Weird and Wonderful Wednesday Open Thread

Her name is Lily:

Unexplained Calls for Help Lead Police to Toddler in Overturned Car

Incredible new details are emerging about what brought rescuers to a toddler trapped in a car in a frigid river.

18-month-old Lily Groesbeck was found alive in an overturned car after a crash in which the vehicle plunged into a frigid river in Spanish Fork, Utah.

It was not until 14 hours after the crash that a fisherman stumbled upon the car and alerted emergency personnel.

Ainsley Earhardt reported on “Fox and Friends” that as rescuers rushed down to the car, four police officers all say they heard the same thing: a woman calling out, begging for help.

But they can’t explain who that voice was, because the baby’s mother, 25-year-old Lynn Groesbeck, was killed in the crash hours before, and the voice they heard was too mature to be the toddler.

“When we all talked together, I said, ‘Was I the only one that was hearing this?’ thinking that I was hearing things,” Tyler Beddoes, one of the officers who rescued the toddler, explained. “And when I talked to the other officers, we all had heard the same thing, a voice saying, ‘Help us. Help me.'”

Another officer described the same thing to Deseret News.

“We’ve gotten together and just talk about it and all four of us can swear that we heard somebody inside the car saying, ‘Help,’” said Officer Jared Warner.

The officers say that the calls for help pushed them to work even harder to flip the car over.

When they righted the partially submerged vehicle, they were shocked to find the mother dead and the toddler alive.

One reason I am not an atheist is that I don’t think science can explain everything. I prefer to live in a world where there is magic and mystery.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Weird and Wonderful Wednesday Open Thread

  1. dm says:

    Never underestimate the power of love…especially that of a mother’s love for her child.

    • lyn says:

      I believe in guardian angels. One time we hit black ice on a curve in the road. Instead of going over the shoulder and dropping 20 feet, the car spun around and went into the other lane where it stopped. It happened so fast, and we were thankful our little Honda Civic was the only car on the road when it happened. We were on our way to get snow tires, and we continued our journey.

      • Constance says:

        I believe in Angles also.

      • leslie says:

        I told a friend I believed in guardian angels recently and she laughed at me. but I still do. I can’t tell you the number of times my life or well being was saved and through none of my doing. She can laugh, but I thank my guardian angel every day.

        • Somebody says:

          I was very close with my paternal grandmother. Years ago when she was in ICU and supposedly near death; she was drifting in and out, talking to and supposedly frying chicken with her dead sisters…….who knew dead people fry chicken??? All of the sudden she sat straight up and pointed to me and told me to come to her bedside. Once I got there she smiled and told me I was going to have another child, when I was having the child and that it was going to be a girl. She asked me to name it after her and promised to be her guardian angel. I just patted her arm and said sure I’ll name her after you, thinking she must be on some serious drugs, LOL! She predicted I’d have a baby two and half years from then. My husband ran over and insisted she retract her prediction, LOL! Our oldest two were teens and our child bearing years were behind us or so we thought……..because I in fact did have that baby girl!

          A couple of years later when I found out I was pregnant, I had completely forgotten about that night with grandma in ICU, but I knew immediately I was going to name the baby after grandma if it was a girl. My father and my Aunt remembered though and reminded me, we told them we’d already decided that would be the girl name for our baby. We didn’t know her sex all through the pregnancy because she had her legs crossed during each sonogram, so she could have a big reveal on her birthday I suppose.

          Grandma was off by 5 days I’m not sure how that happened, maybe she should have paid more attention instead of frying chicken??? Grandma didn’t pass away that time in the hospital when she told me about my baby, she lived another 6 weeks after that. Apparently during that time she had my Aunt get her a card for my new baby, plus a beautiful outfit, and a guardian angel doll. Grandma wrote a letter to me and to her yet to be conceived great grandchild before she passed away……..I still have the gifts and the letters they mean so much to me.

