TCH Oscars Office Pool


Here is a message from our old and dear friend, the lovely and talented AngieNC:

It’s that time of year again, TCHers! February 22 — just 10 days from now — is the Oscars, so it’s the annual Crawdad Hole Oscar Pool!

Go to this link:

Password is: crawdad

Make your picks and have a chance to win fabulous prizes!*

*Prizes subject to availability.**

**No prizes available at this time.

I’m boycotting the Oscars telecast this year (and maybe from now on) but that doesn’t mean I can’t play in the pool. Somebody has to beat Angie eventually, she can’t win every year.

The winner will receive one month’s supply of Michelle Obama’s tasty and nutritious school lunches. The second place finisher will receive two months supply! Third place will receive a lifetime supply of Barack Obama’s ABC Nicorette gum.

Best of all, whoever dethrones Angie as the champ gets to snatch that tin foil tiara off her head and do the Mummers Strut while wearing it as I play Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah on my kazoo!

This is an open thread.

p.s. – It’s Friday the 13th, so watch your ass!


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to TCH Oscars Office Pool

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    When I was a kid the Oscars was one of my favorite things. Now it is pretty much unwatchable. Was it always so politicized?

  2. HELENK3 says:

    any more I do not know half the people at the oscars. Most of the movies are not worth watching. The good ones do not get awarded.

    glad you learned the Mummer’s Strut

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    • votermom says:

      She’s the one who tweeted “Going to Africa. Hope I don’t get AIDS. Just kidding. I’m white!” at the start of an 11 hour flight, then by the time she arrived she was public enemy number one.
      I’ve been watching Spartacus on netflix – social media can be a Roman arena.

    • Falstaff says:

      Meh. Her problems were self-inflicted. Stupid should hurt, and social media helps to make it hurt. Can’t say that I feel sorry for her.

  6. HELENK3 says:

    what is your favorite SNL sketch.

    I used to watch SNL in the beginning and thought it was great. Some real talent on that show. I do not know if the show changed over the years or I changed over the years but it does not seem as funny now.

      • fif says:

        The early years had moments of true comic genius. We watched every single Saturday night – there had never been anything like that on TV before. Some of my favorites were: Gilda doing the “Judy Miller Show” in her bedroom alone; Bill Murray & Gilda as Todd & Lisa, and John Belushi’s comic madness. I tried to watch over the years, but it just got worse and worse. Last night’s special brought back some of those great memories.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          During that first year the only thing lower than expectations was their budget. It was like a bunch of skits at summer camp. They could get away with a lot of stuff you couldn’t do in prime time.

    • piper says:

      Still one of my fav., Roseanne Roseannadanna. Also loved Ruth Buzzi and Lily Tomlin on Laugh In

    • Myiq2xu says:

      It was never really that good, but they did have lots of talent at the beginning. It succeeded because it didn’t have any competition and it was on late. Lots of the fans were kids staying up on the weekend and pot-smoking college students. It was campy and fun and irreverent.

      Sometimes they botched their lines and had accidents, but it all went on the air live back east.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The 70’s SNLs were a lot edgier than they are today, up til Obama, no President was off limits either. Every now and then they poke him, but not like they did Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush1, Clinton and Bush2. Really funny stuff.

      Also their over-the-top portrayals of Janet Reno(Will Farrell), Linda Tripp(John Goodman, ouch) and Bobbi Christina (Tracey Morgan on his knees) were funny if not cringeworthy🙂

      Interesting reading in the Tina Fey and Amy Poehler books about the Sarah Palin era and trying to make amends with her. Of all their years on SNL, that seemed to be the topic they both spent more time on.

  7. votermom says:

  8. votermom says:

    Since the post is about the Oscars, I guess tv shows are on topic.
    I have developed this Netflix habit of watching a tv series and getting so attached to the characters that I chicken out of watching the last few episodes of the series if I know they don’t get a happy ever after.
    This is specially true of quasi-historical shows where I know the main character dies/gets killed; unfortunately quasi historical shows filled with violence and intrigue are my favorite genre to watch.

    • piper says:

      Netflix’s release of Outlander next month – can’t wait. Enjoyed the series although I haven’t read the last book.

    • HELENK3 says:

      I just started watching Magic City on netflix. pretty good.

