Singles Awareness Day


Today is the day that millions of single and divorced people across the country are reminded once again that they will be forever alone.

Love stinks.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to Singles Awareness Day

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Bitter? Me?

    Okay, maybe just a tad.

    I’ve become crazy cat guy.

    • votermom says:

      Just don’t dip the kitties in chocolate.

    • Somebody says:

      Well eharmony is letting you sign up for free today………or you could take a chance and see if the “hot” widow wants to go out for dinner and a movie.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Her large, muscular boyfriend might object.

        • Somebody says:

          Oh, I didn’t know she had a boyfriend…..oh well she didn’t seem to interested in you anyway. What about the other widow? I know you’re not interested in her romantically, but having a friend to pal around with is never a bad thing. I’m sure just like you she’d prefer a pal to go out to dinner with or to the movies with, just a thought. BUT since you’re not interested in her in THAT way don’t ask her if she wants to go to dinner tonight, wait and see if she wants to do something on President’s Day.

    • Somebody says:

      BTW Klown we all love you and your kitties love you and your kids love you and your mom loves you……so you’re surrounded by love. You just don’t happen to have a romantic type of love in your life right now. That doesn’t mean that this time next year you won’t, because you never know what the future holds.

  2. votermom says:

    My HS senior’s class is doing H&R’s budget challenge contest (prize is a chance at scholarships). I was helping her get set up with her choices.
    The idea is that each kid is an employee with a certain salary, and they have to budget loan payments, rent, credit card, utilities, insurance, etc. You earn points by how much you save in your 401k, minus deductions for fees and penalties for late payments etc.
    It was fun seeing her figuring how much she can stash in the 401, and whether she has enough cash flow to be in the lower-cost minimum balance checking account vs the higher cost no min balance account. She said “now I know why you & dad are so wierd about writing checks.”

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. piper says:

    Today really sucks because it’s That Day falling on a Saturday. I refuse to do what other widows do on this day pulling out old cards and reading the messages. I’m going out to dinner with a female friend to discuss our lives and upcoming trip – so there Big V.

  5. HELENK3 says:

    stolen from No Quarter

    • piper says:

      Helen, too funny we posted at the same time.

      • HELENK3 says:


      • Somebody says:

        You know I didn’t realize two different people posted it. I saw the second one and thought you had double posted by accident Piper, that’s why I replied to the second one.

      • DeniseVB says:

        At the EXACT same time ! This little community is getting scary, LOL ! I can’t tell you how many times I’m off lurking elsewhere, see a link and think of TCH, zip over here to see someone else posted the same link ! GMTA indeed😀

      • leslie says:

        I am so grateful you explained. I saw 2 of the same picture coming at me at the same time And I thought someone (not necessarily you, NSA) had bugged my computer. :facepalm:

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    I love happy endings:

    Christopher Ray Foster, 37, died at the scene after the unidentified woman shot him at her home near Canton, Texas. She called 911 at around 4:30 a.m.

    Foster, who had an extensive criminal history, was recently released on a personal recognizance bond from Van Zandt County jail for failure to register as a sex offender, KLTV reported. Police also believed Foster was the prime suspect in an arson which occurred on Monday.

    According to the Texas Department of Public Safety’s sex offender registry, Foster was sentenced to 10 years in prison in 1999 for sexual assault of a child. The female victim was 15.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    I’m not at all a fan of Hallmark holidays, even Christmas is starting to get on my last nerve, and as I tell my husband and kids, every g.d. day should be g.d. Mother’s Day and Valentine’s😉

    On the upside, the reviews of 50 Shades of Grey are pretty bad, one reviewer said watching it has to be worse than being waterboarded …. lol !

    • Somebody says:

      I feel the same way about Valentine’s Day and Mother’s Day. I thought I was the only one. My sisters get all bent out of shape if their asses aren’t properly kissed, but hey I guess when you’re married to assholes you cherish that one day they’re decent, LOL!!

      In fact hubby and I avoid going out on Valentine’s because everything is always so crowded. Sometimes he surprises me with something and sometimes we’ll actually go out for dinner, but it’s just not a big deal to me. Honestly my husband is wonderful to me all year long he doesn’t have to kiss my ass every year on February 14th. BTW, I’ve always been perplexed as to why there isn’t a market for mens gift items around Valentine’s Day? Isn’t it supposed to be mutual? Perhaps some mens group should protest that everything is biased toward pleasing women…….if it was the reverse you know the feminist would scream.

