Tuesday Open Thread: Uptown Funk Edition

Now this is how you motivate kids TO MOVE😉 Thought we’d all need an antidote to the Rawking FLOTUS Let’s Move Carnival (her words) at the WH Easter Egg Roll

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to Tuesday Open Thread: Uptown Funk Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Just to give you a little filler til the next great myiq-y post appears🙂 Not sure why the “new” posting format gives me fits, I miss the old one. Could be my computer, but I only get a 1 inch box to type in, apologies for leaving off the period at the end of the sentence. Frustrating, gah.

  2. Dora says:

    Obama the president of the planet? Yikes! Does anybody know if they have begun selling tickets to Mars? 🙂

    Obama’s UN Ambitions

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think his lame duck strategy now is to keep his 47%ers’ approvals by doing and saying stuff to keep them happy. Not sure why the anti-nuke gang is ignoring his “deal” with Iran, I thought for sure they’d wake up by now too ?

      I caught a clip of Larry Sabato pretty much assuring a Dem win in 2016 if Obama can stay in the high 40’s – low 50’s. He can do that by simply saying what his lo-fo’s want to hear…..and evil Republicans hate minorities and poor people. Look at this schedule today for instance:

      9:30 am || Hosts an Easter Prayer Breakfast; East Room
      11:00 am || Receives the Presidential Daily Briefing
      12:30 pm || Lunch with Biden
      2:35 pm || Participates in a roundtable discussing the impacts of climate change on public health; Howard University, Washington

      All times Eastern
      Live stream of White House briefing at 12:45 pm

      All he has to do is show up these days. Let’s see, black college, climate change and public health ! What a guy, he really cares about me! /sarc

      • piper says:

        I actually think that his approval numbers are inflated as most of the polling companies are owned by lefties or Soros. Possible reasons range from distorted samples, leading questions, concerns about being called names like racist, impaired hearing, etc., etc..
        Many people have caller ID and won’t answer phone if they do not recognize the number and then there are others who do not have landlines only cells.
        As we have seen during the narcissist’s tenure the media will do anything to prop him up, no matter how bad his policies are, so why not the polling companies.

        • Lulu says:

          I agree that polling is rigged. But his approval numbers vary dramatically from region to region or even within a state. Disapproving areas are ignored and not polled and it is almost impossible to find the bias within the poll. The only polls that count now are elections.

        • 49erDweet says:

          For some reason since began lying to pollsters about adoring Odisaster, get called more often. Fun, fun, fun.

        • foxyladi14 says:


    • mothy67 says:

      I was not five minutes ago wondering what they will do when they are no longer relevant. Clinton was the only ex president I can recall that continued to garner much attention.

      • Lulu says:

        Grub for money. It will be for various “causes” but they will get a laundered cut.

        • mothy67 says:

          Wonder if money will be enough. I knew a number of people who worked as personal assistants to some big names. When you surround yourself with an adoring crowd 24/7 how do you continue when the shine wears off? It is a distorted reality. His reactions to FOX news are unparalleled what happens when Fallon stops calling?

      • DeniseVB says:

        Clinton was likable enough when he left office, though with millions in book advances, I’m not sure why Hillary said they were “dead broke” ?

        I see Hillary hired Michelle’s makeover guru who turned MO from an angry radical black feminist to “Miss Congeniality” with high approvals. At least that’s what I’m told😉

        I don’t think Hillary needs a makeover, she’s fine in that department. I just think she’s still too attached to BO’s miserable foreign policy with Benghazi as the cherry on top, it will be Obama’s 3rd term😦

        • elliesmom says:

          Hillary has been in the public eye for so long any major changes to her look or demeanor will come off as phony. It’s too easy to find video and stills of her to put up “before and after” potshots.

      • votermom says:

        Term limits are racist. Just wait…

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Today’s election day in Chicago. I think Rahmbo will hold on.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      For sure. 😡

      • leslie says:

        Honestly, I don’t know which is worse….Rahmbo or Chuy.
        thank goodness I don’t vote in Chicago. I wouldn’t know what to do.
        My kids are in the same boat. It’s the first time in ages (since bronco) that we actually agree on the election. Rahm hasn’t don’t much good but was left with the same kind of debt obama will leave his successor. It was a losing situation. Chuy doesn’t have a plan that he is willing to share.

