Taylor Swift Update

Entertainment Weakly:

Taylor Swift’s music video for “Bad Blood,” the next sweetly vindictive single off 1989, debuts during the Billboard Music Awards on May 17. Joseph Kahn, the man behind Swift’s freaky, Gone Girl-y “Blank Space” video, will direct what looks to be an assassins-themed video (or a fake sequel to Sin City or a remake of Sucker Punch). Swift, meanwhile, has enlisted other leading ladies to join her in the project, each of whom she announced on Twitter this week.

Meanwhile, she recently kicked off the Asian leg of her world tour. Imagine a Tokyo stadium packed with thousands of Japanese girl tweeners, screaming and cheering for Tay.

BTW: Did you know Tay had her legs insured for $40 million??!

This is an open thread.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Taylor Swift Update

  1. Myiq2xu says:
    • Myiq2xu says:

      Obviously the government has to do something!

      • Myiq2xu says:
        • swanspirit says:

          For a while, I worked as a supervisor in a local nursing home, and one of my “duties” was to help serve in the dining room. one of the better dishes that was served was a nice combination of wild rice and vegetables. When I collected the plates, I noticed all of the rice was still on the plate untouched.At first I thought perhaps there was something wrong with it , since no one ate it . I was concerned because we documented what percentage of the plate was eaten by each individual, so we could track if someone stopped eating for some reason, and also to note likes and dislikes.
          I could not figure out what the problem was, and one of the cooks told me, “The people here didn’t grow up eating rice, and they won’t eat it, It is weird to them.” Nothing we said , or anything we did to the rice ; could persuade those local folks, who were a mix of black and white locals ,to the Eastern Shore; could get them to eat rice.
          Habits and culture are deeply rooted, and shoving food at someone doesn’t mean they will eat it, no matter how much their nutrition might be compromised.
          Progressives don’t even understand the lead a horse to water principle.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            When I was in the army they served us a limited variety of foods, all of which were generally popular across the country, like meatloaf and mashed potatoes. They didn’t get tricky, they just provided plenty of food for a mostly-male clientele. Very little food got wasted. If you wanted to try something different you went off base.

          • swanspirit says:

            Same with feeding children, you give them nutritious food, but in a form they will eat. Hopefully.

  2. Myiq2xu says:
    • DandyTIger says:

      Maybe just big giant monuments and posters depicting our great leader Obama. Put them in all the town squares and along all the streets. Change the names of streets and neighborhoods to things related to Obama and his administration. All hail our glorious leader Premiere Obama. Anyone to criticizes is clearly a racist and needs to be re-educated.

  3. votermom says:

    Just saw on tv – in North Philly. Apparently a 12yo boy was stabbed in the back while trying to protect his older sister when she was jumped by a gang of 20 or more girls after school.
    They mistook her for someone else. This was a follow up story – the boy is recovering.
    They interviwed the dad and he was saying they love going to school but now they are scared to.

    • DeniseVB says:

      They’ve taken a lot of discipline away from teachers and administrators over the years thus the feral children rise to the top. Sad story, I’d sue the school district for not providing a safe environment for my kids. On a related note, I’ve thought of this “coincidence” too, well it is Obama World😉

      • votermom says:

        It happened near a public park, not on school property, so I guess the school is off the hook.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Hope the police were called.

        • mothy67 says:

          Pa has door knob to door knob rules. Leave in the morning school can suspend a kid for smoking even if not on school grounds. Not sure how it applies to criminal matters but I read it was used to punish kids through the school that committed some proggy thought crime. Will try and find it but there was no reason for criminal proceedings so the school stepped in and punished them under their rules of conduct. It was something inane that took place away from a bus stop.

    • mothy67 says:

      Hmmmmm? Has someone who went to Temple and lived on campus said North Philly is not a bucolic college experience. There is a very dark element that pervades the place. Should offer a major in unhappiness. Bleak. Angry.

