News From The Front Of The War On Drug Users


Shit that pisses me off:

Charles C. Lynch seemed to be doing everything right when he opened a medical marijuana dispensary in the tidy coastal town of Morro Bay, Calif.

The mayor, the city attorney and leaders of the local Chamber of Commerce all came for the ribbon-cutting in 2006. The conditions for his business license, including a ban on customers younger than 18 and compliance with California’s medical marijuana laws, were posted on the wall.

But two years later, Mr. Lynch was convicted of multiple felonies under federal law for selling marijuana. He is one of hundreds of defendants and prisoners caught in the stark conflict between federal law — which puts marijuana in the same class as heroin, with no exception for medical sales — and many states’ decisions to allow medical uses.

“I feel so left out of society,” Mr. Lynch, 52, who is out on bond and appealing his conviction, said from a battered trailer behind his mother’s house here in northwestern New Mexico. He is waiting to see if he must go to prison.


At Mr. Lynch’s 2008 trial, even the term “medical marijuana” was largely forbidden, as was testimony about Mr. Lynch’s compliance with California law.

Mr. Lynch opened his business after a decade working in computer software, and he was doing well enough to buy a modest house with an ocean view. He felt excited to be “on the leading edge of a new industry,” he recalled the other day. He had a personal interest, too, having discovered that marijuana eased his severe migraines far better than prescription painkillers had.

Janice Peters, who served three terms as mayor of Morro Bay, criticized his prosecution.

“He is such a soft-spoken, nice guy, and to tear his life apart just makes no sense,” she said. When the dispensary opened, she gave out her card to neighboring businesses and asked them to report any problems. “There was never any complaint,” she said.

We need to stop ruining people’s lives. Legalize marijuana. Treat it like alcohol and tobacco – tax it and regulate it.

End the War on Drug Users now!

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

130 Responses to News From The Front Of The War On Drug Users

  1. swanspirit says:

    We have known this for how many decades now? It is well past time.

  2. elliesmom says:

    I don’t disagree with making marijuana use legal, but in the current political climate anyone who doesn’t get that federal law supercedes state law even when it doesn’t is naive. Both the Bush and the Obama administrations have been very vocal about not recognizing medical marijuana laws passed by states. I know they have, and legalizing marijuana is not even on my todo list. Surely someone opening a business selling pot was aware he was breaking federal law. I don’t think the guy belongs in jail for selling it, but being arrested and convicted must have been something within his realm of possibilities. It was part of the risk he took. Perhaps, he did it with the idea of drawing attention to the issue. Maybe he thought the financial reward was worth the risk. Maybe marijuana really did cure his migraines, and he’s just a really sweet, caring guy who wants to help other people. In any event, he rolled the dice and he lost.

    • Lulu says:

      I think the line is drawn at selling it in states that don’t recognize it. I personally know two people who grow for medicinal use and it is common knowledge. It is not sold nor distributed to kids. One grows it in her greenhouse (one plant) for her sister who lives in an apartment and has many health issues and they are older. I have no problem with this and look at it the same way as someone who grows camomile for insomnia. This lady uses it for pain management and to go to sleep and her sister helps her. Personal use is personal and none of my business.

      • elliesmom says:

        As I said, I have no dog is this hunt. I don’t use it, and I don’t care one way or the other if other people do unless it impairs their ability to do something that could injure others. Then regulate the activities they can do while under the influence. I just can’t find any sympathy for someone who knowingly broke federal laws in such a public way and got arrested for it. We had a local greenhouse shut down when the owner’s son sold a marijuana plant to a little old lady whose son was a cop. It was a source of great laughter in the neighborhood because “granny” claimed she had no idea what she was buying. She just thought the plant was pretty. Yeah right. . . . . . lol

        • Myiq2xu says:

          If weed is legalized I promise I will not sue to force people who oppose legalization to smoke it.

          You are harshing my mellow! Waaaaah!

