What Do You Get When You Cross A Dick With A Diva?

"Kneel before Zod!"

“Kneel before Zod!”

You get Barack Obama.

When he’s mad, President Barack Obama gets eerily quiet.

Reggie Love, a 26-year-old former Duke University football and basketball star improbably became then-Senator Obama’s right-hand man during his first presidential campaign in 2007.

Love went on to work as Obama’s personal aide for five years, crisscrossing the nation with America’s future president, serving him meals, carrying around his luggage, buying him clothes, challenging him on the basketball court, and babysitting for his children.

In a new memoir, “Power Forward: My Presidential Education,” Love discusses being by Obama’s side “on the campaign trail when no one believed in him” and in the “seconds before stepping onstage to be sworn in as the 44th President of the United States of America.” Though most of the stories are positive, Love also shared stories of what it was like to upset the president.

Here are some of the times Love saw Obama’s angry side.

Losing Obama’s wallet and briefcase

In 2007 after a fundraiser in Florida, Love accidentally misplaced then-Senator Obama’s Tumi briefcase containing his keys, wallet, credit cards, and notes he needed for his coming debate in South Carolina.

“The plane was airborne, the bag was missing, and I proceeded to have a full-blown panic attack,” Love writes. “Sweat began to bleed through my clothes. My heart raced like a cornered rabbit. In my head I prayed he wouldn’t notice, that I’d have time to find the bag and by some miracle get it back to him before he realized it had vanished.”

Love was able to contact a campaign finance assistant who then notified a Secret Service agent about the missing bag.

The team was able to recover the Tumi briefcase and send it with a campaign member who was also en route to watch the debate in Columbia.

“When we landed in Columbia, I was feeling a modicum of relief, believing maybe disaster had been averted, maybe this would all resolve without any drama, and it was precisely at that moment that the candidate turned to me and said, ‘Hey Reg, where’s my bag?’ I went with, ‘It’s on its way.’ ‘What do you mean ‘on the way?’ he asked. ‘It’s coming from Florida,’ I said. ‘You left my briefcase in Florida,’ he stated, incredulous.”

Love describes what seemed to be the worst part about upsetting Obama, the silence.

“The silence, felt worse than being reprimanded,” Love writes. “As we rode to the Columbia campaign headquarters without another word passing between us I thought, That’s it, I’m fired. I kept hoping he would break the tension and yell at me.”

Once they arrived at the campaign office, Obama asked for a private room so that he could have a meeting with Love.

With a calm and “even and firm” voice, Obama began: “Listen, Reggie, I think you’re a great guy. But, (Obama paused and leaned forward) if you’re not up to doing this job, I can get someone else to do it. You have one job and if I have to worry about all this stuff, then you’re not making it easy for me to do my job.

“Get your act together, Reggie. Help me do my job,” he said as he rose from the table and walked out of the room.

Overbooking Obama’s schedule

In December 2007, Obama’s schedule was filled with back-to-back campaign events that ran over the allotted time limit. Love was responsible for informing various organizations that the candidate would be tardy but was unable to do so.

“Obama turned to me and said through tight teeth, ‘Reggie, this is messed up.’ And I, cracking from the day and the stress and the hours still left to go, stupidly replied ‘Well, if you didn’t stay so long at the luncheon, we wouldn’t have this problem.’ The air went still. It was like that eerie calm before a tornado swoops in and levels your entire house. Nobody said anything.”

According to Love, Obama then turned to aide Marvin Nicholson and said “Marvin, talk to Reggie because I am not having this conversation with him.”

After Love was “schooled” by Nicholson, he accidentally made another error: He got Obama’s lunch order wrong.

Messing up Obama’s lunch

After the same luncheon that caused Obama’s schedule to go awry, Love forgot to save the candidate a meal while Obama was “working the room, giving a talk, and fielding questions.”

“You got my taquitos, Reggie? he inquired wearily. ‘I left the taquitos at the venue, sir, I assumed you wouldn’t want them; they were three hours old,’ I confessed. Obama looked at me with blank disbelief. I might as well have left his bag in the car again,” Love writes.

Love was responsible for most of Obama’s meals while on the campaign trail and quickly learned that the senator wanted his food “as healthy as he could get on the road.” According to Love, Obama preferred grilled fish or chicken, sandwiches, salads with either ranch or vinaigrette dressing, and lots of Gala apples.

