My Grandkids are cuter than yours open thread

Lily at (almost) 5 months

Lily at (almost) 5 months

Lily has discovered her feet. She likes to grab them. Her Big Bro Ben got braces yesterday.

I gotta say I am kinda disappointed in this season of Justified, but it does seem like every character who wasn’t already killed off will be making a final appearance. Raylan isn’t very likeable these days. I am still undecided about Better Call Saul too, but I’ll stick with it. The 1-hour series finale of Two and a Half Men is tomorrow night.

This is an open thread.

Ben has a tin grin

Ben has a tin grin

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 Responses to My Grandkids are cuter than yours open thread

  1. 1539days says:

    I’ve been watching the early episodes of Breaking Bad. Walter and Jessie were incompetent boobs for quite a while. At least, until they called Saul.

    Right now, BCS is kind of a weird detective show. It seems his main skill is figuring out how people think, not how the law works.

  2. HELENK3 says:

    Lady Lily gets more beautiful every day. Ben is going to be a heart breaker when he gets older.

    Have I got a boy for Lily. My great grandson Luke is 3 years old and already knows how to flirt with the best of them. His older brother Mason at 7 years old has already earned his first paycheck as a weatherman on the radio. Their cousin Sean who is 8 years old plays football and loves sports.
    4 of my 5 grand kids are all grown up and 2 of them have kids. The only one who is still a child is Daniel who is 11 and good at sports and school.
    I do not know how this happened as I am only 21 years old

  3. votermom says:

    I think we have that quilt.

  4. HELENK3 says:

    some of the upcoming shows I want to see and hope they are good
    Battle Creek starts 3/1 CBS
    House of Cards starts 2/27 Netflix
    Bloodline starts 3/20 Netflix
    Dare Devil starts 4/10 Netflix
    Dig on USA

    Netflix and Hulu and Amazon seem to be starting a lot of original series this year More competition for msm

  5. DeniseVB says:

    A beagle won the Westminster, yet all the news is about a cousin of one of the Obama dogs making it to the finals. Some photos here….

    • leslie says:

      And wasn’t Miss P a beauty!!! So between the 2 of us we had 3 breeds in the finals… Your Springer spaniel, and my Old English Sheepdog and the Beagle.
      It was such fun last night.

  6. mothy67 says:

    I got a new tinfoil hat and wanted to try it on.
    Something is not right about the global response to isis. They are openly threatening a NATO member and have proven effective in doing what was incomprehensible last spring. Beheaded babies, enslaved women, beheaded and beheaded. Then broadcast thier heinous acts to the world and the response has been tepid. Something does not gel.
    What is going on? You would think thier success engender fear in leaders.
    We can’t just kill them all. Why not? Send in 200,000 soldiers and obliterate them.
    It’s a new hat.

  7. HELENK3 says:

    I thought this was interesting

    Howard Dean recently criticized Gov Scott Walker for never finishing college, stating that he was “unknowledgeable.” What would your response be on college as a requirement for elected office?

    Back in 1990, The QVC Cable Shopping Channel was conducting a national talent search. I had no qualifications to speak of, but I needed a job, and thought TV might be a fun way to pay the bills. So I showed up at The Marriott in downtown Baltimore with a few hundred other hopefuls, and waited for a chance to audition. When it was my turn, the elevator took me to the top floor, where a man no expression led me into a suite and asked me to take a seat behind a large desk. Across from the desk, there was a camera on a tripod. On the desk was a digital timer with an LED display. I took a seat as the man clipped a microphone on my shirt and explained the situation.

    “The purpose of this audition is to see if you can talk for eight minutes without stuttering, blathering, passing out, or throwing up. Any questions?”

    “What would you like me to talk about,” I asked.

    The man pulled a pencil from behind his ear and rolled it across the desk. “Talk to me about that pencil. Sell it. Make me want it. But be yourself. If you can do that for eight minutes, the job is yours. Ok?”

    I looked at the pencil. It was yellow. It had a point on one end, and an eraser on the other. On the side were the words, Dixon Ticonderoga Number 2 SOFT.