  4. Myiq2xu says:
    • 1539days says:

      I know people doing fairly technical jobs who are making less than $15/hr. McDonald’s is already losing profits, that kind of wage would squeeze some stores out of business.

      I have not heard a good argument as to why $15 is the magic number, except that it sounds like a lot of money to a poor person who’s only worked minimum-wage jobs. Wait until they find out that amount puts them in an actual tax bracket and eliminates their EIC. Oh, and they’ll have to pay for that Obamacare now.

      • elliesmom says:

        We’ve become friends with the fellow who runs the local pub we love. We were discussing the recent minimum wage hike for restaurant workers in MA with him the other day. Some of his staff have been there 10+ years so he must be an OK guy to work for. He said the hike won’t put him out of business, but he does have to decide where to cover the rise in costs for him. He says he’ll raise prices a smidge and cut back on some of the hours for the staff during times when things are a little slower. He has his best waitstaff on during the busiest hours, and he was already paying them more than the new minimum wage. If the prices go up a little, so will the tips, but there’s a risk people will order fewer drinks or less food or both. The people who might be hurt would be the people who get their hours cut, but with fewer people on during slow times, there’s the potential for more tables, which means more tips. They may have to work a little harder for the same money. We’ll see who stays and who goes. He’s not firing anyone.

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Time will tell. 😀

        • mothy67 says:

          Will tips decrease if the server is making more. I am usually 20% but if they are making 8/hr might that change the standard 15 to 20. When I waited tables if I wasn’t making 200 a shift i got another job. 400 on a weekend night was reasonable. That was 50/hr. Granted it was NYC and you get screwed on taxes because shift pay doen’t cover it. You generally get no benefits. Unless you go into management it is dead end. Tough job and I like tipping. A good server can make a night but I know people who don’t tip on wine. I do because if I can afford a 200 dollar bottle I can tip but some say the work is no different from a 20 dollar bottle. Sadly a wait person also pays the wages of bussers, runners and bartenders. A 20 dollar tip is often less than 15 and % out is based on sales. I have had people leave me a card explaining why they don’t tip on a 500 meal but i still had to pay 25 out on zero. I tip most in diners if an older woman walks over and her first words are coffee hon. I am smitten. Love that stuff if I can see a sanka pot i am a pig in zen. I know a 75 year old woman who works the graveyard shift in a diner. She makes more than someone at the Rainbow Room. 2 am drunk kids ordering cheese fries. She chews gum dies her hair with henna wears a pen on a chain. All the kids lve her. She drives a Mercedes has a podiatrist boyfriend twenty years her junior and flies off to Vegas all the time. She puts on a show at work. 20somethings out for the night drunk love it. Of course most servers are struggling but it can be lucrative.
          Hotels in Pittsburgh pay 9 dollars an hour for breakfast servers. 9 out of ten get free breakfast buffet that has a 17% gratuity people still tip. Work 5 to 9 and make 200 cash plus 9 an hour with benefits. I worked HR and had to work it because it was impossibe to get reliabe people. Ahomeess person had sued for food poisoning so a the eftover buffet food had to go in the trash. I took home so much food. Danishes,BACON, sausage, bagels. Ad on craigslist everyday. Hire peope work a week then no cal no show. Amost a grand a week with no experience or skils required. You have to be clean given a lockerrand severa uniforms. Laundry avaiabe for 10 a week for uniforms. Trust me peope tried to bring stuff from home. All that and peope sti showed up dirty. I hated the job because i was constantly firing peope and because there was a union i had to go through it twice. When the union wins even though they are on tape you have dea with that person everyday. I tel peope a the time about the job they never apply. Instead tears of wefare doesn’t pay me enough to do nothing. I had a baby and daddy is in prison.

          • 1539days says:

            Did you ever read Waiter Rant? I got the book written by the guy who did the blog. He had a theory that wait staff tended to be bad with money because the tips weren’t steady. Instead of putting a percentage away, they would blow the big tips in a night and complain about poverty on bad tip nights.

