Beau Biden, RIP


My condolences to Vice President Biden and his family:

Beau Biden, son of vice president and former Delaware AG, dies at 46

Joseph “Beau” Biden III, an Iraq War veteran who served as the attorney general of Delaware and was a son of Vice President Joe Biden, died Saturday at age 46, the White House said in a statement.

He died after battling brain cancer, according to the vice president’s office.

“Beau Biden was, quite simply, the finest man any of us have ever known,” his father wrote in a statement.

Biden had suffered known health problems dating back to 2010, when he experienced a stroke that did not affect his motor skills or speech.

In 2013, Beau Biden was treated at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston after he became disoriented and weak while on vacation. He was diagnosed with brain cancer, and after undergoing surgery was given a clean bill of health.

The cancer returned this spring and Biden pursued aggressive treatment at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland, the vice president’s office said. He died Saturday evening, surrounded by his extended family.

Aside from Vice President and Dr. Jill Biden, Beau Biden is survived by his wife, Hallie; two children, Natalie and Hunter; a brother, also named Hunter; and a half-sister, Ashley.

Thankfully all the responses I have seen have been respectful and appropriate. In these hyper-partisan times some people forget basic decency and humanity. Sometimes we have to put politics aside.

Regardless of your opinion of Joe Biden as a politician, he is a father and I have no doubt he loves his children very much. It is always hard to lose a child. You expect to bury your parents, not your kids.

May Beau Biden rest in peace. My prayers and best wishes for his family.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in RIP. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Beau Biden, RIP

  1. Myiq2xu says:
  2. swanspirit says:

    The loss of a child is so devastating, I cannot even go there in my imagination. Sending strength and comfort to the Biden family in their hour of great need.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Amen!!!! ❤

    • leslie says:

      Losing a child is unbearable. I hope all the sympathy and condolences the Biden family receives helps to sustain them.

      • Lulu says:

        Think of all the criticism Biden has had in the past months on where he is. Why isn’t Biden out supporting Bronco? He was busy. Doing something more important than supporting the mega-loser.

        • leslie says:

          per @ethanklapper (please look him up and have a lol) bronco has canceled a reception today in honor of Ford’s Theater out of respect for the BIden family.
          (They might have to drag TehOne off the golf course though.)

  3. Jadzia says:

    My God, how sad. Regardless of Uncle Joe’s politics, it’s just unimaginable to think about all the loss he has suffered, both now and with his first wife and daughter.

    • Somebody says:

      Yes he has had so many losses in his life, I can’t imagine. I know several parents that have lost their children and from what they’ve said, it’s just something you never get past, there is a whole in your heart forever.

      My thoughts and prayers are with the entire Biden family.

  4. Dora says:

    Politics aside. My heart breaks for this man. May God give him the strength to get through this latest tragedy.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Biden admits his strong faith got him through the first tragedy for the hours following the accident he didn’t know if his boys would make it through. My heartfelt condolences to all the Biden family for their loss. So sad.

  5. Myiq2xu says:
    • 1539days says:

      Not as good for those around you.

    • leslie says:

      You’re not “gonna live forever” if I ever stand behind you on the train. I seriously was going to ask if the farter in front of me was racisss. She kept turning around as if to say, “stand behind me again white girl and farting isn’t the only thing’s gonna happen to you.” Truthfully, this was one of the worst things (yes, worse than being delayed an hour on the train just outside the station last winter) that’s happened to me on my many years of commuting. I thought I’d pass out. It was really that bad.
      Maybe I should be thankful it hasn’t happened more than once.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. Dora says:

    Beau Biden and his son: 😦

  8. piper says:

    My condolences to the Biden family. Losing a family member – child and spouse is devastating. Sadly no one whether rich or poor is immune to the horrors of cancer. RIP

    Since obama knew the facts about Beau’s cancer and his hospitalization – why did he play 18 holes of golf then 9 holes yesterday?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I don’t think the Bidens and Obamas are that close, probably just as well to keep BO on the links not to have to hang around the hospital and pretend to be concerned, plus the lockdown it would have created at Walter Reed for other families.

    • DeniseVB says:

      But yeah, the optics don’t favor BO….again appearing without compassion to the Biden’s situation making life support decisions.

      • leslie says:

        Sadly, having “BO” and “compassion” in the same sentence, and only 3 words apart, is really pushing it.

    • 1539days says:

      I’m pretty sure Obama was no where to be found when his own mother was dying.

      • leslie says:

        . . . or grandmother. In fact, he wasn’t at the funeral or memorial service either.

        nice guy./s

  9. HELENK3 says:

    prayers for the family. May Beau RIP.
    That is a beautiful picture of Beau and his son.

    • Dora says:

      Believe it or not, I was just talking to Hubby about that speech as we were walking home from the store. I remember how powerfully Joe Biden spoke and how impressed many of us were at the time. Thanks for posting it.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    Check out the size of that crowd.

  11. mothy67 says:

    “Holy Sonnet X”
    Death be not proud, though some have called thee
    Mighty and dreadful, for, thou art not so,
    For, those, whom thou think’st, thou dost overthrow,
    Die not, poore death, nor yet canst thou kill me.
    From rest and sleepe, which but thy pictures bee,
    Much pleasure, then from thee, much more must flow,
    And soonest our best men with thee doe goe,
    Rest of their bones, and souls deliverie.
    Thou art slave to Fate, Chance, kings, and desperate men,
    And dost with poyson, warre, and sicknesse dwell,
    And poppie, or charmes can make us sleepe as well,
    And better than thy stroake; why swell’st thou then;
    One short sleepe past, wee wake eternally,
    And death shall be no more; Death, thou shalt die.

    The memoir by John Gunther about his teenage son who died from brain cancer inspired by the poem also named “Death be not Proud”.

    So sad

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    I almost won the lottery last night! I came really close on all six numbers!

  13. votermom says:

    Cancer sucks.
    My worst fear would be to outlive my kids.
    Prayers for the Bidens.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    I am such a hardened criminal. I am stealth-watering in the backyard and I was moving a sprinkler when I hear a siren on the next block and my first thought was “Oh shit, someone called the cops on me!”

  15. Dora says:

    Holy Cow! David is described as ‘husband’ and now he has also been named ‘mother’. Call me old fashioned, but I could cry for these beautiful little boys. They are going to be so screwed up.

    Germaine Greer slams Elton John as his husband David Furnish is named ‘mother’ on their sons’ birth certificates

Comments are closed.