Congrats To “instlouis” – Whoever You Are – Your Prize Is Waiting For You!

Twerkin' with Katie Couric

Twerkin’ with Katie Couric

Our big winner last night in the annual Oscar pool was a mystery man/woman/cyborg named “instalouis”. He/she/it went an impressive 20-4 for 79 points and led from start to finish.

Lateblum/Leslie started slow but had a strong finish, grabbing second place in the final minutes with a score of 17-7 for 73 points. There was a three-way tie for third place.

Judging by the comments, tweets and articles I read, it was a very strange evening.


John Travolta channeled Joe Biden:


I got nothing else this morning, so this is an open thread.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

109 Responses to Congrats To “instlouis” – Whoever You Are – Your Prize Is Waiting For You!

  1. swanspirit says:

    There was this tweet … so sexist and ageist…

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I thought she looked pretty good.

      • swanspirit says:

        She looked fantastic…only a sexist – ageist would be so clueless as to tell her that. She was not even all that exposed .

        • leslie says:

          “She looked fantastic…only a sexist – ageist . . . would tell her that”
          Maybe he’s racist. too . . . just sayin’

          • swanspirit says:

            Well, John Cole is the blogger/ tweeter who accuses Myiq of being sexist and misogynist …
            and I think women get to decide how much of their body they want to display. JLo isn’t known for being shy , but her age isn’t what is showing in the Oscar pics .

    • Constance says:

      I get sick of the exhibitionist women in Hollywood and J Lo is one of them. I put her in the Kardashian group. I saw the Lady Gaga song and she did sing it well but the tattoos were hideous and so distracting. It basically doesn’t matter what she wears because you can only focus on the icky ink. These award shows are boring and used to be kind of interesting because the dresses were pretty. But in the modern era the dresses are just attention grabbing not attractive. In fact that is much like films. I always go to the art museum old movies because the women’s wardrobes in the 40s and 50s films are so interesting. Now days and really since the 60s the actresses are just pieces of ass and often don’t have a wardrobe.
      So I don’t think the tweet is sexist, ageist or racist, the guy is just sick of exhibitionist women seeking attention when there is another point to the gathering.

      • leslie says:

        I agree the tattoos were distracting. I looked away, texted my dd, and generally paid attention to her singing, which was beautiful.
        I,too, used to enjoy the clothes and seeing the stars gathered together in a gala setting. I think there is a kind of rebirth of the glamor & prettiness. (I’m also kind of shallow and like to see what I think of the events.) I really enjoyed last night. AND I got to cast all my venom at Oprah and her crew. And I rather enjoyed the backlash the movie and her highness earned from all the protests. Even my d-i-l, who is a prog, had enough and refused to see the movie.

  2. driguana says:

    I’m so glad when the Oscars are over the media can return to Obama fiction.

    • leslie says:

      I think that beyond my enjoyment of movies and the Oscars, I like the respite from bronco and other world issues that the Oscars provide. It’s a welcome break and says to me that spring is on the way.
      I really enjoyed the show last night and thought NPH made the show fun. I hope he’ll return to do it again.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Like how great he is. 😆 😆

  3. HELENK3 says:

    oscar protests stopped at request of Selma director.

    remember when being a good movie was all that was needed to be nominated and win oscars?

  4. angienc says:

    ScarJo *never* gets the hair right at red carpet events.

  5. mothy67 says:

    I thought the highlight was Lady Gaga. Went to Catholic school and those songs are drilled into my head. Knew she could sing but was pleasantly surprised.

  6. Dora says:

    OT but this is part of an e-mail being sent around from Grasstops, USA. I received it from a friend. I’m passing it on.

    “Obama And The Federal Communications Commission Are Going To Take Over The Internet On February 26th If We Don’t Do Everything We Can Do To Stop Them Right Now.”-Senator Rand Paul

    We wish we could tell you that Senator Paul is exaggerating… but he isn’t…. To quote political pundit Dick Morris: in a matter of days, Obama will “do something that all of the despots in the world have tried to do but failed to do and he’s going to do it by executive action.”

    And we wish we could tell you what’s in the 332-page document that outlines exactly how Barack Obama’s FCC is going to go about taking over your Internet… but we can’t… because Barack Obama’s Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Tom Wheeler is keeping that document under lock and key. No… really… in what amounts to a gross and flagrant violation of FCC policy, the public is not even allowed to even see the document.

    And… in a matter of days… the FCC will vote on the implementation of this master plan, even though no one will have seen it, unless we do everything in our power to stop it now.

