instead of college, went on a Horny Hungry Husband Hunt. Married the first guy who had a job😀 (to be fair to dh, a gung ho Marine officer between VN tours, picked up in a bar). ^5 me. 44 years this June ❤

  10. abc says:

    College for me was the place where I spent an inordinate amount of money in tuition to teach myself what I needed to pass exams…as in the instructors were horrendous. So someone figures out how to make a living using the teach yourself method, but without tuition? And that is a scandal? Um only to ivy tower elites, it is.

  11. fif says:

    Will the media be fair and balanced in its treatment of both GOP and Democratic candidates this time?

    You even need to ask?

  12. HELENK3 says:

    just to start the day off right

  13. Myiq2xu says:


  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    Apparently today is Chuck Darwin’s birthday.

  16. leslie says:

    In the post below, I mentioned that Rahmbo, Mayor of Chicago, had called the Little League Assoc. about the unfairness that the Jackie Robinson West Little League team had been stripped of the title because of the infractions of the rules buy adults. It appears to be okay that the title was won under false pretenses and, he believes the Chicago team deserves the title anyway. THEN
    Rev Jesse Jackson came on board, of course calling the decision (shocking) racist. THEN Fr. Michael Pfleger called it racist driven. (Call me shocked.) These people just make me sick. and Rahm’s phone call is nothing more than pandering for votes.
    Now this is in the local news – and it’s about time…… http://chicago.cbslocal.com/2015/02/12/opinion-pfleger-emanuel-should-be-ashamed-in-wake-of-jrw-scandal/

  17. votermom says:

    Oh. Good. Lord. I couldn’t watch more than a few seconds of this. We have Mr. Bean in the WH.

    • DeniseVB says:

      That’s an insult to Mr. Bean, who is always entertaining😉 GMTA, just on my way here to post this link. You must watch the whole thing, he’s definitely dethroned GWB looking for the missing WMD’s under his desk video as worst optics in the worrrrrrrld. (and BO and GWB are college grads too ! /snork)

  18. votermom says:

  19. They are trying to down play local kid having TB. Woman saying it is very hard to get unless someone coughs or sings on you. Huh? Sings on you. That makes my head hurt.

  20. driguana says:

    If Obama didn’t have to provide facts about his college years, why should Walker? that should be what he tells the media. He shows-and-tells, I show- and-tell.

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    He’s just a heartbeat away:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Damn I’m old, in Uncle Joe’s generation, a butt buddy was a ciggy buddy you stepped outside with for a smoke. Of course, new generation via Urban Dictionary, you like it in the butt. Giving Joe a pass on this😀

      • elliesmom says:

        Kind of like when Jesse Helms thought posters that said, “Pet your dog. Not your date.” would be good for teaching kids abstinence. My kids wanted to know what the heck he was talking about.

      • 1539days says:

        That was a favorite phrase of Don Imus. Sometimes I wonder why it took as long as it did for him to get in trouble over what he said.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. angienc says:

    It’s that time of year again, TCHers! February 22 — just 10 days from now — is the Oscars, so it’s the annual Crawdad Hole Oscar Pool!

    Go to this link:


    Password is: crawdad

    Make your picks and have a chance to win fabulous prizes!*

    *Prizes subject to availability.**

    **No prizes available at this time.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    • lildoggy4u says:

      That’s the only thing I kept looking at. That filthy mirror! I could care less about Obama or the purpose of the video but that mirror in the WHITE HOUSE? I can only guess what the rest of the place looks like now.
      And now I truly believe the scientists are on to something when they stated – scientists-link-selfies-to-narcissism-addiction-and-mental-illness.http://tinyurl.com/ns3pfl9

  26. lorac says:

    He should take those last few classes online in order to graduate, then whip out his diploma at some later date.

  27. Pingback: TCH Oscars Office Pool | The Crawdad Hole

Comments are closed.