“There were days when he specifically wanted X,” Love writes. “And Lord help me if he’d made his mind up about what he wanted and I delivered the wrong thing. Or if it came with mayo. Or was undercooked. Or soggy. If there was one thing you didn’t want to watch, it was the time-pressed candidate scraping a gooey, loathed condiment off the only food he was going to eat for the next seven hours.”

“Sometimes he’d mutter, ‘This was the thirty minutes I had to myself, and now I can’t even enjoy my meal.”

Messing up Obama’s snacks

The night before Love’s first official trip as Obama’s “chief of stuff” he made a trip to a local supermarket to buy black and silver Sharpie’s, black pilot G2 Gel Roller pens, Trident chewing gum, and trail mix.

Love recalls mulling over the plethora of options for trail mix: “Salted or dry roasted? Sweet or spicy? With or without dried fruit or candy? I realized I hadn’t a clue what the man (Senator Obama) would like. I also had an accompanying thought: how much could it possibly matter? He’d be grateful regardless, right?”

Turns out, the selection did matter to Obama.

Hours later Love flew with the senator on a commercial flight from D.C. to LaGuardia. While on the flight Love offered Obama the bag of trail mix.

“The senator opened the bag of trail mix I’d bought and proceeded to pick out every M&M, holding them all in his palm like pieces of candy-coated toxic waste. ‘I’m not going to eat these,’ he said while pushing his hand in my general direction. ‘Do you want them?’ he asked, wrinkling his nose. ‘No thank you, sir,’ I answered, then made the first of what would be thousands of notes to self: No candy with the trail mix.”

The thing that makes this article so revealing is that Reggie Love is not a disgruntled former insider dishing dirt for dollars and revenge, Reggie is still on good terms with Obama and you can bet money that his book was reviewed and okayed by the White House before publication.

These anecdotes were probably added to the book to show Obama’s human side, a Reggie Love version of saying that Obama has stinky feet. Instead it reveals what we already knew – Barack Obama is a narcissistic asshole.

I can’t help but wonder what stories got left out?

BTW – Did any previous presidential candidate have a full time “body man” to be their personal servant?

"Off with his head!"

“Off with his head!”

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

94 Responses to What Do You Get When You Cross A Dick With A Diva?

  1. HELENK3 says:

    backtrack is an ugly little man who thinks he is a lot better than he really is. His whole life ,he has been carried by other people and has never really accomplished anything on his own

  2. HELENK3 says:


    I give Mitt credit for this. He is willing to take the heat to help a charity. On his best day backtrack could not do this

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I’m waiting for one of Michelle’s handmaidens to write her book. But the Reggie stories reminds me of a Van Halen story.

    We all know how weird and demanding rock star “riders” are, for years Van Halen would submit their riders with “no brown M&M’s in the bowl”. First thing they’d check is that bowl for brown M&M’s. If they were missing it assured them the rider was read and they didn’t have to worry about any of the safety and security issues. I thought it was genius!

    True story: http://www.npr.org/blogs/therecord/2012/02/14/146880432/the-truth-about-van-halen-and-those-brown-m-ms

    Obama isn’t this smart🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      I know U.S. candidates can’t take foreign money, never thought we’d be allowed to donate to foreign leaders? Heck, I would have sent my $5 with my usual note, “good luck on your campaign from a supporter in Virginia” if I couldn’t actually vote for them. I got the sweetest notes from Mia Love (UT) and Dan Bongino(MD) telling me how much that meant to them (written by a staffer I’m sure😉 ). Scott Brown sent me an autographed book a few years ago for his first Senate run. He won, I think it was my $25 (I realllllly liked him).

      I hope Bibi wins because it will be a loss for President Stompy Foot. If he loses, it shouldn’t be hard to trace the mystery funds to a fake non-profit. Oh wait, this is Obama World….never mind /emilylitella

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. HELENK3 says:

    US Rep Arron Schock R-IL resigns effect at the end of the month

  8. HELENK3 says:

    Premera Blue Cross says cyber attackers may have gained access to members’ Social Security numbers, bank account information
    Read more on prnewswire.com

    another hacking

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. HELENK3 says:

    Knesset speaker says results of Israeli election may not be known until Friday, says exit polls show ‘very close’ race – @TOIAlerts
    Read more on timesofisrael.com

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    It looks like Bibi may have pulled it out.

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    There are no words . . .

  13. Somebody says:

    I really didn’t Love’s book to confirm that Obama is a pissy little prick, but I do find it amazing that those stories got past the minders. I suppose they all thought it made Obama seem human or something, clearly they’ve become immune to what a dick he really is.