    • Propertius says:

      A variation of this email has been circulating on the net since the early ’80s (when, ironically enough, the government actually *did* run the Internet).

    • Constance says:

      The FCC is a government agency that has been captured by the industry it is supposed to be regulating. The people appointed to serve on it kiss the asses of the media companies for a few years while they are serving and then they come out and take multi-million dollar jobs from the media companies. The FCC is a corrupt waste of tax payer money now under Obama and it was a corrupt waste of tax payer money under Bush. Whatever they decide to do you can bet it is not in your best interest and will allow the media cartel to gate keep and extort more money from their captive audience.

  7. HELENK3 says:

    what was captain underpants at the oscars supposed to be?

  8. abc says:

    Proudly missed the Oscars. Not fond of glitter-laden circle-twerks.

  9. HELENK3 says:

    70 years ago today

  10. driguana says:

    It’s a hard one for me, these Oscars.
    Having grown up in the movie biz, my father worked for Universal from 1944-84, until the young bucks took over and I still have a brother and sister in the biz, I grew to really dislike Hollywood actor types, except for Doris Day (Kapellhoff) who grew up two doors down from my dad (Tyrone Power, Spielberg, George Chakiris, were also from the hood). When my dad was all morphed up going out the door of life a number of years ago, he would get into these crazy arguments in his head with Sumner Redstone, who owns literally everything in the movie biz., about the true value of the business. My brother and I had to tell him that Mr. Redstone was not in the room, but he would still rage. That’s a funny memory for me now. I still love and admire the film technicians, directors, DPs, editors and the like but I shiver in dislike from the egos of most of Hollywood.

    My problem, I know. And especially hard as I am deep at work on my own screenplays. It’s a tough conundrum. And the truth is, I like good movies and good acting and good editing….it’s a great craft. One I’ve studied a lot. A funny irony for me is that as the Planning Director for Santa Fe County until I retired, 4 years ago, it was my idea to create a Media District for Santa Fe that launched the now very successful Santa Fe Studios where Longmire and a number of other recent films were made. That seemed like a good way to keep my fingers in the pie.

    And I did see and really like American Sniper….awesome editing and directing. And Boyhood, which I thought was a cute idea but screenplay-wise pretty much a bunch of disconnected vignettes edited together. I do want to see Whiplash this week while it is still playing here.

    Having said all that blah blah, I can’t wait to see Timbuktu, too. There is something very special to me about African films, their pacing, focus and content are so different.

    ‘Scuse the rant but I feel comfortable that it is always something I can do here without undo criticism….but as I said above, I am so happy when Oscar season is over.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      This ain’t your father’s movie business.

      • driguana says:

        Boy, ain’t that the truth! It’s interesting that you say that as my family and I were just discussing this the other day when my sister came down to visit. My dad was actually forced out of Universal at that time, 1984 (oddly) to make way for what really did become a revolution in both the movie and music industries. Things change, that’s for sure and you either roll with the changes, or make them yourself!!! But something seems so odd and different about the film business any more. There’s something missing in the quality. Not sure…too much CGI, too many sequels that amount to nothing. So few good stories…although there are some. It’s like the art of filmic storytelling has really become formulaic. I think, oddly and sadly, my father was glad to depart….the movie music was his life…he hated the changes. And, as you say, it ain’t my father’s movie business any more!

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

          1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

          2 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

          3 A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

          4 A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

          5 A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

          6 A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

          7 A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

          8 A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

        • leslie says:

          driguana ~
          It is so interesting to hear about your life and family and hollywood. Thank you for sharing how those changes really affected you and your family – as well as so many others.

    • 49erDweet says:

      As a teenager I worked for a caterer who did location set ups for several Universal shoots in the SoCal mountains. Fun job.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    • piper says:

      Hope they dress warm – it’s f****king cold in Madison today currently clear at 1 degree.
      The dems are rethinking their strategy of running away to Illinois in protest of the Gov. proposal – Right to Work State. Not sure if it’s warmer in the Windy City.

  12. piper says:

    Didn’t watch the Oscars or any other faux award programs. Thanks to Al Gore and his glow bull warming program Wisconsin is again experiencing those wonderful temps of below zero – won’t even discuss wind chills which adds to the invigorating feeling one gets when they step outside. So blah, humbug.
    Just a drop by to share before returning to my blankies.
    Joe Biden, Man of the Cloth and Marie Harf, Lady of the Nuance

  13. votermom says:

    What does it mean when you feel even sleepier after drinking coffee?
    I think I need a nap.

