When Seconds Count . . .


Video Captures Wild San Jose Burglary While Woman Was Home Alone

Sixteen surveillance cameras on a cul-de-sac were trained on a brazen burglar two nights ago as he broke into a home in the Santa Teresa neighborhood of San Jose. ABC7 News spoke with the woman who was home alone and shared the remarkable video with us.

You think you’re secure if you’ve got surveillance cameras, an alarm system, locked doors, locked windows and motion sensor lights, but none of those things deterred one particular burglar.

San Jose resident Heidi Quezada woke up when she heard a noise Tuesday at 1:50 a.m.

“I turned on the app on my phone, which takes a second, and I can pull up my cameras and I see outside my bedroom window that that camera that there’s a man standing outside my bedroom window,” Quezada explained.

The man wore a light-colored shirt and beanie. He circled the house, casing it, as Heidi dialed 911.

“They said, ‘Lock your bedroom door and hide in your room and wait for the police, they’re on their way,'” she said.

Still, it was an agonizing wait. It was 13 horrifying minutes until the police arrived. She saw the man put on gloves and he eventually popped open the locked sliding glass door to her kitchen. He ignored the alarm and walked bedroom-to-bedroom methodically going through drawers and overturning a mattress.

“I can hear this. I can hear thumping, but I don’t know what the thumping is. Then he comes to my door and my door with the double doors, were closed and he starts shaking the door,” Quezada said.

That’s when she took action. She said, “I was screaming and hitting the door from the inside, telling him the police are coming, they’re going to shoot you and get away from my house.”

And he did. He ran down the hall, out the door and over the fence. A neighbor’s camera caught him running down the street to another yard to retrieve his skateboard and escaping on it.

Quezada turned over all of the surveillance video to San Jose police. She installed extra locks and even bought herself a gun.

“I will never be sitting in my closet, hoping somebody doesn’t come in my room. That’s a scary feeling,” she said. “And had I had a gun, I would have shot through the door.”

She says all the technology gave her a false sense of security that’s gone now.

When seconds count, the cops are minutes away.

Thankfully Ms. Quezada wasn’t hurt, but the bad guy escaped and remains at large.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to When Seconds Count . . .

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    2,993,000 hits

    • leslie says:

      Myiq2xu ~ I found the info on magnesium that I mentioned (after Underwhelmed talked about it) yesterday. here is the link:
      I used to visit there years ago – before work and stress interfered and limited my ability to multi task. It doesn’t look like the blog is active. I really liked the woman who the blog belonged to. It look like she had some serious health problems a year or so ago. 😦

  2. Dora says:

    Politics never gets this exciting on Long Island.

    Alabama mayor arrested and police chief in hospital after they fight at city hall


  3. DeniseVB says:

    Holy Moly ! He survived, but still …. crazy.

  4. Dora says:

    Adriana Cohen: A little birdie can’t help Hill hide from truth

    FTA: It’s an uphill climb getting behind a candidate who while secretary of state didn’t deploy military backup when terrorists were launching RPGs at our U.S. consulate in Libya and let our brave men ­ including a U.S. ambassador ­ die as a result.


    • HELENK3 says:

      I have a bumper sticker on my car that reads


      • Dora says:

        Good for you. I am still furious over the way those Americans were treated and Hillary’s response of “What difference – at this point – does it make” did not please me. I don’t mean to rant, but I believe she must be made to explain why she refused to send them the help they asked for. She shouldn’t be allowed to skate into the WH with their blood still on her hands! Rant Over.

        • piper says:

          Totally agree and this is coming from a person who campaigned, donated money and voted for her. A lesson learned – Never Again

        • leslie says:

          There are many of us who worked, campaigned and donated money and more to HRC who will never vote for her again. I am one of that many.

        • Constance says:

          Their blood of the Americans killed in the Benghazi raid will always be on her hands. I don’t think what was going on will ever come out and it was likely a conflict with and organized group.
          What is wrong with the Democrats that they have no one under 65 who is a credible candidate. All they have is a bunch of old farts who feel they deserve to be President as a crowning achievement on their life work. We need a fresh and vibrant leader with some hope of being alive in the next at least 30 years.