    • foxyladi14 says:


    • 49erDweet says:

      I’m generally with elliesmom on this, with the caveat have too often noticed the wink-wink that goes thru choomers when they talk about stores. Expecting responsible, ethical behavior from weed addicts is a fools game. Have seen too many underage lives badly altered or lost to go with the “harmless” alliteration.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        When I was in high school it was easier to buy weed than beer. Licensed alcohol sellers wouldn’t sell to kids. Drug dealers didn’t care, as long as you had money.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    For years it’s been no secret that Big Pharma has been fighting legalization because they want to control our addictions. Just do a search for Big Pharma medical marijuana to catch up on the war. Here’s just one I plucked:

  4. piper says:

    Agree with everyone’s comments on marijuana.
    O.T. – Judge Jeanine’s opening on Hillary. Want more observations like this one than glossed over love bites. Just like the Judge I want a woman president, hopefully in my lifetime, but not Hillary, Elizabeth or any other corrupt person.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Good article about Chelsea’s role in mom’s campaign. Though she’s extremely well off, it doesn’t shy away from ….. because of who her parents are and how well connected she is to Wall Street. For some reason, I don’t see this as winning the hearts and minds of the OWS gang😉

    • piper says:

      Aren’t most OWS members trust fund babies or have wealthy parents who support them just like the Clintons.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Well, since I’m still “waiting for it”, I’ll defer to my respected colleagues over at The Confluence who rallied behind OWS but failed to tell me why I should too. That was a real head-scratcher time of it, huh?

        I’m sure the OWies have moved on to more important revolutions, like Black Lives Matter…..and other “professional” organizations, like Hillary’s campaign😉

        • piper says:

          Thank goodness for the Confluence. Without her pithy screeds I wouldn’t know how or what to think. My borg assimilation is slipping and in dire need of a slap against the head or possibly drugs.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Speaking of whom:

          S Brennan, on April 13, 2015 at 12:39 am said:
          Good luck with that…any person…in particular, any woman..that would giggle at a person dying from being anally raped with a knife is not going to sign on to ANY moral pledge…hang it up River Daughter, the ship sailed long ago.
          I stopped being a regular reader years ago because you left reality based politics for ID based politics.

          riverdaughter, on April 13, 2015 at 4:38 am said:
          Ok, run along then

  6. piper says:

    Another rainy day in downtown Wisconsin which is interfering with my planned bike ride. I know I only thinking of myself not the farmers and others who want and need the rain but gray skies only add to my sadness about the world and the continuing horrors. The following story happened yesterday approx.15 miles from where I live. A van struck a 2 year old who ran into the street then the van driver stepped out to check on child whereupon he along with a passenger were shot and killed.

    Maybe hiding under the bed for a while is a good idea. Will refill coffee cup before retreating to bedroom.

    • leslie says:

      I know. I’m home for the week to do taxes and begin the paperwork for retirement. The gray skies and rain are adding to my malaise and I’ve only made 1 move toward taxes this morning. When I heard the news about the murder of the driver (and 15 year old passenger) who stayed instead of leaving the scene of the accident, I began thinking of the wisdom of the hit and run person in neighborhoods where guns are prevalent.
      What the heck is happening to people? :facepalm:

  7. mothy67 says:

    I think the real issue is self medication. Booze can be just as bad if not worse. I have been to rehab. Many are in need of escape. We judge look down on those we think should just be stronger. Think with pot is it can limit potential. Kids smoke up and it is for many a refuse. Thing is you get stuck there. You don’t evolve when all you do is escape. Life is tough and unfair but you have to move forward. A pull on a bong might lessen the anguish but it doesn’t go away. Instead you end up an adult with kid issues. I am no prude when it comes to drugs. I have had the Whitman’s Sampler but I respect the power. I have very fast metabolism. Cocaine is not something I can do. The crash is too severe. If it worked for me i could have gotten hooked. I am middle aged but I will indulge in pot once or twice a year but I cannot live that way. I might be wrong but what I see with pot is a denial of life. Grossly unfit to critique anyone. I have used alcohol to stay alive. I might have met my maker as a kid if not for Jim Beam. I can see your point but I have known many stoners and they seem to have never grown up. THC is powerful. I like it every few months but it is mind altering. Like a good book or the Walking Dead. I love Michon. I might pretend to be her. Show ends and i face the cold hard fact i am not a sword weilding black lesbian in a post apopalyptic world. I just reread Geek Love. I was consumed. Read it one day. She wrote the novel in reponse to Jim Jones. I got caught up. Just like a drug. I had to remind myself it was not real. I love the book but works of fiction can be like drugs. Some truth but you have to walk away. I can say this I have The Bone People, Catcher in the Rye, The Idiot and A Confederacy of Dunces on my nightstand.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I am not saying drugs are a good thing. What I am saying is they should not be criminalized. Protecting people from drugs by sending them to prison is a cure worse than the disease.