  4. elliesmom says:

    I’ve bumped up against links to this Esquire article about what to eat at ballparks from a couple of different sources this morning. I agree the “Fenway Frank” is an icon for the Boston Red Sox, but the same company that makes the franks (Kayem) also makes the Fenway Italian sausage. Street vendors with pushcarts sell the sausages cooked with onion and peppers outside the entrances to the ballfield. When you get off the subway at Kenmore station, you know it’s a game day (if the crowded subway cars haven’t already clued you in) because the smell of the sausages cooking is pleasantly overwhelming. If you have a sausage sandwich waiting for the gates to open, by the time the 7th inning comes along, you could still have room for a frank.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think everything tastes better at the ball parks and it’s the only time I drink beer. Even watching high school games makes me thirsty for beer, now that would be a great fundraiser for the team parents😉

  5. 49erDweet says:

    Strange natural phenomenon going on today on this part of west coast. Everyone seems friendlier. Most have installed arm waving machines on the front of their cars and are “howdying” each other as they drive.

  6. mothy67 says:

    Well no more Facebook for me. I posted something about IN law. Well did I get hate mail. Never use it and only signed up again because you can login to a million different sites. The attacks were assinine. No opportunity to explain my position.
    Instead you are a gay man who lived in Manhattan how can you be such a bigot. Then at least 2 called me a teabagger. Accused me of being brain washed by FOX. When I was sick two years ago it was from all the hate inside me. All done via email as my friends requests were denied. Known these people since 1987 a difference of opinion makes me deplorable. Funny thing I only made 2 friend requests but got 30 emails. Only made the overture so I could see their kids pictures.
    EXactly how does living in NYC make you so much more evolved? I watched the Barronelle video and I saw my Aunts. I do not dispose of people for having a different opinion. Most of my former friends are highly educated and affluent. They are the worst kind of snobs. I would not label myself as intelligent but I have different experiences which color my world. I would never presume to possess some profound grasp on anything. I see absurdity everywhere. The progs I know are quite limited in scope. Trust me watching one of them be moved to tears by A Mark Rothko painting is bizarre. C’est le vie.

      • mothy67 says:

        Increases my resolve to stand up and be counted when it matters to me.
        I have always been guarded and opinionated but not shut down. I attempt to steer clear with friends on issues that are sensitive. I am pro life I do not argue it with friends who have had abortions. I am against a lot of things. I think the ideal for a child is with a mother and father. No amount of screaming and name calling will sway me. I would not go out of my way to preach about IVF. I might disclose an opinion here on a blog that reflects position but I am not going out and causing pain to a same sex family. I have two very close female friends who went that route. They know how I feel. Their kids get on my nerves just as much as any other kid. It is a non-issue.
        I find gay pride events in poor taste. Nearly naked buff men gyrating on floats is not in my opinion conducive to welcoming a gay couple to live next door. I am self aware enough to recognize that I am more atuned because I have soooo many scars. I question myself am I jealous I could never be scar free. Perhaps but I am willing to look at it. Progs just scream and drown you out. All emotion.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Yikes, FB can be creepy, I put all my liberal friends on their own list so I can’t see their dumb memes. I mean, I was never that hateful….and clueless…..or angry. It doesn’t bother me if they support Obama or Hillary or a passionate cause, it’s that they’re still BLAMING BUSH ! TEABAGGERS! EVIL RE-THUG-LICANS!

      I filled out my local news bracket for my FINAL FOUR for 2016. I put Walker/Cruz v. Webb/Booker. Well, my FANTASY Final Four anyhow😉 As you can see, I picked Dems as far removed from Obama without leaving the country……otherwise, it would be Netanyahu/Putin😀

    • Lulu says:

      I’m glad someone else finds the emotionalism in Rothko fanatics weird. They even have their own “chapel”.

      • votermom says:

        Never heard of him.

        • mothy67 says:

          I like his early work. For me art is about struggle and engagement. I took one class in college and was being dictated as to what I saw. Not my thing. Best art education I ever rec’d was following around a group of kids with an instructor at the Tate Gallery(museum) and that nun on PBS. I do not dislike Rothko. Feel no need to dismantle I just don’t get it. The fact that Hapaar’s and The New Yorker go lady gaga over a retrospective then everyone regurgitates what they read strikes me as gross. Same with Starry Starry Night or Warhol. I have and had no desire to put on airs about art. Very strange world. Elitest as it gets. Me I like de Vinci and Egan Scheile.

      • leslie says:

        It’s really weird, isn’t it? There are a couple of Rothko’s that I’ve seen (that I like) . But then they all start to look alike. Maybe that’s so every art museum to have one. 😉

        • leslie says:

          never mind – I was going to correct it and then stopped myself. maybe that OCD is getting better…………………..

