Sunday Open Thread

White House Correspondents Dinner

White House Correspondents Dinner

While they were busy yukking it up at the WHCD there was rioting in nearby Baltimore. CNN refused to cover the riots. The CNN talking head literally said people could following the riots online.

Meanwhile, the SFGiants beat the Rockies in extra innings.

This is an open thread.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Sunday Open Thread

  1. Meanwhile, they have recently started posting media jobs in the right-handed column at Memeorandum. Scanning the list is telling enough, with the news divisions divvied up by location. Politics in DC, tech in SF, style & stocks in NY. But drilling down is even more fun. Check out this typo-ridden ad for a tech writer for Buzzfeed. Qualifications include having good taste, a skeptical eye for bullshit, and no or little experience. The description of the company and their advertising agenda is a recipe for what’s wrong with media today.

  2. Lulu says:

    Obama looked like an old mummy dressed in a suit at the “I Am Relevent!!!” dinner last. Based on his height I would guess he weighs 113 pounds without his watch.

  3. driguana says:

    I had to force myself to watch even a moment of Obama and his comments at the WHCD. It was even worse than I imagined. He is such a puerile, partisan president. The whole affair, from what I could tell, was so beneath the dignity of a president and nothing more than a political party propaganda fest. Pretty disgusting. The media has become absolutely pathetic in this country. If we ourselves don’t demand higher standards and unbiased reporting and commentary, we will just continue down the dreaded path of polarized, political party propaganda!

    • piper says:

      Sadly too many people prefer watching the exploits of the Kardashians. Who knew that a sex video could propel a family into the limelight and riches.

    • DeniseVB says:

      A lot of his jokes fell flat as the cspan camera was desperately trying to find someone in the audience actually laughing. Mostly groans responding to his “mean girl” schtick. Cicely Strong didn’t fair much better. I wonder how many A-List stand-ups they had to go through before she got the invite?

      Keegan-Michael Key was out of his element. I doubt many in that room know who “Obama’s Anger Translator” is from a cable series? It plays much better in Key and Peele sketches.
      (NSFW: Language) But, hey, it gives BO the “cool factor” !

    • 1539days says:

      I think I would vote for the first candidate who pledged not to disgrace the Office by going to one of these.

      Except Hillary.

      • DeniseVB says:

        The “jokes” were really bad. I swear they used a laugh track to cover up the groans. Someone said it felt more like a Democratic fundraiser where attacking the oppo is required and nasty.

    • 1539days says:

      The worst was the morning “news” which kept saying that Obama got so many jokes at his expense. Could someone tell me one? I heard Cicely Strong make more jokes at Hillary’s expense. When Obama hears something against him, he can’t let it go, even if he has to bring it up days later. Remember the first debate with Romney? He was re-debating that a week later.

  4. piper says:

    Another excellent read from Lloyd Marcus
    “Today, the Left is aggressively usurping authority over your kids, ripping parenting out of your hands.

    Decades of allowing liberal indoctrination to go unchallenged has produced a generation of youths who believe that in the name of “fairness” no one should have more than anyone else (fighting income inequality). Needs and desires are now declared to be rights (government entitlements). In our quest to prove our tolerance as conservatives, we allowed the Left to steal our kids’ minds.

    Youths are idealistic. Once liberalized guilt-ridden youths are led down the road of trying to make life fair, the consequences are far reaching. For example: Pressure from students is forcing colleges to make all campus restrooms “all gender.” An Oregon High School created gender-neutral restrooms for transgender students.

    In case you have not noticed, the Left has zero tolerance for anyone daring to disagree with their far left radical liberal agenda. They punish and even seek to criminalize opposing points of view. How long will it be before our kids are reporting their parents to authorities after overhearing them express an opinion out-of-step with that of the Left, government and the mainstream media?
    Read more:

    • 49erDweet says:

      To be fair, in Oregon it was simply a matter of pinning a sign on another tree. When a restroom must actually be “built” it becomes expensive.

    • elliesmom says:

      I think it might only be living on in her own head. One positive comment out of 40. Sometimes it is better to sit down and shut up even when someone asks you to speak.