      • mothy67 says:

        I agree. I just feel sometimes the conversation needs to continue. It is easy to make statements. When you do it with authority a person come off as knowledgeable. I agree with you i just feel the opposite argument should always be made. Kind of think thats what this blog is. Of course I think it is stupid a kid spends a life in jail for pot. Dumb. I think the opposing viewpoint always needs to be heard especially when i do not agree. Gay cakes are the perfect example. Yell loudly and shut down. I like gay cakes pink frosting is yummy don’t see where I have a right to shove it down someone’s throat.

      • mothy67 says:

        I also have to disagree heroin is bad. I have seen well to do people lose it all. You can make the Ron Paul argument that sane people do not become hooked on a needle. I disagree. People I knew didn’t wake up one day and throw it all away. Men who are drunks are sensitive women are tramps or so we are told. There are ten male rehabs to every one for women. That is insane. Who controls those budgets. Gonna take a wild guess and say it is not Sarah Palin. Believe it or not she is not all powerful. She is not pandora’s box. I am. I created all pain in the world the first time I spoke. Demons left my body.

        • smile says:

          Nice discussion. I agree with MYIQ, and I have learned from you, Mothy. THC can have very volatile effects on some people, turning them into violent, aggressive types, and this is not part of the marijuana talking points nowadays. I too feel it is wrong to criminalize drugs, when alcohol is not criminalized, and drug users are jailed for years. I think that legalizing it, along with education and good parenting of kids and youth might be the answer perhaps.

  8. piper says:

    A good read about Che Guevara by Michael Totten. Truth vs Fantasy

  9. mothy67 says:

    By the way I am watching God is not Dead on Netflix for the third time. I like it. Many flaws too many subplots but it speaks to asshole intellectuals that just want to silence by yelling louder. You cheer for this kid. The star had a role on Good Luck Charlie. He is an amazing dancer. I saw him at a benefit. He can move. Most people cannot. It is like singing very few have that gift. You can study and pass but very few are so touched. I could not take my eyes off him. Not a gay thing I was simply floored. Dance is hard. You use parts of your body that you did not know you had. In the US dance is considered gay or black. Russia and Greece men dance together. India same thing

    • lyn says:

      I’ve watched “God’s Not Dead” twice, and each time I get closer to understanding faith (something that has eluded me my whole life). Maybe the third time will be the charm. The film is hokey … but in a good way.

      • mothy67 says:

        I was deeply moved. It is the courage that is inspiring. Too many strands. I loved the reporter and the Dean Cain character. What an ass. I did not expect to be moved. Most of the time those stories tend to beat you up. The boy band was dreadful. Must take huge effort to act that bad. The film reminded me of Magnolia. The scene with Julianne Moore and the Amy Mann song Save Me. .

        • lyn says:

          I agree with you about the reporter and the Dean Cain character, and I loved what his mother told him about the devil. (I liked the “God’s Not Dead” song.) That’s an interesting observation about Magnolia; I may have to watch it again.

        • lyn says:

          P.S. The film moved me too.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    A cadre of wealthy liberal donors aims to pour tens of millions of dollars into rebuilding the left’s political might in the states, racing to catch up with a decades-old conservative effort that has reshaped statehouses across the country.

    • Lulu says:

      I thought Howard Dean tried to do that and was hooted and booted for trying to appeal the hick, redneck, trailer park trash who earn less than $200,000 per year. I remember the reaction of the left elites was we don’t need them because we have minorities sewn up, brainwashed, dependent, and in servitude. I guess it didn’t work out unless they had a black prezzie candidate. Too late now.

    • DandyTIger says:

      It’s different when they do it.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    2,995,629 hits

  12. Dora says:

    This article is from last year, but when Jewish or pro-Israel voters are considering who to support, these facts should be known to them.

    Hillary Clinton’s Anti-Israel History

  13. piper says:

    Keith of White House Dossier fame has posted several versions of Hillary’s logo on his site.

  14. driguana says:

    My prayer for this morning is a political one….sorry…Dear Higher Ones, please, I pray to you….no more Bushes, no more Clintons, no more Kennedys, no more Roosevelts….please shine some new guiding light on our troubled nation….thank you and Amen.