  7. votermom says:

  8. threewickets says:

    Didn’t like Uptown Funk the first time I heard it with the substitute teacher guy here. Didn’t like it when I heard it with Ellen and Michelle. Then I finally saw the original with Bruno Mars (who I usually can’t stand), and I loved the song. Some things you can’t explain.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I was just comparing the teacher to the FLOTUS and wishing Michelle had a better game plan for physical fitness. I hate to brag, but I have a patch from the Kennedy era for “chin-ups” for going from barely one to three in a school year😉

      • lyn says:

        I had a physical fitness certificate from grade school, and President Nixon “signed” it.

  9. votermom says:

    Last week we visited the campus of a far off state flagship where older kid has a full tuition scholarship. I was impressed. Younger kid was impressed. Older kid doesn’t like it.:facepalm:

        • Lulu says:

          Alabama is a really good school in accounting and business. Two of my daughter’s friends from high school went there and are both CPA’s. Both work for oil companies in Houston.

        • Somebody says:

          What is it she doesn’t like? Is it the program, the school, the town?

          • votermom says:

            She doesn’t like the town, and I think she doesn’t feel like she’d fit in in the school.

          • Somebody says:

            What part of T-town did you visit? This is one of my favorite places, if only I was 18 again!

            Your daughter is welcome to talk to my daughter about UA. BTW, no my daughter didn’t live at lake Tamaha, she’s a teetotaler and wanted to live in a quiet place where she could study uninterrupted……..BORING!! I partied some when I visited her, but couldn’t get her to go out anywhere with me……..yes I know I’m too old, but it wasn’t like I was hitting on college age boys or anything…..just having a good time…..ROLL TIDE!!!

          • votermom says:

            I would totally study at U A in a heartbeat myself, but she’s strongly opinionated. I LOVED it. But she didnt.

        • Somebody says:

          BTW votermom has she visited Davidson College north of Charlotte? I know absolutely nothing about it except that if I recall it’s rated pretty highly. If she prefers a smaller school Davidson might be for her. The Lake Norman area is beautiful too.

      • votermom says:

        She never applied to Penn State – didn’t like it when we visited.

        • mothy67 says:

          I find the anti gofundme crowd very interesting. I am/was raised Catholic. I believe in playing a part in the world. Evil commercials that run at 3 am saying clean water. Shut up. One tenth of UN budget can fund clean water. I would feel rewarded if I made a small donation to your childs education. Reading a mother expressing real concern about her daughters future is akin to watching a flower awaken in the am( god I really am that gay)

          To out gay myself

          MAMA CASS

          If it doesn’t post Mama Cass Make Your own Kinda of Music featured in my book the best gay movie called Beautiful Thing. Sensitive smart little play filmed. Best I have ever seen.

          • votermom says:

            Aw, that’s so sweet. I couldn’t though, the ghosts of my mom & dad would haunt me I think.
            It does give me an idea – maybe I’ll set up an online business for the college costs. I need to figure out what stuff to sell. Maybe cafe press some indy 2016 stuff?

    • mothy67 says:

      Completely serious votermom I would consider it a blessing to wvail myself to a kid growing to me that is art. A young girl knowing cab fare i s always there sure beats a made up story in Rolling Stone. Please if she opts for Pitt let her know I turn tricks for lesbians at Dale Jrs library crochet day. Not really they threw my out. I ANyhow the older I get the more I think the most artistic endeavor possible is a kid. Good kid is a masterpiece. Would be a pleasure if you make me up where ever your daughter goes to school. Knowing you care ajd having a pretend gay guy keeping an eye on her would matter. Never thought I would be in a positin t o care about a child. I do and she sees it matters to her that I care who she is and what she becomes. She reflects that back to me. I am a middle aged f a g g ot who can see pain on the playground. So wrong. EMPTINESS cannot be filled with spending. How we choose to touch each other is what matters. Hell to the yes if votermom jr was 15 minutes away I would put in mygood teeth hand feed her bologna with the real good kraft singles before I even thought of selling her to dad.
      For real if I said to Sharon and Jim this young lady is going to Pitt and she is broke I asked her for Sunday dinner. My parents would pull out all the stops. My mom would not just buy a turkey and a ham she would buy farms. She would make green bean cassarole and mountains of salad then she would insist everything be taken home. Strange for me as that is Catholic. Older I get and the more I hear of bashing the more I ambdrawn to childhood faith. A young girl away from her family my instinct is what does she need. I grew up in a time when people were annoyed with kids but everyone watched out. She opts for Pitt I am sending you a gift card for car service.

