Transgender Man Could Be Men’s Health’s Next ‘Ultimate Guy’

If he maintains his significant lead Men’s Health’s “Ultimate Guy Search,” 27-year-old Aydian Dowling could be the magazine’s first transgender cover model. He spoke with People about the “outpouring of encouragement” he’s received since entering the competition.

“It’s phenomenal, the amount of support it’s gotten – how many people have re-Tweeted and re-blogged and re-posted and liked and shared and commented and voted…I think I would have laughed if someone said that in five years I was going to be in a competition to be on the cover of Men’s Health magazine.”

Dowling currently has nearly three times the votes of the contestant in second place, and is excited to represent the transgender community in such a high-profile contest.

Satire is indeed dead.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to AYFKM?

  1. 1539days says:

    Some years ago, there was a bunch of press about the “pregnant man.” It turns out that the man was a woman who still had all the plumbing but had self-assigned herself a new gender. I remember this mostly because Red Eye joked about this and The View showed the Red Eye clip and decried the lack of understanding and tolerance of daring to point out that a woman medically molded into a man shape is unequivocally a man.

    I can be pretty libertarian about how people want to live, but I will not stand for having to lobotomize myself to accept things that aren’t real for the sake of political correctness.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      If a woman wants to have herself surgically altered to look like a man that is her business. But the surgery doesn’t make her a man. I could dye my skin dark brown but that won’t make me an African American.

  2. Constance says:

    Wait! So does that person have a y chromosome? It’s hard to believe no y chromosome with the arm veins and manhands. The chest does look kind of altered. But when I first saw the photo I thought “whats with the hunk”.

  3. 49erDweet says:

    I used to think section 5150 of California’s Welfare & Institutions code was a trifle vague.

  4. 49erDweet says:

    I say Thursday, 8:22 pm PDT, the dial hits 3 mil.

  5. elliesmom says:

    I’m 63 years old. I don’t think I’m an old fuddy-duddy. Maybe I am. There are people out in the world who don’t believe one of their arms belongs to them. It has to be real because I saw it on an episode of House. No reputable surgeon would amputate that person’s arm. They would treat it as a mental illness. I am willing to believe, for whatever reason, that a person might believe he or she is in the wrong body, but until we can find a physical cause for it, wouldn’t it be better to encourage and work with that person to learn to live in the body he or she was born into? For society to accept that person “as is” would be a reasonable goal. Public places often have a “family bathroom”, a single unit where a parent can comfortably take a child of the opposite sex or change a baby’s diaper. If a person isn’t comfortable using a restroom that matches his or body parts, wouldn’t that solve the problem? Surgically removing or adding body parts seems to me to be in the same category as amputating a limb to “cure” a person’s mental issues. There are so few areas in our current culture where one is banned because of gender. It seems extreme to me to be mutilating people. Haircuts, clothing, occupations can all be pretty androgynous today. What does it really mean to “identify” as a man or a woman? Because the things that only a woman or only a man can do still aren’t possible after gender re-assignment surgery. Full disclosure – my husband worked with a guy named Jim. A few years later I worked with a woman named Jan. Same person. No change in the “happiness quotient”.

  6. SHV says:

    “Surgically removing or adding body parts …”
    At least have good “work”..those sub-Q mastectomy scars pretty bad

  7. Myiq2xu says:

  8. elliesmom says:

    So on another topic – I’ve been doing a blogaround visiting some of the blogs I used to frequent in 2008. A lot of them have closed the shutters, but a lot of them are still in business. I don’t know if I’m surprised or disappointed that many of them are acting like the last six years have never happened. Like they have Hillary’s reset button. No questions about her tenure at the State Department. No questions about the Clinton Foundation. She’s ” their girl” and anyone who questions her qualifications is sexist. Jeralyn’s commenters who support Hillary but still have some questions, and RD’s list of far left demands were actually refreshing. Part of me almost hopes someone slides in and takes the nomination away from her again because I don’t think the wake-up call in 2008 was loud enough. By all means support Hillary if she’s the best choice for you, but not until after you weigh the options.

    • lyn says:

      ^This^ The wake-up call should have happened in 2008 with Obama’s defeat at the hands of Hillary supporters. They were, and are, suckers.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      It’s kinda like someone who is pining away for their high school sweetheart 20 years later.

  9. DandyTIger says:

    Sounds about right that a surgically and chemically altered woman would be on the cover of Men’s Health. Those pretending it’s normal or not mocking Men’s Health are crazy.

    I too understand modifying things. Whatever. Don’t care. And as we continue in the future, I imagine you’ll be able to transform into a cat or dog. Whatever. Don’t care. But I agree that it’s likely the wrong solution to mental health issues.

  10. Pingback: The Hillary Mulligan | The Crawdad Hole

Comments are closed.