    • 1539days says:

      When was the last time that Free Beacon writer in a McDonald’s? A McDouble is $1.59 now, not 1.29.

    • swanspirit says:

      Reality stabs Progressives with sharp needles..

  5. mothy67 says:

    Any t-mobile customers a pleasant discovery. My bill is 45 unlimited everything. Went to pay my bill and site was not working so they sold me a prepaid visa and although I could not get on line to pay I was able to link the card to phone and pay. If you have a t-mobile account there are no monyhly charges. I get deposits, buy things onlineand have recurring monthly charges. I prefer to not use my primary for random things. This is safer in my world and free. Also 40 dollars cheaper than At&T and Verizon. Unlimited everything. Slows down after so much but goes to Wifi when there is a signal. There is almost always a signal.
    Also my neighbors did not pay the outside sewer insurance. Youch they had to dig up the road and yards cut down trees. No insurance liable. It is 3.99 a month how do you not pay it. Homeowners covers inside. Spend 2500 a month on mortgage and skimp on 3.99

    • 49erDweet says:

      Check out Straight Talk, Tim. I love it. Pay for it by the year and it’s cheap unlimited heaven on a smartphone. Plus my large screen AM2’s battery lasts 2.5+ days per charge.

      • 1539days says:

        After about a decade, I’m back to Tracfone. I’m kind of morally opposed to Carlos Slim, but Virgin Mobile changed their plans so that they are all $30/month or higher. For someone who only uses the phone on Wi-fi or when my car breaks down, it’s a crappy deal.

        • mothy67 says:

          My screen wouldn’t respond so i ordered a fire phone from Amazon on At&t. 99 cents with two year contract. I shipped it right back when I saw the 80 plus tax and its not unlimited. Twice what i pay.wifi is every whereWHy spend 500 a year to check my email a few times a year. Even the campground I go to has wifi. I guess you might need that much data for business reasons but i don’t. Fire phone takes great pics only reason I could see buying it.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    This may be the best thing you read all week:

    Dear Black Baltimore Rioter [Weirddave]

    I’d like to take just a moment to chat with you if I may. I realize that you probably don’t want to talk to me, all your life you’ve been told that I am the enemy, the cause of everything that you think is wrong with your life. I’m evil. I’m greedy. I’m white. I’m “rich”. I’m racist. I’m Republican. I’m an entire litany of evil, and you know what? For the sake of this conversation, I’ll stipulate all of it. I am evil, white, racist and rich. I am Republican and racist. I’m every negative stereotype and every oppressor, real and imagined, that has had a negative effect on you or your ancestor’s lives, going back to when they lost a war in Africa and were captured and sold to slave traders. All of that. For the purpose of this discussion, I’m not going to contest any of it. That being said, I have one simple question for you:

    Do you realize that you’re being manipulated and used?

    Don’t get mad at me, it’s not me that’s using you, it’s the folks who claim to be on your side. Really. Lets look at all of them, and weigh them against the evil, racist, white greedy me that I’ve agreed to play for the purpose of our discussion.

    Let’s start with the obvious: Al Sharpton. Jesse Jackson. The Rainbow Coalition. That skinny little black kid who showed up with a thousand social media connections after the demonstrations started, you know, the one whose talking about his experience in Ferguson or Seattle or New York. You think these folks are “down with the struggle”? You think they are here because of the great injustice that five-oh visits on you every day? Man, what the fuck are you smoking?