    “Ok,” I said.

    The man set the timer to 8:00, and walked behind the tripod. He pressed a button and a red light appeared on the camera. He pressed another button and the timer began to count backwards. “Action,” he said. I picked up the pencil and started talking.

    “Hi there. My name’s Mike Rowe, and I only have eight minutes to tell you why this is finest pencil on Planet Earth. So let’s get right to it.”

    I opened the desk drawer and found a piece of hotel stationary, right where I hoped it would be. I picked up the pencil and wrote the word, QUALITY in capital letters. I held the paper toward the camera.

    “As you can plainly see, The #2 Dixon Ticonderoga leaves a bold, unmistakable line, far superior to the thin and wispy wake left by the #3, or the fat, sloppy skid mark of the unwieldy #1. Best of all, the Ticonderoga is not filled with actual lead, but “madagascar graphite,” a far safer alternative for anyone who likes to chew on their writing implements.”

    To underscore the claim, I licked the point. I then discussed the many advantages of the Ticonderoga’s color.

    “A vibrant yellow, perfectly suited for an object that needs to stand out from the clutter of a desk drawer.”

    I commented on the comfort of it’s design.

    “Unlike those completely round pencils that press hard into the web of your hand, the Ticonderoga’s circumference is comprised of eight, gently plained surfaces, which dramatically reduce fatigue, and make writing for extended periods an absolute delight.”

    I pointed out the “enhanced eraser,” which was “guaranteed to still be there – even when the pencil was sharpened down to an unusable nub.”

    I opined about handmade craftsmanship and American made quality. I talked about the feel of real wood.

    “In a world overrun with plastic and high tech gadgets, isn’t it comforting to know that some things haven’t evolved into something shiny and gleaming and completely unrecognizable?’”

    After all that, there was still five minutes on the timer. So I shifted gears and considered the pencil’s impact on Western Civilization. I spoke of Picasso and Van Gogh, and their hundreds of priceless drawings – all done in pencil. I talked about Einstein and Hawking, and their many complicated theories and theorems – all done in pencil.

    “Pen and ink are fine for memorializing contracts,” I said, “but real progress relies on the ability to erase and start anew. Archimedes said he could move the world with a lever long enough, but when it came to proving it, he needed a pencil to make the point.”

    With three minutes remaining, I moved on to some personal recollections about the role of pencils in my own life. My first legible signature, my first book report, my first crossword puzzle, and of course, my first love letter. I may have even worked up a tear as I recalled the innocence of my youth, scribbled out on a piece of looseleaf with all the hope and passion a desperate 6th grader could muster…courtesy of a #2 pencil.

    With :30 seconds left on the timer, I looked fondly at the Dixon Ticonderoga, and sat silently for five seconds. Then I wrapped it up.

    “We call it a pencil, because all things need a name. But today, let’s call it what it really is. A time machine. A match maker. A magic wand. And let’s say it can all be yours…for just .99 cents.”

    The timer read 0:00. The man walked back to the desk. He took the pencil and wrote “YOU’RE HIRED” on the stationary, and few days later, I moved to West Chester, PA. And a few days after that, I was on live television, face to face with the never-ending parade of trinkets and chotchkies that comprise QVC’s overnight inventory.

    I spent three months on the graveyard shift, five nights a week. Technically, this was my training period, which was curious, given the conspicuous absence of supervision, or anything that could be confused with actual instruction. Every few minutes a stagehand would bring me another mysterious “must have item,” which I’d blather about nonsensically until it was whisked away and replaced with something no less baffling. In this way, I slowly uncovered the mysteries of my job, and forged a tenuous relationship with an audience of chronic insomniacs and narcoleptic lonely-hearts. It was a crucible of confusion and ambiguity, and in hindsight, the best training I ever had.

    Which brings me to the point of your question, Kyle.
    I don’t agree with Howard Dean – not at all.