      I heard the same thing about 50 shade of grey, heard there was no chemistry between the actors. I don’t have any interest in seeing it anyway, nor did I have any interest in the books. We went to see Kingsman last night, it was OK, kept us entertained we weren’t looking at our watches or anything…….but parts of it were just over the top or perhaps I’m just too much of a realist. We may go to the movies again tonight, a new theater opened just up the street we could walk or ride our bikes to it. It’s state of the art too, plush rocking seats, 60 feet wide, 3 story tall screens, top of the line sound system, nice concessions with beer and wine!

      They have 10 screens and opening weekend movies are $2 plus everybody gets a free soft drink! Sooooo I think we might catch several movies this weekend, LOL! Shame of it is they’re only showing 5 movies opening weekend, American Sniper which we’ve already seen…..Kingsman, we saw last night. Then there is 50 shades of grey, Sponge Bob and The wedding ringer. I think we’re going to see The Wedding Ringer today or maybe we’ll take the grandkids to Sponge Bob??? Either way I have a feeling we’ll see those two movies today and tomorrow…….who knows we may say to hell with it and give 50 shades a try……nah probably not even for $2 each.

      • elliesmom says:

        In Japan Valentine’s Day is the day women give gifts to men usually in the form of chocolate. Then a month later on March 14th, it’s White Day and the men reciprocate to the women. The men’s gifts are supposed to be at least 2 to 3 times as valuable as what they received from the women. When I worked for Hitachi, there were a lot of Japanese men who were confused about Valentine’s Day here. When they figured it out, they made a pilgrimage to Godiva. I don’t think I have ever had so much chocolate in my life. lol But a month later, they were equally confused when they got nothing. I think they expected a hell of a lot of candy was coming their way.😉

      • DeniseVB says:

        Yeah, when the Hallmark Holidays start becoming a competition it stops being fun. Besides, I can buy myself chocolate and flowers anytime I want, ha ! We avoid movies and restaurants on the weekends and holidays anyhow, with retirement comes that perk of flexibility😀 And less people, we really don’t like other people /sarc.

    • 1539days says:

      It’s kind of ironic that a movie about whips and chains ends up being torture to watch.

      Ironic, but apparently not erotic.

  8. fif says:

    V-Day, schmee day. It’s an entirely manufactured holiday to sell flowers, cards et. al. We need a special day to express love? I’m single and love my independence!

  9. elliesmom says:

    Elliesdad and I will be enjoying Valentine’s Day at home tonight courtesy of another major snowstorm and a foot in a boot.. I really think it’s a semi-holiday we should do away with. For the folks in happy relationships Valentine’s Day should be every day. But for people who have no relationship at all, it’s not much of a holiday. For people in crappy relationships, it might even be worse. It’s one thing to be denied a box of chocolates or bunch of flowers because there’s no one to bring them to you. Perhaps, even sadder to have someone who’s supposed to care about your happiness and doesn’t. A holiday that probably makes more people sad than happy sounds more like a day of mourning.

    • leslie says:

      I agree about doing away with V Day. Many years ago, when I had to carry a pager for emergency calls (for extra pay and that made a huge difference) I took the pager for the weekend of Valentine Day. It fell on a Saturday. I had 14 calls in one hour with 10 threats of suicide to assess and act on. In Only One Hour! I had probably 20 calls that day and maybe 5 on the Sunday.
      This “holiday” so enforces in the most fragile and lonely people, that they are unloved and unlovable. (At least in my line of work it does.)
      (BTW, I never volunteered to carry the pager on a Valentine Day weekend again. There wasn’t enough $$ to persuade me.)

  10. HELENK3 says:

    I have never been to these sites. Make up your own minds if they are good, bad or indifferent

  11. HELENK3 says:

    maybe it just me, but Lowes is a business not a charity. pouring good money after bad is not a good business decision. So I understand their reasoning for this act

    • DeniseVB says:

      Walker/Cruz would be an unbeatable team ticket😀 (I think I’m thinking too much about 2016, but it sure helps me keep my mind off Obama’s follies)

  12. HELENK3 says:

    Hitler finds out about brian williams

  13. foxyladi14 says:

    For the Kitties. 🙂

  14. 1539days says:

    In the past, I’ve used the day to write about St. Valentine, the Catholic Church and the concept of a love based marriage. Historically, marriages were a political or economic thing, a way for families to marry off their daughters. The Catholics were early adopters of marriages between two people who actually wanted to marry each other.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Marriage was one area where commoners had an advantage over the aristocrats. Commoners could marry for love, while aristocrats were stuck in arranged marriages.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. HELENK3 says:

    It is a little cold in Florida today. I am watching people in very low boats, scullers racing in an alligator filled lake.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Stay safe and warm TCH North Easties❤

  18. 1539days says:

    This is the most mockingly funny review of 50 Shades of Grey I’ve seen.

