Babies Are Totes Inconvenient And Stuff

From the raw sewage that is called Salon:

“Girls” star Jemima Kirke shares her heart-rending abortion story: “I had to empty my checking account”

It was early in the series that HBO’s “Girls” included abortion as a storyline, when Jemima Kirke’s character, Jessa, believed she was pregnant and decided to terminate. The character never ends up going in for the “procedure” because she gets her period before she heads to the clinic, but it didn’t exactly play out that way in real life for Kirke. As the actress has said publicly before, she had an abortion when she found herself unexpectedly pregnant as a college student — and there’s a reason she’s always been so open about it.

In a new video for the Center for Reproductive Rights, Kirke shares the details of her abortion experience to raise awareness about both the commonality of the procedure and the obstacles many women face to accessing the care they need. The “Girls” star and mother of three says that when she became pregnant in 2007, her life “was not conducive to raising a happy, healthy child.” Nor was it particularly conducive to spending hundreds of dollars for an abortion, which Kirke had to pay for herself.

“Because I couldn’t tell my mother that I was pregnant, I had to pay for it out of pocket,” Kirke says in the video. “I did have to empty my checking account, what I had in there, and get some from my boyfriend.”

The actress also adds that her abortion was only affordable to her once she cut out basic, though optional, aspects of the procedure — specifically, full sedation. “Anesthesia wasn’t that much more, but when you’re scrounging for however many hundreds of dollars, it is a lot,” Kirke says. “I just didn’t have it.”

Her experience echoes that of countless other women who have come forward with their abortion stories, and who have been forced to overcome numerous additional obstacles to care that often put them in positions of extreme financial hardship. As Kirke puts it, it’s not all about choice, but also about accessibility. “We think we are able to do whatever we want,” she says, “but then there are these little hoops we have to jump through to get them.”

Wow, what a terrible hardship. I can’t even begin to imagine the suffering she went thru. Lucky for her that abortion is legal. We wouldn’t want her to be punished with a child.

Babies are totes inconvenient and stuff.

God's punishment for fornicators

God’s punishment for fornicators

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Babies Are Totes Inconvenient And Stuff

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    The saddest thing about this article is the author doesn’t see anything wrong with aborting an inconvenient child.

  2. angienc says:

    Funny how she doesn’t mention adoption — adoption would not have costed her a cent, and, in fact, if she did a private adoption, the adopting parents would have paid her expenses (medical and living). That way she would have made another couple who desperately wanted a child extremely happy. Added bonus: no killing of her unborn child.

    I’m pro-choice, but cry me a fucking river about scrounging for a few hundred to abort a baby– hell, the boyfriend should have paid for at least half. Only an idiot doesn’t know that.

    • lyn says:

      ^This^ I’m pro-choice for the first trimester, and I also believe shame or guilt should be part of the abortion experience. Those feelings make us human.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Some things should have stigma associated with them. I don’t like the idea that we should be able to do anything we please completely guilt and consequence free.

        • angienc says:

          It should be a choice, but a HARD choice.And sure as fuck not a taxpayer funded free for all.

    • 49erDweet says:

      It’s like she caught a sore throat…inconvenient but not important, in the big scheme of thing.

    • 1539days says:

      Adoption would mean her mother would find out. That’s was very important to her… until she started doing interviews and videos about it.

      Was this a Planned Parenthood referral that charged a la carte for things like sedation?

      • angienc says:

        No shit — if sedation is “optional” then let’s be honest: it really isn’t needed.

      • Constance says:

        I had a two hour surgery to fix a broken ankle and leg and a cesearian section without general sedation. Its no big deal. They give you a spinal block and enough Valium type drug that you don’t care what’s going on.

    • Jadzia says:

      +1 to what Angie said, especially paragraph 2. I’m not all that pro-choice, but lifted an eyebrow when I saw the thing about “scrounging” from the boyfriend. What, is he one of those people who thinks that the lady “got herself pregnant”? I think we can all agree that he probably wasn’t father material.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Oh dear gawd myiq, you made me click on Salon. It wasn’t mentioned how “far” along she was, a missed period? I am so pro-choice up to 12 weeks, 3 misses ? Good grief, I had a positive false pregnancy between my second and third children at 16 F**king weeks (yeah, I was one of those with crazy cycles and it was the late 70’s). Doc sent me home with a boatload of meds to “bring it on” or something. He said if you’re REALLY preggers, these meds won’t work. But they did. And I was sad😦 I named that *period* Tim.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    He described 5 black guys as “5 black guys”

  5. swanspirit says:

    I am pro-choice up until 20 weeks unless the mother’s life is in danger, and if there is a chance of a viable fetus , they should be delivered alive if at all possible. I strongly believe all of these decisions should be made on an individual basis, because circumstances vary so widely. And the stats for a possible viable fetus change with the advances in technology.
    I don’t see how anyone can be cavalier about such a decision, or consider a child an inconvenience ,but then people are so different.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Sorta bringing this from downstairs….Just NO!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I prefer the Benny Hill version.