    Here’s what I didn’t understand 25 years ago. QVC had a serious recruiting problem. Qualified candidates were applying in droves, but failing miserably on the air. Polished salespeople with proven track records were awkward on TV. Professional actors with extensive credits couldn’t be themselves on camera. And seasoned hosts who understood live television had no experience hawking products. So eventually, QVC hit the reset button. They stopped looking for “qualified” people, and started looking for anyone who could talk about a pencil for eight minutes.

    QVC had confused qualifications with competency.
    Perhaps America has done something similar?

    Look at how we hire help – it’s no so different than how we elect leaders. We search for work ethic on resumes. We look for intelligence in test scores. We search for character in references. And of course, we look at a four-year diploma as though it might actually tell us something about common-sense and leadership.

    Obviously, we need a bit more from our elected officials than the instincts of a home shopping host, but the business of determining what those “qualifications” are is completely up to us. We get to decide what matters most. We get to decide if a college degree or military service is somehow determinative. We get to decide if Howard Dean is correct.

    Anyone familiar with my foundation knows my position. I think a trillion dollars of student loans and a massive skills gap are precisely what happens to a society that actively promotes one form of education as the best course for the most people. I think the stigmas and stereotypes that keep so many people from pursuing a truly useful skill, begin with the mistaken belief that a four-year degree is somehow superior to all other forms of learning. And I think that making elected office contingent on a college degree is maybe the worst idea I’ve ever heard.

    But of course, Howard Dean is not the real problem. He’s just one guy. And he’s absolutely right when he says that many others will judge Scott Walker for not finishing college. That’s the real problem.

    However – when Howard Dean called the Governor “unknowledgeable,” he rolled out more than a stereotype. He rolled a pencil across the desk, and gave Scott Walker eight minutes to knock it out of the park.

    It’ll be fun to see if he does.

    • votermom says:

      I was just reading that too! Link to Mike Rowe’s fb post

    • mothy67 says:

      As I was reading it I thought it was your story until vm. I was thinking very impressive, wondered what your foundation was, and thought you are responsible for my grandmother nearly going broke on that shite.
      Decaf does not work for me.

      • votermom says:

        😀 QVC hosts are really convincing.

      • Constance says:

        Hey I love QVC and HSN. I just ordered my sedum plant selection growing on a mat that I simply cut in 3 inch squares and plant. I can’t wait until it gets here. I like the hosts because they are so real. Way better than show characters.

    • driguana says:

      My new created word for the day is “degreedy”….people with college degrees who think they know everything!
      It might be time to start worrying about people who HAVE college degrees. I happen to have two but I got them long ago in a different time. When you look at all of the “degreed” people in this administration, you have to scratch your head and wonder about intelligence.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Education is not something you only get in school. As an entrance requirement into certain jobs it acts as a screening device, but the farther you get down the road of life the less important the degree becomes.

        In Walker’s case it’s not like he didn’t go to college at all, he just left while still a few units short of his degree. His record since he left college is far more relevant than what he did in school.

        In Obama’s case his college records are still sealed, but his record since then shows a lack of any positive accomplishment other than winning elections.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Hot Air:

          Some who have leapt to Walker’s defense have derided the Ivy League degrees of those currently in power and suggested that a lack of a degree might provide an improvement. But that also misses the point. There is undeniable value in finishing college and getting a degree. It provides the graduate with a good start in life, in both the education it administers and the credential received, which at least attests to some degree of commitment in one’s youth.

          But that’s all it signifies, at least in the context of politics. Walker has been in public life for 25 years, running for a seat in the Wisconsin state legislature at age 22, and winning a seat in 1993. After nine years in the assembly, Walker won election as Milwaukee county executive, serving in that position for eight years before winning the gubernatorial election in 2010. Walker has built his career in public service on his own actions, not on the strength of his college education, and has done well enough to win re-election not once but twice for the top spot, thanks to an ill-fated recall election prompted by his reforms in public-employee union collective bargaining.