    BTW what happened to no drama Obama, sounds like he’s a drama queen to me.

    • votermom says:

      It’s more than being a drama queen – he sounds like an emotionally controlling petty tyrant. People who jerk around underlings are the worst. I bet he does the same to his family – cold sulks, always finding nitpicky faults, etc. No wonder he and Mooch take separate planes.

      • Somebody says:

        Years ago I had a boss like that. It was my very first office job, I was a receptionist. On my first day the President’s secretary was unavailable (she disappeared a lot), so the President buzzed me into his office. He told me to go and make him an iced coffee. I tried to inquire about cream and sugar which resulted in my being screamed at. He yelled at me that any imbecile knows how to make iced coffee and I better go make him a GD iced coffee or I’m fired.

        So I make him an iced coffee, but I used sugar and not sweet and low, who knew a little bald headed, fat fucker cared about sugar??? He spit the coffee out and threw it at me as I was leaving his office. Then he screamed and yelled at me that I had better clean his carpet ASAP and there better not be a hint of a stain left…..or I’d be fired. Everything in his office was white including the carpet, he had this spotlight that shined on him, I don’t think he realized it accentuated his bald head.

        I only lasted at that job a month and quite frankly I was relieved when I got fired. It quickly became obvious to me why they couldn’t keep anyone in that position. His secretary didn’t do much of anything……well I think maybe she did some things, but typing and filing were not her talents IFYKWIMAITYD.

        Funny I did all sorts of stuff, even cooked an entire meal when some clients came into town (not by choice). I had to clean that asshole’s carpet 3 times in the month I worked there, but what got me fired didn’t happen at work. I was in a bad accident riding on a friend’s motorcycle one evening and crushed my foot. I got fired because I was injured, something he couldn’t do now because there are protection laws. He didn’t even have the balls to fired me himself, he had his secretary call my hospital room and fire me.

        When I read the stories Reggie Love recounted I could so see Obama throwing coffee at people and treating them that way, Michelle too…….in fact I bet once the tell all books start rolling we’ll find out they may have done worse than that to employees.

        • votermom says:

          Ugh. What a Horrible Boss.
          I agree – I bet Obama & Mooch both treat their entourage like dirt.
          Probably ValJar is the only one they treat nicely because she has all the dirt on them.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    2,959,978 hits

  16. HELENK3 says:

    Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu says he’s spoke with right-wing Israeli party leaders on forming government without delay; opposition leader to concede defeat – @Reuters

  17. Dora says:

    Obama Campaign Manager Accuses Netanyahu of “Shameful 11th Hour Demagoguery”

    David Axelrod attacked Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu after his stunning victory tonight.


  18. HELENK3 says:

    Letter received at White House mail facility tests presumptive positive for cyanide; investigation underway, Secret Service says – @markknoller

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. swanspirit says:

    Dammit!!! i JUST SAW A MOUSE IN MY HOUSE!!!!!!!!!!!! And yes I screamed, and now I am going to have to go looking for a kitty cat. I can’t deal with mice. I cannot.

  21. SHV says:

    “I am going to have to go looking for a kitty cat”
    Get a rescue from a local shelter.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Myiq2xu says:

    Obama’s reaction to Netanyahu’s victory: “Oy vey!”

  24. swanspirit says:

  25. DandyTIger says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Doesn’t surprise me, they cut the food stamp program to pay for Michelle’s Healthy Eatin’ and Movin’ (more for paying her travel expenses than actually help anyone) program because the GOP wouldn’t fund it because redundant to other programs already in place. So Obama naturally blamed the GOP for hurting poor people.

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    I don’t have a post written yet. If someone wants to post an open thread I would appreciate it.

    Google “Liz Mair” if you want to see Republicans behaving like Democrats.

  27. HELENK3 says:

    Report: US sets new record for denying, censoring government files under Freedom of Information Act – @AP
    Read more on yahoo.com

    another historic backtrack bunch first

    • leslie says:

      this is all f*cking scary. I hope those idiots that elected bronco are proud and happy while they play with themselves.

  28. HELENK3 says:


    this is something we had better pay attention to. there is enough blame to go around, parents, kids, teachers, school boards, government all play a part in this. we are cheating our kids and the future of this country

    • leslie says:

      This nation is more concerned with political correctness and making sure no one is ever offended to actually learn anything. Plus, when everyone gets a trophy for just sowing up, why bother to learn anything?

Comments are closed.