          During delivery I instinctively knew there was a problem even though the monitors didn’t show there was one. I somehow knew the cord was around my baby’s neck twice, but my doctor assured me all was fine. When I started to push the baby went into distress, as it turned out the cord was around her neck twice. My doctor lost all the color in his face when he realized I was right and had told him almost an hour before about the situation. The nursing staff gasped and asked me if I heard voices or something, LOL……I didn’t I just knew somehow.

          My doctor handled the situation and my beautiful baby girl was born perfectly fine. Imagine how emotional it was for me when my Aunt handed me the gifts, card and letters she’d been hanging on to all those years…….hell we all cried and we laughed remembering that night. The medical staff cried too, even though none of them ever met grandma.

          Nice story HOWEVER, this is the child that had leukemia so I don’t know how good of a guardian angel grandma is…….just saying! I kind of figured maybe it goes part and parcel with having a 98 year old guardian angel……she was probably napping when the leukemia hit, but my daughter made it through treatment so I suppose she woke up!

      • swanspirit says:

        I saw an angel once. I was riding a bus in Baltimore City, headed north on Charles Street. There is a stop right in front of an old church. As the bus was pulling in to that stop, a blind man using a white cane stepped right out in front of the bus. There was no way the bus could have missed that man , but somehow, a tall blonde man wearing a long dark coat stepped of an alleyway next to the church . He crossed a wide sidewalk, and moved the blind man out of the way of the bus. I could not believe what i was seeing, and I crossd the aisle to see on the other side of the bus. The blind man was all the way across the street. The tall blond man was nowhere to be seen.

        I cannot help but think that baby’s mother stayed with her baby after her death and called for help.

        • cynic says:

          I got goosebumps after reading your story.

          Hanging on my refrigerator is an article, ‘Twelve Succinct Facts About Angels’.
          #3 says, They’re not cute, cuddly, comfortable, chummy, or “cool”. They are fearsome and formidable. They are huge. They are warriors.

          #12 says, Angels are sentinels standing at the crossroads where life meets death. They work especially at moments of crisis, at the brink of disaster-for bodies, for souls, and for nations.

          The link:

          From the book, “Angels and Demons: What do we Really Know About Them” by Peter Kreeft.

  2. Dora says:

    Bloomberg Apologizes for Photoshopped Clinton Promo

    Bloomberg TV has apologized after releasing a promo image for Bloomberg’s coverage of Hillary Clinton’s afternoon news conference that featured Clinton’s face photoshopped onto another woman’s body. After users on Twitter and elsewhere questioned the image, the network responded:

  3. driguana says:

    Science can’t explain infinity…no beginning and no end…and that’s the biggest mystery of all.

  4. lurker says:

    Doesn’t BlackBerry allow multiple email accounts on one phone? Android does.

  5. cynic says:

    I have had three experiences where someone had died (two were sudden), and I am convinced that they were sending me messages.

    The first, was from my father. My parents had a mug rack (gift from my brother and his wife) that hung in a place where it was very inconvenient. The mugs were never used for coffee, yet hung so close to the counter, that it made that counter space unusable (and counter top space was woefully lacking in that house). I told my father that he should take it down, and he said, “You can take it down when I’m gone.”

    We would drive him to church every Saturday evening, and one Sat., we came home from church, and he died from a massive heart attack. I found him slumped to the floor in the bedroom. He hadn’t even hung up his coat, and there were 5 other people in the house.
    Overnight, that mug rack fell off the wall, and not a single mug broke.

    The second happened when we were at the church office with the priest, making funeral arrangements for my MIL. The glass ceiling fixture in the hall, just outside the office, fell down, hitting a piece of furniture, and landing on the floor. The fixture didn’t break, but made quite a noise.