    I’d say there were spoilers, but watching the movie would spoil your day, too.

  19. Constance says:

    Here is what I don’t get. I have dropped hints that I want chocolate covered strawberries for valentines for weeks and I have been blunt since my potential valentines are not nuanced people. I put several ads for chocolate covered strawberries out for every one to see. I also said chocolate covered caramel apples would also be pretty good. So why do I get red roses again? I know I shouldn’t bitch about red roses, but I’m going out now to get my strawberries before they are all gone.

    • 1539days says:

      The strawberries were probably hard to find. Nothing like walking into a grocery store and walking out with overpriced flowers in 5 minutes flat.

      • HELENK3 says:

        to make some for your self
        cheesecake filled chocolate covered strawberries

        1 tub of PHILADELPHIA BRAND CHEESECAKE FILLING MIX. get at walmarts
        graham cracker crumbs
        chocolate candy melts get at walmarts
        little oil (just a few drops) to thin chocolate while it is melting
        strawberries washed cored and dried

        wash core dry strawberries
        melt chocolate with a little oil
        mix cheesecake mix with some graham cracker crumbs
        fill strawberries with cheesecake mix
        spoon melted chocolate over filled end of strawberries
        chill for a couple of minutes for chocolate to harden

        make extra for testing while making them

    • leslie says:

      You go, girl ! I hope you get all the strawberries you want. (I saw some at the chocolatiers” in my ‘hood.) If you lived nearby, I’d get you some myself.
      ENJOY !!! 🙂

    • foxyladi14 says:

      They will be half priced tomorrow. 😆

  20. piper says:

    This is for everyone but especially for Somebody – this video makes me eager for a new bichon pup.

  21. piper says:

    Dave over at NoQuarter does good work!!!!!! Yes, I’m a stealing it
    Anyway, here’s the new State Department color code that I’ve finally cracked; use it wisely.
    All the Colors of State:
    Blue: guarded, only little white lies required
    Green: low, the lies might be a little more convoluted than normal
    Purple: elevated, lies for your own good
    Yellow: high crimes and misdemeanors
    Red: severe, lies that may change the course of history
    Black: Obama level lies – cover your ears and remove the children from the room

  22. HELENK3 says:

    Danish Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt says Copenhagen shooting is a terrorist attack; whole country is on high alert – @SkyNewsBreak
    End of alert

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Q for the West Coasties…… still concerned about the little fish ? So farm the little buggars like they do elsewhere …. or stock them in the well maintained golf course ponds ? Can’t believe all that rain was flushed out to the Pacific Ocean😦

  24. leslie says:

    I don’t even know if this will post, but here’s to all our peeps in the NE:

  25. leslie says:

    I can’t log into the Oscar office pool. What is the name? I have the password.

    • leslie says:

      Never mind….. My addled brain figured it out after I went back to the Oscars post for the 5th time. duh. :facepalm:

  26. HELENK3 says:

    another shooting in Copenhagen

    Police: 3 shot near Copenhagen synagogue – @DRNyheder
    Copenhagen shooting, Feb. 14, 2015
    Shots fired at synagogue in central Copenhagen, police say – @DRNyheder

  27. Myiq2xu says:

    This is for Elliesmom:

    • DeniseVB says:

      God, it’s getting hard to hate Walker😉

    • DeniseVB says:

      Uhm, when it melts all that icky stuff they’re concerned about is going to end up in the ocean anyhow ? And the spring thaw with potentional flooding …. all to the ocean ? Road oil, salt and dog crap …. ocean, ocean, ocean. It’s a problem for the coastal east with heavy rain and other tropical events too. Our beaches get closed down all the time for icky water problems. Geesh, NYC is an island, imagine the muck that floats off of there?

      Vox is making it sound controversial, the people in the snowmegeddon areas need relief ASAP.

      • 1539days says:

        Like I said to someone a few days ago. We used to have companies that dumped their toxic waste directly into the ocean. Now they’re complaining about frozen water. I think there’s a happy medium.

Comments are closed.