    • piper says:

      Attention at any cost even bad attention is better than none. Somewhere out there their are people who believe her lies and will bash those who criticize or call her on her lies.

      • DeniseVB says:

        These “faux victims” are hurting real rape victims. Their message should be clear, report it to the police or go to a hospital (who will report if for you), not go to Vogue.

        I think the stigma of victims being blamed is long in the past. But like everything else in Obama World, the past is the new normal.

      • 1539days says:

        Basically, every GOT fan who subscribes to HBO is subsidizing this unwatchable cretin.

        • elliesmom says:

          I cancelled my HBO in 2008 over Bill Maher, but it didn’t make a difference. He wasn’t hurt a bit, but there were shows I wanted to see that I couldn’t anymore. So, yes, my HBO subscription pays people I don’t want to watch, but it also pays people I do.

  5. mothy67 says:

    Netflix has Supervalcono. Cheesy Sci-fi about an eruption at Yellowstone.

  6. driguana says:

    More harfing…she really is hared to bear…there is no way this is a “correspondents” dinner…they should just call it a propaganda evening and get on with it…the thought of being in that room of people is the closest thing to hell on earth I could imagine…sorry for the rant but I am losing my patience with propaganda…When did Jane Fonda become a correspondent?

    • elliesmom says:

      When the Huffington Post gave “celebrities” their own “columns”.

    • piper says:

      Hanoi Jane is one of them, visiting Hanoi and bashing the U.S, complaining about her childhood and Dad, and giving diet and exercise advice to the masses.

    • angienc says:

      I used to work for a man who is “old money” and his daughter married one of Ted Turner’s sons. The wedding took place during the time Ted was married to Jane Fonda. The father of the bride/old money guy told me that he wasn’t very impressed with Jane Fonda — said she came late to all the events, was very “MOVIE STAR” in her attitude toward everyone, and the entire wedding weekend wore flashy dresses with very deep decolletage. In short, she seemed “like a floozy.”

  7. DeniseVB says:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    WHCD guest list from the WaPo’s very own “Lady who texted during the National Anthem”. Small world😀

  9. DeniseVB says:

    PSA for the kitty-cat people … never heard of this happening before and I worked for a vet for 10 years. Cats getting sick or dying from your achey muscle creme? Because they rub up or lick it off you? I’d think those cremes would act more like a repellent, nasty smell and all ? check your labels for this ingredient though…..

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I have had cats drawn to these in the past. Fortunately it was usually worn at bedtime by older relatives and the cats slept with me as a child. I think it is the ones the use menthol/mint. Catnip is in the mint family – hence the attraction.

      You can now get this type of topical treatment in patches which I use for my mother and they are much safer for cats. And not nearly so odorous.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    • Lulu says:

      I knew she would get around to “my truth” which means scam. “”All I have is my truth. I have nothing else to give. I yield to you.” –Emma

      • Lulu says:

        “When people engage in believing in me, they objectify me.” –Emma S

        • Lulu says:

          “my temper tantrums deserve as much praise and respect and validation as your rigor and research and hard logic”
          And Columbia is so proud.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. DeniseVB says:

    I just booked a flight to Colorado Springs for next week. Poured a vodka and cranberry and turned into Kristen Wiig😛 Yeah, this is how I fly….😀

  13. DeniseVB says:

    I was 17 going on 18, it was a very good year….

  14. DeniseVB says:

    One more…..circa ’63

  15. elliesmom says:

    So I think I’m missing out on a lot of pop culture references because I haven’t been watching “Game of Thrones”. I just watched episode one, and I don’t think I have had an hour of TV interrupted quite that often. Do I need to watch it again, or will I eventually sort all of the characters out?

  16. mothy67 says:

    Looks like GoFundMe may have screwed up royally by removing Sweet Cakes Bakery. The are facing a fine of 135,000 for not providing a wedding cake for a lesbian couple. Fund set up and they quickly raised 100 thousand. Pressure piled on so they caved and removed it.
    Silly rabbits its conservatives that open their wallets for charity. They have tarnished their brand.
    Took no time for an alternative source to step in.

Comments are closed.