    • lildoggy4u says:

      I do like that she’s treating the media like the little pissants they’ve become. Almost like they are irrelevant right now and she intends to take her case directly to the people. Watching them run and scramble is hysterical.

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    • angienc says:

      WTF is wrong with this world?
      And if that guy had pulled out his gun and shot some of those little punks (as he had every right to do in that situation with his 3 month old in danger) everyone would be screaming about GUN CONTROL!!!!!

  8. SHV says:

    It’s rather odd that a doctor can be sued and potentially charged with battery for faulty informed consent except in the case of abortion where the usual rules for consent don’t apply.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. mothy67 says:

    Something I have noticed is that some woman lie to themselves not all but I have had friends that tried to act like it was not an issue. I could sense it was difficult. Very different but I have known people that my self included thought sex was without consequences. Some people perhaps can. Free love. To thine ownself. I think most people who obsessed with Christian bashing are actually just trying to avoid thier own truths..
    Side note. I got arrested last night. Public intox. I wouldn’t get in a car with people that had been doing shots all night. I walked. Cops were actually very nice. I was cuffed but they drove me home. .really kind. I was lit. I’ll probably get a fine. They took me home not jail.

  12. angienc says:

    Babies aren’t God’s punishment for fornicators.
    Teenagers are.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

    I am soooooo drunk.

  14. Dora says:

    I think what they call ‘late term abortion’ is repulsive. It’s nothing less than murder IMO. If she in any way wants to run an honest campaign, Hillary is going to have to tell us her position on it. She can’t keep hiding behind her tweets.

    Hillary Clinton Won’t Spell Out Position on Late-Term Abortion

  15. Dora says:

    SICK. DNC Chair Wasserman Schultz Doubles, Triples Down on Partial Birth Abortion (VIDEO)

    Last week DNC Chairman Debbie Wasserman Schultz officially threw her support behind late-term abortion.

  16. HELENK3 says:

    if abortion is legal and so good, why is retroactive abortion considered murder and punishable by life in prison or death?

    • Constance says:

      There were a few time in the teen years where I would have opted for retroactive abortion. Instead I had to content myself with removing all current evidence of the child and putting up only baby pictures of them. But now I’m glad I was restrained by law.

  17. HELENK3 says:

    what did you think of the Justified ending last night?

  18. votermom says:

  19. HELENK3 says:

    this made me smile this am

  20. leslie says:

    Gotta do a coffee run for my son’s MIL while she cares for one of her other grandbabies……….
    Then I’ll start the paperwork for retirement……….😀

  21. Dora says:

    When de Blasio worked as her campaign manager and helped Hillary win her senate seat, all of her supporters loved him. How quickly things change. Politics sucks!

    Good-Bill hunting ­ Hillary supporters attack de Blasio

  22. Dora says:

    They are being serious. At least I think they are.

    A Modest Proposal: Barack Obama Should Be Hillary Clinton’s Running Mate

  23. Myiq2xu says:

    Oh shit.

    I decided to celebrate the finale of Justified with a bottle of Maker’s Mark.

    I didn’t plan on drinking the whole fucking thing.

    When I sober up I am gonna be so damn hungover it ain’t funny.

  24. HELENK3 says:

    this looks like it should be interesting

  25. HELENK3 says:

    I am ready a book that you might like MYIQ. it is titled American Lightning by Howard Blum.
    early 1900s mystery about “the crime of the century” the beginning of Hollywood
    bombings, the war between labor and business. political corruption. the whole bit.

  26. mcnorman says:

    Let me tell you about inconvenience. Decades ago, I worked in a facility which did early terms. We had many, many, MANY women who used that term regularly. Yes, they were regulars…imho far too many were regulars. I even had one that baptized her speciman jars. She could not seem to grasp the planning part called contraception which certainly would have been easier on her physically and emotionally. She was on her 13th inconvenience when I left.

    That said, I will NEVER tell any woman what choice she should make or that their choice is wrong. There were too many other instances of incest, rape, and other hideous facts of life that some faced daily. It is a very personal decision with a lot of ramifications.

Comments are closed.