        • John Denney says:

          After Benghazi, a U.S. army helicopter in Afghanistan was shot down with a U.S. made Stinger manpad that came from Benghazi. The pilot, a black female, was killed. Her blood is on Hillary’s hands, too.
          Close air support was suspended in Afghanistan after that. How many other troops died as a result?

          • Constance says:

            Where is the media on developing these related stories? If someone started a media outlet with credibility they wouldn’t have any competition.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Need to tag every Hil campaign pic with that motto.

      • Constance says:

        I also remember how they hunted down that poor guy who made the video the Hillary/Obot gang blamed for the murders of our Ambassador and the other men and how he was thrown in jail indefinitely. They knew all along that was a bullshit excuse they were selling. AND they still haven’t served justice to any of the aggressors in the Benghazi incident which I think means the aggressors were an organized force from an established army and possibly country.

  5. Dora says:

    I’m afraid they are not joking Howie. 😦

    Carr: Media morons seeking mercy for Dzokhar Tsarnaev must be joking


    • piper says:

      Just a way to divert the attention from the disastrous participation of the Messiah in Jamaica. Media whores need to STFU about Tsarnaev who is a terrorist not a poor misunderstood teen easily influenced by older brother. The victims and families should determine his sentence not some mealy mouth presstitutes or hollyweirds.

      • leslie says:

        I don’t care if he were a “poor misunderstood teen easily influenced by older brother“. He is a terrorist who killed and maimed innocents in the name of his ideology. If his mother were a different person, he wouldn’t have followed his brother. But even his mother was “proud” of what they had done. The family should be incarcerated. Let them become martyrs for the jihadists. Just get them out of society – everywhere.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I saw a conservative blogger (Doug Giles?) respond to that with a graphic, unedited photo of the carnage right after the bombs went off. Message sent to the bleeding hearts worth thousands of words.

  6. simofish says:

    The cops don’t care about home invasions. They figure insurance will care for the losses and play the odds no one will be injured.

    • 49erDweet says:

      You may be confusing “burglary report” with “home invasion”. The latter could easily be a crime against the person, not against property, hence if not promptly handled could require MUCH more police effort to resolve. You are spot on about common after-the-fact burglary reports, particularly those w/o force.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Typically the cops take a burglary report and then forget about it. Rarely are they investigated unless they have a good lead, such as video, good fingerprints (that are in the system), and/or an eyewitness who can identify the suspect.

        Most burglaries are committed during the day when no one is home and the burglar is looking for a quick score then out the door. Chances are the burglar is from your neighborhood.

        Rural burglaries are more brazen – they just kick in a door and take as much as they can load up.

        • 1539days says:

          There was an old show called “The District” about the police force in DC, and particularly about their chief who used data analysis to reduce crime. One episode dealt with the fact that there were a large number of home thefts just below $10,000. The criminals knew that 10K was grand larceny and avoided that much to lower the crime’s priority. So the police lowered their threshold to start investigating thefts well below $10,000.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Several years ago, we were “burgurlarized” and all they took was my purse, d’oh sitting on the kitchen counter next to our unlocked sliding door. Double d’oh. We did report it and the nice police lady took our info. I actually apologized for bothering her, but thought I’d do my civic duty in case there was a rash of these break-ins they could catch the little sh*ts. Plus it made me feel better, I felt so violated.

          A couple years after that we got a call from a nearby golf course during water hazard draining (pond) they found my wallet, everything was intact, id’s, credit cards, even a few barely recognizable mooshy dollars. Bizzarro. And yes, I did call the business number of the local precinct to close the case, “yeah, whatever, thanks for calling”. 😀

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Via Sooper, looks like Bloomberg News got tricked by a couple of those “fake” news sites. Those of us who have been fooled in the past should feel better now😀


    I think others were too since I saw the “headline” on my FB news feed several times. Didn’t bother to check it out because I think Miss Nancy probably doesn’t even remember who Hillary is anymore, or her rabid-lib son, Ron, Jr, was probably behind it.

  8. Dora says:

    I know it’s the National Enquirer, but they’ve been right about many of their stories. Remember John Edwards.


  9. elliesmom says:

    I clicked on a link at Real Clear Politics to an op-ed in the Boston Globe written by Aaryn Hirsi Ali, After I read it, I hit the back button. It has disappeared from the list of articles at RCP. It’s still available at the Globe’s website.