      • votermom says:

        I need to check it out.
        For some reason, the shows Netflix recommends to me all seem to be gory historicals, scifi , or horror. *whistles innocently*

        • HELENK3 says:

          Miami Beach Hotel in 1959. mob, gambling, sex all the good things

          • Somebody says:

            That does sound interesting Helen. I don’t use netflix much, but I know I should. Part of my issue is figuring out what in the hell to watch. We don’t have our own account it’s an auxiliary account of my eldest daughter’s, so our recommendations are really a mess! I also have amazon prime and I’ve never downloaded a movie or tv show. Both services seem cumbersome to navigate to me, but I’m not the brightest bulb in the tanning bed when it comes to technology. I watch very little TV anyway and when I do I tend to just watch something on the direct TV satellite or a DVD, mainly because it’s just easier.

          • votermom says:

            Somebody, your daughter can make a profile for you everyone who uses her netflix account and that way your recs are different if the device you watch on supports profiles (computer, tablet, etc)
            That’s what we did. But hubby’s recs are a a mess because if we watch on tv, the bluray ayer we use doesn’t support profiles.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    David Carr died suddenly last evening. One of his last columns dealt with a “troll on steroids

  10. piper says:

    Kanye’s latest squeeze – wants this photo removed from interboobs – can’t understand why as I think this is perfect pic.

  11. piper says:

    To Bruce or Not

  12. piper says:

    Helen, I also read NoQuarter but never post there just steal cartoons and articles. Like this article that you posted there.
    “Obama prefers to shape his decisions based on the image he wishes to see in the mirror — bringer of peace, provider of health insurance to the masses — without regard for real world consequences. He washes his hands of these consequences.
    This makes him not only our hand-washer-in-chief, but also our narcissist-in-chief.”
    More at link:

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Hey, I’m all alone in the swimming “pool”😉

  15. HELENK3 says:

    did you know there is a slowdown by dockworkers at the West Coast ports. MSM does not seem to know about it. not good for economy. More of backtrack’s friends at their best

  16. lyn says:

    Not anymore!

  17. HELENK3 says:

    NUTS sometimes it is the only answer

  18. DeniseVB says:

    OMGoodness, the cuteness burns in this one😀

  19. DeniseVB says:

    • Constance says:

      The Elitists don’t realize that not being Ivy Indoctrinated is a plus for Walker getting elected. I like that he went to a Jesuit University, they are free thinkers but still believe in institutions of society.

  20. elliesmom says:

    Elliesdad broke his foot in two places so he’s confined to one floor of the house wearing a storm trooper boot. We have 6ft long icicles on the south side of the house, almost 4ft of snow on the ground, and another foot or more coming Saturday night into Sunday. I think it’s time to just throw in the towel, have the grocery store deliver, and stay inside until spring.

    I always come in last or near last in the Oscar pool, but I did play again. I think it’s safe to say “American Sniper” probably isn’t going to win. My saying that should improve the movie’s odds of taking home the prize.

  21. fif says:

    Oh this is funny, if I had to be there, it’s the only way I could get through the State of the Union!

    Ginsburg: ‘I Wasn’t 100 Percent Sober’ For State Of The Union Address

  22. HELENK3 says:

    300 US Marines cut off in Ramadi, so yes Hilary Benghazi matters

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. Myiq2xu says:

  25. DeniseVB says:

    I know it’s too soon, but what a nice family🙂

  26. 49erDweet says:

    Slightly on track, besides Midsomer Murders and Grantchester, we’ve taken to watching Vera on PBS and are enjoying it. Who knew the UK had that much open, wild countryside?

  27. Somebody says:

    OT…….one of the biggest Obots I know told me today that he regretted his votes. He said he hated to admit it, but he feared the right wing conspiracy rumors about Obama being a closet Muslim are true. He said it’s the only thing that makes sense, then he went off about the administration’s refusal to say Islamic terrorist or extremist and he also brought up the prayer breakfast crusade comments. He said he doesn’t want to say such things, but he can’t figure out any other explanation and now he’s concerned about our country……..oh NOW you’re concerned.

    I thought it was interesting that this hard core bot has lost that loving feeling. He’s defended Obama through thick and thin and was defending him only a few weeks ago, but not now.

Comments are closed.