Marco Rubio is in it to win it

Marco Rubio is running for President. He’s not the first to declare his candidacy, and I seriously doubt he’ll be the last.

He’s a young first-term Senator with no executive experience and a foreign sounding name but he’s a good public speaker.

I’ll pass for now but if he’s the nominee I’ll pick him over Hillary.

What do you think?

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to Marco Rubio is in it to win it

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Ummm, what?

  2. Dora says:

    Rubio looks so young while Hillary is starting to seem stale. Can’t she – or any of her staff – come up with an original idea?

    What’s Old Is Not New Again… Hillary’s ‘Scooby’ Bus Is 15 Yr. Old Throwback

    What’s old is not new again…
    Hillary rode in the #Retroshaggy Scooby Bus back in 2000, too.

    • fif says:

      I disagree. She was Senator in my state (NY) and she hit the road and visited every single county, several more than once, talking to people. That made a big difference in her connection to the voters here. They are trying to offset the “inevitable” known brand and connect her to people. Why is that a “old” thing? People who do not like her are going to interpret every single thing she does in a negative light, and vice versa. Politics is a constant stream of projection and the “facts” are hard to discern in the midst of all the distorted data.

  3. Lulu says:

    There is a certain decency in him that is very compelling. I like his parents LEGAL immigrant story. He is a product of PUBLIC universities rather than the Ivies of whom I am sick of. He is not boring or whiny or wimpy. But…..I don’t see the fire in the belly and the next prez is going to need to be a SOB to fix all the stuff that Bronco has ruined, let slide, or stolen. I think he will be run over in debates by Cruz and Paul (and even that sly dry witted Walker) and left as road kill. I am willing to listen to him make his case whereas I have tuned the Dems completely out. Although if Webb goes rogue it could get very interesting. That would be left versus right populism with vile progress-ism limping off into the sunset.

    • Dora says:

      I am hoping that Webb gets in the race. That would makes things more exciting.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I noticed Webb is getting more active on FB which is a good sign. He’s about as exciting as a loaf of white bread but a really good guy.

      • Lulu says:

        But does he have a mouth on him! No one should go near an insult contest with him. I like him immensely. He is boring until he is pissed. What a temper and he puts up with no shit. I’d like to see him push Dems to break with Bronco. I’m talking to you Hillary.

        • DeniseVB says:

          He could be our Bibi😉

        • leslie says:

          Here’s the thing about Webb… My Prog friends, who are Obots to be sure and would likely engage in an “Obama for Life” movement, are all about Liawatha – until they start talking about Webb, as if he’s a god. Then it’s all about running Webb, who has experience and isn’t a Republican. They’re talking Webb/Warren in 2016. Makes me think that if they are pro- Webb in spite of Lizzie, there must be something really wrong with Webb. I’m just sayin’, I may not be interested in him if they are.

          • Lulu says:

            He writes good books which makes him an intellectual even if he is not remotely suited to be prez. They don’t understand that at heart he is a very smart, talented and credentialed redneck which are not supposed to exist.

          • DeniseVB says:

            You’re lucky, at least your prog friends are talking about other candidates, mine are all “vagina” voters. Sigh.

          • leslie says:

            It’s probably that he writes books (ala bronco) that may be an attraction. If they knew he was a redneck, that would seal the deal. They would say “not another Clinton”. I know they are cray-cray. But I love those friends and “pray” for their political souls daily.

          • piper says:

            As much as I like Webb, he has several problems which could be a turn off: age and three marriages. Webb, a former Republican is 69 years old, born in 1946, a bit older than Hillary. During the Reagan Administration, he served as the nation’s first Assistant Secretary of Defense for Reserve Affairs from 1984 to 1987.

          • Lulu says:

            Leslie, that was exactly what I thought. Books, very smart credentialed guy, and they don’t understand he is a bred to the bone Scot. The Irish part came in when the border Scots were deported to Ireland and they caused great trouble there too. My husband’s ancestors were not deported but conscripted into the British Army until they made a break for Canada.

          • Dora says:

            I never knew much about Jim Webb. I am from Long Island and had no reason to follow his career. When he left the senate, I was sure we had heard the last from him. Then, one day, I watched this documentary on the Smithsonian Channel and immediately became an admirer. He has a great personality; seems like a patriotic American and he is also cute – which doesn’t hurt. 🙂

            Born Fighting

          • Constance says:

            Well I’m not sure writing good books makes a person intellectual. To be intellectual you need to write boring books about esoteric crap.