  15. driguana says:

    Bumper sticker of the day:
    “I Want Hillary On Top”

  16. mothy67 says:

    George Soros evokes a response from me. I go on guard. I can only describe it by saying my reaction is like my dog when someone bad is near. Animals sense things. Bell will circle Shay if shes sees a threat. I hear Soros and I want a shower. Sexism, homophobia, racism are democratic constructs designed to control. Yes I know real bad stuff happens but it is not the norm. Most stuff is a reporter inventing hate. In my 48 years i have only felt the hate from the left. Okay one time i was beaten and pissed on when i was 16. I care truly madly deeply for my niece. She is my job. I owe her life. That is where it begins and ends. MSNBC lies everyday. Yet they spew filth and get away with it. The left makes up stories. I have a priest he thinks my gay is wrong. He is my friend we cannot get along. He is not some monster eating kids. We talk myth that Catholics hate gays is a lie. Most gay shit is bullshit. Everyone knows somebody. I hear it all the time. It is control. I am supposed to believe Sarah Palin wants to douse me in kerosine and burn me alive. So not true. I am a real bastard when it comes to kid. I think she loves her kids and she is sassy. I bet we would get along.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    Seems legit.

  18. swanspirit says:

    Just read the whole thing, it will make you feel good🙂

    What should the rest of the country expect from Hillary? Remember, “If you like you doctor, you can keep your doctor?” If you like your Obama, you can keep your Obama.

    That particular line began as a note by a Clinton staffer in 1994 during their botched health care hijacking. Obama even borrowed the health care mandate that he originally opposed from Hillary.

    If you like your ObamaCare, just call it HillaryCare. By any name, it means high prices, small networks and worthless coverage.Obama’s foreign policy? It originally began as the Clinton foreign policy.

    Before there was a deal to let Iran get nukes, there was a deal to let North Korea get nukes.

    Before Obama played footsie with terrorists, Bill Clinton clumsily stumbled around with Bin Laden. When the World Trade Center was bombed, he stayed home. He had a chance to take out Osama, but claimed to be worried about collateral damage.

    Hillary Clinton pushed the Reset Button with Russia as Secretary of State. She’ll push it even harder if she’s in the White House.

    • lyn says:

      Good read.

    • elliesmom says:

      I was reading an article from the Washington Examiner today about what the chances are of the Democrats keeping Obama’s coalition together, I think the coalition will hold. I think Hillary will get the majority of the Democrats’ key constituency. I question in what numbers she can get them to the polls. Women who were members of the Democratic Party or independent voters who supported her in 2008 were unable to get her a decisive enough delegate count to thwart the people pushing for Obama. Whether we could have pushed her over the finish line in the general election is something we don’t know. I don’t think she’ll get a higher percentage of the women’s vote this time, but I don’t know if I’m right. The women who were 13-21 in 2008 might get enthusiastic about the first woman president and surprise me. Black voters will support her, but not in the numbers Obama got. Hispanics may support her or maybe not if the Republicans succeed with some identity politics of their own. While I think the Democratic nomination is probably hers, although I think it’s too soon to take that to the bank, I don’t think the 2016 election is in her bag just yet.

      • DeniseVB says:

        In my perfect world, the real Dem hasn’t come forward yet, remember Bill (who nobody heard of at the time) jumped in late in ’91. He was a fresh face by that time, and it worked. (Ross Perot sucking off Bush 41 votes helped too, but those republicans weren’t going to vote for 41 anyhow and certainly not for the Dem).

        In this same world, I see the GOP floundering late this summer because the media won’t let them criticize Hillary. Enter Sarah🙂 She’s already shot an arrow across HRC’s bow on her FB page. If she doesn’t run, the boys are going to need her quiver of arrows and darts😀

    • Dora says:

      Another great read by Daniel Greenfield.

  19. mothy67 says:

    One other thing the Barronelle video really disturbed me. So much hate. My Aunt Maureen looks like her. I love her. I don’t believe you win by going after old ladies. I have been called so many names. Sticks and Stones. Absence of rationale. I had people email threats then block me. I love to talk as a rule I never shut up. Just listen I can hear gay cake arguments but shut up. It is all about silencing.

  20. DandyTIger says:

    The Onion has a funny one:

    BERKELEY, CA—Challenging long-held views on the origins of divinity, biologists at the University of California, Berkeley, presented findings Thursday that confirm God, the Almighty Creator of the Universe, evolved from an ancient chimpanzee deity.

    The recently discovered sacred ancestor, a divine chimp species scientists have named Pan sanctorum, reportedly gave rise over millions of years to the Lord Our God, Maker of Heaven and Earth.

    “Although perhaps not obvious at first glance, there are actually overwhelming similarities between the Supreme Being of today and this early primate deity who preceded Him,” said Dr. Richard Kamen, a leading biologist who also heads Berkeley’s paleotheology department. “The holy chimp moved around on all fours, but its descendants eventually began walking upright to expend less energy while foraging across the infinite reaches of the universe. This of course led to the bipedalism of modern-day God.”