    Dude, do you know what you are to them? You’re product, Homes, nothing but merchandise for the story they are selling. Al Sharpton hangs in New York, eating lunch every day at exclusive clubs with white folks who are a lot more like what you imagine me to be than I actually am. They smile at Al, shake his hand, give him checks and congratulate themselves on just how non-racist they are before going home to their gated communities where you would be tasered within an inch of your life by security if you dared knock on the door. Jessie Jackson and his Rainbow Coalition? Do you know what they do? They take in millions and millions of dollars from corporations so that Jessie can declare the corporation “progressive” or “diverse” enough so that when riots like these happen, hopefully you’ll leave them alone. It’s a protection racket, pure and simple, but let me ask you a question: Of all of the millions upon millions of dollars that they take in, do you ever see them in your neighborhood spending any of that money? To rebuild, to renew, to invest, to help? I didn’t think so. Those “activists” ? They live to run from fire to fire to brag on themselves. Dude’s got no job, no home, no woman. He shows up and fucks your woman while crashing in your basement. He’s part of the revolution, man, he’s the vanguard of a brave new world, but right now that “brave new world” consists of pussy and status for him, while you’re out chucking rocks at the BPD and choking on tear gas. You might want to think about your respective roles in this great struggle.

    Alright, what about the police? No question they are on the other side, and no question that they have way overstepped their authority at times. Eyefuck five-oh for a millisecond too long and they’re going to the nightsticks. Bastards gave Freddie Grey a “rough ride” and broke his damn back. Surely we can crucify the BPD, right? Well… maybe. And maybe. Whatever crimes the police have committed in the past, rioting simply gives them the ability to clock overtime at an alarming rate. They face off with you, you face off with them; shouts, tear gas, rocks. They move back. You advance. They advance. You move back. It’s a giant kabuki dance of outrage, and generally nobody gets hurt very bad, but the police are getting paid double time to engage in it, what are you getting paid? Nothing, huh? Hmmmm.

    Well, surely the government will do something. Really? They tell you that they are “there for you”. They claim that you need to elect them so they can “represent you”. They promise to “make things better”. Dude, you live in Baltimore. The goddamn government has been black and democrat for 50 years! What has that gotten you?

    Here’s an exercise. Let’s stand on North Broadway, just above Johns Hopkins, say right where Gay Street crosses. We’re right by that triangular house that I like to refer to as “Baltimore’s Flatiron Building” (It’s not even close). As we walk north towards the Great Blacks in Wax museum, count the number of burned out or boarded up homes. 1..2..3…5..8…13..There are a lot of them. Some of them are pretty neat, with Arabian styling. All of them are pretty big and would make great homes for your family(or mine). This is what government has done. They take your money, and your votes, and this is what they leave you. They’re just another entity dedicated to enriching itself at your expense.

    I could mention the federal government and give more examples, or the Democrat party or the media or public sector unions. It doesn’t matter. All of them want you where you are, right now, frozen in time. You’re poor, black, undereducated, underemployed, ANGRY and violent. All of these things serve their interests, and keep them in money or power.

    This is you:
    This is you:
    Riot 2.jpg
    This is you:

    Need I go on?

    So here you are. Angry. Poor. Looting. Some jackass took your picture running out of the CVS with a handful of smokes and a DVD, and now BPD has arrested you. You’re looking at an overwhelmed PD trying to plead you down to a misdemeanor, but even if she’s successful she called you by the wrong name and you’re still going to have to do 3 months in City Jail. Great fucking world we have here, huh? Always keeping the black man down, and so you hate, and you fight, and you seethe.

    Which is exactly what they count on your doing. As long as you keep doing that, all of the folks above stay in the gravy. You ever see them at the corner of Etting and Gold? Their kids are on the college track at City and Poly, why are yours dodging gangs at Douglass? You’re being manipulated and used, and as long as they keep your attention on boogeyman me, they can suck your bones dry.

    On. The. Other. Hand.

    Over here there’s me. Remember me? I’m the evil, greedy, rich, racist white guy (waves). You’ve been told all you life that I LIVE to oppress you, that’s it, that’s all I do. Fair enough, I’ve agreed to accept that mantle for the purposes of this thread. So I, evil,white, racist, rich guy that I am, have managed to get you to riot in your own neighborhood. This is what you’ve been told, right? OK…..Why?