          By this point, Walker’s college track record is as irrelevant as anything else not related to his public service, and certainly less relevant than the educational records of those with less experience in executive management. Walker jokes that he has a master’s degree in “taking on the big-government special interests,” but in truth he has 13 years in high-profile public-sector executive jobs, including more than four years as governor. That is far more experience, and a much more predictive track record, than others have had before running for governor or president, including the current occupant of the White House. Much was made of Barack Obama’s Ivy League credentials, but as the disastrous ObamaCare rollout and the collapse of his foreign policy show, voters should have paid less attention to the papers on his wall and more attention to his lack of experience.

          Getting the best possible start in life is a great idea, even more so today than it was 30 years ago for me, or 60 years ago for my dad. It’s the life that counts, though, not the start. When it comes to choosing the next commander in chief, that is the credential that will be the most predictive — and voters will likely grasp that as well.

        • swanspirit says:

          As an R.N. , I have worked with more educated idiots than I care to count, and in my profession, that includes people with every conceivable letter or combination thereof behind their name.

    • DeniseVB says:

      That’s really a very good motivational speech for everyone !

    • leslie says:

      HELEN, ^^this^^ was great! 😀
      FTR: My favorite movie of the year was “Birdman” and I’ve been a fan of Michael Keaton forever, so this was such fun to watch before I leave for work.
      Better yet, I stopped watching tv late show years ago. I’d make an exception, once in a while, to watch Jay Leno. I had little thought about Jimmy Fallon being a good late night host. But after watching a few of his shows, I think he’s darling and it seems he really likes what he is doing. AND he is good at it.
      I have 118 days before I retire (I started numbering the days yesterday when I couldn’t sleep). I plan to watch Jimmy Fallon as much as I can then. 🙂

      • DeniseVB says:

        I did catch Jimmy last night, Taylor Swift was on and they did a cute “dance cam” bit. He isn’t afraid to jab Obama and his administration either.

      • piper says:

        The days will go quickly. Yipppeeeeeeee retirement

      • HELENK3 says:

        make plans for fun things to do in retirement. but make sure there is enough time for spur of the moment trips to places you had not thought before. there is beauty of all different kinds in this country. see what you can of it

  8. leslie says:

    As I said last night, Lily couldn’t be any cuter if she tried.❤
    (Shhhh, she's even cuter than my …………….never mind).
    And Ben is gonna be another real catch in just a few short years, too.

  9. votermom says:

    What difference does it make?

  10. piper says:

    Hysterical Marie Harf, time traveler, giving advice to historical leaders. “Cry havoc, and let slip the dogs of equitable employment opportunities.”

  11. piper says:

    Marie with Winston Churchill ”
    We shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be. We shall give the Germans vacations on our beaches, we shall give them jobs in our landing grounds, we shall provide them with opportunities to work in our fields and in our streets, we shall give them places to live in the hills. We shall never surrender our commitment to the improvement of life for all!”

  12. piper says:

    Marie giving advice to Gen. Patton
    “No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by curing poverty in the other poor dumb bastard’s country!”

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. HELENK3 says:

    stolen from No Quarter

    backtrack’s advisors

  15. votermom says:

    According to fox, bodies have been missing organs

  16. piper says:

    Beautiful children – thanks for sharing pics.

    • piper says:

      stolen from Dave at no quarter.
      Maybe we should have a Marie Harf Day like Prezidenta Day or Groundhog Day.

  17. piper says:

    Outspoken professor on domestic violence arrested for oh no, beating up her boyfriend.

  18. piper says:

    Objections from a Former Drunken Sailor

    • piper says:

      Back in the dungeon – not too shabby. Thanks Leslie for the delicious brownies which go so well with morning coffee. Also thanks go to 49er D. for the new artwork drawn by his grand – original like Picasso.

      • 49erDweet says:

        We leave no stone unturned to provide creature comforts for our favorite place. By the way, notice how with the new insulation panels in place you no longer hear the trucks roaring by on freeway 99?

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    He talks about the college issue after he talks about the protests:

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Sometimes I do miss Olbermann’s wit ….

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    Sarah DGAF:

    Like mother, like daughter! Sarah Palin took a short cut when it came to choosing an outfit for Sunday, Feb. 15’s Saturday Night Live 40th Anniversary Show — by heading into daughter Bristol Palin’s closet!