    The third one happened after my 50 year old neighbor died suddenly. She was a true believer in angels, and every room in her house had something angel related. I cleaned for her for years, and her husband asked if I could watch their dog during an out-of-town memorial. When I was walking down their driveway, a rake that was leaning against a tree fell over. Mind you, I was walking at least three feet away from it. I am convinced that she was saying ‘hi’ to her neighbor, the avid gardener. (she would come and collect flowers from my gardens if she was having company)

    I got Lymes disease and took a couple month break from cleaning their house. The day I returned, her bedroom dresser (her perfumes and jewelry sit on that dresser) has a light with a glass shade. All of a sudden, while I was in that room, but not near the dresser, that lamp shade started rattling, making a very loud noise, almost like a violent shaking noise of glass on glass.

    Yes, I believe.

    • leslie says:

      cynic ~
      I have started and then deleted the following story 3 times since I read your comment on the train this morning.
      In the middle of the night, years ago my (then) 13 y/o daughter and 8y/o son came into my room to waken me and climb into bed with me and their father. This was most unusual. Neither could tell me what was wrong, but they were insistent that they come into the bed with me. Maybe 5 minutes later, I (we) saw a kind of hazy glow about 3 feet from the foot of the bed. In that haze we saw our next door neighbor from the house which we had only recently moved from. He was an older gentleman and quite stately in presence. He stood there, smiling at us and then said that he missed us and wanted us to know he cared about us. He stood there only a moment and said “goodbye”, just as he always had when we lived next door. Just as if we would see him tomorrow. We all saw and heard this. (except my husband who slept through tornadoes.) It was such a wonderful vision. We had all felt such a special attachment to him. And although we no longer lived next door to him and his wife, our feelings for them remained unchanged. The following morning, after the children had gone to school, I received a call from another former neighbor telling me that Don had passed away in his sleep the previous night. I knew then that he had come to say goodbye to us and to give us his blessing. I have never doubted that for a moment. It still gives me great comfort when I think of that night. My daughter and my son feel the same.
      I have told very few people this story. But I, too, believe.

      • cynic says:

        I had to reread your story several times, and got a chill each time I read it. Thank you for sharing this. You came up with the word that explains it all — comfort. I smile when I think about them. They were good people who had a deep faith.

        I have one additional story about the night my father died. My mother was in the later stages of Alzheimers, and they had a caretaker for her that would come during the day. She stayed that night, and awoke to my mother coughing. She got up to raise her head (hospital bed), but it had been raised already. We all believe that my father had tended to her needs one last time.

    • votermom says:

      I am going to save all the stories about angels and people who have passed that you guys have shared. So amazing and wonderful to read. Thank you.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. HELENK3 says:

    this used to be above the blackboard in one of my classes way back when . I always remember this

    There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio

    Swear by my sword
    Never to speak of this that you have heard.

    [Beneath] Swear by his sword.

    Well said, old mole, canst work i’ th’ earth so fast?
    A worthy pioner! Once more remove, good friends.

    O day and night, but this is wondrous strange!

    And therefore as a stranger give it welcome.
    There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
    Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
    Hamlet Act 1, scene 5, 159–167

  8. Dora says:

    Ed Schultz Tries To Defend Hillary: She’s Too Old To Understand How Crazy New Inventions Like Email And Cell Phones Work…

    Seriously, Ed, you are not doing her any favors.

  9. Dora says:

    Breaking: Report: IT Tech Tracked Hillary Server To Manhattan…Hillary Has Office (Campaign?) In Manhattan..

  10. votermom says:

    Question for the lawyers about those OU frat boys who got expelled for singing a racist chant:
    I read someone opining that since OU is a public uni, the racist chant should be considered protected speech under the First Amendment. Reaction?

    • DandyTIger says:

      If it’s considered hate speech, then it wouldn’t. But of course hate now includes mentioning someone’s biological gender, mentioning the air temperature hasn’t substantially changed for the last 20 years, etc. So who knows.

      • votermom says:

        Previous case:

        The university’s expulsion of two students on Tuesday has prompted public discussion about the very notion of disciplining students for racist comments or behavior. There is precedent for universities doing just that, and legal challenges have followed.

        In 2001, Auburn University announced the indefinite suspension of 15 students who had worn Ku Klux Klan uniforms and blackface to fraternity Halloween parties.

