Happy POTUS Day!

Happy POTUS Day! This is a weird weekend because the second biggest day of the month that people celebrate was Saturday, and today is just one of those weird paid federal holidays some workers get. The third biggest February celebration ends tomorrow.

I have had my nose stuck in the pages of a book all weekend. I am re-reading the Lisbeth Salander trilogy. Yesterday I tried sleepwalking and fell and hit my head so now I have a big lump in the center of my forehead. I’m okay, but it looks like I’m about to sprout a unicorn horn.

Last night NBC held a three-hour live episode of the Walking Dead. Two of my favorite people in the whole world sat next to each other in the audience.


Their expressions tell you everything you need to know about the “comedy special”.

It’s Spring in California. The trees are blossoming and the weeds are blooming. I plan to spend (part of) today working in the yard. I’m gonna mow the lawn and trim my bush and if I have any energy left I’ll start prepping my veggie garden.

What are you doing today?

BTW: That blow to my head seems to have caused some bizarre hallucinations:

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

85 Responses to Happy POTUS Day!

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    That guy sitting next to Tay is Steven Spielberg.

    • DeniseVB says:

      UK’s Daily Mail had that pic of Tay and Sarah and captioned Tay was mad to have to sit next to Sarah. Grrrrrrrr.

      Lots of water cooler chat on the news threads today ….. mostly about Sarah being there! Love it. She’s still click bait !!!

  2. Myiq2xu says:


  3. simofish says:

    What am I doing today? Going to the Westminster Dog show. Taking my Mrs because she’s never been.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Isn’t that in England?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Westminster’s on my Bucket List🙂 Have fun!

      • Myiq2xu says:

        It sounds like it would be more fun to attend than to watch on TV.

        • leslie says:

          I❤ watching the Westminster Dog Show. I'd love to go one day, too.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Me too ! And stay in the Hotel Pennsylvania next door to Penn Station/Madison Sq Garden since it’s the official hotel for the show and they turn it over to the dogs. They also turn several conference rooms into dog parks🙂 Dog show people are my favorites. Great memories of them, so here comes a……

            Boring story, I was a junior handler in high school until I discovered boys, damn those hormones. I had a springer spaniel who rocked and made me look good (she never won for breed, but she kicked butt in the obedience ring). I took her to the Jr. Showmanship comps at the same show (where kids were judged for “handlership”, not the dogs). Won a few points at that but never enough to qual for the Holy Grail, THE Westminster Junior Showmanships!!!

            Sidebar “Brushes with Greatness” story, took classes with my dog in DC’s Rock Creek Park, near where Chandra Levy’s body was found many, many years later.

          • leslie says:

            Denise, You have such wonderful life experiences to draw from! We had a Brittany spaniel and my brother had a springer spaniel. they were great dogs. My favorite breed was the beagle. We lived next door to a farm where beagles were bred when my children were tiny.

  4. simofish says:

    Stephen Miller @redsteeze
    The only person to remind NBC about Brian Williams was Jim Carrey and Matt Laur is still sobbing in a bathroom stall. #SNL40
    9:40 PM – 15 Feb 2015
    16 RETWEETS 15 FAVORITES ReplyRetweetFavorite

    • DeniseVB says:

      Seinfeld hit it out of the ball park later in the show. His joke about Williams being a cast member in the earlier years, I don’t think that was on his cue cards🙂

      • fif says:

        That was the best bit of the night – with Seinfeld. Mike Myers & Dana Carvey still had their timing for Wayne’s World too. The rest of the show was such a disappointment. All that talent in the room, and it was boring and depressing.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I was bitching all night on twitter…..more vintage and classic clips, less filler ! Also, after 40 years worth of musical guests …. Miley and Kanye ? Really? Should have brought back Ashlee Simpson and let her lip-sync the right song🙂

          By the last hour, it was feeling more like an NBC infomercial.

          • foxyladi14 says:


          • leslie says:

            VH1 had SNL clips nearly all day yesterday. They showed them in decades. Some of it was great fun. I watched for a while until I had to go out and shovel snow and clean off my car.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Yes, thanks leslie, was trying to think of the channel. VH1 runs old SNL shows all the time. Especially the Best Of compilations of popular cast members (Fallon, Ferrell, etc). I’m also a fan of those behind the scenes books, which are much more entertaining. Usually written by the former writers, but often mentioned in cast members’ bios. I like “how the sausage is made stories”. 😉

        • leslie says:

          I’ve never laughed as hard as I did when, before SNL my hubby and I went to Second City and saw John Belushi do a skit about “when his father died because he got his head stuck in a super gigantic sized can of Campbell’s Pork and Beans”. OMG. just thinking about it makes me laugh out loud. I wish everyone could have been there. But SNL had some great skits and some, I bet, were based on old Second City skits from the 60’s.