    Sarah, 51, arrived at New York’s Studio 8H wearing a glittering white mini dress and a pair of black high heels. But eagle-eyed fashion commentators soon noticed that the politician’s outfit was not a new purchase — in fact her daughter Bristol, 24, had worn the exact same dress to the White House Correspondents’ Association dinner in 2011!

    “I’m wearing all Bristol!” the excited mom told Us Weekly at the SNL 40th Anniversary party. “Everything I have, I borrowed from Bristol. Her [bag], her dress. It’s something left over from Dancing With the Stars, but her shoes, she made me give her a deposit before I wore her shoes!”

    “She was like, ‘Mom, these are like red soles and you don’t mess with them unless you’re on the red carpet, otherwise you pay for them!'” she added, laughing.

    Despite channeling her daughter’s fashion style, Sarah held her own when she contributed to an SNL sketch during the anniversary show, as part of a Q&A session hosted by Jerry Seinfeld.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I read that Sarah verbally slammed a few hecklers outside 30 Rock that night also. I swear, she’s been the most covered “celebrity” of that event so far😀

  23. HELENK3 says:

    this would be a good pick.
    she is smart, she knows DC and would be a good senator

  24. HELENK3 says:

    per eric holder, we are not at a time of war. should we tell him the islamic terrorists think we are. they are at war with us

  25. foxyladi14 says:

    Holder’s war is with the white Cops. 👿

    • HELENK3 says:

      just booked the trip for Oct 18.
      Thank you very much. I might not have ever got to do this.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Oh WOW, that’s great. I get the TravelZoo specials in a list every week, and of course when I saw that Iceland trip, thought of you!

        Hey, we’re not only a dating site now, but a travel site too😀

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    He doesn’t understand what PUMA was really about.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I got his message though. From my experience, PUMA was a stepping stone from the fugly Obot Dems. Some eventually supported Obama anyhow over McCain/Palin. Some of us supported McCain/Palin and on to supporting Romney/Ryan. I was hoping the PUMAs would find a challenger to Obama in ’12, though it wasn’t going to be Hillary (probably the deal she made getting SoS?). I believe the PUMA wing of the Dem party are now the Warren supporters ?

      Many of the ’08 PUMAs joined the Tea Party movement, I met a bunch of them at a rally. The media failed to note the demographics of these rallies until Gallup polled them that 41% identified themselves as Democrat/Independent who thought their country was more important than their party.

      • HELENK3 says:

        many PUMAs are now independents. I wonder if anyone every took a count of how many left the democratic party in 2008 and how much money in political contributions was lost?

  27. Myiq2xu says:

  28. piper says:

    Scott Johnson from Powerline giving advise to the college educated State Dept. Twit, Marie Harf,

    “Jobs programs don’t quite cut it when you’re in the 72 virgins business. This is where the administration’s comprehensive denial of the motive forces driving the terrorists is key. They aren’t looking for work. They aren’t looking to get rich. They aren’t looking for early childhood education. They aren’t looking for daycare programs. They’ve got something else on their mind, something else that is taboo to speak of in the higher reaches of the Obama administration.”

  29. piper says:

    Some interesting info on Miss Nuance from Wiki
    The 33 year old married Nuanced graduated from Indiana University Bloomington with BA in Political Science, and earned an MA in Foreign Affairs from University of Virginia. Her first job was at the CIA.
    She just another joke in this administration which the entire world regards as a colossal joke.

  30. HELENK3 says:

    ExxonMobil on explosion reported at Torrance, Calif., refinery: ‘Our main concern is for the safety of our employees and our neighbors. We are accounting for all personnel and still evaluating the cause of the incident, or the occurrence or amount on any damages.’
    End of alert

  31. mothy67 says:

    My tinfoil hat thinks isis may be used to create a UN standing army. Egypt is calling for a vast coalition to combat. Then obama will be commander in chief of the world when he finishes ruining the US.

Comments are closed.