        Like Mr. Boren, William F. Walker, the university’s interim president at the time, did not mince words in the announcement. “The continued presence of these students in the university community poses an immediate threat to the well-being of the university and we’re taking that action,” Mr. Walker said.

        Within weeks of the president’s proclamation, however, an Alabama judge had ordered the university to reinstate most of the students, who were members of Beta Theta Pi.

      • votermom says:

        Also, why are these students expelled for racism while the students at UC Irvine don’t even have to give up their student council positions for anti-Semitism?

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Unless someone wants to pay me a lot of money (in advance) to defend one or more of those idjits I’m not lifting a finger to help them. Tell them to call the ACLU

    • 49erDweet says:

      Simple answer: I ain’t over. There’s money to be made.

  11. HELENK3 says:

    for being only 7 years old, this kid got a lot of government office holders all wee weeed up didn’t he

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m skeptical of that 7 year old being so politically savvy to know who to blame for her icky lunches. I smell a plant to stir up another squirrel controversy using this child, when they ignored all those high school kids last year with their funny tweets and videos about starving.

      My experience as a mom of former 7-yr-olds, I never once heard them blame a politician for their crappy school lunches.😉

      • piper says:

        Now remember that school lunches were prepared on site by real cooks not SEIU workers. Also many students were brown baggers/lunch boxers whose lunches were packed by Mothers who knew a few things about nutritious lunches and likes/dislikes.

  12. Dora says:

    Federal Judge Orders Investigation into Illegal Acts By the Obama Administration

  13. piper says:

    Scott Walker punches back at obama’s statement about right to work legislation passed in progressive blue state, Wisconsin

  14. Dora says:

    This is very interesting considering the fact that Jarret is now having meetings with Elizabeth Warren.

    How the Obama-Sharpton Alliance Began

    • Dora says:

      Here’s the Jarret – Warren link ….

      Valerie Jarrett in secret meetings with Elizabeth Warren, author Ed Klein says

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’ve seen several articles on Obama (or his big “Wall Street” donors) preferring Warren over Clinton in 2016. She’s easier to manipulate. I find that hysterical since Eliz claims to be the Mother of the OWS Movement.

        I think the only thing that can save Hillary now is to throw Obama under the bus. But she won’t, too many of his foreign allies are big donors to her “Foundation”.

        Jeebus, when are the Dems going to wake up, they’re circling the drain along with the rest of us😡

        • swanspirit says:

          She won’t throw Obama under the bus ; she doesn’t dare. Also, she and the dums are using the same strategies that he uses. What scandal? There is no there there, etc etc. She would be Obama’s third term.
          I am appalled that she used the convenience excuse. If anyone else had accused her of combining accounts for convenience they would be accused of sexism.
          Everyone and their mother has been using separate email accounts for work and personal use for decades now.

          • piper says:

            Agree – am several years than Hillary and have been using separate e-mail accounts for work and several for home/personal use since the 1990’s.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Yep. The contrast between Hil standing, holding one smartphone and Sarah balancing two phones plus a grandchild seated behind a desk, speaks volumes

        • piper says:

          can lead an ass to water but can’t make them drink unless it’s laced with alcohol or hallucinogenics.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    THIS will never get old.

  16. HELENK3 says:

    can we just round up these fruitcakes and drop them off in the middle of an isis camp. they can let us know how they make out

    • piper says:

      I’m with you – they fail to understand that ISIS would not only put them back into burkas but behead them if they strayed from their prehistoric Islam philosophy. Go figure.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. Dora says:

    From fresh-faced student to political wife… and even President? Time-lapse shows the changing faces of Hillary Clinton as poll shows most Americans think she’s younger than her 67 years

