Where I Came From

This was my grandma's house when I was growing up

This was my grandma’s house when I was growing up

For about half my childhood I lived in two homes. On weekdays I stayed at my grandmas and walked to and from school each day. I spent evenings and weekends at a house in the country along Bear Creek near Planada. Both houses are still standing but I don’t know what they look like inside. They both look the same from the outside, but the yard at my grandma’s has changed a lot and the house in Planada used to be on a Del Monte labor camp.

You can see my old bedroom window in the Planada picture below.

As you can see, we weren’t rich. But I still have lots of fond memories from these two places.

This is an open thread.

"Camp Three"

“Camp Three”

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Where I Came From

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I just woke up. I almost slept like a normal person last night.

    • Somebody says:

      That’s fabulous, maybe your circadian rhythm is coming around?

      BTW have you ever tried neuro water (SLEEP)? It’s the orange one, it puts everybody I know out in about 30 minutes and it doesn’t taste bad.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    I haven’t been really happy with the final season of Justified but it is shaping up for a big finale. Only 3 episodes left.

    SPOILER: Last night Ava shot Boyd.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      The pictures in that post on the new decorating style look as if MOO got one of those amateur make over teams with no taste or design sense from HGTV to do the work on the cheap for that dining room while MOO pockets the money for new wigs.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    I think this calendar is broken. It says I’m gonna be 55 next week.

    That can’t be right.

    • lyn says:

      😀 Numbers don’t lie. The double nickel is OK. I survived it.

    • Somebody says:

      You’re only as old as you feel, age is a state of mind!!

    • cynic says:

      I just waved goodbye to 55 last week. It was a pretty good year, and the last three months finished off with a bang. Looking forward to 56, as long as I feel as great as I do today!

      Perhaps cutting back on carbs, doing yoga and getting back in the garden has something to do with it.

      Happy early birthday!

      Also, when you were late posting, I had two thoughts. The first was that you went out partying, and while driving in your mercedes, a pine tree blew over on your car, leaving you stuck in the vehicle.

      The second was that you were busy planning for your 3,000,000 hit party. It looks like this will be happening in less than a month.

      Are we all meeting at your house to celebrate? I like guacomole and margaritas, with lots of salt around the rim. Thanks.

    • 49erDweet says:

      You poor kid! Woe is you! Whatever will you do? Fifty FIVE? You’re almost ‘mature’, for a male.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. mcnorman says:

    @Myiq2xu By today’s standard your parents would have gotten a nasty CPS visit for allowing you to walk to and from school. They probably would have carted off your grandmas as well.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I could crop off half that pic and it would still show all three things. Stayner was kidnapped in 1972 – I was walking to Jr. High by then.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          After he disappeared kids kept walking to school alone. Things didn’t change until the 80’s.

        • cynic says:

          We had an awful kidnapping/murder back in ’91 not far from here.


          Driving on I-80, he would get off the exit and look for a young girl. He found 6-YO, Kahla, who was out rollerskating.

          Until the kidnapping was solved, the families in my neighborhood wouldn’t let their kids out to play. (We were in a subdivision right off the interstate.) It affected everyone.

          He was given the death penalty, but Gov. Ryan abolished the death penalty as he was leaving office.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            My opposition to the death penalty has to do with concerns about innocent men and women being executed after a wrongful conviction. But there are some monsters out there who have no right to keep living. I won’t lose a single second of sleep knowing that they died slowly and painfully.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        My grandma lived on Almond Ave, the Stayners lived on Bette St., and the school was on E. 20th.

      • mcnorman says:

        Awful story about Stayner. Our girls all ended up dead in the desert except for one. She ran and got away. It was because of her that they finally caught the killer.

    • lyn says:

      Re: the talking head intro. Why didn’t these asswipes attack Obama in the same manner? After all, Obama ran only on his “superior judgment.” LOL.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. HELENK3 says:

    statement on bergdahl at 3.30pm eastern

Comments are closed.