        • foxyladi14 says:


  4. 49erDweet says:

    Because part of my extended family are conservative Hispanic-Americans, I can’t help but think Rubio and Cruz should also be doing some bilingual voter re-registration spots. Between the two of them they could make serious inroads into Dem numbers…….rupturing progs plans and ruining their assumptions. The other side of that would be building up enough of a base of GOP numbers that we could finally move the GOP-E out of their catbird seat. And wouldn’t that be precious?

    • swanspirit says:

      I agree, The Dems do not have some demographics as locked up as they think they do.
      That is a special snowflake fantasy.

    • Mary says:

      Agree, Dora. She does seem stale. And deceptive. And wily. And oozingly manipulative.

    • Mary says:

      Rubio for VP (and HIspanic votes). Cruz for Attorney General to clean up Justice Department. 🙂

    • driguana says:

      That’s a really good point. More and more the word “embrace” keeps popping into my head regarding Republican candidates….by that I mean being accepting rather than just outright condemning or dismissing a political, cultural or social point of view. If he can come across as someone who will “embrace’ differences yet have clear cut concepts of his own, with strong validations for why he does, he may make huge inroads for the GOP. Having lived in Santa Fe NM for almost 40 years, I know that many Hispanics there were really conservative in their lives but Democrat in their politics. There is clearly a bridge….some one needs to cross it. Rubio and Cruz teaming up would be an awesome strategy.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Apparently Cruz doesn’t speak Spanish, or much anyway. But he can wing it like others do. Rubio on the other hand is fluent. He should definitely push on that.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Cruz speaks fluent Canadian.

      • angienc says:

        Only Cruz’s dad spoke Spanish as his first language; his mother is American/English-first-language. Both of Rubio’s parents are Spanish-first-language.
        Not to stereotype but based on my own personal experience, when both parents’ native language is something other than English, the child grows up bilingual:speaking their parents’ native language at home; English outside of the home.
        When only one parent (like Cruz’s dad or my mom) is ESL, it isn’t as common for the child to grow up as fluently bilingual as one where both parents are ESL.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          If Cruz grew up speaking Spanish the Left would say he’s unamerican.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Generally you are right unless extended immigrant family is nearby, then bi-lingual is much more common.

          • angienc says:

            Right — grandparents in the house/nearby, etc. matters too, especially with only one ESL parent.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My granddaughter is growing up bilingual as she spends much time with her ESL Honduran grandparents, I really think that’s so cool.
          I always thought it would be even cooler if the whole world learned sign language as their second language, you can communicate with anybody everywhere in the world.

          I’m so running for President now, lol. I have great and practical ideas. And I’m Hillary’s age! Fair Tax, end high school in the 10th grade, 11 and 12 will be your FREE community/tech school college thing. Easy peasy. And since I’d spend most of my time at Camp David anyhow, I’d hire qualified people to run the government for me.

          Most important, Presidential electoral votes will be awarded by congressional districts won per state, not the stupid winner take all or whatever other fuzzy common core math they use. Some states do that now, not Virginia, they think it’s rayyycist. Huh? We tried.

  5. Dora says:

    Lanny promises that a much more serious speech is coming up. Stay tuned.

    Do-over? Lanny Davis says video was not actual Hillary Clinton campaign launch

  6. votermom says:

    I have the same problem with Rubio that a lot of the Tea Party has – don’t trust him. He ran against amnesty then joined the Gang of Eight

    • swanspirit says:

      Yep, the amnesty thing really bothered me , still does. He has since changed his position, but we shall see. I like him , but I am waiting to see more.

      • Lulu says:

        I don’t trust him on that either which is why I don’t think he can win in the primary or general for 2016. It is going to be a huge issue this round.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I got the impression he was seduced by the Dark Side snookered by the GOPE on that one. He looked like a deer in the headlights when it blew up on him.

      • votermom says:

        I don’t think that makes it any better.

        • DeniseVB says:

          He did admit that was a mistake and has learned from it. He could have said “what difference does it make?” 😉

          I think Walker’s going to fare better from the vetting process, if he had anything to hide the union thugs in WI would have found them by now.

          • Lulu says:

            Yes he is clean or they would have dug it out. All the Dems got is he is stupid and didn’t finish college which insults most of the country who didn’t either.