  19. Lulu says:

    I have purposely stayed out of the most current Hillary mess. But after yesterday’s half ass, wheedling, little fixed presser it is time for her to go the heck away. If she is being sandbagged by the WH say so or act like it. If not pack it up and go to the “foundation” where money goes missing in Haiti. Enough with this stuff. I thought she was just running the “will she or won’t she run” clock out to drum up more foundation money but this is embarrassing. Either fight back or go away. And this is what you get when you co-operate and enable the Chicago political mob. She should have stayed in the Senate.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    • Lulu says:

      It is a hell of a lot bigger than the Bible. I know a tax lawyer that still has a library with the US Code on only taxes and it is huge. If you include regs it is ginormous. I think he keeps the tax library to scare the hell out of clients. It works.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Nah, it’s just kabuki. Hillary asks the State department to release them. Several months from now they release some of them. By then the media will have forgotten.

      They’ll never release anything really damaging unless Obama goes all-in to kill Hillary’s candidacy.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    Cable news channels:

    What they try to sell – news

    What they really show – crap

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Hey West Coast kids, this is for you …. though the CGI seems oddly similar to “2012”, which was breathtaking on the big screen …. looks like fun. /snork

  24. SHV says:

    “I’ve seen several articles on Obama (or his big “Wall Street” donors) preferring Warren over Clinton in 2016. She’s easier to manipulate. ”
    IIRC, Warren made a lot of money working out of her Harvard Law School office, without a Mass. law license, writing appeals for Asbestos companies. That’s how she was able to afford her $1 million+(?) home in Cambridge(?).

  25. mothy67 says:

    Brian Williams wishes he was me. I woke up in my backyard. Last thing I remember I was playing texas hold em. I ate many cookies. Thinking they were not anything carried by the girl scouts. My pupils were pin pricks. You have to enter my house and go through the basement to get to my backyard. I have zero memory. I cannot feel my face or hands. Gonna give it an hour if it doesn’t ease I am going to ER. I am no prude when it comes to drugs. I have had the Whitman’s sampler but I chose to do it. Whatever I had last night I did not ask for. I was not just asleep in my backyard I was blanketed in insulation. Yep seems I found attic insulation and made a bed. I could have died. I walked i assume home. I could have fallen or my drug induced camping trip could have led to death by exposure. It is not cute dosing someone. I am interested in going to the hospital simply to find out what I was on. I got home found insulation and went to sleep outside i know myself and although i cannot recall how I made a nest of attic stuff I know I must have felt guilt. I was drugged but i deserved to sleep on the wet ground. My Nanny was fond of saying no need to punish Tim he takes care of ot himse l f. Nanny was my grandmother. Real name Ninette but she hated it. My bank balance is zero. I will have to move some money I had a little under 5 grand. Cash withdral was 500 and then several transactions to two different places.. Bank is already looking at the charges. Thing is it was cash done with my pin. I have been assured that only the 500 from AtM is my respnsibility. How can she say that? 87 .29 spent at A Wendy’s drive thru. How do i disprove that. Everything spent was cash. I have two credit cards. One I use only for NEtflix other i only use for my phone. I do not carry them. All purchases were debit. I am still numb. For real numb. I was poking my finger. Feel nothing and i drew blood.I have no idea what took place last nigh. I as a rule do not sleep in my backyard clad in pink foam. I sport a set of baby blues. Pink insulation clashes. I would opt for a tarp. Which makes me think the people that robbed metook me home. Thereis no way I was able to enter the front door find insulation and then go to sleep. WHat took place is i was . Knocking on heavens door. I now see bruises hid from me a few hours ago.

    I SAY Shut up Tim. I refuse to play victim. I am defined by me not a cable news nerwotk. Baby girl means the world to me. I find refuge in a bike shop in brooklyn in Lily in every reference to another. Votermoms kids Dandy other give me hope. I have learned so much because I get afforded a chance to hear you. I need to on my worst day say THANK YOU. For real I havehax a battle that seems tonever end. I drewon you people for strenghth. Trust me I am not weak. I had something very very bad happen to me. Not a chance in hell it ends with my tail between my legs.