  10. piper says:

    Glad to see you back. Wishing you a speedy and painless recovery.

  11. mothy67 says:

    Yesterday I got served. I was unable to read. So I tackled it this morning. Everthing is spelled wrong. One page reads I should have coostidy because I am her farther. What is coostidy what is a farthet. This I have to deal with all the time. He mispelled her name. I had to go to Denny’s with my dad. He said Son. Always scary when my dad admits I am his progeny. Denny’s is epic. He said we have to go back to court. Funny my money is thiers. No way baby girl is moving to a project. No never not. My lawyer called me laughing at 8 am. SO wrong way to early. He has applied for Section 8 housing in her name. Insane. Even if the judge says he can get cooooooostody it takes time. You dont just get a child and a free boys. He tried to claim her on taxes. He w as crying in court real tears my daughter I deserve earned income tax credt. My dad claimed her because she is on insurance he got standard deduction but no refund. Her dad filed claiming her. Never spends a penny but he was able to force my dad to go to court and show three years of bank statements. This shit is every other day. He gets to cry poor and have court costs waved.absurd.

    • mothy67 says:

      Free boys huh no kindle endured some sort of shock during electrical storm I Wrote free apartment. Free boys is nothing like free apartment. I could not mispell apartment as boys if I wanted to

  12. leslie says:

    Good Saturday everyone ! See you all later.

  13. mothy67 says:

    I am not buying this hurtful rumor Barry Manilow is gay. Tea party propoganda. Time in New England screams butch. Long rocky beaches a view by the bay. Tell me when can I hold you again. No way that is gay.

    • DandyTIger says:

      And neither was Liberace.

      • mothy67 says:

        Wait what. No refuse to accept you lies. Off topic did you know MAya Rudolph was is MInnie Rippertons daughter. Loving You yep best song ever along with Janis Ian At Seventeen. I do lovr my polyester and female singer songwriters. We cannot go near Carly and Catole. You betcha my life has been a tapastry of blah blah blah.

        • Constance says:

          A good friend of mine worked at an American embassy that Manilow visited 30 years ago. She was SO excited because she was in lust with him. According to her he is way gay. Way, way totally obviously, actively, loudly, gay. She was let down. Not that there is anything wrong with it.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I think 30 years ago every straight woman was in love with him. I took my husband to one of his concerts, probably one of 100 men out of thousands of women. At the end of the concert Barry said “here’s where I apologize to all the men in the audience….” then broke into a 20 minute medley of all his hits to close the show. LOL.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            My mom refused for years to believe that Rock Hudson was gay.

        • 1539days says:

          If you listen to “Loving You,” apparently Riperton sings “Maya” a few times during the end.

  14. mothy67 says:

    I ferl a change coming feel brave and daring with you there isca heaven so eath and so bad
    Is it even possible to be gayer than Barry Manilow. Love those sappy 70s tunes but even I say wow thats gay. Mandy? I remember all my life raining down as cold as ice. Think about that.

  15. mothy67 says:

    One day many years ago I was a sad lonely gay kid. Life was harsh. I saw Janis Ian sing At Seventeen on Saturday Night Live. She gave me hope. Changed my world. Things were less dark after that day. I thought about that song so i looked it up. This was first result. How profound


  16. Myiq2xu says:

    I just got back from taking Taggart to the vet for his kitten shots. I like the vet and it’s really close (it’s next door to the liquor store) but every time you go in they use cute, perky young assistants to try to guilt you into buying extra stuff. Sorry, but I can’t afford the $300 deluxe package for each one. I have THREE Kittehs that need shots. I can afford the basic package. No, I don’t want to make payments.

  17. mothy67 says:

    This link sucks. At Seventeen changed my life. Janis Ian taught me to be kind to myself. The video I tried to link has her talking about the song. How people thank her in Japan and Ireland. For me it is one of the most beutiful songs ever made. Cheat our selves at solitaire. I can’t get the link. She is stunning older but what i see as reserved.