  14. elliesmom says:

    Our phone, internet, and TV went out yesterday. My decision about whether I should watch the Oscars was made for me. The strange thing was before it went out, the phone called 911. All on its own. Elliesdad was asleep, and I was outside enjoying the 37 degree weather. The cops arrived and wanted to check my house for intruders. I declined. If I was paranoid. . . But it’s all up and working again this morning. And the icicles have departed the roof. Still lots of snow, though.

  15. Propertius says:

    I think Travolta was just trying to help those young ladies get “clear”.

    • leslie says:

      I did not see travolta last night. Lucky for me, I left the room a cpl of times. He is too gross. There is nothing funny about him, Biden, or anyone else who crosses boundaries like they do. They’re not “dirty old men”. They’re sleaze balls and need to be caged.

      • Somebody says:

        I agree Leslie, nothing funny indeed. I have a neighbor like that makes my skin crawl. Several of the women on the street giggle like little girls when he gropes them and I think WTF is wrong with you when they do that.

        The last block party he pretended to stumble and fall in between my breasts….he “braced” himself for the fall with his hands, miraculously each hand grabbing a breast and his face landed smack in the middle of my cleavage. My husband happened to be inside our house at the time, he doesn’t have the balls to do such a thing in front of my husband. I told him to get the eff off of me and then I kneed the shit out of him. This is the same neighbor that went out of his way to tell me since I quit smoking if I needed something to put in my mouth he could help me out…….just because he wants to “help” me, he wants to be a supportive neighbor. If he was the last man on planet earth I’d pass. He thinks he’s so cute and funny and I think he’s disgusting. I’m not a prude, quite far from it, but I think he’s crass and disgusting.

  16. HELENK3 says:

    Update: ABC’s telecast of the Academy Awards averaged 36.6 million viewers, down 16% from last year; total-viewer lowest in 6 years, according to Nielsen – @variety

    • Constance says:

      So much for the “Women’s Superbowl”.

    • Constance says:

      By the way don’t you think it is odd that they put Dakota Johnson on the Oscars and not Jamie Dornan? Because he would have drawn an audience. I can just sense it now, the Hollywood Powers That Be seem to be thinking Dakota J is some sort of new leader among women. So now Hollywood will provide us with Lena Dunham and Dakota for their link to the female audience. That pair doesn’t sell to me.

      This link says Jamie D will not return for the sequels to Fifty Shades. It also says the director quit. This sort of thing is the enjoyment I get from Hollywood.

      • mothy67 says:

        Am I a bad person for taking great pleasure in Hollywood leftists and prog journalists crashing and burning. Williams, Katie has a pretend job at Yahoo, Farrow, msnbc as a whole. Madonna. Depp. Hanks Inane attempts to Hollywoodize the bible have been epic fails.

    • DeniseVB says:

      As a friend told me about the low ratings, the only movie anyone saw was American Sniper and they knew that wasn’t going to win😉

    • lyn says:

      My attitude is that the Oscars do not shake things up anymore. All the awards that start with the Golden Globes go to the same actresses and actors. People are no longer interested by the time the Oscars roll around. The Oscars should be at the start of the awards season if they want more viewers. I also think the proggie criticism of “American Sniper” had something to do with the ratings drop.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        If you want ratings for a three-hour show you have to provide three hours worth of entertainment. They could have put all the entertaining parts of last night’s show into a one-hour show with room to spare. Add in the red carpet and the after show and last night’s program was 6 hours long.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      The show used to be in April after all the movies had finished their theater runs and the audience had seen most of the big ones. Now it’s in February and most of the contenders were released in December on limited screens and didn’t go into full release until January. Most of the nominees are pre-determined by the studios before they are even released.

      IOW – the Oscars are used to promote certain movies, not simply reward excellence.

    • leslie says:

      Doesn’t anyone think the ratings drop could be related to the #blacklivesmatter backlash? or would that be a r@cist question to ask?

  17. HELENK3 says:

    75 years ago today

  18. votermom says:

  19. DeniseVB says:

    It’s been almost 24 hours, weeded through the highlights/lowlights of the Oscars filtered through social media. Shaking head, nothing. Then I discovered Stephen Hawking singing! Yes, Eddie Redmayne did deserve his Oscar! (clip from LesMiz, which I’m still pissed didn’t sweep the Oscars in that, whatever, year, oh wait, the student potesters lost the June Rebellion? ). What have we learned, OWS? /snork

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    How NOT to bleg for money: After someone suggested she move to a small apartment and rent out her house to save money, here is what she said:

    riverdaughter, on February 22, 2015 at 5:48 pm said:

    Did you get to the part where I said I own this house? I mean, OWN it. There is no mortgage. I can’t live anywhere more cheaply than here. I just need to pay my taxes.
    That gives you an idea of how bad the job market is. There are lots of jobs in Pittsburgh, I’m overqualified for most of them, therefore I must work for next to nothing. No, it doesn’t make sense.
    I blame Fox News.