    • HELENK3 says:

      sorry I thought it would show. please remove my comment

      • DeniseVB says:

        Hope that wasn’t the TCH page ? 😉 I tried to copy/paste a photo from my personal FB page of my granddaughter and I think the same message appeared. I have my setting at friends only, TCH is set at public, Klown Posse at secret. Now that I think of it, my successful FB shares here have been from public pages. Good to know the settings work.

        I just reminded myself to check the Posse. It’s so secret even I forget about it.

  26. mothy67 says:

    I do cherish many here. One of favorite books is In Dreams Become Responsibility. I cannot esteem that book without a feeble attempt to be real. Last night something bad happened to me. I tried to use humor. I shut my self down bought two gallons of Vladimir vodka and was going to commit suicide alone in the woods. Obviously I failed. I would not hurt my brat. I tried to lie to myself when I woke up in my yard. I was gang raped. I sort of knew it but the bruises were a clincher. I hurt so bad but i really did not to injure my parents. A header after two gallons of vodka made more sense.
    What transpired last night should never happen. I went to hell last night. I was not gonna go there.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Bill sounds like my husband. Before he retired in the 90’s, he was part (XO) of one of the largest military intel schools on the east coast with the best IT’s in the worrrrrld as instructors. He had the bestest most modern desk top PC thingys for the time in his office, he never learned to turn it on. He had people to do that for him. Jerk. Flash forward to the “all his friends are on the internet” era of the 00’s, he made me type his buddy emails for him, he never learned to type (or keyboard ?) either. The mail got stupid heavy, so I went on strike and refused. Flash forward, he’s doing just fine with his two-finger hunt and peck….we’re both happier for it😀

      Now I worry that Bill hasn’t evolved a decade later ? Or he’s lying?

  27. mothy67 says:

    I cannot breathe. They found a mass in my sister’s brain and lung. I cannot take it. Why her. My sister. No please no. Should be me. I die no one gets hurt. She has kids. They are flying her to Pittsburgh so she won’t be alone. Hell no. Mayor called he wants to be there. I cannot take it. I fell to the ground trying to brush my teeth. Bereft. Odd ugly combo of letters but very true. Case and I are 11 months apart. We fight everyday. I cannot lose her. Should be me. Not her. . I wish I could places. My sistercis tough when I was in the hospital in dire need ofca transplant she ripped her side open to give me a slice of liver. Not really she was just there and refused to go away. Jim, Steve and Case never left my room. We are collectively assholes. I am so tired now. I have no more tears. I JUST want to curl up i. A ball and die. I am so hurt. I just want to dissolve.. please give me a few minutes of solice. Let me hurt. Ihad to call my dad and say your child ks on a lifeline . I had to call my dad and say your daughter is dying. Pretty sure I am one of five that made that call. . I am outside of a hospital. I will not leave.

  28. mothy67 says:

    It is over my sister died. . Nothing has ever been easy. One year apart. My little sis was the bomb. I am going to cry myself to sleep lisrtening to one of her favorite songs.
    Need yoo nos

  29. mothy67 says:

    Christ Need You Now

  30. mothy67 says:

    I am going to wake up tomorrow. It will suck but i have to. Pup needs me. No time. Happy note the judge threw out her fathers case today. You b etcha i lost my sister and had a court date. Same day. Of course Iove my sister but i will never sacrifice my baby girl. Not gonna happen. EVER. I cherish my monste. Bring it. I can bury my sister and show up in court on the same day. Trust me no one is gonna hurt my baby. I wiill devout your esophogus before i allow you to hurt he’s. . I will end anyone that even thinks of hurting her. I will kill you if you think you can hurt mine.

  31. mothy67 says:

    Anyhow as crazy as i be still won. Her grandmother died last night. He showed upvin filth and then broke down and cried. I have had Shaypup since she was 9 months.I care about her.. My journey is not shits and giggles. I respect her. Last week she heard me lisrtening to John Lennon. Song was Jelous Guy. I had to play it I didnot tell her sad thesong is.

Comments are closed.