  18. foxyladi14 says:

    I know what mean. 😛

  19. DeniseVB says:


  20. foxyladi14 says:

    WP hates me 🙂

  21. foxyladi14 says:

    Tuning in to the news station. 😦

  22. foxyladi14 says:

    Me too!!! 👿

  23. mothy67 says:

    I was so worried about telling Shay I was gay. Years i thought about it. She said i know. That was it. I had all this stuff rehearsed. She said all my friends know. I was ready with a speech. I even printed it. No drama just little person on my lap that said you have never been on a date. Awful kid she said you are because you shieil me. No 8 year old should use words like shield. I said no she called me an ass. everyone calls me an ass. My sister had a brain tumor. Less than two minutes out of surgery she was callin me an ass. I really am an ass. World is funny. Tragic I see the need to laugh. Does that make me an asshole. I am cool with that. I grew up in a Childrens Hospital. Death was a part of life. I am a freak. For real scary no right to exist freak. My heart is teflon. What is not skillet material is pig. I am so wrong. Still alive even skipped two grades. . One side of my chest is an inch lower because the wires broke through my cheet. I was 4 i said mommy my chest hurts wires ripping through m skin. I am

  24. leslie says:

    My daughter has been complaining about her upstairs neighbors until recently when they broke up after a rip-roaring fight. then the landlord brought in the floor sanders and carpenters while my daughter was home sick and she got no rest at all while trying to recuperate.
    She sent me this and said she found her former upstairs neighbors and is certain they are back together again……

  25. leslie says:

    I don’t know where Tiger is today and I don’t care. Mickelson is hot today………

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m currently 4th in a Masters pool with 149 entered🙂 OMG does this make golf more exciting🙂 After the cut, I have Speith, Mickelson and Tiger left. Beating my husband and son, priceless! I’m really rooting for Rory to win, but I could only pick one from the first tier, so I went to my online Vegas “bookie” which was heavily favoring Speith. I’m a fickle fan of golf.

      Hubby was there on Wednesday with the unwashed masses for the practice rounds. He enters the lottery every year, and “wins” tickets about every 3. It’s like the Golf Mecca, so he and a friend drive 8 hours down on Tues, spend Weds on the course, drive 8 hours back the next day.

      If WMCB is peeking in, he stayed in Aiken, SC. 🙂

      • leslie says:

        Wow! Those were awesome picks. S piety would be only the 2nd 21 y/o to win. I’d love for Michelson to win. Rory wouldn’t be bad either. Good luck!

        • DeniseVB says:

          Tiger lost the Nike corporate endorsement to Rory this past year, because Tiger’s very bad couple of years…..he’s sorta been the Obama of Golf ((cough, cough)). This was the first Rory ad done for Nike, honoring Tiger. Sorry, I’m getting verklempt, dabbing tears, so sweet…..

          • leslie says:

            This ad reminds me that for my son’s 4th birthday, we got him the fisher price golf set. He was so excited! Later that night, I kept hearing noises coming from his room, but when I’d go in to check, he was in bed and the noises would stop. I’d go back to bed, and the noises would start up again. So I’d go back up, and he’d be in bed and the noises were gone. This happened a few times before I decided that I’d sit on the stairs and wait til the noises began and find out what was going on. Finally, the noises started up again an I sneaked to his room and there was my beautiful little boy slamming the ball against the wall with the golf club. I made a sound to let him know I was coming, and h hopped back into the bed with the club and the ball and when I entered the room, he pretended to sleep. So I pretended to wake him up. 😉 I asked him if he’d like to go to the basement to practice golf and he was so excited that we went to the basement to “golf”. When he went to bed, I asked him if he’d like to keep the clubs and he balls with him. He slept with those clubs and balls for a month. He’s 40. He’s been golfin since he was 4. He’s good and I can tell you, that I I’d had a camera, I’d have filmed him from those first golf moments. Golf was my son’s first love. Anytime I see ads like the one you posted, I think back to my son’s fourth birthday and his introduction to golf. It makes me smile.

        • leslie says:

          Just saw that spell check changed Speith to s piety. Sometimes you just gotta say WTF.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Hey, you have speel feck problems ? WP makes me work to post an Open Thread, like here’s an inch, go for it. /sarc Okay, I’m going try and Open Thread now for Masters Sunday and let Myiq sleep in….

Comments are closed.