          • DandyTIger says:

            Agree. I think Walker should fare the best through this process. The only problem with him from a campaign perspective is his blandness. But we could use some bland.

          • piper says:

            Lest we forgot, there were 2 John Doe investigations in Scott Walker and his aides by Milwaukee D.A. John Chisholm whose wife, a teacher and union steward pushed for the investigations when Walker forced the unions to give up their stranglehold on the state and school districts.
            Wisconsin’s John Doe laws grant extraordinary powers to investigators to compel testimony.
            Unbiased (not really) coverage by the liberal rag, The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

    • Constance says:

      Well there won’t be a “no amnesty for illegal s” candidate to vote for. Both parties worship the concept and don’t care what it does to american worker .

  7. 49erDweet says:

    OT. Wanted to add this to the earlier thread down below on foreign workers and their required “forced” training by outgoing employees.
    When a firm needs ee’s with special skills the most logical and least costly way to gain them should be through in-house training. That should build ee loyalty and provide a much more stable workforce. If we have a tax code that doesn’t support that process, it’s counter-intuitive. And if that same tax code makes it more financially attractive to lay-off the current worker and hire the foreign-born, it is simply cray-cray.
    Is that now the case? Are we at the point where our laws are now our citizen’s worst enemies?

    • Lulu says:

      The problem with training the foreign workers is they don’t understand the training. Their university degrees are not the same as those in the US and the corporate big wigs think that no language skills and lousy foreign university programs are due to “racism” of the US workers. I’m not kidding. My son took a software engineer from somewhere who had fucked up six months of IT work (at a cable network in NYC) into a VP’s office and asked the foreign guy to explain to the VP what he was working on. The foreign guy “gibbered” for 10 minutes and the VP understood not one word. No one could understand anything he said and his writing in English was worse. My son thinks he has a fake diploma. The network is paying him cheap to screw up expensive employees work. Idiocy. It is happening everywhere and my son thinks it is a business phase that is petering out.

      • lildoggy4u says:

        I have an issue about these foreign workers. For every single job you must submit to a background check that digs up any little discretion you may have made in your lifetime. These imports get to start with a clean slate. Just for instance, we know that Cuba emptied all its prisons when the Mariel boatlift occurred. These immigrants had no criminal record here in the US and they became instantly employable. I imagine the same is happening with our newly approved citizenry from across the border now. If I was in trouble in my country, yea, I’d head for another for a do-over.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    I like all the GOP potentials so far. Still would prefer some exec experience and groom either Rubio or Cruz as a VP. With that in mind, every one of them are more accomplished, experienced and smarter than Obama was at this point in ’08. I doubt the GOPE candidates could motivate the conservative base (we did have the perfect resume with Romney, but it wasn’t enough in ’12). For the sheer thrill and to catch those hispanic and millennial votes, I’d say Rubio could pull that off.

    • Lulu says:

      I keep thinking they are going to break out some instruments and start singing Partridge Family songs. Hillary even looks a little bit like Mrs Partridge.

  9. As usual myiq you and I are on exactly the same page

  10. lildoggy4u says:

    Rubio does have some skeletons in his closet. He’s always been popular with the ladies because of his boyish looks and of course has South Florida votes locked up due to his Cuban heritage. I even think he’s cute. But when he was Florida’s Speaker of the House he got into some trouble and was pushed out. The investigation revealed that he used his Florida taxpayer credit card which is provided to all state legislators to pay his mortgage and other personal expenses. It seems his house was close to foreclosure if not in it and he got desperate for money.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. fif says:

    I’m not voting for anyone with no executive experience who is a good public speaker. That didn’t work out so well last time.

    • piper says:

      Totally agree

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Exactly!!!! 🙄

    • Lulu says:

      It can work if the person is willing to listen to others with more experience. People assumed (wrongly) that Obama would listen to his touted “team of rivals” but he doesn’t and the team is a bunch of ignorant ideologues, brown nosers, and shake down artists. Bronco is also the only president I can think of who hasn’t “grown” in the job. My guess is that is hard to do unless you are personality disordered and dumb.

    • Constance says:

      The problem with Obama is he doesn’t love the USA and puts citizens needs at the bottom of his priority list. Rubio loves the country and considers himself a citizen rather than a citizen of the world.