  10. SHV says:

    ” a full tuition scholarship.”
    Go to the best school that is offering a “full ride”. Keep educational debt as low as possible, she will thank you at age 30. Read a study where they tracked students accepted to Ivy League schools; 1/2 attended the others went elsewhere, after (?) years, no difference in professional success.

    • Somebody says:

      Absolutely follow the money!

      • votermom says:

        My thoughts too. But I think she & hubby are leaning towards U Pitt, which would be $24k / yr. Her other choices are UMBC (almost full tuition), and Temple (full tuition and she could possibly commute).
        I wonder if she coukd do 1 or 2 years at a scholarship school then transfer to Pitt – would that even be realistic.

        • mothy67 says:

          Bet your bottom dollar if mini voter mom ever needs a ride or a meal or a pomous stone. I am 15 minutes from Pitts campus. Got her back. Kidding aside if she opts for PItt I am here. Few children have a mother with a gay online friend ready to go ballistic on campus. Hmm maybe my campus ninja should be kept under wraps.

        • mothy67 says:

          Should she opt for Pitt I am not joking let her know cab fare is always covered. Annoying to think some gay guy my mom met on line has my back. Comforting to realize she knows you care. Think about it if I would say young girl I believe in you but here is a need be. Bet she’d be all the more responsible knowing her bat shit crazy mother has not drowned her but still cares insanely. We would never have to exchange numbers if she was stupid and broke drunk I would pay the cab no need to know where it came from. I would be honored. Junior year she is broke studying I would abuse her. My mom thinks Miracle Whip is a food product. It is not.

  11. Dora says:

    This is so offensive. It’s almost shocking! 😦

    Wow, Did You Really Go There? New Republic: “The Holocaust Doesn’t Discount Jewish White Privilege”


  12. Dora says:

    Didn’t he learn from what happened to Menendez?

    Uh Oh: Schumer Bucks Obama, To Side With GOP On Iran


  13. mothy67 says:

    So I just tried on Amazon to buy copies of Beautiful Thing to disperse. In my white trash opinion it is a great gay movie. Seems I cannot buy the specific digital copy as a gift.
    Should anyone feel so inclined to rent/buy I will make a donation to St Judes in the same amount. So sick of gaystopo controlling all this play adaptation is just amazing. Reminds me of Shirley Valentine which was also a play.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    For TCH Recreational Gamblers: Happy Spring Augusta! For the Masters, I picked (as GrannyD) Speith, Horschel,Mickelson,Bradley,Woodland and Woods. Whatever that means😉


    Pool ID: 22137
    p/w: masters

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. mothy67 says:

    i am not asking any one to feel sorry for me. I know what it is like to be beaten because some one thinks you are gay. I have been pissed on my face while guys screamed we know what you faggot. I was 16 buying my mom cigarettes. I have been laughed at. I think everything i endured was wrong but come on society has changed. I kicked in my basement widow after laying my moms smokes on the kitchen table and slept on a cold cement. I wanted to die than let my parents know I was c o vered in piss. Funny thing I shut it all off. I had to. I see this forced homosexuality as dangerous. Rich kids ascribing standards to a world they no nothing about. I am a freak empirical not dumb. Gay, outhouse, couple of open heart surgeries, poor, Catholic, blah blah blah.
    Yes i think a lot of what happens is unfair in the world. Maybe had I grown up in a different world I could have been been deemed a success I did skip a grade and did very well in physics. Never nterested me. I could just do it. Got me to Purdue. I transfered from Pudue because I knew I was gay. Freshman year was an amazing time for me I had grown up attending 7 different schools. I h ad always been the stranger. Freshman year I was the not inhibited strong one. I left because I would net let them know me. I was tortured I would lay in bed and listen to self hypnosis tapes. I was so afraid. Not scared of them being gay at first I was afraid of me. I sold my friends short I was so afraid that the best year of my life would crumble if they knew Iwas gay so I left. Sold myself short as well as a lot of very good people.

  17. mothy67 says:

    I made no sense.
    Sorry. I am annoyed by gay nazis
    Once again Beautiful Thing is the best I can do. Watch it hate I will makea donation to St Judes

  18. mothy67 says:

    I did try to buy copies of Beutiful Thing to dispurse on this site.I think it is an amazing film. I tried to buy copies to be watched amondst the crawdad hole. Seems I cannot. I thnk it is the oneof the most intelligent gay movies every day.