          • elliesmom says:

            There was a troupe from Second City on the cruise we took last fall. They did a “trip down Memory Lane” with some of the old skits the “greats did” and asked the audience to “remember when” and guess what famous star had done the original. It was lost on anyone under 40. But the younger folks enjoyed the rest of the show.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Waded out of the swamp and into the septic tank, lol, the comments are the precious😉


  6. DeniseVB says:

    These people always crack me up on twitter. Last night during the live tweets, so many were complaining about “spoilers”. In this day and age, if you don’t want to be “spoiled” stay off the internet and turn off your t.v. ! Yet this morning……

  7. votermom says:

    Hah obots launch a meme just made for hijacking

  8. threewickets says:

    Glad I didn’t watch. NBC is still the Obama fluffing network to me.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    MOTUS is hilarious today. *Warning* not for fans of Michelle Obama, lol !


    • 49erDweet says:

      Loved this comment: After the driver hit the pole, he could not relish the thought of being grilled by the police, so he got his buns off the seat and started running, hoping they would not ketchup to him. A bystander mustard him talking to someone as he ran by, and saw the dogged look on his face, because he was turned over to authorities, who brot him in for questioning in a pattie wagon. The chips were down, so eventually, he spilled the beans. Frankly, you can’t just make this stuff up.

  10. Kathy says:

    I swear, every time Obama opens his pie hole and says that Isis is on the defense and their morale is tanking– they take another country. He really needs to shut it. This so mirrors the lead up to the Crusades.

    • 1539days says:

      You mean ISIL. He never says ISIS even though everyone else in the English speaking world says ISIS.

    • leslie says:

      Every time I see/read about ISIS/ISIL/IS I think about the part of Dinesh D’Souza’s “Obama’s America 2016” where he has the map of Islam spreading across Africa, the ME, Europe. It scared me then and it scares me now.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. 49erDweet says:

    This time the terrorists (who quite incidentally share the same belief system our valiant leader is far too intelligent too identify because {{shudders}} if their feeewings were to be hurt) have so far been pretty careful to not put a name and face to their leadership role, but I suspect that’s soon gotta change.

  13. SHV says:

    “RIP Lesley Sue Goldstein (Gore)”
    “Singer-songwriter Lesley Gore, who topped the charts in 1963 at age 16 with her epic song of teenage angst, “It’s My Party,” and followed it up with the hits “Judy’s Turn to Cry,” and the feminist anthem “You Don’t Own Me,” died Monday. She was 68.”
    “Brooklyn-born and New Jersey-raised, Gore was discovered by Quincy Jones as a teenager and signed to Mercury Records. She graduated from Sarah Lawrence College with a degree in English/American literature.”


  14. HELENK3 says:

    I just finished a book by Mark Gimenez.
    I think you would like him MYIQ.
    the one I read was called The Perk. They are about the law but have a very good story line and are not the usual court room dramas

  15. I am praying that the leaders of the world are so brilliant that my tiny brain cannot grasp what they are doing. What else could explain the inaction over isis? They are being allowed to grow unchecked. Each beheading is a provacation. Each rape. I fear it won’t belong until it is a daily story here as well.

  16. mothy67 says:

    To escape it I have started watching Teen Wolf. I can suspend belief enough to accept werewolves in high school(everybody needs an education) but their use of cell phones in the classroom is unacceptable.

  17. elliesmom says:

    So I have an old-fashioned snow shovel, an electric shovel, and a snow blower. The snow is now too deep for the snow blower because the chute isn’t high enough to blow the snow over the top of the snow. But do you know what works great for things like the porch steps? The Shark steam mop I got free when I bought something else. It made quick work of the ice and snow stuck to the steps. More snow on the way tomorrow. #freeelliesmomfromhericepalace

  18. lyn says:

    Here’s a good Bradley Cooper interview. Watch his transformation as The Elephant Man.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    The historian Diodorus from Sicily, second century BC (who is regarded as an unreliable source by other historians), describes the Amazons of Libya, which at that time was a name used for all of north Africa west of Egypt. This Amazon reign was a gynaecocracy; that is, only women were allowed to hold high office, including in the military. Accord to legend, the realm was ruled by a Queen Myrina, who with 30,000 female soldiers and 3000 female cavalry swept through Egypt and Syria and all the way to the Aegean, defeating a number of male armies along the way. After Queen Myrina finally fell in battle, her army scattered.

    But the army did leave its imprint on the region. The women of Anatolia took to the sword to crush an invasion from the Caucasus, after the male soldiers were all slaughtered in a far-reaching genocide. These women trained in the use of all types of weapons, including bow and arrow, spear, battleaxe, and lance. They copied their bronze breastplates and armor from the Greeks.

    They rejected marriage as subjugation. So that they might have children they were granted a leave of absence, during which they copulated with randomly selected males from nearby towns.

    Only a woman who had killed a man in battle was allowed to give up her virginity.


  20. Myiq2xu says:

    Duggar Derangement Syndrome:

Comments are closed.