    No, tell me, why?

    What have I gained? I’ve demonstrated what those “on your side” have gained, what have I gained? Money, Jobs, Power, Influence? I have gained none of those things. You could burn Sandtown/Winchester to the ground and it would have zero effect on my life. Look at Detroit. It IS burned to the ground for all practical purposes and yet all around it suburbs are full of people living nice middle class lives. Brutal truth: You don’t matter enough in my life for me to hate you. Burn down all the CVSs you want, I have a nice big Wal-Mart half a mile from my house. What have you got? A burned out shell and a bunch of old folks who can’t get up to the Plaza to get their prescriptions filled.

    So what is my motivation? I don’t care about you. Maybe you’ll claim that I should, and maybe you’re right, but the truth of the matter is I don’t care about you now, in those pictures above. You want to riot and fight and burn and steal and hate? Knock yourself out. I don’t care, it’s your neighborhood being destroyed, not mine. All of those people above? I have them to keep you in your neighborhood and out of mine because as I’ve demonstrated, they want your life to stay shit.

    However, it’s not true that I don’t care about you, the individual, in the abstract. I do, a lot, and so do my neighbors. I’m going to let you in on a little secret: What do white folks say about inner city blacks when there’s just us around? 85% of the time I hear variations on “What the hell is wrong with those people?”, the implication being that there’s no reason for you to be burning all that shit down, yo. Go to school, study, get a job, be productive. That’s what we expect from you, it’s what we expect from our own kids, it’s the life we live ourselves. Just because you’re black doesn’t mean that you’re incapable of doing that, we’re surrounded daily by middle class black folks that do just that. They live with us, their kids go to school with our kids and date our daughters (really). Thomas Sowell is a black man who came from poverty, and he’s the smartest man in America. Clarence Thomas did the same, and he’s on the SCOTUS. Ben Carson had a childhood as rough as any in east or west B-more, and he’s the greatest pediatric neurosurgeon in the world, and he’s running for president to boot. Lots and lots of “racist” white folks supporting him too. Next time you see a car with a Carson bumper sticker, take a peek at the color of the folks driving, bet you a dollar they’re white.

    In short, there are two groups of people orbiting your little East Baltimore neighborhood. One group is telling you incessantly that the world is stacked against you, that you have no chance at life and they are profiting off of you believing that. Stop listening to them. Please. I saw plenty of film of the riots. Honestly, on one level, it looked like fun. Smash, burn, steal, yell, run, party. Fun, I’m not lying, it looked like fun. But the cost! Your neighborhood is now worse. You have neighbors who lost their jobs because businesses left. Sure, that selfie to took with your hands full of Ciroc bottles looted from the liquor store went viral, and that’s cool, but the po po have that image too, and they’re tracking you down, was the vodka worth 6 months in juvie? They’re like a giant tick on your back, whispering in your ear “Go on, fuck shit up. Bastards deserve it”. Only problem is that it’s your shit you’re fucking up, and the worse your life gets, the fatter and more engorged they get on your blood.

    On the other side you have my group, the evil, racist, greedy white rich folk. I’m going to shed that mantle soon, because I’m none of those things, but I’ll keep it for one more paragraph. What is our message? You can do it. This is the greatest land of opportunity in the world, and we want you to be part of it. All you have to do is believe it, and, much harder, go against all of the people claiming to be on your side. Somebody wants to keep you down alright, but it’s not “The man” as you’ve been taught all your life, it’s them. Don’t let them.


    • DeniseVB says:

      GMTA ! Just raced over here with the link!!! http://ace.mu.nu/archives/356636.php

      Excellent read.

      • DeniseVB says:

        There should be a nobel prize for blog posts😉

      • swanspirit says:

        There is so much truth in that letter…..The neighborhoods around Hopkins look like a war zone. I have a friend who worked at Hopkins as a drug counselor. She used to laugh and say , ” I work at Hopkins, and I have the bullet holes in my trunk to prove it. See, you can’t lock the trunk of your car, or leave anything in it, because they will shoot it open.