  19. Dora says:

    Leading Conservatives Call on Apple to Pull Out of Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Iran Until They Stop Torturing Their Gay Citizens


  20. Dora says:

    How cheesy is this? At first I thought it was a joke. 😦

    Ready for Hillary Fire Sale: 50% Off Champagne Glasses


  21. mothy67 says:

    Off topic I had battle royale with munchkin abouf Mindcraft.She wants to play all the time.So isaid fine grow up andbe awaitress. Waste your brain n a game . Monster is 8 she fought back with the words ahstorical, germaine and impertinent. 8 etymology dictionary in the foyer was a mistake.

    • Constance says:

      I raised a couple of mouthy little brats because I always found their childish impassioned arguments delightful. Just last night my husband told our daughter that she was going to have to start paying for her own phone as she is 24 and employed as an engineer now. She said in her sassy brat mode ” is 4 year older brother still on your plan? Tell me when he starts to pay for his phone and I will then pay for mine 4 years after that date” My husband started to reply and she stated “I will not be removed from your phone plan at this time it wouldn’t be fair” and left the room. I know it’s bratty but I get such a kick out of it I let her get by with it. Besides I like knowing she won’t let men walk all over her.

      • mothy67 says:

        Letting allowing cultivatin encoraging them to think for themselves is a double edged sword. I find bad words silly I am not one to use salty language hut I dob’t cover her ears and pass out. She hears fuck I s a y how dobyou think that makes them look. I don?t allow for dispaaging comments. No one is stupid fat ugly gross I Get busted all the time. Wimp is 50 cents because it is not a curse word but it is derogatory. Brat pays her 50/month phone bill because I who setup the rules fails at least100 times a month. If the tvvis on I spend at least 20.

  22. mothy67 says:

    I am in another room pups laughter echoes. She is or will be 9. Her parants are cum stains. Yet she is this happy little person. Her father once every few months takes us to court. Cosrvis tens of thousands. He cannot keep a phone number or an address for two months. I cashed inmy insurance I had since birth along with everything I was left my 401 is now give my body to science. Don’t care will go down fighting but all that money would have gone to her education. Years of this shit. Judge will not even let him see her without supervision. Doesn’t matter he can file and refile. My parents have sole custody. They are great grandparents.custody is never awarded to great grandparents. Little girl is worth the fight. I am 48 and live in my parents garage. I pay no rent but I cover all the baby girls expenses. My life changed when I took responsibility for her. I am no saint I blew a ton of money on poker a few nights ago. Sick money but Inever touched what was ear marked for baby.
    My point is I have read scads of bits from manyof you about icky children and to that I raise a glass. I see so much damage done everyday because people think kids are about them. So silly. but it is really sad being a gay great uncle I know my vista is filtered at best but i see a lot and hear evenmore. So many here care about kids, grandkids, nieces nephews, sons daughters. Challange you to surf. Ithink you will find a different response. When I found out my baby sister had a brain tumor i whined but it was let go. I am such an asshole when I got up the courage to see her I said let me see the whole in your head. She didn’t miss a beat . Then she laughed and said you are an asshole. I am that dog from The Jerk. Shithead I think hus name was. Of course I fell apart screaming and crying in the elevator but I can care and stil be an asshole. My degree is inappropriate. I have been subjected to fights many times in my life and can say I have never ever won. Orbit a l fractures, ribs, teeth, one coma. I skinny f a gg go t nevervgave up unless you count the coma. What . I question is why do people kneel down to be execured. I think I would not. Who can say worst I ever had was hot glue on a nipple. Hurt so bad had but it just mademe angry. Was some drug thing. Nothing like TV. ANywhomy nonsequitor is would I have caved for my brat. Icannot know as my toturers were very awful. I winced so did they. Worst abduction ever th e re is a foight of steps used in t h e Exorcist or so m e 70’s thriller but it has a bunch of landings with an entire half a block of cover. I was walking home from key food with salami and french bread. Jumped put in a van and taken to Fort Tyron Park. What is funny is at first I was scared but then it became silly. I thought it had to be a joke. I was in Fort Tyron Park with a hood on guys wanted the money owed to them for a bad coke deal I Had no idea what they were talking about. Somehow it dawned on the Rhodes Scholars that I was the wrong guy and they left me off at The New Leaf Cafe owned by Bette Midler more creepy wierd is I had done blow one time with a busboy there. I don’t do drugs as a rule more because I Do not care for side effects. Love Jim Beam but heroin a nd coke no . thanks anyw h o who gets kidnapped by idiots then g e ts left in bette midlers parking lot. Rutless People anyone? For months i thought it was a hoax.

Comments are closed.