    But wait! There’s more!

    riverdaughter, on February 22, 2015 at 6:03 pm said:

    I love this house. It needed a lot of work when I bought it and I could stand to sink about $10k more for garage foundation work and repaving the driveway and sidewalk. But other than that, it doesn’t get more affordable. But all I need right now is property tax money. I’ll worry about the driveway and sidewalk some other time.

    This is all in a post where she is “contemplating a fundraiser”.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I generally don’t give money to people who are already better off than I am.

    • Constance says:

      I knew she wouldn’t be able to process the suggestion that she rent her house until she gets a better job. I’ve made it to a number of people who have lost their jobs and are faced with taking a job for half of their professional salary. One person took the suggestion, she is very happy with her outcome. How hard is this? Using Zillow I can find that my house (which I own) would rent for around $3,100 a month. The average one bedroom apartment in Seattle rents for $1300. a month. So if I rented my house for a year after a job loss I would make a profit of $1,800. a month. At the end of the year I would still own the house free and clear, I would have gotten rid of a bunch of useless junk that I keep around and I would have made a profit of $21,600. But here is another option, rent a room. You can start out renting to a short term student, someone here for a summer internship for instance, then work your way up to an actual adult who may not share your political opinions 100%.

      • leslie says:

        My (VT) sister rented a room in her apartment when she lived in NYC. It was the ONLY way she and her husband could actually manage until they consolidated and my sister could move up to VT to be with her husband. It wasn’t easy on her to share her living space with another person – especially someone she didn’t know. but it worked.

        I had a former neighbor who, when she lost her business, stopped paying her mortgage, her insurance, her condo assessment. She did not take a job that would pay something because it was “beneath” her. Ultimately, she lost her apartment. She had to sell it, pay back condo assessments, pay her attorney, and move across the country to move in with the sister of her ex-husband – – – she had nothing left.

        Another neighbor lost her job, but took 2 jobs – both far different and of distinctly less stature from the career she had trained for. But although it was a struggle, she once again became financially stable and a success in her new career. She was willing to work and take the kind of steps she needed to become self sufficient again. And she maintained her self respect.
        It doesn’t sound as if RD is capable of doing what either my sister or my second neighbor did. More’s the pity.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I have a friend who recently retired, got rid of her house and chose to rent in DC at double her mortgage payment. Fast forward a year, she’s put money in the bank. She’s so happy, she’s thinking of moving to Europe now and just enjoy a renta-thon tour in her golden years.

        I think that’s cool.

      • piper says:

        It doesn’t fit her narrative of complaining about evil repugs and fox news. She using the screed of being victimized by these thugs in order to garner money from her readers thus she doesn’t have to get a job or rent out a room in her home to a possible undesirable.
        When I graduated from college with a BS in education teaching jobs were scarce so I continued to work in my low paying secretarial job until I was hired in a rural Indiana town where I stayed for 3 years before securing a job in large city Minnesota.
        My advice to RD – boo hoo grow up – we’ve all been there done that.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          RD spent her adult life in a career field that has basically evaporated. She has skills and experience that nobody wants anymore.

          The reasons that the pharma field changed so dramatically are many, and neither religion nor Fox news is to blame for any of them.

        • SHV says:

          “It doesn’t fit her narrative of complaining about evil repugs and fox news. She using the screed of being victimized by these thugs..”
          Even when she had a good paying job in the Pharmaeutical industry, she complained about how people with PhDs were stealing her work, taking credit, getting promotions, etc., all based on her hard work.

    • mothy67 says:

      How is FOX news to blame?
      Why doesn’t she temp until she finds something. I love going from job to job. I once got 18 an hour to sit in a donation drop off trailer in a shopping center parking lot. Did nothing but hand out reciepts for tax deductions. Regular guy was on vacation and is often the case they just needed a warm body.

  21. piper says:

    Congratulations on your 6 week anniversary. Tough job but you’re a trooper.

    • HELENK3 says:

      I was looking for something else and found this. thought Mr Somebody would get a kick out of it

  22. Myiq2xu says:

Comments are closed.