    • 1539days says:

      I wrote about the British elections last night and there’s actually a similarity. Progressives and Socialists (basically the same thing now) both promise the world. It’s the way they get people to vote them in. They are never able to deliver it, however. For a while they can screw with laws and taxes and debt and throw some free crap at people to win elections. However, at some point, there is nothing they can actually do.

      That’s when we end up with blaming someone else for everyone’s bad situation. In the UK, this may have stopped working as the Obama marketing campaign did not translate. It is sadly still working in the big cities where the claim that one group is being hunted by the other means that Democrats only have to make the non-existent beatings stop to be heroes.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Very good. The boogieman speaks. Will anyone listen.

    • HELENK3 says:

      that is awesome and so true

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Via Hot Air:

    Director of National Intelligence Jim Clapper wasn’t lying when he wrongly told Congress in 2013 that the government does not “wittingly” collect information about millions of Americans, according to his top lawyer.

    He just forgot.

    “This was not an untruth or a falsehood. This was just a mistake on his part,” Robert Litt, the general counsel for the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, said during a panel discussion hosted by the Advisory Committee on Transparency on Friday.

    Oh, THAT data collection program!

  8. DandyTIger says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Love Daniel Hannan, why isn’t HE the PM by now ? Have followed his career in Parliament ever since he gave this speech in 2009…..

  9. Myiq2xu says:
  10. Myiq2xu says:
  11. Myiq2xu says:

    So what do you do when your party gets its collective ass kicked in a national election?


  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Myiq2xu says:
    • DeniseVB says:

      Done ! I’m a fan of Ishmael’s survey’s, never asks for too personal info, just general location in the worrrrrrld. Answered his health insurance Q with run the damn health care like a veterinarian’s clinic, pay as you go and have the option of taking out catastrophic insurance, like we do for cars and homes. So simple. The vet I worked for 10 years had her clinic in a “poor” neighborhood, she was a millionaire when I left.

      • elliesmom says:

        I have catastrophic health insurance for Ellie. It covers any vet bill over $400. The first year it paid 50% of the cost of having her spayed.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. angienc says:

    The “Cajun John Wayne” — I think I’m in love. St. Landry’s Parish isn’t far from my mom’s & them’s — I might have to track him down and marry him.

  18. mothy67 says:

    Kudos to gay patriot

  19. mothy67 says:

    I was thinking about the progressives and hard core feminists I know and it occured to me they are brutally unhappy. I don’t mean righteous indignation. I mean the totality of their lives is misery. Everything and everyone is some sort of slight and its personal. Life is a Harry Chapin song over a static filled car radio.humor is alwayd mean.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    This post has been up all day long and not one single comment about Tay.

    • mothy67 says:

      Ooh I tried but my battery died. I had written I hope she has the character to stay true because i have to listen to 1989 on kareoke almost every day. Why did I think that machine was a decent gift’

    • DeniseVB says:

      I had a few Glozell vids on hand, but she can be obnoxious on her tay-tay parodies, so I dissed them.

    • Propertius says:

      I can’t tell you how grateful I am at your tireless efforts to keep us all up-to-date on Important Taylor Swift News. I’d be lost without you.

      Feel better now?

  21. 49erDweet says:

    Your beautiful granddaughter is outdrawing Tay about 12 to 1. Blame your kids.

  22. Myiq2xu says:
    • DandyTIger says:

      AYFKM! She’s playing the victim card as First Lady? What a piece of shit she is.

      • swanspirit says:

        She will never ever not be a victim. She is the eternal help rejecting complainer, and the bottomless pit of neediness. She is one of those people that are never ever satisfied. Ever. and yes she is a POS

  23. DandyTIger says:

Comments are closed.