    • insanelysane says:

      The O is NOT a good public speaker. The media and other racists sold that lie cause he has so little to offer. He was/is a horrible speaker.

    • elliesmom says:

      I might vote for Rubio when he has 20 years more experience. He’s not ready for the job yet.

  14. foxyladi14 says:

    SP had more experience, then all the rest put together. 🙂

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. DandyTIger says:

    I like Rubio and Cruz, and to some extent Rand. But I think they’re more suited to the VP slot. And perhaps that’s what they’re really running for. I think the GOP race so far is really between Bush and Walker. And that’s where I suspect it will mostly stay. I’m not sure either Walker or Bush would pick any of them for VP though. Well, I don’t think the rules allow Bush to even pick Rubio since they’re from the same state, but not sure about that. Whoever wins may want to pick a women for VP, assuming the Dems do crown Hillary. So far I’d pick Rubio, Cruz, or Rand over Hillary. If Bush wins I won’t vote for him. Not sure what I’d do in that case.

    • angienc says:

      I know what I’d do: if someone put a gun to my head and said “vote for Hillary or Jeb” I would say “pull the trigger.” I will never vote for Hillary after Benghazi & I’ll never vote for Jeb because, Jeb. Furthermore, a 2016 Bush v. Clinton race is ludicrous on its face. FFS, why even go through the expense of an “election” for such a farce?
      IOW, 3rd party protest vote for me.

      • DeniseVB says:

        No wonder she’ll get good press, if she raises 2.5 billion that’s a lot of ad buys on the Big Three nets, your major papers and the local markets.
        Just wondering, now that she’s a declared candidate, is she allowed to fundraise for the Clinton Foundation too ?

        • Dora says:

          I agree about being unable to vote for either one. I’m not sure what I am going to do. I guess I’ll have to look at third party candidates. What a mess.😦

        • 1539days says:

          Hannity pointed out the Clinton campaign’s funding goal is equivalent to $37 a voter. I’d rather take the cash.

      • Constance says:

        You know I’m so over the Dem party I might vote for Hillary if she was running as an independent against Bush.

  19. driguana says:

    Percy Sledge has died…..another soulful voice gone along…what a great voice and song…

  20. DeniseVB says:

    :facepalm: my son was the TSA supervisor who investigated and fired the pervs, unless the “victims” come forward and press charges, the DA won’t prosecute them for sexual harassment. Sounds like there may be hundreds of them since a lot of “hot” ski bums come through those gates.

  21. gram cracker says:

    Hill’s road trip across the country with a stop at a Chipotle near Toledo Ohio brought back memories of Ohio born comedian, Jonathan Winters, in the Wendy’s commercial “burger A vs burger B”. Imagine that Hill stopped there, cause she’s in it for the long haul and could eat a burrito in Toledo and still be tasting it in Dubuque.

  22. Dora says:

    Larry Johnson thinks Carly Fiorina will be a dark horse candidate. I like Carly, but I have to know a lot more about her.

    Tired, Old Hillary and Young Marco, Both Not Ready for Prime Time

    • elliesmom says:

      I think Carly Fiorina will be the pit bull who goes after Hillary in ways the men can’t. I think, if she helps one of them succeed, she’ll be rewarded with a position in the new Republican administration. Her tenure as CEO at HP gives her experience in an executive position, but it wasn’t all good experience. I think in a general election Hillary and her compliant press would eat Carly for lunch.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Hillary was a failed “executive” at State, not so sure she learned from it as nobody in O’s administration has been held accountable for anything … except for a few Generals who dared disagree with him. Biden can’t keep his hands off women and little girls, Holder’s been held in contempt of Congress.

        I like Carly and her war on the War on Women …. ALL ISSUES ARE WOMEN’S ISSUES! Rah.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Here’s a good start on Carly, let’s start with the scandal (though nobody died during hers),

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. Myiq2xu says:

  25. SHV says:

    Hopefully, when the primaries start, Cruz will be challenged on a ballot for the “Natural Born” issue. He is an excellent candidate to have SCOTUS make the definition. It should have been settled with Goldwater but wasn’t.

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    2,997,422 hits

  27. Dora says:

    Watch out Texas!

    ISIS Camp a Few Miles from Texas, Mexican Authorities Confirm

  28. TheRealKim says:

    So you are no longer a Hillary supporter myiq?

  29. 49erDweet says:

    So always remember, in “Benghazi” the H is silent.

Comments are closed.