  21. DandyTIger says:

    Rubio announcing at 6:03pm. I kind of like the guy. Will be interesting to see how he handles the hostile media.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    Tigger snores. He’s laying on a table next to my desk, sawing logs.

  23. Myiq2xu says:


  24. Myiq2xu says:

    #ProTip: You can save flat beer by mixing it with fresh beer.

  25. Dora says:

    OT – Willie Nelson is alive!

    Willie Nelson Is the Victim of a Death Hoax

  26. 1539days says:

    I still find that every proponent of medicinal or industrial marijuana use is an addict under the surface. Just say no, people.

  27. mothy67 says:

    I do think all drugs including vodka can be dangerous. Should not be a goal to leave life. Addiction is flight. Some need it to survive but it is running away. Fixes nothing. My nephew is 32 he wakes and bakes. He claims pot is fine. He has never had an apartment. My cousin is having plastic surgury right now because a stoned couple allowed a pit bull outsde. She is ten. Face has to be constructed. Dog owners were wasted.

  28. Constance says:

    WOW! Rubio’s launch speech was amazing! He knocked the old farts from both parties who are running for President. I’m impressed.

  29. Constance says:

    The talking heads seemed impressed in spite of themselves. Rubio is clearly not the DC/East Coast media choice. He did a great job of slamming people from the previous century subtly, pointing out he isn’t an elitist (I don’t think he is Ivy indoctrinated) and emphasizing his working class roots. I’m sold. He’s the kind of candidate I’ve been waiting for.

    • elliesmom says:

      He’s a product of Florida’s public universities.

    • Somebody says:

      Careful, careful…….Rubio is an amnesty kind of guy. Trust me he’s for amnesty, he was only against amnesty to get elected to the senate in 2010. It was in that election that became some tea party darling, he ran to the right of Charlie Crist…….that’s not saying much…..the right of Charlie Crist!

      Sure, sure I know he says NOW he’s against amnesty, but trust me he’s for amnesty. Personally that’s an issue for me, but it may not be for others or at least not a deal breaker. Rubio is establishment through and through……don’t buy the tea party label, again let’s revisit he became the tea party candidate because he ran to the right of Charlie Crist……NOT because he’s super conservative, because he’s not. He’s an establishment kind of guy. He’s also a Jeb Bush protege, I’m not sure how that will play out in the future, but I assure you he was Jeb’s boy back in the day. I hear there is a power struggle between them now, but that’s all just rumor.

      • Constance says:

        I am absolutely against amnesty. I’ll watch out for his comments on it but the fact is both parties want to ram amnesty for illegals up the asses of under and un employed Americans.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Totally agree with you an amnesty. Seems counter-intuitive for a guy whose parents came here legally to support amnesty, but it’s something to watch for.

  30. Dora says:

    A stab in the back.

    Obama Withholding Endorsing Hillary, “Other Friends” May Decide To Run

  31. Myiq2xu says:

    Well, well, well, it looks like Hillary learned a lesson from Obama. She has paid bloggers/trolls working social media:

    Allison, on April 13, 2015 at 5:08 pm said:
    Hi everyone – de-lurking briefly to add that Hillary has indeed prioritized climate change and according to Think Progress, is the first presidential candidate to ever do so:

    William, on April 13, 2015 at 7:08 pm said:
    Thank you, Allison, for providing that very heartening information. I had always thought that Hillary would be the one person who would actually try to do something significant about climate change. If she could somehow win with a large margin, she would do more to change the world and country for the better, than anyone since FDR. I thought that eight years ago, too; as of course many of us did.

    I spent too much time moderating threads – I can spot those scaly critters from a mile away.

  32. DandyTIger says:

    Bacon prolongs your life:

    The pork product is apparently full of niacin – also known as Vitamin B3 – which has been linked to a longer life span. Researchers tested the theory by feeding a selection of roundworms a good dose of niacin and their life lasted one-tenth longer.

    You can also find the vitamin in paprika, sun-dried tomatoes, peanuts, and marmite (which is apparently yeast extract). But who cares? You can find niacin in bacon, which is all that really matters. So eat up! It’s good for you.

  33. 1539days says:

    I think Hillary should try a different tact against her detractors. “You stopped me before and got Obama. Want to try again?”

  34. westcoaster says:

    more news about the toddler killed in Wisconsin (his brother was in the car):

    • westcoaster says:

      actually, the brother ran up after the accident and was fatally shot- I was wrong about him being in the car.

      • leslie says:

        Me, too, Westie, I just came here to correct myself from yesterday. Thanks for posting the link.

Comments are closed.